Above the Canopy

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Trinity
"Trinity "

7.94/10 rating
(109 Members Voted)

This one started with me trying to create a high-resolution (15K+) completely procedural gas-giant planet using Lightwave that I could use to fill the entire sky in one of my large Vue renders without any loss of quality.

Member Comments

Luiz Marques
"Multimonitor?"
Surprised that there was no multimonitor version for this one...

Sun September 25, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Laura
"Relaxing"
Somehow I clicked "5" instead of "7".

It's just relaxing, and peaceful. Really like the coloring of the rings.

Fri January 29, 2016 at 9:03 am

Caleb
"I Need Multimonitor In My Life"
Is there no multimonitor version coming? This is a great wallpaper, in my opinion, and I'd love to have it stretching across my work desktop.

Wed January 13, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Tatiana
"10/10"
Enshrouded is one of my favorite wallpapers, and this is basically Enshrouded In Space! I love it. I have it as my background at home and work. Usually, I change my backgrounds every week, but I love this one so much that I don't want to change it yet.

Tue December 15, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Michael R
"Above the Canopy..."
Gas giant and trees are fine, clouds need a lot of work. Brightness washes out all detail.

Mon December 14, 2015 at 9:27 pm

Terry
"Awesome Trees"
Love the foliage - the clouds... not so much...

Fri December 11, 2015 at 4:23 am

Brian J.
"Multimonitor?"
I love this one. Just in time for Star Wars VII coming out! I just can't wait until it has a multimonitor version (and Winter Cliffs too!).

Thu December 10, 2015 at 8:42 pm

MystMan
"Great but..."
I thought this image was amazing however the clouds in the background look flat and boring. I'd get rid of it entirely and do something else. Ignore the dude about astronomy, yes, he's right, but this is about artistry. The colors are amazing. You're a master at perception.

Tue December 8, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Mario Carini
"Above the Canopy"
Wonderful texture on the planet and the shading. Love the foreground as it leads up to the planet itself. Take a plane ride to see a great site.

Tue December 8, 2015 at 6:11 pm

AlohaJerry
"Planet too spotted"
Working in astronomy, I can say that the cloud bands would not be spots like that. They would be more swirly as the winds and convection currents churn them.

Love the picture concept, though. I always love your images where a large planet is on the horizon, like you are on a forest moon.

Tue December 8, 2015 at 2:57 pm

AlohaJerry
"Planet too spotted"
Working in astronomy, I can say that the cloud bands would not be spots like that. They would be more swirly as the winds and convection currents churn them.

Love the picture concept, though. I always love your images where a large planet is on the horizon, like you are on a forest moon.

Tue December 8, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Holly
"greens"
I think the green trees should be up against the colors of the planet, not white. I think white detracts whereas green would make it pop.

Tue December 8, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Oscar
"In the minority camp..."
Speaking purely about abovecanopy1, I think this version has major potential. While I very much enjoy the "preferred" render that will make it to the gallery, the "full color sky" version appealed to me in that instead of looking like a planet looming over the sky, it looks like a GIANT waterfall with various rock types behind the water itself, giving it its exotic color scheme. The impressionistic nature of the colors for the, now labeled, water lend to the reality that some water will strike the rocks behind the waterfall. If you made an entire new image with this approach in mind (or a significant mod), I think it would look fantastic. Just an idea Ryan :-)

Tue December 8, 2015 at 1:00 pm

BobC
"Pretty"
Today's update helps a lot with the clouds.

I agree with Duke about the lighting being self-contradictory and weird. My brain sees an airless moon (or maybe 200 foot thick atmosphere) -- but there's lush trees there! It is nevertheless a haunting image....

Tue December 8, 2015 at 12:50 pm

Duke
"Nice but..."
With the sunlight coming from where it is, and the clouds and trees on the ground... the sky should be blue, not starry. I think that's the think that looks most weird to me.

Tue December 8, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Morpheus in KC
"Much improved from the early version"
I had looked at an early version of this one and it wasn't one of my favorites. But now, looking at the more refined version, blown up on my 32" monitor, I have to change my tune. Good work as always, Ryan. You continue to amaze.

Tue December 8, 2015 at 8:26 am

Angelique
"Above the Canopy (2015)"
Hmm. This is kinda interesting. The foliage is very realistic but I don't really like the clouds, as they seem too dense and too bright white (not as realistic-looking). The planet is pretty but the texture looking kinda impressionist smudgy brush texture sort of clashes with the foliage and trees which are rendered differently. I like it though

Sun December 6, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Xetal
"definitely better...."
...with a smaller planet (or a lesss close-up viewpoint.)

Sun December 6, 2015 at 9:04 am

C in TX
"I like it--the planet is more of a focal point now"
I like the planet as is. It's cool and I like the colors and texture. The clouds are better too.

Fri December 4, 2015 at 5:16 pm

horcruxhp
"Better and better..."
Ryan, I agree with David in that the smaller planet works better for the image. The clouds also look more natural in this context. Now... how about a multi-screen version so I can use it on my system?

Fri December 4, 2015 at 10:48 am

Jenanne
"P.S."
The colors ARE amazing!!

Fri December 4, 2015 at 9:49 am

Jenanne
"Much better!"
The clouds are still a bit grainy, but overall this is greatly improved. I like David's idea of a night version. Or, even better, perhaps a twilight version so the tree tops have an "Enshrouded" misty aspect.

Thu December 3, 2015 at 1:07 pm

SethEden
"This needs a multi-screen!"
I believe this version BEGS for a multi-screen version! :-D I love the framing and layout!

Thu December 3, 2015 at 11:18 am

Littlemom
"Much Better"
I this new version much better.

Thu December 3, 2015 at 11:15 am

David
"Getting there..."
I think a clear night sky with a much smaller version of that planet in one corner (or just a full moon) would be a good juxtaposition against the trees and mist. Just me though!

Thu December 3, 2015 at 1:31 am

Josh Woodworth
"It's good but..."
No it works Ryan but change the planet colour to something more contrasting with Green like neon Blue?

Wed December 2, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Jenanne
"7 out of 10"
I loved "Enshrouded," but "Above the Canopy" just doesn't do it for me. Sorry, Ryan.




Wed December 2, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Tom
"???"
What is above the tree tops? Not one of my favorites. Sorry.

Wed December 2, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Yanna
"Nice, but we also need a pickle jar"
This is a very nice wallpaper ,as usual with Ryan Bliss's creations, but I feel that we also need a pickle jar version where the gas planet is a bit further away (in other words: where the planet doesn't fill up the whole sky).

The colors are amazing, I might add!

Wed December 2, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Littlemom
"eeh"
I like the idea of this but don't think the planet and the tree scene below really works together as a whole on this render. But again because you've done it I'll save it to my ever growing DB wallpaper collection

Wed December 2, 2015 at 10:30 am

DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
abovecanopy2
7.93/10 rating (43 votes)

abovecanopy1
7.00/10 rating (27 votes)
Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy