7.10/10 rating (100 votes)
36 Comments

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

geode2k131
7.11/10 rating (46 votes)

Member Comments

Deidre
"Awesome!"
Love it! Any plans of making a multi screen version?

Sat September 7, 2013 at 11:11 am

Evil
"Pretty nice!"
Awesome work as always, but it could use some sharpness reduction and smoothing, if it looked slightly more realistic it would be beautiful but still awesome job much better than I could ever do.

Fri September 6, 2013 at 10:03 am

Iain
"8"
I just really enjoy this :D

Thu September 5, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Kevin
"good"
Can you add a version for the Galaxy?

Sun September 1, 2013 at 11:56 am

Jenanne
"Much better"
Still not a favorite, but the changes are excellent. Much improved.

Wed August 28, 2013 at 11:44 am

Bill
"Amethyst?"
How about some different colored versions? Amethyst? Rose quartz? Tourmaline?

Tue August 27, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Brandi U.
"Love the update"
Much improved update. The changes make this now a wallpaper I like. The first version didn't sit well with me. Overall effect is much improved.

Sun August 25, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Ryan
"V.2"
I've added an updated version of "Geode (2013)" to the Members Gallery this morning. The first version had a rather busy cave wall texture which I think detracted from the whole. It may have worked before I put the crystals in but it definitely was too much after.

The new version has a simplified wall texture, which is also a bit darker so hopefully you can see your icons better. The first version will remain available in the Pickle Jar.

Sun August 25, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Steve K.
"10/10"
Great piece. Each time you release a new piece I am always awestruck. You've really been outdoing yourself in 2013. Can't wait for the next one!

Sun August 25, 2013 at 5:23 am

Elvis
"6"
This has potential, but the colors are all wrong. Maybe it's because I've got a geology/gemology background, but these crystals look like nothing you're going to see in nature. If you wanted this to look like a typical geode, the crystals would be quartz or calcite, and therefore white--though that would likely be unattractive for this. An amethyst geode would be a different story, but the crystals would be purple, becoming more intense on the points. A citrine geode would be similar but yellow/orange. An ametrine geode would be the most interesting, since it's a mix of citrine and amethysts, in other words part yellow part purple. Maybe a lot to manage, but it would be a lot more attracitive.

Sat August 24, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Neal
"different colors"
the green is a little overwhelming. more variety in colors would be good.

Sat August 24, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Jenanne
"Maybe I'll like the new render"
Usually your caves are among my favorites, but I dislike this one. Sorry, Ryan. I think it's partly the colors.

Sat August 24, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Jon Wayne
"9/10"
Nice

Sat August 24, 2013 at 4:38 am

Robert
"Alternative name"
I would call this piece "Dragon's Throat." First thing I thought of when I saw the image.

Fri August 23, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Hawk
"6"
I like the detail, I like lots of detail. And I like how busy it is... keeps me from getting bored/tired of it easily.

Fri August 23, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Ryan
"@D"
My new render will have a darker cave wall (greenish/gray) so the crystals should definitely "pop". I've been using FileZilla actually so maybe it is my internet connection :-(

Fri August 23, 2013 at 4:34 pm

D
"7"
I like it. Change the cave wall texture to something simpler in a dark grey/brown to make the crystals pop more.



Regarding your FTP client, what are you currently using? I recommend FileZilla, been using it for a few years and it works well for me.

Fri August 23, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Randy
"6"
Meh! Too busy, too blurry. No detail, no one item to pull your eyes to. Your skills were never in doubt, but I gotta say, not one of my favorites.

Fri August 23, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Littlemom
"Beautiful "
I absolutely love this render great job!!!

Fri August 23, 2013 at 9:22 am

Ryan
"New Render"
I have a new version rendering with a simpler rock texture. The new texture should also cut down a bit on the render time as it eliminates the reflective parts. Stay tuned!

Fri August 23, 2013 at 8:49 am

Ryan
"PNGs"
I may need to look into a new FTP program. The PNG files and the iPhone 5 resolution should be showing up now.

Thu August 22, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Hoverwolf1
"8/10"
I can only give an 8 on this one because the 2880 x 1800 link isn't working, and I can't get the level of detail I'd like from the lossy 2560 x 1600. Still, it looks impressive, quite true to the nature of crystals, so the colors are varied, but subtle. But, making it that realistic makes it appear too busy. Also, on zooming in, I see a spot by the DB watermark that looks like a platform; no crystals, just kinda dead. I'm not sure if that was intended, but it's there. Just FYI.

Thu August 22, 2013 at 11:23 pm

Spooky
"8"
Missing iPhone 5 version

Thu August 22, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Adamtrons
"I Like The Crystals"
Excellent job! I know some people complained that the crystals make it look too busy, but that’s actually my favorite part. My issue is that I think the crystals and rock color are too similar so it blends into a big mass. I agree with CHSpera’s comment that it would be nice to see this in blue, green, purple or a night version, maybe with glowing crystals (think Matterhorn crystal cavern).

Thu August 22, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Ashley
"Totally rad!"
Love cave designs, and this one has pickle jar material written all over it. Hopefully we get to see some different color variations of the crystals, that would be really awesome!

Thu August 22, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Lacy
"Fascinating!"
I LOVE it! Excellent work with colour and depth. The water is nicely rendered. The overall feel is sinister, yet exciting. Part of me wants to run away, but a bigger part of me wants to go inside the cave and explore. I'd expect to find a HUGE dragon inside, resting on a pile of crystals. I can't stop looking at it, I keep finding new details. Wow.

Thu August 22, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Ryan
""Busy"ness"
I can see where you guys are coming from regarding the cave wall texture. My first design didn't have crystals so I wanted the cave walls themselves to be veined with precious metals. Adding the crystals after that may have put it over the top.

Thu August 22, 2013 at 3:16 pm

CarminaE
"Love the design!"
Well I love cave images (and caves, for that matter! Though of course your caves are way cooler than any I've ever been in!) so two thumbs up on making more cave images! 68 hours to render... wow! Is that from lots of reflective surfaces? The foreground crystals are a little bit busy, maybe some fatter ones would have broken it up a little, or some of the rippled texture of some of the background crystals? It doesn't bother me much, though. I would love a night version with more contrast (what can I say, I love night scenes and deep shadows) and deeper blues (but still with the turquoise water). Come to think of it I think a little more contrast would bring out the reflections in the crystals a bit more. Just my 2 1/2 cents, not that any of it is worth another 68 hours of rendering! I think it is a great image as is. I want to kayak it!

Thu August 22, 2013 at 12:58 pm

JonE
"No Rating"
I'm on older man; I'm not much into the fantasy type stuff you do. I very much like the nature scenes you've rendered. And from the 2004 area "Idyll" is my favorite. And if you're going to rerender anything from that area the "First Green" and "October Flame" are my candidates. "First Green" is very nice but lacks detail and definition. Rerendered "Geode" is very nice too, but just not for me.

Thu August 22, 2013 at 12:03 pm

Phoenyxx
"I Like It"
Neat image, but IMO a little too busy. There is so much texture in this piece that it hurts my eyes after a while. O.o



I do like the coloring you used, and I always love cave scenes.

Thu August 22, 2013 at 10:53 am

Doug B.
"Not my favorite..."
I don't think this one will make my favorites, the coloration and metallic texture just doesn't fit my tastes.

Thu August 22, 2013 at 10:45 am

Ali
"PNG versions missing"
Again, PNG versions are missing.. :\

Thu August 22, 2013 at 10:26 am

fizzrate
"Awesome!"
Reminds me of the massive geode scene in "The Core".

Thu August 22, 2013 at 10:02 am

CHSpera
"Good - Different colors & Nite Image"
Ryan, this is a good image. I like the ruby red. It might be nice to see this in blue, green and purple (different geodes) and a night version might also be cool. the light in the lake is external, so starlight coming in might be an interesting effect with the lakeside crystals.



Just a thought

Thu August 22, 2013 at 10:01 am

Chris
"9"
so good. Love the red (my imagination is running wild wondering what's causing it) and the detail. can't help but wonder if the water would really be that color though, or if it'd be a deeper blue with some red towards the source of that light ...



any chance of iphone 5 and ipadHD files coming soon?

Thu August 22, 2013 at 9:41 am

Amanda
"Love it!"
The deep red color is so beautiful...going on my iPad right now :)

Thu August 22, 2013 at 9:31 am

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"California Poppies (2004)"
Only 10 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play