I turned 30 on 9/11. The birthday call from my Mom (which woke me at around 6:30 Pacific time) was the very definition of a rude awakening. By that afternoon the requests were coming in for a US Flag wallpaper. I had posted "September Rose" before going to bed on Sept 10.

I recall that the folks at "The Screensavers" on TechTV used this wallpaper for quite a while during the fall of '01. After it went up I received hundreds of requests of different flags of the world. Flags aren't really what I do, but I had to make an exception this one time. It was simply the most horrible day in modern memory.

Reactions to this piece have been, shall we say, "mixed" over the past 10 years. I religiously avoid discussion of political matters on this site but when your country calls you have you have to respond. The many many thanks I have received from the men and women in uniform have been all the validation I will ever require.

6.61/10 rating (104 votes)

Member Comments

"FB Cover"
I've added a free Facebook cover photo version. Thanks for the suggestion!

Sat May 23, 2015 at 11:43 pm

"FB Cover?"
I second that; I'd love to put this one up on FB for Memorial Day and other suitable holidays.

Sat May 23, 2015 at 1:06 pm

"FB Cover?"
Ryan, Can you make a FB cover for this one?

Mon November 11, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Thank you, Ryan, for the new resolutions. And thank you again for this render. My husband is a veteran and he puts this render on his screen for Independence Day, Memorial Day, 9/11, and other appropriate holidays. Happy 4th to you and your family!

Wed July 3, 2013 at 10:27 am

I have added 1920 x 1080 and 1600 x 900 versions.

Wed July 3, 2013 at 8:02 am

Can you make a 1920x1080 version?

Wed July 3, 2013 at 7:29 am

Chris B
I still like this one, but it is starting to look a bit dated (kind of plastic looking). I think you'd be able to do some cool things with the new software; like embroidered stars (to make them a little 3Dish) and subtle stitching the stripes & blue field together. I also thought it would be cool to do an abstract space scene with some red, white, and blue nebula that is in a flag-like-shape. Might be something cool to try for next Veterans day/Memorial Day/4th of July.

Sun November 11, 2012 at 1:04 pm

"Re: Timeline"
It would make a nice timeline image. I've been making them out of my dualscreens but you can really use any image. For this purpose I would use the 1280 x 1024 version. You can see it in action at my own profile page.

Mon May 28, 2012 at 12:56 am

Don T
"FB Timeline?"
This one would be nice on holidays like this one.

Mon May 28, 2012 at 11:10 am

"Never Forgotten"
Appropriate as we are coming up on the 10th anniversary. Thanks you for doing this Ryan!

Fri September 2, 2011 at 7:14 pm

"Thank You!"
You are truly an inspiration Ryan! Keep up the good work. We need more people like you!

Wed May 4, 2011 at 6:51 pm

Chris B
"Fitting, I put this one up last night."

Mon May 2, 2011 at 10:54 pm

"Never forget!"

Mon May 2, 2011 at 6:35 pm

Rock on AMERICA!!

Mon May 2, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Rock on AMERICA!!

Mon May 2, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Rock on AMERICA!!

Mon May 2, 2011 at 4:24 pm

Big Dave
"Love it!"
I have had this wallpaper as the background image for my phone for years and I always get positive comments about it. Thanks Ryan.

Mon May 2, 2011 at 2:49 pm

"Free Gallery"
I will leave this one in the free gallery for the next couple of days.

Mon May 2, 2011 at 1:58 pm

"ad Jenanne and Liz"
remember, not only Americans visit this site ;) Thus, not for everybody is this a picture of "our flag".. I am not American either, however, I really like the image and it was on my desktop for a while after 9/11.

Mon May 2, 2011 at 10:59 am

Saw this 1st thing on Facebook today. One word from deep within my Soldier's heart... HOOAH!! Teriffic work Ryan and, thanks, truly.

Mon May 2, 2011 at 9:58 am

I wrote my previous comment before this image was put into the free area -- if I'd known I wouldn't have been so blunt. My apologies, and happy Fourth of July, everyone!

Sun July 4, 2010 at 12:13 am

Take a look at the breakdown of ratings -- 11 ratings of 1 for an image of our flag? AND done as a tribute to the fallen on 9/11? I don't care what one thinks of the artwork itself -- a rating of 1 for an image of our flag done as a tribute to 9/11 is unpatriotic and an insult to all who died.

Happy July 4th.

Sun July 4, 2010 at 11:22 am

"The Emblem Of"
There is nothing fancy, mystical, magical or awesome about this BUT, I AM AN AMERICA.... And Proud Of It! This is America and everyone should show their patriotism and respect for this country. Who knows how long we will have what little freedoms we have left? Thank you DB for putting this with such and awesome collection!

Sat November 14, 2009 at 4:04 pm

"Good job"
I agree with another comment that the stars are a bit small, but I think you did a wonderful job making it look like it was in the wind

July 3, 2007

"Minor Tweak I'd Make"
This was a nice image to see everywhere following 9/11, but maybe you can update it a tad if you get the chance? The stars, in my option, were a bit too small and their points aren't as far from the center as I'd make them. The lighting and wave effect though are excellent.

July 3, 2007

"Like it"
It's kind of hard to make a flag look alive at this level of detail--but you do.

April 2, 2007

"Not good"
I don't like this one.

February 18, 2007

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Sunspire by Night (2004)"
Only 114 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy