7.70/10 rating (114 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

8.56/10 rating (43 votes)

Member Comments

"My all time favorite 10"
I rotate wallpapers, but this is my most frequent

Thu April 16, 2015 at 8:57 pm

I should show up now.

Tue August 20, 2013 at 6:23 pm

Can you make a Retna iPad resolution please.

Tue August 20, 2013 at 6:09 pm

"Blade Runner"
I can't explain it but I just think of Blade Runner when I see this, I really like it

Sun August 18, 2013 at 10:31 am

"My new favorite"
While I love almost every piece of art here, this one spoke to me at a deeper level and has now become my all-time favorite. It now graces not only my desktop but I also made a compressed version that Windows 7 will load as a logon screen.

@Jenanne... "But certainly everyone can benefit from a lifetime of Bliss!" I couldn't agree more. I figured that out when I decided to become a lifetime member 3 years ago. Worth every penny! I don't even remember how I found out about DB, but I'm so grateful I did!

Sat August 10, 2013 at 10:20 pm

I know it's been a crazy week, but it looks like we're still missing a few resolutions for Automata. Personally, I only use the iPad HD but doubtless people are waiting for the others:

1600 x 1280 (Nexus 7)

2048 x 2048 (iPad HD)

1252 x 626 (Twitter Header)


Sat August 10, 2013 at 2:33 pm

"@Ryan - Punny"
Well, not a full lifetime yet, I hope. But certainly everyone can benefit from a lifetime of Bliss!

Fri August 9, 2013 at 12:57 pm

"Your Best Work"
For my eyes, this has an endless fascination; as much as I like many other of your wallpapers, this one I thought about when I wasn't at my computer.

Fri August 9, 2013 at 12:02 pm

I've already lived a lifetime of Bliss and I highly recommend it.


Thu August 8, 2013 at 3:10 pm

""That's a steal for a lifetime of Bliss. ;)""
@Jenanne : Oh GROAN ..... lol!

Thu August 8, 2013 at 3:02 pm

And then I misspelled my name. Sheesh!

Thu August 8, 2013 at 1:57 pm

No biggie, Tyler. :) And I agree with you about the 11/10 on this render. It became my current favorite very quickly.

Thu August 8, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Sorry I blew your name. I call every girl Jenna. J/k!

Thu August 8, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Love it on every level. The technicality, the colors, it just works. Even if your company doesn't go with it who cares this piece is brilliant and instantly went on my desktop.

Also @Jenna that was very clever with the Bliss pun.

Thu August 8, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Andrew Rev
"The preview doesn't do this one justice"
The detail at higher resolutions is really spectacular I would encourage anyone who is initially turned off by the preview to view it at full resolution. I almost passed this one up because of that

Thu August 8, 2013 at 11:42 am

Michael R
"Android app??"
Still waiting for this to become available in the DB Android app.

Wed August 7, 2013 at 4:50 pm

"Lifetime membership!"
Wow, if I wasn't already a lifetime member, I'd sure jump on that special $49 price! That's a steal for a lifetime of Bliss. ;)

Wed August 7, 2013 at 11:02 am

I do prefer the title "Automata". Thanks for suggesting it Michiel!

Tue August 6, 2013 at 10:59 pm

"I liked my name... :)"
I was sure you would be smitten with "Substratum"! Anywho, this is another brilliant work of art. I've been a fan since I ran into your art back in 2000. Keep it up!

Tue August 6, 2013 at 8:50 pm

That's the title that popped in my head when I saw this wallpaper. Quite beautiful, by the way... :)

Tue August 6, 2013 at 8:18 pm

"Name Change"
I have my own reasons for the name change, but it wasn't because people didn't understand the original. Maybe "Automata" is better name though...

Tue August 6, 2013 at 6:10 pm

"Great but no Nexus 7 size?"
I really like this and the original title was great. Any reason why there's no Nexus 7 sized download for this and the last few other images in the members' mobile list

Tue August 6, 2013 at 5:57 pm

"The comment below"
was meant to say: Aw, what happened to "Moore's Law"?

Tue August 6, 2013 at 5:43 pm

"Aw, what happened to "
Let me guess: people didn't understand it. :-)

It's a real shame. I can totally see Moore's Law in this piece, albeit in an abstract way: the idea that circuit-design gets more complex / dense over time.

The title "automaton", however, seems out of place. There are automata without circuitry. And there is circuitry that's not part of any automaton.

Just my two cents. I like the render, by the way, though it's not really my style (I'm more a fan of your landscapes).

Tue August 6, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Let me know if there any any other missing ones. It has been unbelievably crazy around my house the past week or so so I apologize!

Tue August 6, 2013 at 2:04 pm

"Missing resolutions"
2048x2048 and 2560x1080 are MIA.

I hope we can get a peek at any others you create for the semi-conductor series. I love this render.

Tue August 6, 2013 at 1:32 pm

Ryan B
"Love the new art but..."
...I can also confirm that the split triple zip file (http://digitalblasphemy.com/content/jpgs/3x/automaton13x_split.zip) is missing.

Looking forward to displaying it once it's available!

Tue August 6, 2013 at 10:55 am

"I Second the Pickle Jar Motion"
I liked that other version too. The one that was just a low res preview.

Request: glow

If you make it black and white, you will notice that nothing really feels illuminated. Some subtle lighting effects could really give a nice feel to this. I think that would be the finishing touch.

Tue August 6, 2013 at 9:11 am

woke up this morning.....and went "huh"????? no "mooreslaw"???? please put the original in the Pickle Jar!!!!

Tue August 6, 2013 at 5:46 am


Nice one!

