Fire Below Ice

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


7.86/10 rating
(90 Members Voted)

Member Comments

Holly
"light"
amazing!

Sun June 4, 2017 at 0:18 am

Mario Carini
"Fire Below Ice"
Too much turbulence for me to live here! Seems like nature can't decide whether its summer or winter!

Tue October 11, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Suz
"The more I look, the more I like!"
Has someone else already asked this... Is it just me, or does it look like the light is coming out of the mouth of an angry looking man's profile up top?? Either way, I love it!

Mon April 6, 2015 at 11:04 am

Laura G.
"Madam Pele would be happy!"
Living, as I do, on the Big Island of Hawai'i, Madam Pele is never far from our thoughts. This made me think of the new growth, under the sea, off the south coast of the Big Island. (No, I didn't see ice so much as water and the fire below!

Thu January 8, 2015 at 9:20 pm

Romarch
"Under a melting sky..."
I didn't know that about the lakes under the glaciers! I initially thought this was the ocean under the surface of an icy moon like Europa. As usual, the different 'stories' your works suggest to me are a big part of their appeal. And I love the waterdrops; they made me think of a Vangelis track called "Metal Rain".

Fri January 2, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Jenanne
"@ Ali - Cloud Canyon"
I second that; I really liked the Cloud Canyon update and hope you finish it now that Christmas is over. The preview version is up in rotation on my screen but I'd love to see the finished render. Happy New Year, Ryan!

Sun December 28, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Mangoman
"Zowie!!"
Breathtaking!! Exactly what you'd imagine a liquid sky should appear to be. It's as if it's undulating as we're gazing at it right now, does it not? Mr. Bliss, if I could, I'd punch you in the epiglottis; but not really. You make me jealous, that's all. Beautiful work, sir, beautiful work. Thank you. A ten fer sher! It's on my 27" desktop, looking beautiful.

Sat December 27, 2014 at 0:20 am

Ali
"Cloud Canyon?"
What happened to the Cloud Canyon update? You posted it in your WIP but it never made it to the gallery.

Sun December 21, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Richard
"9/10"
This is incredibly good, and as usual, keep up the good work!



If there is any improvement to be made, I would request that the foreground droplets be a little less sharp, smaller, or even non-existant. In it's current form that seem a little out of place in my eyes.

Fri December 19, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Mike
"Best work in a while"
Your last couple of works have been awesome, Ryan. Not sure what the "lack of understanding" is about this one. It's a lake... underneath a glacier. Not too hard to understand. I like it!

Fri December 19, 2014 at 3:10 pm

BeccaM
"Huh?"
I'm honestly not sure what I'm looking at here. I mean the title provides some context, but my brain can't seem to turn what I'm seeing into a coherent picture with an associated narrative, even with the helpful description in the email. I get it -- lake in Iceland under glacier with volcano nearby -- but I'm not seeing enough detail to understand -what- I'm seeing exactly.

Fri December 19, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Terry
"Has Potential"
The ice looks amazing, you've nailed that, the blues coming through look amazing. The water droplets I'm not so sure of - as someone else said they make the image look overcrowded and dirty.

Fri December 19, 2014 at 4:19 am

Avitua
"Mesmerizing"
This is one of those thousand word images. It feels more deeply layered than what is just seen.

Fri December 19, 2014 at 3:40 am

mhollins
"intriguing"
I was confused by the title at first since it looks like the fire is "above" due to the red coloring. Perhaps add some magma glow coming from below and reduce the red above. Also the water drops could use some motion blur or something.

Thu December 18, 2014 at 2:28 pm

sigmaman
"good"
It has potential to be one of the best. The water droplets make it look dirty though.

Thu December 18, 2014 at 2:15 pm

fizzrate
"Good, but..."
The drops are a bit much for me; Too elongated perhaps.

Thu December 18, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Jenanne
"Nice!"
The beginning of a unique render; I feel like I'm looking at a hidden world. Love the water drops. Perhaps a bit rough around the edges, but so far I'm loving it.

Thu December 18, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Littlemom
"6?"
Really not sure what to think about this one. Not sure what it is.

Thu December 18, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Marc
"7/10"
First!

Maybe.

commentS: Those are awefully large drips! And the "atmosphere" is a bit... much? heavy? I don't know.

Still, it's beautiful... maybe some review is in order?

Thu December 18, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy