Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Moon Worship
"Moon Worship"

7.85/10 rating
(111 Members Voted)

Imagining what the sky might look like on a world near the galactic center, without all the interstellar dust that darkens our own view of the galaxy. I rendered the background using Lightwave and the foreground is Vue. Rendered first at triple-5K.

Member Comments

Ginger
"Confused"
The bottom portion of the screen is the same as another render. Not other worldly at all.

Tue October 13, 2015 at 11:16 am

jjlem01
"Nice render but Need Portrait resolution 1200x1920"
This is a nice render but I have two vertical Portrait monitors on each side of my horizontal Landscape monitor.

It would be nice to have all renders with a Portrait resolution 1200x1920.



My setup looks something like this:



http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1543300



Here are some portrait desktop backgrounds:



https://www.flickr.com/search/?tags=1200x1920

Fri October 2, 2015 at 6:14 pm

jjlem01
"Nice render but Need Portrait resolution 1200x1920"
This is a nice render but I have two vertical Portrait monitors on each side of my horizontal Landscape monitor.

It would be nice to have all renders with a Portrait resolution 1200x1920.



My setup looks something like this:



http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1543300



Here are some portrait desktop backgrounds:



https://www.flickr.com/search/?tags=1200x1920

Fri October 2, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Zach
"Both are nice"
I like both versions, but for different reasons. The blue version is appealing to me because of the colour palette, but it seems strangely less focused than the "daytime" version. It almost seems like the DoF is wrong or something like that, but I have a feeling that's just an illusion. For now, it's the yellow version on my screen. :)

Mon September 21, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Kes
"Nifty"
This looks pretty nifty on the Galaxy S6 Edge with the Wallpaper Motion Effect. I have one quibble, though. The resolution is 1440x2560, not 2560x2560. I'm currently using the 1080x1920 and it looks pretty good, but I would like to see it in the native resolution.

Fri September 18, 2015 at 11:42 pm

Mario Carini
"Core World"
Like the primitive nature of this work. It looks like a world in the formation stage, getting itself ready to sustain life.

Fri September 18, 2015 at 11:04 am

Ed
"two great renders"
Both of these wallpapers are really good! Like others are saying, it's hard to choose which one is better, but I like the yellow one the best; it just look more natural, and it's easier on the eyes.

Thu September 17, 2015 at 10:32 pm

drow
"trantor..."
maybe a primeval trantor, which in the foundation era is an ecumenopolis, a world-spanning city.



i prefer the golden coreworld0 variation, i can't quite put my finger on what bugs me about coreworld1. maybe its the dominance of blue light, since the dual- and tri-screen versions don't do it as much.

Thu September 17, 2015 at 11:49 am

Dustin Snyder
"Trantor!!"
In Issac Asimov's "Foundation" books, the capital of the Galactic Empire is the planet Trantor, which is located near the galactic core. This is what I first thought of. It looks amazing.

Thu September 17, 2015 at 1:06 am

Ammon
"Amazing!"
This is one of my new favorites!

Wed September 16, 2015 at 11:21 pm

Ty Lambert
"The Silence of Spectacular Starlight"
Amazing work! Love it :)



I'm am always grateful for artists who can take us to places we could never hope to visit in, as what Dr Carl Sagan used to call, "The TSarship of the Imagaination".



Wonderful.

Wed September 16, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Jen
"Blue, please."
The larger spectrum of color makes me very happy. I agree with the earlier comment, the yellow is perfect for Coruscant.

Wed September 16, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Christine
"Have to go with blue"
They're both wonderful but I like the variation of color in the blue one.

Wed September 16, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Josh
"Different worlds"
I can see why this is a difficult decision -- the change in star color completely changes the image to me (beyond just the slight right/left difference in viewing angle relative to the viewer). The blue makes it seem like a colder alien world, where the yellow makes it seem a bit more like Earth-like ...while found myself looking at the yellow one more I can very easily see either being used as a background on my screen/wall.

Wed September 16, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Max Kaehn
"Just in time for the Star Wars movie"
This is what the night sky on Coruscant would look like.



The gold one looks more like the afterglow of sunset; the blue one looks more like a night sky. I put both of them into rotation on my desktop background.

Wed September 16, 2015 at 2:59 pm

BeccaM
"I like the blue version better"
However, I can see the point of those who seem to like the other as well.



But honestly? The blue one is the version going into my desktop background rotation. Personally, I've always loved imagining what it might be like to see a galactic core from closer in, unobstructed by the dust clouds we see here from Earth.



If nothing else though, Ryan, I'd love to see more 'Cosmos-inspired' creations. :-)

Wed September 16, 2015 at 1:25 pm

betsey
"but blue is better..."
perfection!!!

Wed September 16, 2015 at 1:23 pm

betsey
"beautiful"
I love this in yellow...

Wed September 16, 2015 at 1:19 pm

betsey
"beautiful"
I love this in yellow...

Wed September 16, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Doug
"Lynette said it best 'Don't make me choose!'"
I like them both. The blue is better for having work and seeing it around the edges of the work. It also draws the eye more to the foreground and clouds. The gallery (golden) really draws the eye strongly to the rising core. If I have to choose, I'll go with the golden gallery version.

Wed September 16, 2015 at 1:15 pm

DaveC
"Feeling blue"
I like the blue, personally. I'm a nighttime type of guy and the blue goes towards that feeling.

Wed September 16, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Lynette
"Don't make me choose!"
The short answer is: the "blue" one in the gallery.

The slightly longer answer: The pickle jar version reminds me of sunrise and the gallery version reminds me of sunset. I prefer the more colorful version in the gallery, but I do like the back highlights of the clouds in the jar.

Either way, I'm sure someone at work will ask "where's that?".

Wed September 16, 2015 at 1:02 pm

Mark
"Wow"
I love this, absolutely stunning. I personally prefer the second render, the first is much too yellow for my personal tastes.

Wed September 16, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Doug
"Dark bands look too defined"
To me the edges of the dark bands look a little too well-defined, I would think the edges would have more of a thinning-out effect.

Wed September 16, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Jenanne
"Hard choice! "
Both are awesome, Ryan, but I think I prefer the new version. I like the "sunset" look of the PJ render, but I this one is more otherworldly, and I like the blue tones over the yellow. Both are terrific, however -- I love your space images.

Wed September 16, 2015 at 10:25 am

Cherie Blu
"Gorgeous! "
I am loving the new inspirations lately, but this series takes the cake!

Wed September 16, 2015 at 6:08 am

Richard H.
"Like both!"
Lovely! Which do I prefer of the two? Hard to say, to be honest. The new version seems to have more 'natural' colour, in that it isn't overall yellow, but it feels a bit colder, and I think of it more as a night shot. The golden original is maybe a bit overall yellow from a distance, but viewed up close I really like it. It has a warmth to it with a sunset feeling. Also, I have to say that the water looks better in the original golden version, and there also seems to be more detail in the dark areas, which I prefer. Certainly, I think the multi-screen versions of the original scene (and particularly the triple-screen versions) work a lot better than the newer render, because they're just a lot more interesting; there's more to see in them, especially at the outer edges. But overall, particularly in terms of the regular single-screen view, I like both versions very much and don't especially favour one over the other. I'm really glad you've provided everything (including multi-screen Pickle Jar versions) in full 5K resolution, though. That's much appreciated. Thanks!

Wed September 16, 2015 at 4:59 am

Ryan
"Coreworld1 v Coreworld0"
The first version (with the golden sky) took nearly 180 hours to render on Bucephalus which the gallery version (with a sky which brings out more the colors in my stars) took only 48 hours on the same machine. The difference? I increased the "world diameter" (moving the horizon further away) and used a flat plane rather than a displaced surface for the water.



Which do you prefer?

Wed September 16, 2015 at 0:07 am

DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
coreworld0
8.34/10 rating (29 votes)

coreworld1crop
8.69/10 rating (16 votes)
Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy