Cogito Ergo Sum

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Non-Watermarked Lossless Master:
6827 x 3840 (37 MB)

(Plus Level and Above Members & Lifetime Supporters Only)


8.72/10 rating
(112 Members Voted)

Print Available!

While looking up at the stars one recent evening I had the idea that if you were to look directly down on someone floating on a calm sea at night, they might appear to be drifting in space. I liked the idea so much that I paused my Autumn landscape render (which is very nearly finished) and set about crafting it.

"Cogito Ergo Sum" (I think, therefore I am) is a companion piece of sorts to The Dreamer. The boat and the boy are the same (though altered slightly for this scene). Where the action in that render takes place beneath the surface of the water, this piece uses a reflected sky. I hope you enjoy it!

Quick 5:

Member Comments

Bradley
"Beautiful"
This render is beautiful. It captures that childlike desire for cosmic wanderlust. It also contrasts how big our problems appear to us down here in reference to the (reflection) of the universe. Our "reflection" in the universe is imperceptible.

Tue January 3, 2017 at 7:19 am

chris
"love this for phone wallpaper"
tranquility

Tue December 27, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Scott Glasgow
"MacOS Triscreen Split missing"
The files for triscreen, MacOS split screen are missing. Can you please upload?

Sat November 12, 2016 at 2:43 am

OpelCarl
"Silence..."
This wallpaper gives me a feeling of extreme silence. Go on with your work!

Thu October 27, 2016 at 11:34 am

Rodewaryer
"Gorgeous!"
I wouldn't change a thing. This is exquisite just as it is. What a moment that would be!

Mon October 24, 2016 at 6:06 am

Ozaawaagosh
"Dream Like"
I love your dream like renders, The cosmos skies while floating in a boat seems so realistic. Fantastic Work Ryan

Fri October 21, 2016 at 8:20 pm

tboward
"Cogito ergo sum"
Wonderful! I love art that invites the viewer to write the story.

Fri October 21, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Bryan
"Thoughts from an astronomer"
I think this would be a dream come true. Love it!!!!

Fri October 21, 2016 at 6:00 pm

David W
"wow! but the boat"
this is beautiful! I wish you'd make a pickle jar version without the boat and ripples, though!

Fri October 21, 2016 at 10:32 am

Tina
"love it!"
Mesmerizing - well done!

Fri October 21, 2016 at 8:55 am

Todd
"Amazing concept"
What a brilliant idea for a concept. Such an original view - and looks amazing!

Fri October 21, 2016 at 8:00 am

Mario Carini
"Cogico Ergo Sum"
What this looks like to me is a spaceship creating a warp through space. About to disappear to another part of the galaxy.

Fri October 21, 2016 at 1:01 am

Susan
"Very clear"
Very clear and still, apart from the ripples around the boat. I like it

Thu October 20, 2016 at 10:56 pm

KP
"Awesome concept."
Floating in a boat looking at stars. Peaceful. It's like looking at yourself in third person. I like this one a lot.

Thu October 20, 2016 at 9:20 pm

halletl
"Infinity"
A calm, peaceful contemplation of our infinite universe. Love it!

Thu October 20, 2016 at 7:47 pm

Josh
"Pretty good, but looks old"
It's a cool idea, but the picture looks like a 2003 one. Still great anyways!

Thu October 20, 2016 at 6:39 pm

Hawk
"creative"
Very nice! Very creative!



Keep up the good work.

Thu October 20, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Tempo21
"Great!"
What a great idea and beautiful presentation!

Thu October 20, 2016 at 5:18 pm

Drew
"What a gem!"
Love this one. Belongs on Top 10 all-time, imo

Thu October 20, 2016 at 4:06 pm

Rose
"Cool"
I can think of no other word to describe this amazing piece. I can't wait for a dual screen render of it for work!

Thu October 20, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Chris
"Nailed it"
I concur with Jason; what a fantastically novel perspective on a previous work of art. Like your site says, art is never finished; only abandoned. Astronomically beautiful!

Thu October 20, 2016 at 1:40 pm

Jason
"Love it!"
From a technical/artistic standpoint, I like this piece a lot; the lighting and reflection are fantastic. From a creative standpoint, I'm amazed; I just don't have that kind of creativity. I have no idea of how you looked at the original and thought "I should do a sky a reflection of that." Awesome work!

Thu October 20, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Dualscreen:

Triscreen:

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy