0.00/10 rating ( votes)
185 Comments

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

Member Comments

Ryan
"Multiscreen"
Just wanted you all to know that the Multiscreen version is rendering now on Bucephalus.

Tue June 14, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Ryan
"Multiscreen"
Just wanted you all to know that the Multiscreen version is rendering now on Bucephalus.

Tue June 14, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Ryan
"Aurora"
What does everyone think about the aurora? Is it too much? I was thinking of this photo when I added it.

Thu June 9, 2011 at 1:37 am

extstgleft
"seems washed out"
Compared to others this one seems a little 'washed-out'. I feel like I'm looking at it on comic book type paper. Maybe contrast is low..??? I dunno, I'm no artist.

Tue June 7, 2011 at 2:51 pm

betsey
"happy dance"
I like #2 better--and don't forget to boost Ian's allowance!!!!

Fri June 3, 2011 at 5:07 pm

RC
"Render"
Just out of curiosity, how long did this take to render.

Fri June 3, 2011 at 3:45 pm

mischa
"one of my all time favourites"
this is one of the first digital blasphemy wallpapers i used... all those years ago...



i loved skysong then and i still love it now!



:)

Thu June 2, 2011 at 5:26 am

Tez
"Extrasolar - Pickle Jar Version"
For some reason this one just draws me in each time, even though it differs from the main version. Have to say though, all Ryans work just stops you in your tracks, and leaves you quite awestruck. (simply breathtaking work)

Wed June 1, 2011 at 2:29 am

Kenny
"NEED poster of this!"
Have the perfect spot for it, PLEASE tell me we're getting this one? ;)



I agree the foam looks like glowing ice and not foam, but I still like it. Torn between pink and orange fires, either is fine. Prefer the lighter clouds.



Overall version 3 is definitely my favorite, and I'm pretty sure I'm immune to the Star Wars effect; I try very hard to judge different versions of things independently, and on their merits. :)

Mon May 30, 2011 at 6:01 pm

horcruxhp
"@madtyger"
When Ryan finalizes his renders he usually makes versions for the different smart phone screen sizes. Take a look at some of his older renders and you'll see what I mean.

Thu May 26, 2011 at 9:01 am

Deanna
"Still on my desktop!"
I am highly anticipating the newest version of Riverbend (2011), but until then, I like this first one far better! The sunbeams are bright and lovely (I like the contrast) and the shimmer on the water is beautiful. The 2nd version stayed on my desktop only a few minutes and I came back to this one.

Thu May 19, 2011 at 10:10 pm

KathyTap
"Inner Workings"
Too beautiful! I have the green one on my desktop at work and the red/blue one on my iPhone. Simply cannot choose! How about an orange/yellow one for my laptop at home?

Tue May 17, 2011 at 10:55 am

MilesC56
"Truly Awesome"
'Can't decide which one I should make my wallpaper!!! Choices, choices....

Wed May 11, 2011 at 0:03 am

frostwolf7
"Haiku"
Good work Ryan,

You have a masterful hand,

Thank you

Tue May 10, 2011 at 8:01 pm

bruceam
"River Bend"
I really like the "River Bend". It reminds me of a place near where I grew up. There is only one thing. It has taken me a while to figure it our, but I finally put my finger on what didn't look quite right. It's the banks, or should I say, the lack thereof. Every river or creek that I have ever seen has a transition zone between the water an the greenery. These banks are usually muddy, sandy or rocky, but they are almost always there, expecially when there is very little slope to the land as it goes down to the water.



Once again, I like this image, so please do not get the wrong idea.



bruceam

Tue May 10, 2011 at 10:04 am

Ross H
"I like them both"
I like both versions and can't wait to see the final result!

Mon May 9, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Chris B
"It Needs"
something to differentiate the water from the land. You can see it up close but not so much further back. Which might be where you're going if you want to make it look really flooded. Maybe some debris in the water or white caps or something.

I like the grainy effect, it gives it a more painting feel that differentiates it from other similar works. I'm sure it would look awesome without it too, but I don't think you have to.

Mon May 9, 2011 at 8:56 pm

Alex H
"Broken Picklejar links"
The picklejar images are broken

Fri May 6, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Scarr
"Top Rated"
Hey Ryan, how come your pickle Jar versions of images (such as this one with a rating of 9.08) aren't put in the "top rated" category? I think they should be.

Sat April 30, 2011 at 12:46 am

Steve
"Fire"
The orange glow makes me think the islands are on fire, so I liked the pink better. I like the clouds this way.



Are we going to see a finished Dolmen?

Tue April 26, 2011 at 9:20 am

Greg
"Coolness"
Much better :)

Sun April 24, 2011 at 11:25 am

labanimal
"Thetis night"
I must admit, I like this one more because of the clouds glowing! The newer more tweaked one is also nice, but just lacks that glow from the clouds!

Sat April 23, 2011 at 1:07 am

Adamtrons
"Wonderful, But Prefer Original Clouds"
I like the new detail of the glowing stuff in the water. But I think I like the illuminated clouds of the original one better. The dark clouds reminds me of the smoke monster from LOST for some reason. :=) I also think a pickle jar version with glowing purple or green (instead of pink) on the islands would be a nice alternate take. Thanks again for this spectacular work of art!!

Wed April 20, 2011 at 7:53 pm

Chronos
"Sweet"
I got hooked on this site when one of my friends showed me the original Tropic of Thetis several years ago. Mostly because it reminded me of a dream I had as a kid. I don't always like the updated versions compared to the originals (sorry, Ryan, but it's true), however this time you've outdone yourself. Keep up with the incredible work.

Tue April 19, 2011 at 12:55 am

SteveSw
"The Best! Love It!"
Thank you! Great sense of whimsey....

Mon April 11, 2011 at 7:55 pm

Aaron
"Higher res?"
Woudl there be any chance of getting this at High resolution? I know its old but I like it.

Mon April 11, 2011 at 3:36 am

tooldude
"no 1920x1200?"
My daughter is really in to mazes and likes this one, but doesn't fit at home (1920c1200) or work (1680x1050)?

Fri April 8, 2011 at 2:00 am

Mike R
"fisherman1a"
One of my all time favorites. This is why I subscribe to

DB

Thu April 7, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Gary
"Very nice modifications"
I like this a lot better than the previous version... more color in the white sands (shadows, etc)... and a great touch with the planet... two thumbs up!!!

Sun April 3, 2011 at 10:18 am

Alex H
"Broken links and broken thumbnails"
There are broken links and broken thumbnails for the picklejar version

Thu March 24, 2011 at 6:52 pm

Alex H
"ERRORS ON PAGE"
The picklejar thumbnails aren't loading. The pictures are still downloadable though so no biggie. Nice to see where it all started :P

Sun March 20, 2011 at 5:57 pm

Alex H
"Great stuff"
My favourites are the gold, rainbow and greyscale versions. Brilliant

Sun March 20, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Shaz
"Magical"
This one makes me smile. Over a decade ago, someone was trying to claim Pyre as a screenshot from an online game, and the furor over it is what brought me to Digital Blasphemy - because I loved that picture. And now there is this one, which is reminiscent of Pyre and of White Magic (one of my faves!) and a few others. Wonderful!

Wed March 16, 2011 at 2:57 pm

Dgall
"Great work... but whats up with the clouds?"
Great wallpaper apart from the weird aberrations on the clouds. Keep up the good work Ryan!

Mon March 14, 2011 at 12:58 am

Tom F.
"Arcana-side view."
I like both views, but I really do appreciate you rendering the side view very much.

Thank you. Oh, inserting the figure was a wonderful idea suggested by your son.

Doing so helps to put some perspective to the image being shown.

Thu March 10, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Littlemom
"arcana3"
Very nice I like this angle a lot. Great job Ryan. Can't wait to see the next render you are working on.


Thu March 10, 2011 at 11:10 am

Scarr
"Arcana 3"
Ohhh Ryan. Arcana 3 is sick.



I didn't realize that you've got a 3D rendering of every photo you make... I'll bet other angles of lots of your images would be amazing. Simple too, I assume, if you were having a dry spell or your newest image was taking forever to render... throw up some new angles of old ones!

Wed March 9, 2011 at 10:13 am

Mirage
"The Multi-Screen Angle"
I love the angle you went with on the multi screen. The only issue I have is that I noticed that in the multi-screen version, there's this "white arrow" at the top of the magic sphere, it's very sharp and seems very out of place in the context of the piece. I'm not sure if it was intentionally put there or if it's some type of 'goof' that occurred with the render. It shouldn't be too hard to photo-shop out, but I just wanted to point it out in case you didn't notice it.

Otherwise, I love the piece. In regards what others have said about the assassin that's grainy/out of focus, I think that since the focus is on the mage (?) and the magic going on, the slightly out of focus assassin adds to the depth of field...but that could just be me.

Wed March 9, 2011 at 9:01 am

Chris B
"Loved All of the variations"
It really has improved over the years lol. I Like all of the versions, and thanks for the 3rd one. It looks great, the assassin looks either grainy or out of focus but he's obviously magical and able to blend in with the shadows or go out of phase so that's probably what's happening hehe. I don't think you have to re-render it unless you want to.

Tue March 8, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Chris B
"Loved All of the variations"
It really has improved over the years lol. I Like all of the versions, and thanks for the 3rd one. It looks great, the assassin looks either grainy or out of focus but he's obviously magical and able to blend in with the shadows or go out of phase so that's probably what's happening hehe. I don't think you have to re-render it unless you want to.

Tue March 8, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Chris B
"Loved All of the variations"
the 3rd one looks great, though the assassin does seem a little more grainy than the rest of the image, but I can live with it, like he's blending in the shadows or able to move out of phase or something cool. Thanks for doing the 3rd version.

Tue March 8, 2011 at 10:21 pm

Dave
"Stunning"
Absolutely brilliant. Can't describe how great this looks on my 27" iMac.

Tue March 8, 2011 at 3:14 pm

David
"No Santa, No Sizes"
In "No Santa" version all of the 16:9 aspect ratio sizes actually come up square.

Mon March 7, 2011 at 9:55 am

TMA-1
"Perennial Classic - needs widescreen immortality"
This is an image I perennially have as wallpaper on my computers, it is a timeless classic.



Please consider re-engineering widescreen HD versions such as 1366x768 and 1920x1080p thankyou, Haiku 2007 is lovely but not in the same league as Haiku 2000.



Best regards,

Sat March 5, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Charlie
"I like it"
Although, I liked how the sorcerer stood out more in the original. I'm with Will: fantasy stuff is awesome. Also, I've been wondering for a few years now what it would look like if you created a space battle between two armada's.... You should totally try your hand at Bahamut as well :D I'd definitely pay for both.

Sat March 5, 2011 at 2:17 am

Joe S
""BRILLIANT""
I enjoyed this one very much, but your most recent version presented is even better. You're quite an amazing artist!

Fri March 4, 2011 at 10:48 am

LisaB
"Better"
I like this one better. The magic seems "cleaner".

Thu March 3, 2011 at 7:13 am

RC
"Exellent Mk. II"
I have to say, I like the second version much better. The first was rather lined at high res - it wasn't the sparkles that bothered me, but the fact it really need 5-10 times the amount of particles...which of course your render choaked with.



The Apophysis method fixes the lack of particles while giving it a much cleaner look at the same time.



I like it!



I was wondering when you'd get back to fantasy. My favorites of your renders are space and fantasy/wizardry - I first found your site back in 1999 and always liked that line better than the environmental or abstract renders.

Thu March 3, 2011 at 7:01 am

DJ
"Awesome Theme"
You need to do more wallpapers like this, the fantasy theme just speaks to you!

Thu March 3, 2011 at 5:12 am

Daniel
"Fantasy Images!!!"
Man I am loving this image, I think it has to be No.1 on my cool chart. I wish you'd do more fantasy themed wallpapers!

Thu March 3, 2011 at 5:10 am

Mark
"v2"
Both look great to me. I'm imaging them in a series.

The first is the magician attempting to bring the magic under control, the second is when he/she's succeeded.

Thu March 3, 2011 at 1:53 am

Daniel
"Definitely Better"
I'd definitely like to see multi-monitor versions of this one.



This one actually reminded me of the end-game of the old Sierra game Quest For Glory II. Am I dating myself?


Wed March 2, 2011 at 10:10 pm

RC
"Exellent Mk. II"
I have to say, I like the second version much better. The first was rather lined at high res - it wasn't the sparkles that bothered me, but the fact it really need 5-10 times the amount of particles...which of course your render choaked with.



The Apophysis method fixes the lack of particles while giving it a much cleaner look at the same time.



I like it!



I was wondering when you'd get back to fantasy. My favorites of your renders are space and fantasy/wizardry - I first found your site back in 1999 and always liked that line better than the environmental or abstract renders.

Wed March 2, 2011 at 9:57 pm

RC
"Exellent Mk. II"
I have to say, I like the second version much better. The first was rather lined at high res - it wasn't the sparkles that bothered me, but the fact it really need 5-10 times the amount of particles...which of course your render choaked with.



The Apophysis method fixes the lack of particles while giving it a much cleaner look at the same time.



I like it!



I was wondering when you'd get back to fantasy. My favorites of your renders are space and fantasy/wizardry - I first found your site back in 1999 and always liked that line better than the environmental or abstract renders.

Wed March 2, 2011 at 9:57 pm

RC
"Exellent Mk. II"
I have to say, I like the second version much better. The first was rather lined at high res - it wasn't the sparkles that bothered me, but the fact it really need 5-10 times the amount of particles...which of course your render choaked with.



The Apophysis method fixes the lack of particles while giving it a much cleaner look at the same time.



I like it!



I was wondering when you'd get back to fantasy. My favorites of your renders are space and fantasy/wizardry - I first found your site back in 1999 and always liked that line better than the environmental or abstract renders.

Wed March 2, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Jeff
"Arcana 2.0"
Yes, I agree, MUCH better rendering. The particles in the original looked a little, well, cartoon-ish. I'll be proud to display the updated version on my desktop.



BTW, any thought given to an update of Lotus?

Wed March 2, 2011 at 9:07 pm

Jeff
"Arcana 2.0"
Yes, I agree, MUCH better rendering. The particles in the original looked a little, well, cartoon-ish. I'll be proud to display the updated version on my desktop.



BTW, any thought given to an update of Lotus?

Wed March 2, 2011 at 9:07 pm

RC
"Exellent Mk. II"
I have to say, I like the second version much better. The first was rather lined at high res - it wasn't the sparkles that bothered me, but the fact it really need 5-10 times the amount of particles...which of course your render choaked with.



The Apophysis method fixes the lack of particles while giving it a much cleaner look at the same time.



I like it!



I was wondering when you'd get back to fantasy. My favorites of your renders are space and fantasy/wizardry - I first found your site back in 1999 and always liked that line better than the environmental or abstract renders.

Wed March 2, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Dave
"Arcana"
Wow, I like the new one a lot, the humanoid in the middle looks cool. It makes me wonder about the original, because now I think the central figure looks like someone in the fetal position. And just now I noticed the onlooker. Good stuff!

Wed March 2, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Watcher
"It flashes of my screen"
Love the innerworkings 2 version

Hope you make it in all resolutions

many thanks.

Tue March 1, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Cori
"nice depth, color scheme"
The first one does have very nice depth. The color scheme interests me, and I kinda think that you should consider doing something similar or a second version with that kind of color scheme. Although the updated version is definitely better, and a much more eye-catching type, the greens and yellows seem very earthy and biological, which is reminiscent of DNA, as I assume you were going for.

Thu February 10, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Eric
"Complete set"
@Ryan,



Everything looks grand. Although you removed the links to the 2x/3x versions of Inner Workings (one - green), w/ Kellzilla's help I was able to get it. Thanks @Kellzilla.



My question is ... Will you be completing the set of 2x/3x Inner Workings by creating 2x/3x versions of Inner Workings (two - blue/red)? Why, you ask. I fine all the versions fascinating.



Whither or not, Bravo again!

Thu February 10, 2011 at 7:33 am

Brian
"@Ryan"
Please create a 480x800 size pic of your innerworkings2. Would like to have it on my phone background

Wed February 9, 2011 at 8:52 am

Weigraf
"Will there be a duel screen fisherman 1a?"
Will there be a duel screen fisherman 1a?

Wed February 9, 2011 at 6:08 am

Justin
"Will there be a duel screen fisherman 1a?"
Will there be a duel screen fisherman 1a?

Wed February 9, 2011 at 6:07 am

Eric
"innerworking2 - 2x & 3x"
Is there a 2x/3x of innerworkings2? Just curious.



@kellzilla - Thanks for the link pattern for the 2x/3x for innerworkings1.



@Ryan - Great work - "as always" :)



Cheers!

Tue February 8, 2011 at 7:56 am

Jeremy
"Freaking Awesome..."
The latest render is just... awesome...

Mon February 7, 2011 at 3:13 pm

Randy
"Better"
Green-yellow was never my favorite part of the spectrum (no offense, Packer fans), but I love the blue-purple-red. (Might be why I'm a Superman fan also.)

Sun February 6, 2011 at 1:54 pm

kody
"awesome! and a closer look"
hey ryan, this image is simply amazing, and at a closer look, it reminds me of the process called mitosis and meosis where cells are split by dna to duplicate.

Sun February 6, 2011 at 7:27 am

KRingg
"Dual-Screen Pickle Jar"
Is there any chance of getting a dual-screen version of the pickle-jar image? It shows off the double-helices much better and (I think) has much more soothing colors.

Sat February 5, 2011 at 9:59 pm

scott wray
"mobile verisons?"
Id like to rock this one on my iphone 4!

Sat February 5, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Cloke
"The Greens looked better......"
I like the green one better even though they're packer colors. It seemed to have more life.

Sat February 5, 2011 at 2:08 pm

finger
"Alternate version"
I like the alternate version a lot more than the other one. It seems much cleaner an more detailed

Sat February 5, 2011 at 2:51 am

kellzilla
"Guesses"
I love all the creative guessing going on days after Ryan posted his inspiration. Wonderful!

Sat February 5, 2011 at 0:05 am

Greg
""Pickle Jar""
would be nice to get this version as a multi-screen too

Fri February 4, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Brandi
"This Bears fan appreciates the Pickle Jar version"
I actually like both versions. I prefer the Pickle Jar because the "gray" strands are more visible. Definitely gives a different feel to the piece. I change my guess to a DNA/RNA-type process going on.

Fri February 4, 2011 at 12:55 am

Sarkis
"Frog in a blender..."
Kinda reminds me of the 10 year old frog in a blender app if the frog were blue and ingested a lightstick. This is clearly button '10'. Either that or nuclear diamorphosis.

Fri February 4, 2011 at 10:04 am

scott wray
"colors"
the color created something that caught my eye much more than the first. nice revision ryan~ I'm going to throw this one up at work today =P

Fri February 4, 2011 at 9:40 am

Betsey
"BEARS colors now???"
It seems to me that you have deepened the structure--I don't know which one I like better--but at least I can tell it's NOT lint now!!!

And don't let those PACKER fans get to you!!!

Fri February 4, 2011 at 7:54 am

Jeremy R
"Grainy"
Not sure if this is intentional, but a lot of the background seems grainy, like a low light photo. Not certain I care for the effect.



I do like the pickle jar version better

Thu February 3, 2011 at 9:55 pm

Jonathan
"DNA"
This picture reminds me of the way DNA winds around histone proteins (just like thread around a spool). These complexes, known as nucleosomes, condense approximately 2 meters of DNA into every mammalian cell!



It's fascinating how complex and intricate life is, especially on this lilliputian scale. Great job Ryan- this wallpaper is definitely one of my favorites!


Thu February 3, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Harry King
"Nice"
I loved the other version and its colours (I have no association to the sporting team in question and thus no problems =P). I thought it's green and yellow theme was a nice change from the usual as blues and reds tend to feature prominently in your previous abstracts.



However for the reason that "blues and reds tend to feature prominently in your previous abstracts", this one looks incredible. Inner Workings is definitely now residing in the top five of my all time favourites.



As to its subject matter: I at first reckoned that it was a prokaryotic DNA string floating in the cytoplasm, however due to the larger super structure I believe it is just a roughly 700nm length of a chromosome. ...... or a section of mitochondrial DNA and supportive super structure. =)

Thu February 3, 2011 at 9:12 pm

Alec
"Wrong Twist And Amazing"
if you hold your left arm forward over your right arm, that is the way DNA twists. I'm certainly not criticizing the work, which is artistically fantastic, as always! DNA doesn't need to twist the right way to get across what it is, but I thought it's information that may or may not be handy in the future.

LOVE the image!

Thu February 3, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Matt
"My Guess"
I believe it is a DNA helix in its protein substrate.

Thu February 3, 2011 at 6:50 pm

Tiffany
"Pickle Jar Version"
WOW! I had to change my wallpaper to the pickle jar version of Inner Workings. I LOVE the articulated helices. Sooooo cool. And I really like the extra colors you added in there. Gorgeous render, Ryan! You rock!

Thu February 3, 2011 at 6:21 pm

Tiffany
"Pickle Jar Version"
WOW! I had to change my wallpaper to the pickle jar version of Inner Workings. I LOVE the articulated helices. Sooooo cool. And I really like the extra colors you added in there. Gorgeous render, Ryan! You rock!

Thu February 3, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Alberich
"Chromatin"
Well, the new Pickle Jar version has what's clearly small DNA strands winding around the larger central structure. DNA wraps tightly around histone proteins in the nucleus in order to fit within the cell; loose DNA would take up far more volume. The DNA-protein complex is called chromatin (a single DNA molecule and its chromatin is a chromosome). I think that's what we're seeing here.

Thu February 3, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Tim H
"Much Better"
I think this looks a million times better. Well done.

Thu February 3, 2011 at 5:49 pm

David
"light effects"
I love the lighting effects that go into these kinds of wallpapers. inner glow is just awesome

Thu February 3, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Patrick
"any chance of a blue dualscreen?"
Ryan, I am sure I will not be alone in asking for a blue dualscreen?

The new DNA strands make this look like a weird mass of elongated histone proteins with DNA wrapped around them. The colours are cool too, more what you expect from visualisations of protein structure. As you have now gone away from 'The Pack' colour scheme, as a non-American, might I suggest some other teams for inspiration? Apologies to US members if I have missed out an appropriate team, but what about the Bills, Patriots, Ravens or Texans?

Whatever, whoever, wonderful image though.

Thu February 3, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Patrick
"any chance of a blue dualscreen?"
Ryan, I am sure I will not be alone in asking for a blue dualscreen?

The new DNA strands make this look like a weird mass of elongated histone proteins with DNA wrapped around them. The colours are cool too, more what you expect from visualisations of protein structure. As you have gone away from 'The Pack' colour scheme, as a non-American, might I suggest some other teams for inspiration? Apologies to US members in missing out your team if appropriate, but what about the Bills, Patriots, Ravens or Texans?

Whatever, whoever, wonderful image though.

Thu February 3, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Jenanne
"Alternate Version..."
I love the colors in the picklejar version! Not that I didn't like the green, but this is even better. Thanks, Ryan!

Thu February 3, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Jenanne
"Alternate Version..."
I love the colors in the picklejar version! Not that I didn't like the green, but this is even better. Thanks, Ryan!

Thu February 3, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Jenanne
"Alternate Version..."
I love the colors in the picklejar version! Not that I didn't like the green, but this is even better. Thanks, Ryan!

Thu February 3, 2011 at 4:18 pm

Jenanne
"Alternate Version..."
I love the colors in the picklejar version! Not that I didn't like the green, but this is even better. Thanks, Ryan!

Thu February 3, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Jenanne
"Alternate Version..."
I love the colors in the picklejar version! Not that I didn't like the green, but this is even better. Thanks, Ryan!

Thu February 3, 2011 at 4:12 pm

Patrick
"any chance of a blue dualscreen?"
Ryan, sorry to be a pain, but I imagine I am not alone in calling for a dualscreen blue version?

The addition of DNA makes it look like a collection of elongated histone proteins.

The colour scheme is more akin to that used in protein modelling visualisation as well. Mind you, going away from 'The Pack', you could now be inspired by any number of teams. Being a non-American, so please forgive me all US members, maybe the Bills, Texans Patriots or Ravens?

Thu February 3, 2011 at 2:57 pm

Patrick
"any chance of a blue dualscreen?"
Ryan, sorry to be a pain, but I imagine I am not alone in asking for a dualscreen of this new blue version?

The addition of DNA makes it look like a strange collection of elongated histone proteins. The colour scheme is more akin to that used in the visualisation of protein structures. Mind you, going away from 'The Pack', you could now be inspired by any number of teams. Being a non-American - so please forgive me all US members - maybe the Bills, Texans, Patriots or Ravens?

Whatever, whoever, wonderful image.

Thu February 3, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Greg in CA
"I like the picklejar version..."
But then I'm more partial to blues and reds...

Thu February 3, 2011 at 12:03 am

anna_writr
"SOOOO pretty!"
And I like the details you've clarified to show that it's a protein you're showing synthesizing. Awesome!

Thu February 3, 2011 at 11:23 am

Harley
"ooOOoo"
Multi-screen this one?

Thu February 3, 2011 at 10:27 am

jbumgarner
"I like this one better"
I liked the original, but this one I like better. Any chance of a dual screen?

Thu February 3, 2011 at 10:26 am

Zero_Cool
"fisherman1b 1680x1050"
Is there no fisherman1b 1680x1050? The current link redirects to fisherman1a.

Thu January 20, 2011 at 10:15 am

Jenanne
"Picklejar fisherman1a"
I love this one! I'm not as crazy about 1b, but the first picklejar image (fisherman1a) is really wonderful!

Mon January 17, 2011 at 3:42 am

Benke
"Wow!"
I like this a lot! I liked the The Fisherman version as well but this is even better! :) Makes me think of the Farcry game... ;)

Mon January 17, 2011 at 2:25 am

Josh
"Clustered Rendering"
Have you looked into Clustered or Hosted rendering services? Such as Amazon's EC2 Cloud Service? According to their FAQ's, a Cluster GPU Instance is ideally suited for applications like rendering, etc.



Don't know how it would work for you or the costs involved, just something to think about.

Sat January 15, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Josh
"RenderFarm"
Have you looked into some kind of clustered rendering? Possibly multiple machines tied together to do the rendering for you, instead of relying on a single main (or alternate) machine to handle it.

I don't know what the specifics involved or the costs would be, just something to think about.

Sat January 15, 2011 at 6:37 pm

Andy
"Go Pickle Jar"
The pickle jar versions are fantastic! I love them both better than the final version for sure. The final reminds me too much of Moonshadow...the sky color is odd to me. I like the cerulean ocean better!

Sat January 15, 2011 at 4:02 pm

Tyler
"Archipelago PJ"
This one shows tremendous promise. In fact, it would be superior to the "final version" with the right touches. The concept is brilliant and I hope you revisit it sooner than later.

Fri January 14, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Nelson
"Picklejar 1a"
Strange, my last comment homehow vanished... :-)



Anyway, I wanted to mention that your 1a version is really nice, and with a little bit more cloud tweaking (I think they have just rendered in short time and look too opaque), it can become a full work on its own!

I'd love to see a slightly tweaked 1a version. I can't understand why you didn't like it :-)

Fri January 14, 2011 at 6:26 am

T3chn0g33k
"Annoying problem"
The 1b 1440x900 link keeps giving me an oops! Please fix!

Thu January 13, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Nelson
"1a"
I find the 1a picklejar version really cool. Just a bit more render time for the clouds (so that they don't look too opaque) and it would be a great new work!

Thu January 13, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Terry
"The Fisherman"
I think it would be cool if you posted the trials you do of an image during its development, even if not of wallpaper size or quality. Its always interesting see how you come up with new ideas. T.

Thu January 13, 2011 at 7:23 am

Gregor
"Reminds me..."
of an island card from Magic: The Gathering! Great picture! And the three dolphins again... always nice to spot them! ;)

Thu January 13, 2011 at 6:26 am

T3chn0g33k
"Broken Link"
The !b 1440x900 link is completely broken.

Wed January 12, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Melissa
"Pickle Jar"
Both versions are amazing Ryan! LOVE the colors!!



Keep up the great work..

Wed January 12, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Melissa
"Pickle Jar/"
Both versions are amazing Ryan!! Love the colors!!



Keep up the great work!

Wed January 12, 2011 at 6:09 pm

T3chn0g33k
"1b 1440x900"
The 1440 link keeps giving me an oops!

Tue January 11, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Andy
"Nice!"
Love the aerial view!

1280x800:

http://i55.tinypic.com/21nfotl.jpg

Tue January 11, 2011 at 7:36 pm

Andy
"Wow!"
Loved the aerial view!

Tue January 11, 2011 at 7:14 pm

suab
"fisherman1b 1440 x 900 "
Very nice images, however the fisherman1b 1440 x 900 version does not seem to be working...

Tue January 11, 2011 at 1:13 pm

Aaron
"Fisherman1a"
I really like this one and would like to submit my vote for a multi-screen.



I like the arial view as it's less common and brightens my wintery days perfectly.



Thanks!

Tue January 11, 2011 at 12:47 am

Bob M
"1b 1440 x 900"
Page cannot be found on link.



1A is Awesome..10/10 perfect.

Tue January 11, 2011 at 11:45 am

T3chn0g33k
"1b 1440x900"
The 1b 1440x900 link is broken. I keep an "Oops!"

Tue January 11, 2011 at 10:15 am

T3chnog33k
"1b 1440x900"
Keep getting "Oops! The page or file you are trying to access doesn't seem to exist any more!" Please fix that, and the 1b 1680x1050 link DOES take you to the 1a version.

Tue January 11, 2011 at 10:08 am

Justin
"Love the peaceful nature ones!"
Ryan I love these nature ones you do, the idea that somewhere out there places like this exist is a comforting thought, do you plan on putting these up for droids?



Thanks,


Tue January 11, 2011 at 6:08 am

Kris
"1b widescreen 16x10 ratio"
I really like pickle version 1b. When you have time, would you please upload some wide screen versions (1920x1200 preferably)? Thank you.

Mon January 10, 2011 at 11:03 pm

Kris
"16:10 widescreens of 1b"
I really like version 1B. When you have time, would you please post some 16:10 widescreen versions? (1920x1200 please.)

Mon January 10, 2011 at 10:52 pm

Lee
"1b?"
1680 x 1050 1b is actually 1680 x 1050 1a

Mon January 10, 2011 at 8:08 pm

Ralf
"Link error"
The link to the 1680x1050 version of fisherman1b points to the corresponding version of fisherman1a instead.

Mon January 10, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Oliver
"Wow!"
Have to say I really like both of these, particularly the first one. The aerial view at an angle is different (in a good way!)

Mon January 10, 2011 at 2:15 pm

Terry B
"Fisherman 1a&b"
What I like about these draft versions, is the clarity in the water. I'd love to see this more detailed with lighter shades of blue in the water!



I'm leaning towards 1b as the favorite, but I have no doubt that you'll do something amazing with 1a!


Mon January 10, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Wraithslay
"Archipelago"
I'd love to see the aerial view of the archipelago without the mountains in the background. Seems like it might fit better with the empty ocean behind it, maybe.

Mon January 10, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Matt
"Pickle Jar Error"
Ryan, the 1440x900 and 1680x1050 renders of fisherman1b are missing.

Mon January 10, 2011 at 12:56 am

Gary
"Picklejar 1a"
I like the general look of 1a, but the sand and clouds are not up to your standards. I think it would have been better to keep this to yourself and released a new version when it was really ready.

Mon January 10, 2011 at 12:29 am

Gary
"Picklejar 1a"
I really like the look of 1a, but the clouds and sand just are not up to your standards. I think it would have been better if you would have held them back until they were ready for final release.

Mon January 10, 2011 at 12:27 am

Ted
"very cool"
It is amazing how totally different the same basic scene can look from different angles and lighting conditions. I remember really liking your "archipelago" piece a few years, back, I hope you do have the opportunity to revisit this new one.

Mon January 10, 2011 at 12:26 am

Paul
"fishermana rocks"
I can crop things reasonably well, but I wish there were an official Ryan cropping in the 0.66666 aspect ratio (my mobile is 320x480) of it. I like these full color renderings quite a bit more than the non pickle gallery version.

Mon January 10, 2011 at 12:17 am

nickaix
"stunning colors and clouds"
Title says it all. I really love the way the clouds are back-lit by the sun--but not all equally so. Adds amazing depth to the scene. Really like the trees, too.



When you do come back to the pickle jar, I cast my vote for the lower-angle shot.

Mon January 10, 2011 at 12:04 am

Will
"Picklejar 1a should be separate piece!"
The fisherman1a is AMAZING. One of my favorite pieces. I like the regular non picklejar version too. I think both deserve pieces. Fisherman1b is good, but not quite up to snuff in my opinion.

Mon January 10, 2011 at 10:21 am

Tyrathalis
"@daniel"
There is a zip file on the downloads page with just pickle far versions, which you could use if you want to see all of them.

Mon January 10, 2011 at 10:13 am

Betsey
"gorgeous!!!"
I agree with Walo--dunno why you gave up on either of these!!! But there's no 1440 version of "B"!!!

Mon January 10, 2011 at 10:04 am

Vaul
"Definitely darker for the desktop"
The darker images definitely work better for the desktop IMO. I like the one without Santa, but all in all the original image is my favorite of the set.

Thu December 23, 2010 at 1:46 pm

Brimmer
"Brighter Ride in Picklejar"
This is an amazing holiday wallpaper. But I think I prefer the smaller scale of Santa in the darker version.

Thu December 23, 2010 at 12:06 am

anna_writr
"dark is better on the monitor"
I can see why the brighter version worked better for a card, but on my screen I prefer the dim version. I like the dark backgrounds in general so the widescreen doesn't blind me too much.

Thu December 23, 2010 at 10:36 am

anna_writr
"Santa!"
I love the version with Santa. What's the winter holiday without Santa and his sleigh?


Thu December 23, 2010 at 10:32 am

littlemom
"Brighter is Better"
Hi Ryan,



Merry Christmas to you and your family. I love this brighter Christmas card version. And I love the fact that Santa's sleigh and reindeer are bigger as well. Seeing this really puts me in the holiday spirit. Thanks for the great render.

Thu December 23, 2010 at 9:17 am

Dale
"New version of "The Ride""


You know, even though they are a lot brighter, I think I like these versions as well. The brighter moon really brings out the details on the ground. Not sure how bright the dual-screen would look, but I'm going to put the single on my computer at work and see whether the brightness overpowers the desktop.

Thu December 23, 2010 at 5:54 am

Harry
"Wrong Link"
Nice pieces these, however the No Santa version at 1920 x1080 (HDTV) is linked to or cropped to the wrong size, a 4:3 resolution I think. (as of 02:00 AM GMT 23/12/2010)



Thanks for a Year of great work to enliven my desktop and Merry Christmas.

Wed December 22, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Andrew
"HRH"
Your 1366x768 of theride2k9nosanta is actually 1366x1093. I love the moon in this one but it doesn't fit my screen. Can you help?

Wed December 22, 2010 at 4:36 pm

Tyler
"Winter Sale FTW"
Thanks to the 25% off I'm now a LT member. Don't disappoint me now Ryan! J/K, I've been hitting this site since 04 thanks.

Wed December 22, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Tyler
"Winter Sale FTW"
Thanks to the 25% off I'm now a LT member. Don't disappoint me now Ryan! J/K, I've been hitting this site since 04 thanks.

Wed December 22, 2010 at 3:34 pm

Justin B.
"In answer to your question..."
I like the darker version better, and without the sleigh (for use year-round) would be even better. Regardless of version, this is still a great image all-around.

Wed December 22, 2010 at 2:00 pm

FlareHeart
"Brighter one"
Hey there,

You asked which one we prefer (lighter or darker) and I must admit that I like the atmosphere in the lighter one better. It feels more alive.

Wed December 22, 2010 at 12:32 am

John
"Bigger Santa"
I like the bigger Santa and reindeer in this one. Feels more Christmasy!

Wed December 22, 2010 at 11:51 am

John
"Bigger Santa"
I like the bigger Santa and reindeer in this one. Feels more Christmasy!

Wed December 22, 2010 at 11:51 am

McKab
"Bigger Santa"
Ryan, I think I like the 'Bigger Santa' better than the original. I like the very fine details of the rails of the sled and the lines for the reindeer. It looks much more Christmasy now. The only thing I would add is a red noise on Rudolph. Either way, it's great. Thank you and Merry Christmas

Wed December 22, 2010 at 10:32 am

Patrick
"x3"
I have set all three of these on my desktop - one per screen (1920x1200) and I love it. Really awesome work

Wed December 8, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Jerri
"Song of the Sky (skysong3)"
Would you consider making one of these without the Christmas tree as a background for the iphone 4? My personal favorite is 3, because with the snow and the aurora, there's enough light to see many details in a scene like this. Living in Alaska, it reminds me of early mornings spent delivering newspapers in the dark, with one notable night that we still talk about 20+ years later. You can almost hear them, feel them. Awe-inspiring, and a little eerie. Thanks so much for all your hard work, we've been watching you for many years. You've come a long way, keep it up!

Thu November 11, 2010 at 10:48 am

llminthorn
"Gotham Garden (Autumn/2010/alternate)"
Thank you for putting this version on the pickle jar. I see what you mean by less contrast, but I do like it and have incorporated it onto my screen saver.

Love the colors!

Sat November 6, 2010 at 11:19 am

Dennis M.
"Sunset Gotham Garden"
Any chance we can get the dual 16:9 render? I love this. yes, the colors kind of merge, but that's what it looks like!

Mon November 1, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Matt
"Picklejar vs. Gallery"
It's always difficult to tell the differences between certain picklejar versions (like "hauntednebula1" in this case) and the gallery version.



Is there a way to view all the picklejar versions AND the gallery version together? This would really help in comparing them all and deciding on my favorite.

Sun October 31, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Randall
"LIke the smile"
I like the smile version better as well--like a true Jack o' Latern!

Sun October 31, 2010 at 10:32 am

David
"Multiscreen"
I like both, but would it be possible to get some actual detail on the second screen for multiscreen? Ie a few asteroids is great but it would be nice to actually have something to look at there (planets, gas, whatever) rather than just an extension of the background.

Fri October 29, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Hemo
"interesting"
I have the original render on my screen, the new render on my daughter's screen. She thought the original was 'too' scary.



Enjoying them both. :)

Fri October 29, 2010 at 12:31 am

xnifex
"Different version than this pickle jar"
Why do I have a different version on my pc than both this & the gallery version? it's dated on my pc as 7/1/10 also & the leaves are lit up silvery by the lights. I like that version, you should also include it in here.

Wed October 27, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Astatine
"Fabulous"
I think this one is excellent, much more interesting than the "official" Gotham Garden (Autumn) which looks, from afar, too much like the autumn trees were pasted onto an otherwise generic Gotham shot.

Tue October 26, 2010 at 6:53 am

Miguell026
"Gotham garden 2k10"
Very nice Ryan! a Master piece as usual!



CAN WAIT FOR UR HALLOWEEN 2k10... so anxious for it!! ^^



Great WORK

Mon October 25, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Dan
"Wow!!"
I love it! I think I might like this version better than the original autumn version. I say this because I love how the sunset hits all of the buildings and I feel somehow you've managed to have the fall leaves' color pop more. Excellent job done on this alternate! It has just replace the autumn one on my desktop.

Mon October 25, 2010 at 7:10 am

ErgoProxy
"Also stunning...."
Your city scape ones are looking awesome.

Mon October 25, 2010 at 5:18 am

Xetal
"Gotham Garden (Sunset Version)"
Over-oranged, as was said. My first impression was of much sodium street-lighting rather than sunset. If a lighter version is thought worth pursuing, you could try yellower sunlight and some storm-clouds to darken it back down?

Sun October 24, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Andy
"Cool"
Duststorm anyone?

Thu October 21, 2010 at 1:53 am

TM
"Sunset version"
I like the idea of a sunset version but the sky is too orange. The night version is a little dark. Something in between would be just perfect.

Wed October 20, 2010 at 9:42 pm

Steven
"Nice!"
I switched to this version (from the original Autumn) because often, the sky does blend in with the trees near sunset and it has this type of effect. Thanks for making this one available!

Wed October 20, 2010 at 2:49 pm

Ruth
"Luv the Pickle Jars!"
All your creations are incredible, but I often find the treats I like best in the pickle jars. Wish there was a dual screen of this one, but I get that you can't do that for all of them. Thanks Ryan!

Wed October 20, 2010 at 2:32 pm

Walo
"@ Tyler"
my exact same thoughts

Tue October 19, 2010 at 11:59 am

Randall
"Like this!"
Both versions are great, but I definitely like the sunset version better. I don't think the red light obscures the leaves too much.

Tue October 19, 2010 at 11:04 am

Jeffrey
"Sunset Sky"
Wouldn't a true sunset still have some blue to gray twilight sky along with the suns rays streaking through an occasional cloud? The art is beautiful. It is my view when thinking about sunsets I have seen.

Tue October 19, 2010 at 6:57 am

Xetal
"GG Autumn (Alternate Version)"
Prefer the gallery version: I looked at this and though of sodium street-lighting rather than sunset. If you want to experiment with lightening-up, you could try a yellower sunlight with some dark (thunder?) clouds to mute it down.

Mon October 18, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Xetal
"Gotham Garden (Autumn)"
I prefer the night render, for the 'over-oranged' reasons you gave. My first impression of the Alternate version was of sodium streetlighting rather than sunset. If lightening-up is still thought worth experimenting with, you could try a bit of yellower sunlight with some dark (thunder?)clouds for it to play on to avoid the scene getting too bright overall. Might overload the sky, though...

Mon October 18, 2010 at 5:47 pm

John
"Incredible"
This is, by far, the most amazing cityscape I've seen! I really hope you put this up as a poster. (just a subtle hint...)

Mon October 18, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Unclegumby
"Pickle Jar 2"
I actually prefer this over the original gallery one...

Mon October 18, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Unclegumby
"Pickle Jar 2"
I actually prefer this over the original gallery one...

Mon October 18, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Unclegumby
"Pickle Jar 2"
I actually prefer this over the original gallery one...

Mon October 18, 2010 at 3:42 pm

Sigmaman
"Gotham Garden autumn sunset"
Love the colour on this one. Very warm and inviting. One thing,how about changing the pose of the character in each subsequent version.

Mon October 18, 2010 at 2:59 pm

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play