Tue August 6, 2013 at 4:00 am

Renders like this are WHY I bought a 3-year membership. This is one of my few 10/10 ratings, and the contrast between this and "Arrakeen" (which I didn't like) is huge. The diversity of your renders are astounding, and at this rate, a 50% amazing (this, Roche, Jelly) to mediocre (Starfall, Sakura, Arrakeen) ratio is making my investment extremely worthwhile.


Mon August 5, 2013 at 10:27 pm

"Broken Link"
Your 5120 x 1600 (dual 16:10) version is corrupted, it doesn't load past the first few pixels.

Mon August 5, 2013 at 5:04 pm

I've uploaded a new version this afternoon which includes dual and triple-screen versions. The new single-screen versions are crops of the multi-screen. I've changed a few textures and added a bit of geometry but nothing too major.

The initial word from my friend in the industry has been very positive ;-)

Mon August 5, 2013 at 3:42 pm

I've always liked your tech themed abstracts, and I'm eagerly awaiting a dual screen version so I can throw this into rotation with all my other DB favorites. :)

Mon August 5, 2013 at 1:41 pm

"Somewhere in Time"
Oddly enough, this reminds me of the Iron Maiden album cover "Somewhere in Time". Sort of futuristic architecture vibe going on.

Best not go on too much more, as I guess most people won't make the same link.

Mon August 5, 2013 at 9:14 am

Michael R
I love the detail and the depth of this. It's going on my phone today and on my PC as soon as the multiscreens are up.

The older version I saw, which was from a sort of higher and leftward angle, was also very cool. Any chance of that showing up in the Pickle Jar?

Mon August 5, 2013 at 8:59 am

John B
This is the perfect wallpaper to have while listening to Vangelis' Blade Runner Soundtrack. Perfect visual and audio experience.

Rating it just on a wallpaper level. I would say this is one of your best abstract pieces ever.

Mon August 5, 2013 at 2:12 am

Love it. I saw Blade Runner as soon as the page loaded. That's a compliment, not a shot saying you borrowed or anything.

Blade Runner, was one of the movies I saw when I was young that cemented the fact that I'd be a tech person some day. Now I am a sysadmin, using thousands of "a large semi-conductor company's" processors.

This immediately brought back excellent memories.

Thank you.

Sun August 4, 2013 at 11:02 pm

I really really really like your abstracts. The "space images" come in a first, though. I love my images of ringed planets and everything else you throw in them. I still see a multicolor Blade Runner in this image, Complete with 'wet' streets. going to give a 10

Sun August 4, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Ben K
I'm all about abstract wallpapers, this has nice color composition and beautiful depth. I'll be sporting this one for a while@

Sun August 4, 2013 at 1:51 pm

Brandi U.
"This geek loves it"
You made a computer geek girl squeal. Love the title and think the results capture it. Great piece.

Sun August 4, 2013 at 12:42 pm

This looks terrific on my monitor, better than I expected. The colors and level of complexity are perfect. Good luck on the corporate partnership. They'd be crazy to pass up your talent. Here's hoping they pay you the big bucks! :)

Sun August 4, 2013 at 11:23 am

Very nice and techy. Will look great on my home computer.

Sun August 4, 2013 at 8:31 am

Michael N
"Very Cool"
I like how busy this image is. It seems like there's something new to look at every time you look. The only potential problem is that my icons seem to blend into it until I search for them

Sun August 4, 2013 at 1:47 am

Interesting work. Makes me think of TRON.

Sat August 3, 2013 at 9:00 pm

"Nice work"
My first thought was, this looks like something Intel would commission.

Sat August 3, 2013 at 4:07 pm

"Good stuff :-)"
Personally, this is not my style, but I think the name suits it well! I work for a large semiconductor company and I can imagine having this hanging around the office! :-) (I'm pretty sure I was lectured for a few hours on Moore's Law when I first started here too. lol)

Sat August 3, 2013 at 1:46 pm

"PNG versions"
Where are the PNG versions for 1440p and 1600?

Sat August 3, 2013 at 1:39 pm

I'm not a big fan of abstract, but this good. I like the water at the bottom in particular. It reminds me of some of the maps from Quake 3.

FYI, the 2880 x 1800 link isn't working.

Sat August 3, 2013 at 12:18 pm

I love this piece because it isn't really an abstract but it kinda feels that way. Thanks for the explanation; I would have had no idea! I like that I can look at this for a while and still see something new. I hope that the company has the good taste to use the best art being created right now! <3

Sat August 3, 2013 at 10:31 am

I've always liked your landscapes and space scenes the best. I do like the reference in the title.

Sat August 3, 2013 at 9:51 am

Ah, yes, that's the right wording of the law. Thanks, Ryan!

Sat August 3, 2013 at 9:26 am

Love it, Ryan! I don't think you've done anything quite like this. I like the title you've chosen. Isn't Moore's Law something like "computer processors double in complexity every two years"? Very appropriate. Great job!

Sat August 3, 2013 at 9:13 am

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:

  • Kevin Lynch ('Crimmy') -- (11/2/15)
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)

Recent Sponsors:

  • Jonathan Stanley -- (11/1/15)
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)

Recent Patrons:

  • Richard Month -- (11/1/15)
  • Cliff Bloom -- (10/25/15)
  • Michael Swanson -- (10/16/15)
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)

Recent Donors:

  • De Beers -- (11/19/15)
  • Alisa McKeehan -- (11/7/15)
  • Patrick Biggs -- (11/6/15)
  • Dean Andrews -- (11/5/15)
  • Technovation Design -- (11/4/15)

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

On Sale!! 60% off if you use coupon code "PREP4HOLIDAY"!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy