8.44/10 rating (848 votes)
84 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:

Member Comments

Liam
"Biodome -- Night"
Yes, a Night version of this scene would be interesting, with the sky full of stars and/or the moonlight reflecting off the clouds and the structures. This is such a cool scene, Ryan!

Sun July 31, 2011 at 1:43 am

Tyler
"Definitely a favorite"
Dear Ryan,

There is something about a sunset in a futuristic setting that grabs me here. This image is one of my top 3. This and Conjunction are among my favorite styles that you create. I love the ultra modern (borderline sci-fi) atmosphere, and especially when the colors are this vibrant and alluring. I could stare at this wallpaper all day long. Please my friend make more like this!

Thu March 11, 2010 at 11:43 am

Kris
"My favorite"
Hello Ryan, I just wanted to let you know that I love this picture. It is by far my favorite piece of work from you. The lighting, clouds, mist, all adds to this picture. Thank you for this great piece.

November 17, 2008

Nimesh P.
"Nice + Change Suggestion"
I really like the use of the forest enviroments inside of the dome along with the complex being in the sky, I can spend alot of time just looking at this wallpaper for how nice it is.



I would really love to see a biodome night version, with the the night scenery, such as a dark sky, the stars, maybe a moon? I think the biodome would truly look amazing in a night scene

March 10, 2008

Owen Clark
"Brilliant"
Lots of people still ask me about my backrounds when they see them but this one has definatly caused the most comments. Superb!

January 14, 2008

Jon
"Just awesome"
I really liked the cloud work in the daylight one, but I think the lower light really brings out the detail in the dome. Looks great.

September 14, 2007

Matt
"Blue Lines"
I think the blue lines on the tower should be out of focus, a depth of field type thing. For weeks I've been wondering what was wrong with it and I think that's it.



Amazing picture otherwise.

September 11, 2007

Bill
"Another Keeper"
There are several aspects about Biodome Sunset that I like. The soft, life-giving feeling I get from the sun's illumination and reflections contrast with the stark, man-made image that the blues lights and towers suggest. I see a dichotomy in the manufactured growth of the dome versus the natural vegetation on the planet surface, nice effect to use the same subject material to illustrate the two very environments. Thanks.

July 1, 2007

lotu
"Magnificant"
I really love how this is done. This and the day version are some of your very best work ever. I'm really thinking after this that I should get a lifetime subscription becasue your wallpapers are totally awsome. Right now I have my desktop switch between this and the night version depending on the time of day. I really love how they go togeters so well. Also thank you for the triple screen. It's really nice to have a fluid desktop

July 1, 2007

Mikkel
"I love this one"
Is the dome actually the Arboretum from the outside? :-)

July 1, 2007

Tommy
"Biodome Sunset"
I've always loved your work and i have been following it for some times now and i have to say that this picture plus Hidden Falls are the most amazing artwork i have seen yet, continue in that direction.



PS. What's your secret? :)

June 27, 2007

Tommy
"Biodome Sunset"
I've always loved your work and i have been following it for some times now and i have to say that this picture plus Hidden Falls are the most amazing artwork i have seen yet, continue in that direction.



PS. What's your secret? :)

June 27, 2007

cajmoh ( simon )
"Boidome Sunset"
I love this image at sunset. Very spectacular. The day image is definately my favourite of the two.



Ladies and gentlemen, I have been reading a few reviews regarding DB's image output. I personally think I would rather Ryan do 15 good images a year, as appose to 50 average ones. I judge a picture of Ryans by how long it says as wallpaper on my Computer. I usually change them over daily ( I have a lot ). His recent work has been staying on my wallpaper for a good week, because it looks so Good. Output isn't the issue, quality is, and you will struggle to find anything that compares to Ryans work. Love your work Ryan, keep it up.

June 26, 2007

cajmoh ( simon )
"Boidome Sunset"
I love this image at sunset. Very spectacular. The day image is definately my favourite of the two.



Ladies and gentlemen, I have been reading a few reviews regarding DB's image output. I personally think I would rather Ryan do 15 good images a year, as appose to 50 average ones. I judge a picture of Ryans by how long it satys as wallpaper on my Computer. I usually change them over daily ( I have a lot ). His recent work has been staying on my wallpaper for a good week, because it looks so Good. Output isn't the issue, quality is, and you will struggle to find anything that compares to Ryans work. Love your work Ryan, keep it up.

June 26, 2007

John
"Reply"
"Perhaps the last couple of posters who're complaining about Ryans output being too slow would like to prove they can do better.... If, as I suspect, they can't, then may I respectfully suggest they shut up?"



Respectfully,you should mind your own business.This is a PAID subcription and that entitles me and other paid subscribers something for our money,beside pictures of Ryans latest vacation! I too provide a service as a living and if I disregarded my customers,I would be out of business.This is art,yes.This is also a business.




June 26, 2007

docpixl
"Biodome Sunset"
Another terrific wallpaper. Reading the comments, I stopped when two different people noted that the sun looked stretched. You people don't watch sunsets very much do you? As objects outside of earth's atmosphere travel to the lower edges of the atmosphere before they dissappear they will look distorted; the atmosphere is thicker when light needs to pass through more of the atmosphere as you view objects. It's also why the moon looks larger when it is rising. It may not necessarily look stretched (the moon I mean) because the air has usually cooled by moonrise but it will look larger. And especially in these times of pollution there is more particulates floating around that add to the red orange color of sunsets and it all contributes to a less clear image. If you live in a large metro area it's even worse. Enough, I am thankful for my relatively clear evening and early morning light. Thank you Ryan.

June 25, 2007

Jo C
"Love it"
Perhaps the last couple of posters who're complaining about Ryans output being too slow would like to prove they can do better.... If, as I suspect, they can't, then may I respectfully suggest they shut up?



Anyway, love this image, best for a while and it is now my desktop background. It always gets comments when people see it :)

June 25, 2007

John
"Output"
I appreciate Ryans work and to give him credit for it.However,his output is NOWHERE where it should be.I've seen months pass with 1 new wallpaper or an update to an older one.Insult to injury are pictures of his latest vacation to exotic locales! I'm glad he can afford this,but it is his subscription base that make these frequent vacations possible.The bang for the buck on DB is not what it was!

June 24, 2007

??
"nice but"
im very disappointed on how long it takes for you to make new images



there only been like 15 or less images this year, compared to the other years it very slow,

June 23, 2007

NXTKorp
"Biodome Sunset"
Ryan,



I like this one very much.



Great Job!



Thanks

June 20, 2007

John Justice
"Biodome Sunset"
Wonderful Work Ryan,

I had downloaded the day version, but this one really topped it for me. One of the many reasons I pay for an annual subscription to your site.



For the Star Wars fans (like myself) it really brings up memories of Bespin (Cloud City).



Keep it up.



-John

June 20, 2007

Mike
"Biodome Sunset"
Beautiful!! This is my current desktop wallpaper :) I really love your scenery wallpapers best. I'm not too much of a fan of the sort of abstract art pics, even though yours ARE always interesting or colorful. I'm always really pleased when I see your newest wallpaper is another scenery.

June 20, 2007

Geoff
"Amazing, best one I've seen so far."
I love this one. I can just sit at work and stare at my desktop to keep myself entertained. :) Keep it up man, it's wallpapers like this that make me realize why I subscribe.

June 20, 2007

CK
"I like it!, but i dont..."
hey Ryan,



great work again, it looks impressive and for the most part i like it. i thought the original (or 1st) Biodome was also spectacular (except for maybe all the white :D) and it honestly looks like it could be the opening movie sequence to a CGI movie.



Anyway, with the sunset version, although i like it, there are some things i don't like.



With the 1st Biodome artpiece, the setting looks very "futuristic", but in the sunset version the setting sun makes everything seem very bronzed and gives the impression that the actual dome itself is black (or darker in colour) and not white as it was with the 1st version.



The only other thing i dont really like is the horizontal blue lines on the towers, to me, they just seem out of place.



If it comes across that im taking a dig, then that is not my intention, i know that you value constructive criticism and i look forward to your next masterpiece.



Thanks

CK

June 18, 2007

Terry
"Eden"
Hey Ryan,



I've just spent a week down in Cornwall over here in the UK, its the closest we have to be being abroad and is ace for surfing, except this week when the sea was flat.



Anyhow we visited the Eden Project if your aware of it. Its basically a set of domes very similar to yours built in an abandoned quarry. In which they have basically built a rainforest. Your work reminds me a lot of that place.



Love it.



T.

June 16, 2007

Dan
"Biodome Sunset"
Wow! This one is even better than the day one, and I really like the original! Very futuristic and well done night scene! Keep it up!

June 16, 2007

Dan Grenfell
"Wonderful"
Wow, what a stunning piece of work! :)

I like both versions of Biodome, but feel that this sunset image is more desktop-background friendly. I love the blue lights piercing through the low-lying mist, very atmospheric.

The only thing that jars is perhaps the neon on the towers which looks just a tad too uniform, like they were added post-render with a line tool in a paint package ;)

Overall - fantabulous. The geodesic dome has reminded me of the Eden Project which I will definitely be visiting now, during my holiday in Cornwall in a couple of weeks!

June 15, 2007

starchild
"awesome"
We are just about to build a geodesic dome for our new home.... just getting plans out of council...... this is fantastic! Thanks you.

June 14, 2007

starchild
"awesome"
We are just about to build a geodesic dome for our new home.... just getting plans out of council...... this is fantastic! Thanks you.

June 14, 2007

Bill D
"Love the night version"
Great wallpaper. Love the night version. The atmosphere, lighting and overall mood is perfect. Thank you!

June 14, 2007

Danny
"Triple and Dual"
I usually do not comment on the "sequels" - the Dual and Triple versions, but this time I want to say they look excellent!

Very very majestic and futuristic-yet-possible.

June 14, 2007

Abby
"Love It1"
I think the night view far outshines the day version. LOVE IT! Keep up the creativity!


June 14, 2007

Melissa
"AMAZING"
Absolutely Amazing!!!



Love it!!



Thank you Ryan!!

June 13, 2007

Digger
"Biodome Sunset"
Wpw, If only it were real. It looks real enough. Antoher Screen Saver I'll get all kinds of comments on. I've recommened your site to several people.



June 13, 2007

Kyle C
"Just look... need I say more?"
Wow...



Ryan you never cease to amaze me. Your work just gets better and better; the amount of people that see my screen and say 'where did you take that' (granted for the more realistic images) just gets greater. The night version is fantastic - I think I prefer it over the day version (it just seems a little too light) but both are very good...



Keep it up - I look forward to it :)

June 13, 2007

Victor
"Stunned"
THIS WALLPAPER is why I joined the members' section. This'll be on my desktop for quite a while!

June 13, 2007

Phillip Deck
"great image"
Looks great, due to the lighting I think it was too bright on the previous image (daylight version) this one is a perfect as far as this atmospheric setting goes....

June 12, 2007

Bill in NV
"Perfection"
Absolutely perfect Ryan. Need I say more?



Thanks for the hard work.

June 12, 2007

Albert
"Great Pic"
Reminds me of the old movie Silent Running

June 12, 2007

Brent
"triple screen it!!!!!"
another fabulous wallpaper, time to triple screen it!!!!!

June 12, 2007

Getwired
"Stunning -- I love it!"
What do you get when you cross Bespin and Endor? I dunno, but it sure makes an incredible picture! (I think I see some ewoks in the undergrowth on Pad 3.) ;-)

June 12, 2007

SlyVoltaire
"Stunning"
Absolutely beautiful. Someone mentioned a twilight night scene. I would just love to see that one. :)

June 12, 2007

Are
"Wow"
Just beautiful!

June 12, 2007

William
"Awsome"
This is one of the best ones Ryan has done yet! however my only critisism is the fact that the dome already looked distorted with the triangles, it looked as if it was bending in. and now, with the light there in the background it kind of adds to the distorted look to it, as well as the fact that the sun is streched

June 12, 2007

Willia,
"Awsome"
This is one of the best ones Ryan has done yet! however my only critisism is the fact that the dome already looked distorted with the triangles, it looked as if it was bending in. and now, with the light there in the background it kind of adds to the distorted look to it, as well as the fact that the sun is streched

June 12, 2007

Spot
"Sun"
Beautiful. My only (very slight) criticism would be that the sun isn't round. It looks a little stretched.

June 12, 2007

Lyle
"Sweet!"
The day version gets a 9, the night version a 10. Really nice stuff, my friend -- keep up the good work!

June 11, 2007

Liz V.
"Ooo!!"
Hi Ryan,



These two images have been completely worth the wait. You have truly mastered atmosphere techniques of wispy clouds, and lighting.... just so beautiful!!



Thanks for making a subscription a complete treat to have! I love having something fun to gaze at during my l-o-n-g work day ;)



Liz



10 of course!!



P.S. There are seriously people who never give out 10's? That seems bizarre to me since this is a website for pretty backgrounds, not American Desk Top Designer ;)

June 11, 2007

John A
"Beautiful"
Evil genius dude...

June 11, 2007

Eamonn
"Biodome Sunset"
Extraordinary Ryan. Simply gorgeous.

June 11, 2007

Zealot
"Genius, one of your best pictures ever"
I would live there if I could.

June 11, 2007

Patch
"Biodome Sunset...GORGEOUS!!!"
This is one of my favorite scenes yet. You do some of the greatest works around bro...keep up the great work!

June 11, 2007

Louise
"Splendid!"
I always love it when you do day/night renders of the same image, the atmosphere this evokes is really special. Thanks again, Ryan.

June 11, 2007

Overdrive
"10!"
Ik almost never give a 10, because I think there's always some improvement possible.



But now I rest my case...



Stunning!!!! Light, shadows, contrast, colors, it's all in perfect balance. Although science fiction (which I like!), realism has never been só high.



This must be an award-winning piece of art!



10*

June 11, 2007

Tay
"Biodome Sunset"
Ray Bradbury, Issac Asimov, Robert Heinlein and their contemporaries would be pleased that the kinds of things they verbalized you brought to visual life. Thanks again Ryan.

June 10, 2007

Michelle P.
"*GASPS* Breathtaking!"
I was looking forward to a night version of Biodome, I couldn't imagine that the night version would look as spectacular as what you managed to conjure up, Ryan! This is definitely one of my favorites. I'm so proud to be a lifetime member. :)

June 10, 2007

Konstantin
"Every picture is better the previous..."
No need to explain, this image takes my breath away...

I wanna be in this world standing in the trees...

June 10, 2007

Tersha
"A link to the past?"
Aside from the scale, I'd think this was the outside of the arborium (arbo and arbonight) that you did a while back. The night version is one of my favorites. I'm not sure if you even noticed the connection between the two pieces, but take a look at arbo, and then at this. We go from inside the dome to looking down from the outside, complete with the warm sunset light. I love it, even if it wasn't intentional.



Thank you!

June 10, 2007

Ebelch
"Beautiful"
Beautiful.

June 10, 2007

Paul Bolstridge
"Biodome Sunset"
Now that's more like it!

June 10, 2007

NikB
"My first '10'"
What can I say - absolutely fantastic. I think this is now my all time favourite image (and a new member of favourites which is an elite little club!). This is also my first 10/10 - well done.

June 10, 2007

Mark Devlin
"Sunset"
This picture is just amzing. Im glad you added the snset version.



Is there anyway a night version could be done? With the moon and stars etc.



I think it would look awesome. Keep up the good work!!!



Mark

June 10, 2007

Paul
"aliasing"
The aliasing is worse than usual on this one. It's as if clouds are made of giant golf balls...



Is anti-aliasing not an option during the render?

June 10, 2007

Scott
"Very nice"
Night and sunset scenes are always my favorite. Excellent job on this one!!!

June 10, 2007

Patrick
"Thanks for the sunset!"
Yes, this is indeed a superb image that will be on my desktop for a while. Thank you for generating it for us. Cool job on the low level clouds.



Now that we can see inside the biodome, I am reminded of a couple of your images from 2001 called "Arboretum" and "Arboretum Night".



Can't wait for the next image.



Keep up the great work.

June 9, 2007

Sean W
"Harmonious Use"
Wonderful Ryan, just wonderful. I put these on my screen at work, and I work the late shift, so these sunset pieces always accentuate my evening work shift.



Thanks for livening my screen during the dullest part of my day! :)

June 9, 2007

Joss Terrell
"Coudn't agree more..."
Yeah, I had the same kind of thoughts; the day time was good, but now...this sunset version!



I'm blown away by it, truly amazing.



I particularly like the clouds and the different colours in them.

This is definitely set to be a desktop for a while, any chance of a tri-screen?

June 9, 2007

ArchSorcerer
"Most Impressive"
As many others have said, the daytime version was good, but this just takes my breath away. Most excellent work... will be on my desktop for quite a while.

June 9, 2007

elmo
"Well Done"
Nice job with the clouds and blue lights!

June 9, 2007

Pete A
"Excellent"
I have enjoyed your work for years and quite frankly I think this is one of the best you've done. 10/10.

June 9, 2007

alexM
"Sweet!"
This is so awesome. I thought the first biodome was cool but then when I saw this one I had to set it as my wallpaper. I really like how it is just above the cloud line and has those two towers out in the distance and then the sun hitting off of the clouds. It's all very nice.

June 9, 2007

Scott
"WOW!"
Wow, this is one of the most amazing creations to date. I'm very impressed, keep up the good work!

June 9, 2007

Lisa
"Beautiful!"
I'm not sure if either the daytime or sunset one is my 'favourite'. Both are beautifully composed, and give me that "want to explore" feeling that I so adore in well done realistic scenes.

June 9, 2007

Silver Bullet
"Night Time!"
Liking the night one alot better :) Can't wait for dual monitor version!

June 9, 2007

Jon
"Wow!"
I'm not too big on daytime screens, however... the original, daytime biodome was fantastic -- seeing it in shades I love just caused my jaw to drop and, well... :)



It's never a wonder why I subscribe!

June 9, 2007

Tril
"Like this version"
I much prefer this to the daytime version. 9/10 for being a work of art, though a little too busy for my desktop.

June 9, 2007

Deanna
"beautiful!"
I, too, like darker images better than lighter ones, generally, for my desktop, and this one is incredible. I do like the lighter version and had it on my desk top, but this one jumps out at me. You hit it dead center, imho, and I give it a 10/10.

June 9, 2007

Mark Burgess
"Love the dark versions"
Maybe it's just me, but I prefer the darker versions over the lighter ones. I don't like having a bright desktop background. I also appreciate dark images that don't have too bright spots (e.g. planets, stars, etc.) in them... I'm afraid they'll burn my monitor. Silly but true. Thanks, keep up the great work!

June 9, 2007

Pat
"By the way..."
Speaking of the double and triple screen versions, this kind of wallpaper seems like exactly the kind of wallpaper that could get severely "stretched out", like Cosmos did. I don't know if it's avoidable, but it definitely seems like something to look out for.



Thanks

June 9, 2007

Pat
"1280 x 1024 Not Working"
First of all, wow dude, you've really outdone yourself this time. These two backgrounds have quickly become my all-time favorites, and I can't wait for double and triple screens. The only thing I noticed however is that the 1280x1024 version of this picture doesn't show up when I click on it. I hope you can fix that, that's my resolution!



10/10, keep it up.

June 9, 2007

Mike Barber
"Amazing"
My first reaction when I saw the picture was "wow".



I think this might be your best one yet. I can't wait for the dual screen render!

June 9, 2007

JoeB
"Wow."
It has such a Cloud City feel to it. You're going to have to do something pretty amazing to knock this one off the desktop.



However, I have no doubt you'll pull it off. :-)

June 9, 2007

Steve
"Simply Amazing"
I am a huge fan of all of your night and sunset work, and this is absolutely one of the best!

June 9, 2007

Rich
"Better than Original"
Trust me, I love your day version wholeheartedly...so take it as an extreme compliment when I say this one outranks.



One of your most interesting concept pieces, please bring us more!

June 9, 2007

All new and renewing Members will receive
a "Thank You" card hand-signed by myself and my family.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Waveform (2013)"
Only 1 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play