8.85/10 rating (447 votes)
115 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:

Member Comments

skipwest
"10"
The Turning



'Tis the time

Winter solstice time

Frost in rime

Bells in chime



Rays are long

Sun grows strong

Praise in song

Winter will be gone



-Skip West

Thu December 6, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Somebody
"Sky!"
This looks epic! I love the sky and I'm a huge fan of cold winter pictures but I wish the landscape was better. The snow looks grainy and the bear could look more real. If those where fixed it would be the only background I would use!

Tue April 17, 2012 at 11:40 pm

Yishai
"Wow."
I get chilly just looking at this piece of art.

Sun February 27, 2011 at 2:42 am

Jeff R.E.
"The North Captured"
What a gorgeous scene. Everything the great North has to offer.

Tue January 4, 2011 at 10:50 am

LHensey
"Lovely"
A nice, relaxing scene. I expect the comments at work to begin shortly.



I'm just sad that I use a two-deep taskbar in Windows. The poor polar bear is just about lost at the bottom of the screen. :(

Wed December 15, 2010 at 10:42 am

Cornflake
"Nice"
A beautiful background that's not too bright but not too dark...



And finally a new one with dual screen available for download right away!!!

Mon December 6, 2010 at 1:06 am

Speedy J
"Winter Solstice"
So very beautiful....Bravo

Sincerely,

Marco from Miami

Sun December 5, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Speedy J
"Winter Solstice"
So very beautiful....Bravo

Sincerely,

Marco from Miami

Sun December 5, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Sean
"Winter Solstice"
Reminds me of Thule Greenland. I kinda miss that place.

Thu December 2, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Kate
"sky & bear"
The sky looks AMAZING. And I love the polar bear. :)

Thu December 2, 2010 at 0:40 am

Joel
""Winter Solstice""
Dude I like it. I think you originally called it "Underneath", which I thought was fitting for this image, the sky and aurora have an oppressing feel, huge and insurmountable, like the polar ice cap as seen "underneath" it. The sky's the limit.

Tue November 30, 2010 at 7:43 pm

CR Douglas
"Impressive! .....as always :)"
Another fantastic image, Ryan. Thanks!

Mon November 29, 2010 at 11:16 am

kunoh
"Nice! you use Zbrush!"
I use Zbrush for normal mapping character models for my job. It's interesting to see it used for something non-character related. This looks great! It caught my eye even before I saw that you used Zbrush on it.

Sun November 28, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Ian
"Icebergs Part 2"
As an afterthought, are the icebergs able to be removed for a pickle jar image?

Fri November 26, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Ian
"Icebergs"
I really like this new scene, unfortunately for me, the first thing that caught my eye was the sharp lines at the bottom of the icebergs. With the size of the polar bear, and the size of the waves, there should be some sort of affect on the icebergs. Not as in rocking back and forth, but in waves crashing up the side somewhat, or even a smooth area on this side to simulate the icebergs blocking the waves.

Overall the scene is stunning and was set as my desktop wallpaper almost immediately.

Fri November 26, 2010 at 9:32 pm

Paradox
"wow."
love the whole aurora, cloud with moonlights peeking through and the small pockets of stars. when i saw this i knew i had to renew my membership :D. keep up the hardwork!

Wed November 24, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Ryan
"@Thom"
Sorry about that. I made some improvements to the scene when I did the multiscreen version and I saved that as a new file. I went to open it a couple of days ago and it crashed Vue! I've been trying to figure out how to re-open it for the past few days. Should just bite the bullet and redo my changes...

Wed November 24, 2010 at 9:53 am

Thom
"Polar Bear's Legs"
Are we going to have the polar bear's legs fixed liek you promised? :(

Wed November 24, 2010 at 9:32 am

kellzilla
"@Jerry"
Click the appropriate resolution's link, right-click the image that loads, then select "set as wallpaper" (or whatever your browser says).

Tue November 23, 2010 at 11:41 pm

Jerry
"wallpaper"
For years I could right click and "save as wallpaper" would appear. Now it says "save image as ..." What do I do with this to make it my wallpaper?

jfriedman1010@gmail.com

Tue November 23, 2010 at 5:26 pm

Michelle
"So amazing!"
Wow, just wow. I've never seen an aurora in person but that is breathtaking. I love the movement in the clouds too and the pockets of stars on the other side. It's almost as if the wild light and the fixed lights are playing!

Tue November 23, 2010 at 7:52 am

Fandeboris
"Cold and Intense"
At first I thought OK, then I 'really' started to look at it. It quickly went up my Richter Scale. There is a lot of stunning things going on, for us cloud watchers

Mon November 22, 2010 at 10:30 pm

JanisMC
"Heavenly"
Thanks Ryan. As always, you are a genius.

Mon November 22, 2010 at 10:30 pm

Coda
"Mostly great"
Everything looks wonderful except for like the bottom inch of the wallpaper. The polar bear looks like a plastic toy model, and the snow looks fake too. Other than that, it's great!

Mon November 22, 2010 at 4:19 pm

Geof
"Aurora's"
I've never seen an aurora in real life so I can only imagine they are as pretty as what you've created here. I really like this image and just updated my background from the Halloween image, to this one. Thanks for all your hard work.

Mon November 22, 2010 at 10:23 am

MattV
"One of My Favorites"
Fantastic job Ryan! This has made the list as one of my favorites!

Sun November 21, 2010 at 8:13 am

sigmaman
"Looks good."
Looks mihty fine to me mate. Love it!

Sat November 20, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Dan
"Beautiful!"
I love it Ryan! You are great at making these kinds of wallpapers and I really like these kind. The sky, clouds, mountains, water, icebergs, and even the cold drift with the polar bear walking on. Just a whole awesome package!

Sat November 20, 2010 at 12:07 am

Elisa
"so frosty2"
That would be a totally sweet xmas background i would "NOT" mind anything spacey ^^ If there is a possibility for that please let me know.



So long Elli

Sat November 20, 2010 at 3:53 am

Elisa
"so frosty"
That would be a totally sweet xmas background i would "NOT" mind anything spacey ^^ If there is a possibility for that please let me know.



So long Elli

Sat November 20, 2010 at 3:52 am

Elisa
"so frosty *"
Hello Ryan,

thank you for the dual and triple screen versions =)

I wanted to ask you if there is a posibility to ask for a dual n triple screen wallpaper in a mix of the colors silver purple-pinkish and blue that could match my visual stunning Gui style?

I dont mean this wallpaper but i didnt find the request button so i just ask for a wall here ^^ hope you dont mind..

That would be a totally sweet xmas background i would mind anything spacey ^^ if there is a possibility for that please let me know.

So long Elli

Sat November 20, 2010 at 3:50 am

Seth
"10 second rule"
First, I love this wallpaper, and it went up on my PC the moment I saw it. Thanks, Ryan!



Anyone notice the iceberg looks like a cupcake that fell on the floor? Mmmmmmmm... cupcaaaaaaakes...

Fri November 19, 2010 at 2:49 pm

chandler
"yes"
i love the matte look of this, as opposed to the much more common glossy looking scenic renders you've made. it matches my pc great

Fri November 19, 2010 at 2:30 am

Andy
"Amazing"
Incredible work Ryan!

Thu November 18, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Melissa
"WOW"
Beautiful!!!



Thank you Ryan!!

Thu November 18, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Mars
"WOW!!!! This is what am talking about,NICE!!!!"
Now were back on track!! Nice!!! WOW!!!

Thu November 18, 2010 at 10:16 pm

Tyler
"@Scarr"
I tend to agree on the foreground. It lacks the resolution of the sky which overemphasizes the fact of each being created in different programs and slapped together. Ryan could touch it up easily though.

Thu November 18, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Scarr
"Well done"
Beautiful work. The sky is exquisite.



Unfortunately, with the perfection of the sky, the landscape looks a little underdone.

Thu November 18, 2010 at 3:45 pm

D
"Checkerboard Rocks"
On the far left of the multiscreen render, the rock has a rather unnatural tiled texture. (beneath13x7680)

Thu November 18, 2010 at 9:03 am

FranK
"WINTER SOLSTICE"
Hi! Ryan, Brilliant winter wallpaper again. is there any chance of updating this wallpaper without the cloud effect and seeing more of the aurora borealis....just a thought. again thanks Ryan.

Thu November 18, 2010 at 2:42 am

Hunter
"Your Skies"
Ryan, your skies are getting better with every wallpaper. They really are amazing.

Wed November 17, 2010 at 2:50 pm

Daniel
"New Favorite"
I love the special look of the night sky in winter, and this wallpaper captures it better than any I've seen. Wonderful.

Wed November 17, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Sovereign
"Awesome!"
Nice new winter wallpaper!

Wed November 17, 2010 at 12:32 am

Firefly
"Like the wave"
I really like the up swept wave effect of the aurora borealis.



Good work.

Wed November 17, 2010 at 9:27 am

celmendo
"beautiful work"
'nuff said

Wed November 17, 2010 at 8:36 am

Walo
"Excellent"
I love this one. It feels sublime. I've got so many LCD screens to update lol.

Wed November 17, 2010 at 7:22 am

Troy
"A Favorite"
The positioning of all the elements in this one is near perfect Ryan! Possibly my favorite winter image you have done.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 11:47 pm

Abby
"Perfection!"
LOVE IT! I can't wait until you have a dual screen rendered. It will be going up at work. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!

Tue November 16, 2010 at 10:10 pm

Nate F
"@ Pat Agree"
Defineatly seems like an update on Arctica. Which is great! Had been hoping for something like this recently

Tue November 16, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Kana
"wow"
Very nice! I love the rendering of the ice and the way the aurora blends a bit with the background stars.



I would like to possibly see a pickle jar version of a clear sky, though, so you can see the full aurora and stars. Keep up the awesome work!

Tue November 16, 2010 at 8:47 pm

Becca
"By the way--"
As soon as this one is a multi-monitor version, it is going up on my desktop here,.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 5:42 pm

Mark
"amazing"
Well done, Ryan. If this is your first render using Vued'Esprit 9, I would assume they'll only get better! This one is wonderful. Keep up the good work!

Tue November 16, 2010 at 3:27 pm

FranK
"WINTER SOLSTICE"
hey!ryan, what a gem. we are heading into winter so no better way to guide us. looking forward to your christmas/new year atractions

Tue November 16, 2010 at 3:06 pm

Brandi
"Liking this!"
I love your aurora wallpapers. I'd say the experiment with Apophysis was a success!

Tue November 16, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Will
"stunning"
wow ryan, this is absolutely fantastic. purely stunning

Tue November 16, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Mike
"Evocative"
Now here's one that really takes the viewer's imagination places. Not that other recent ones aren't good too, but this one's especially powerful.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Chris
"Awesome"
Now you're going to make me change my desktop -- I've had Tropical Moon on my work machine for a couple of years. Can't wait for the dual screen version.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 12:15 am

Brian
"Cool Blue"
Very nice. Love the polar bear. Not sure about the technicals behind Apophysis but this aurora looks good to me.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 11:51 am

Hawk
"sweeeet!"
I think it's wonderful. The only thing that kinda annoys is the clouds. They seem to get in the way of the beauty in the sky. They seem to be blocking it.



I love the angled mountains of ice.



Keep up the good work!

Tue November 16, 2010 at 11:44 am

Terry
"Winter Solstice"
I don't comment often but wanted to say I really like this, my favourite wallpaper of all time that you did was the original "song of the sky" or "sky song"... something like that. I think you've nailed it :)

Tue November 16, 2010 at 11:08 am

Ryan
"@Becca"
My 4 yr old's favorite show right now is "Inspector Gadget". Thank you Netflix (or as Jason calls it: "Net-toons").

Tue November 16, 2010 at 11:02 am

Becca
"Wowzers"
Nice!

Tue November 16, 2010 at 10:58 am

littlemom
"Beautiful"
This is such a beautiful I love everything about it. Keep them coming.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 9:56 am

Shane
"Hits the Spot"
I'm not always sure I want to change to the newest wallpaper that you post but this one was a no-brainer! Colors, clouds, lighting, it all comes together very very nicely.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 8:45 am

susanfrank
"susanwaterford@zoomtown.com"
thank-you for winter solace i really love winter scenes

Tue November 16, 2010 at 8:41 am

James
"Nice"
Gorgeous is all I have to say. Can't wait for the double/triple monitor versions of this.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 8:39 am

Foz
"Wowzers"
I've just taken the 2560x1600 and cropped the height to 1024 so it fits my dual monitor setup - it's fricking awesome!



Have you done something different to the clouds? They look very real with the aurora bleeding through the edges!

Tue November 16, 2010 at 8:21 am

FlareHeart
"Breath-Taking!"
I absolutely love this one! I was awestruck when I saw this one's thumbnail and it's even better in full size! It's my new favorite!



Thanks for the awesome wallpaper!

Tue November 16, 2010 at 8:09 am

LisaB
"WOW!"
Absolutely beautiful :)

Tue November 16, 2010 at 7:08 am

James
"Blackberry"
Thank you for including BlackBerry Storm resolution for this wallpaper. It looks fantastic on both my laptop and phone.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 6:33 am

Miguell026
"Winter Solstice (2010)"
AWESOME RYAN! GREAT WORK! LOVE IT

ANOTHER MASTERPIECE FROM THE BEST! ;)



GLAD I AM A LIFE-TIME MEMBER OF YOURS!



and the new software seems great by the way!



PS:

you can do tons of mods in this scenario...

if i was you.. next time:

i would transform this one into a kind of a glacier coast at night with a nice moon and auroras in the sky! :P

like a beach.. but with ice instead of sand..



CHEERS FROM OPORTO - PORTUGAL

Tue November 16, 2010 at 5:26 am

BenC
"Love it!"
But I also agree with Max's comment about the right most iceberg.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 4:49 am

Pat
"Berg"
Awesome. Feels like a cold, moody, unforgiving winter night.



Also, that iceberg in the foreground looks a lot like the one in Arctica. Not the same, but very close : ).

Tue November 16, 2010 at 1:16 am

Scott
"I love it..."
...but I agree with Max about that one iceberg.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 0:49 am

Max
"Actually..."
I just noticed that the smallest iceberg on the right seems like it's floating in the air. The iceberg looks displaced from the scene because of the way it reflects on the water. I think the contrast is too sharp between the dark shadow on the side of the iceberg and the apparent lack of its shadow cast on the water.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 0:42 am

Nightwynd
"Very Nice"
This is beautiful, but I wish there was a tad more color to the aurora....make it stand out a bit better.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 0:33 am

Nightwynd
"Very nice."
This is beautiful, but I wish there was a tad more color to the aurora....make it stand out a bit better.

Tue November 16, 2010 at 0:33 am

Max
"Insane Quality!"
Finally something to replace "Starlight Grotto"! DUAL SCREEN PLS OMG! :P

Tue November 16, 2010 at 0:32 am

Matthew
"Absolutely Amazing"
Captures the winter perfectly. Doesn't need to be clearer or more sky, it is gorgeous as is. The mountains shrouded in mystery and the hint of the northern lights - superb! Dying for the dual-screen...

Mon November 15, 2010 at 11:43 pm

Scott
"One critique"
I love the sky. The aurora mixed in with the clouds and stars is amazing. However, I think that on such a bright night, the snow should twinkle and shine more, it's a little too flat.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 10:58 pm

Michelle
"Beautiful!"
One of my favorites of the ones you've done this year.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 10:51 pm

Eyal
"Comment"
The only "problem" with this wallpaper is the fact that the bear is in the very bottom of the image, which makes it hidden by my Task Bar...



Even though - it is a 10!

Mon November 15, 2010 at 10:42 pm

Darlene
"Love this! "
Ryan, you never cease to amaze me. Absolutely beautiful!

Mon November 15, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Darlene
"Love this! "
Ryan, you never cease to amaze me. Absolutely beautiful!

Mon November 15, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Chris B
"@ Ryan"
Good Choice on the name. Plus now you can do a Summer Solstice, & a Spring & Fall Equinox ;)

Mon November 15, 2010 at 9:49 pm

Josh
"This is hot."
I really love this. I also love the polar bear. Gorgeous.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 9:43 pm

Tyson
"WICKED!!!"
This is one of your best lately! I love blue walls...

Mon November 15, 2010 at 8:52 pm

MythAvatar
"Awesome!!"
I think this is fantastic, the sky is perfect!

Mon November 15, 2010 at 7:33 pm

Wraith
"Do like!"
Dark, but it adds to the overall feel of the scene! Love the lone polar bear. :)

Mon November 15, 2010 at 7:15 pm

Jonathan
"Great! Love this!"
This picture is stunning! It would be even better if the stars and mountains were more visible.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 7:09 pm

JK
"Off-topic, but interesting..."
http://gizmodo.com/5690253/when-your-bedroom-becomes-your-pc-is-time-to-find-professional-help



Notice the wallpapers on the dual monitors.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 7:01 pm

Chris
"Excellente"
Great work on this one Ry. I do like how the lighting came out.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 6:45 pm

Logan
"I get cold just looking at it!"
You really nailed it on this one. Reminds me of a trip I took to Alaska.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Ryan
"@Chris"
I changed the title after I uploaded it (got cold feet) but didn't rename the files.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 6:01 pm

Chris B
"Looking good"
really chilly... may have to light a fire.



My only question is why it is entitled "beneath" lol

Mon November 15, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Tim H
"Love it ! "
All I can say is wow, very well done ryan. Keep up the good work !

Mon November 15, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Mike
"Fantastic!"
This is definitely one of my new favorites, but my only gripe is with the polar bear. He seems to have really strange lighting... he's dark on top and the light source seems to be coming from the ground in front of him. Other than that, it's great!

Mon November 15, 2010 at 4:15 pm

Vaul
"Love it!"
Not much to say on this one other than I love it. :-)



Cheers,

Vaul

Mon November 15, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Mike
"Move Aside Song of the Sky"
Song of the Sky as been my favorite Auroras for years and still holds to be a classic, but Winter Solstice has taken its place. Cant wait for the Multi-screen.



Nice Work

Mon November 15, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Johnny
"Beautiful"
I think the Auroras turned out fantastic. Their color and wispy effect come together perfectly.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 3:10 pm

John
"Detail "
I like this piece a lot, but I feel like the ice peaks in the foreground lessen the effect of the piece somewhat. Their smoothness suggests to me a warmer temperature, as you'll usually get smoother ice when it's been melting, whereas I think the overall effect you're going for is a very cold one.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 3:00 pm

Duncan
"Truly Awesome"
Reminds me of Iceland, except Iceland doesn't have polar bears.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Geep
"Blown away..."
Every time I think you've done a spectacular work, you top it with yet another fantastic one. As much as I like B&W Highland, this one quickly went up on my background.



I love the blues of this and how the lights dance across the sky. And the bear is a great touch too. :)

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:47 pm

Aaron
"Like Home"
Aside from the icebergs this is the image most often seen on winter nights here in "nordern" Minnesota. Ice coupled with the Aurora Borealis.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Woodstock
"Love.the.bear"
I really like this. It captures both the dark and the light of the time of year. And I love the bear in the foreground.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:40 pm

Tyler
"Rated @ 10"
This style is where you shine most Mr. Bliss. I can always tell which renders are your best by how much emotion they evoke. In this case I feel enamored and mystified by the sight of that sky in such a frozen wasteland. All of the critics from your last work should hopefully take a seat now.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:32 pm

Thom
"@Ryan"
Awesome! Thanks for the quick response. I'll be looking forward to the new version.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:31 pm

Ryan
"@Thom"
I noticed that was an issue with 16:9 screens after I posted. I will try to post a new version for 16:9 shortly but for now you could try using the small icons option. Sorry about that!

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:21 pm

Thom
"Great but..."
...it's unfortunate how the polar bear's legs are chopped off by a full sized Windows 7 taskbar. :(

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:19 pm

James H.
"A Winter Harbinger"
This is truly a spectacular image. The problem I've always had with Harbinger is that the clouds are strange, almost solid, and somewhat ruin the aurora in the sky... these are beautifully rendered.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Greg
"Epic"
oh wow... epic render mr Bliss! love the dark feel! so glad these new images are coming pretty frequently these days

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:13 pm

Tiffany
"Love it!"
Wow. Absolutely love the "new" aurora borealis. And the polar bear is a great touch. :) Thanks for the new wall paper!

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Tor
"Ohh"
I feel the need to turn on a heater now. Looks good.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Richard H
"winter solstice (2010)"
Beautiful!

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Anthony
"Fantastic"
Really great stuff, here. I was certain that I wouldn't have to change my wallpaper again after downloading Highland Winter, but this will look great on the Droid. Also a great pick-me-up after a rough weekend for the Hawkeyes.

Mon November 15, 2010 at 2:04 pm

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Waveform (2013)"
Only 2 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play