If you hadn't noticed I have been on something of an update kick early in 2014. I didn't really have it in me to show what caused all of the debris in the original "Aftermath" from 1999. When I started playing around with Lightwave's Fracture tool I knew the moment had arrived to complete the scene.

I've posted some "ind- devlopement" pics on my Instagram account if anyone is interested!

8.40/10 rating (139 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

8.43/10 rating (30 votes)

Member Comments

This and the multi-screens look awesome. I cannot wait for the ground view of this one. Keep up the great work Ryan and may you have an awesome rest of the week.

Thu March 6, 2014 at 3:53 am

Ryan, I don't see a facebook cover for this one. I normally like to showcase your work on my Facebook when a new render comes out, but I can't find the link for this one...

Wed March 5, 2014 at 9:22 pm

love it :-)

one of your best space themes.

i only miss this resolution for members :-(

720 x 1280 (Samsung Galaxy)

it would be nice if you could render it :-)

Mon March 3, 2014 at 3:37 am

Much better! Looking forward to the multiscreens.

Sat March 1, 2014 at 7:10 am

"Kaboom just doesn't get it."
Intense!! - You can almost feel the sheer force of the explosion as it races toward you at velocities unimagined, as well as the intense heat it generated. Nice job, Ryan. Sick!

Thu February 27, 2014 at 6:18 pm

"9.5 - Powerful"
What a piece! I gave it a 9.5 simply because I'm leaving room for more 10s in the future. But... it has really had an impact on me.

It's partly the fantastic image itself, and partly because I've just had my first ever (though I should know better at my age) experience of 'love at first sight,' followed quickly by my first ever experience of heart-break, and this image is an accurate representation of the whole thing.

It's staying on my desk top for the forseeable future and gives me something to look at while crying into my gin and tonic. Thank you!

Thu February 27, 2014 at 5:47 pm

I like this version much more than v.1; good work! I like the lighting here a lot. It really helps to convey the sheer power of the situation!

Thu February 27, 2014 at 9:22 am

I love it! And I am not sure where people were getting a star from. It's obviously a terrestrial planet exploding.

Also, everyone putting a rating into their comments, please remember to actually vote on the picture in the drop-down above as well. I was only the 2nd vote, unless that is not reporting correctly.

Thu February 27, 2014 at 8:21 am

I've added an updated render of "Aftermath" to the gallery this morning. I've brightened things a bit, added some more fire and generally tried to make the scene look a bit less "flat". The asymmetry is still there, but not sure what I can do about it since the exploding object isn't very symmetrical.

As for scientific accuracy: I was trying to depict a rocky planet, not a star, breaking up due to some cataclysmic event. Not sure if that changes the critiques at all but I did want to mention it :-)

Thu February 27, 2014 at 8:16 am

Doug B.
I like the overall concept, but I would have to agree with others that the asymmetry throws it off....

Thu February 27, 2014 at 7:19 am

"@Dr Chandra"
Sorry, Dr Chandra, but Daniel did a much better impression of a stuffy know it all. ;)

Thu February 27, 2014 at 6:37 am

"Movement and accuracy"
Amazing piece! As I said before about Asunder, the sense of movement in a space scene is a hard thing to convey, and it is done so here brilliantly.

@Dr Chandra: Although a collapsing star may emit jets, that is something that happens after the supernova phase, when a gas is accreted by a neutron star or black hole, because of Sincrotron radiation. In a collapsing star (or any rotating gravitational system for that matter), interaction with a viscous medium and conservation of angular momentum concentrates material around the equator, which is what we see above.

@Jenanne: Rarely explosions are that symmetric in space. You can see from supernova remnants (the crab nebula, for example) that the resulting gas cloud from the explosion is extremely irregular. In fact, a supernova explosion may shoot a star out of the Galaxy! A process that creates more nicely spherical structures is the pulse of red giants which spawns planetary nebulae, which is not an explosive (albeit beautiful) phenomenon.

Wed February 26, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Dr Chandra
There are obvious inaccuracies here. Typically as a star collapses, it spins up and forms jets of material that erupt from its poles. These jets then blast the star apart. Most explosions expels much or all of a star's material at a velocity of up to 30,000 km/s (10% of the speed of light), driving a unimaginable shock wave. Now depending on the radioactive nature of the core you will typically see some form of metal element such as titanium or iron but I digress.

On the positive side...err...the colors are pretty.

That was my poor impression of a stuffy "know it all". I gave it an "8". Cheers Ryan!!

Wed February 26, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Love the colors and the composition, love the aura around the planet. Love the debris field. However, the planet seems -- lopsided? It's like the top left isn't exploding at the same time/rate as the rest, making the planet appear asymmetrical. It's also not centered, which IMHO is slightly annoying. Other than that, it's perfect! :)

Wed February 26, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Consider the alternate title of "Alderaan." ;-)

Wed February 26, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Bye bye Krypton.

Wed February 26, 2014 at 12:42 pm

kind of in awe of this one ... has a "raw power" to it that is amazing ...

Wed February 26, 2014 at 11:42 am

I would love to give this a 10, but I feel that the top of the explosion is too 'chunky' - and I think the reason it looks so, is that; it is so close to the front in relation to the original.

If it were further away (Wouldn't need to be as far as the original), I think the 'chunky' area wouldn't be so in your face...

Loving the use of Orange though :D

Wed February 26, 2014 at 11:22 am

Maria B
Love the space scenes. This one will be especially interesting next time I'm letting my mind wander while it solves a problem. All the little stories about what is happening and why.

Wed February 26, 2014 at 11:02 am

Love it!!! The colors in this render are awesome. Thanks for such a great render.

Wed February 26, 2014 at 11:01 am

what are the green ray`s comming from the core ?

And to be honest, it still seems a little flat, on the upper half the globe form is lost bij the big fragments.

But a like it a lot, my kind of art

Wed February 26, 2014 at 10:00 am

I love seeing how far you have come in 15 years. This is amazing. The only problem is it makes the original look somehow pale and paltry by comparison.

Wed February 26, 2014 at 9:36 am

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Xenotron (2007)"
Only 172 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy