Members Login to See the Full Images

The autumn version of my "Gotham Garden" series. Originally I rendered this as a sunset scene but found that the orange sky and the autumn leaves did not contrast enough.

8.21/10 rating (202 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

7.95/10 rating (20 votes)

Member Comments

"One more season..."
I have always loved the Gotham wallapapers, but the 2010 redesigns have become a seasonal staple on my monitor, and when I bought a second monitor it became even better. I love this rendering especially, I think it's the finest of the Gotham series. Now I ask... will there be a WINTER rendering?? PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE??! Your work continues to inspire and amaze me!

Sun December 25, 2011 at 5:11 pm

"Sorry about that."
Didn't notice you already had other seasons of Gotham Garden on site.

Thu March 24, 2011 at 0:15 am

"Other seasons?"
Any chance of getting Gotham Garden with a spring theme? I love this one.

Thu March 24, 2011 at 0:10 am

Ryan - what would it take to convince you to offer this in a poster print? It's phenomenal.

Fri March 18, 2011 at 12:45 am

"Gotham Garden [Autumn]"
Early movie makers put frames around the screen to be like the painters that preceded them. Now 3D artists add blur and prism effects to look like photography. Ironically, photography is moving toward high range dynamics that capture detail in deep focus.

That's where I think 3D should be, taking advantage of our medium, instead of mocking up another. We can see in 3D much more as the eye sees, in focus wherever it looks, with lightening fast iris changes that let us see detail in shadow or full brightness wherever it looks.

That's why I especially love Gotham Garden. The detail is breathtaking. And even though it may have a little haze in the distance, that is part of the setting not an attempt to look like the photographic medium.

Mon November 22, 2010 at 0:02 am

"Looking forward to a winter version..."
I assume a winter version is in the works? I might have to put this one on a seasonal rotation! It's one of my all-time favorites.

Tue November 9, 2010 at 9:35 am

"Breath taking"
This has GOT to be (in my opinion) one of the most beautiful and intricate pieces of artwork you have done to date. Not saying some of the others are not fantastic, but this one just appeals to me like no other you have done so far. Glad I am a lifetime member.

Tue November 9, 2010 at 5:49 am

Just Download thie higher resolution and then resize the image by using Microsoft Office Picture or even MS paint for examples.

I normaly do that for my duel screen is get the tri screen and crop it so it looks best for my set up.

Thu November 4, 2010 at 5:22 pm

"as if you don't already do enough different resolutions :p"
My dual monitors at work are 1440x900 (16:10) native so I'd love to see a 2880x900 dual monitor option become available. If I use one of the other 16:10 options, and "tile" the image to get it to span across both monitors, I lose a bit of the image around the edges. I should probably see if I can find a utility that will span the image AND re-size it to fit.

The image itself is fantastic-- great balance and detail-- and I love the different variations!

Thu November 4, 2010 at 2:01 pm

"brighter lights on the multiscreen renders?"
It looks to me like the multiscreen renders have brigher lighting. The trees are more strongly list from underneath and there's much more "flare" around the lights. I quite like it, as really dark backgrounds make me feel too sleepy at work, but I'm not sure if it doesn't lose the atmosphere a little.

Mon November 1, 2010 at 6:04 am

Sunset version is available in the Pickle Jar link at the bottom of the resolution links.

Fri October 29, 2010 at 11:51 pm

"Gotham Garden Autumn"
The new gg is very nice (would have like to have seen the sunset autumn you mentioned); can't wait to see gg winter. When it does come out you will have all the seasons covered! Good job.

Fri October 29, 2010 at 4:10 pm

"Multiscreen please!"
Dieing to update my previous gotham garden background... but I need the multiscreen!!

Wed October 27, 2010 at 9:16 pm

"dualscreens multiscreen"
Multiscreen wallpapers still not up ?

Wed October 27, 2010 at 7:54 am

"dualscreens multiscreen"
Multiscreen wallpapers still not up ?

Wed October 27, 2010 at 7:54 am

"Love this one"
Ryan I love the use of color, and the juxtaposition of modern city buildings with nature in the foreground. It reminds me of what I think of as an ideal place to be.

Tue October 26, 2010 at 1:18 am

This is bloody amazing. Straight to desktop for me.

Mon October 25, 2010 at 5:18 am

Roberto DG
"Great image"
The colours of autumn are just perfect with this city night scenario. It is really a great work: the gotham series is a different genre from your usual works and it works very good for me! Great quality as always Ryan!

Mon October 25, 2010 at 2:23 am

"Great as always"
So I am going to be a little nerdy here, but I'm excited that I finally get to comment after being a DB fan for almost 10 years (since I was 10!) I've always enjoyed the Gotham scenes, and this is no exception. I feel like taking a night stroll through this place. Thanks!

Mon October 25, 2010 at 0:50 am

Chris B
"Gold Standard for Halloween"
would have to be allhallowseve & two pumpkins (jack o lanterns) would have to be your two best so far.

Fri October 22, 2010 at 9:35 pm

I am working on something Curtis but it is a bit different what what I've done before. I hope it works out!

Thu October 21, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Any news on if you'll be working on a Halloween image for 2010? I loved your 2009 Halloween wallpaper.

It'd be great to see what you come up with for this year.

Thu October 21, 2010 at 7:52 pm

"Can't Wait"
Gotham City is one of my all time favorites! And I get comments when ever I have it up at work. I can't wait until the winter scene is ready!!!

Wed October 20, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Chris B
"@ nickaix"
Like if the sun was behind the person reflecting off of all the glass? That would be pretty awesome!

Wed October 20, 2010 at 9:54 pm

"don't totally abandon the sunset idea"
I like the current render better than the 'sunset' version for sure, but I think a sunset _could_ be really amazing. When the sun hits the buildings just so, and the light bouncing off the buildings turns the glass walls into dozens of blinding suns. Maybe it could work in the winter, when the sun is lower in the sky anyway?

Wed October 20, 2010 at 3:37 pm

"Thank you!"
I was hoping you would give us another night version with a different color for the trees than lavender. This is beautiful.

Tue October 19, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Rich A
"Variation in Gotham Garden dual-screen compositions"
I meant to post about this when the mult-monitor versions of the summer versions appeared. Here's the problem:

The summer and spring versions of the dual-monitor renders have different compositions. In the former, the man is in the center; in the latter, he appears on the right. This causes a problem if you cycle your (dual-monitor) wallpaper through the different seasonal variations. (It's not a problem for the single screen versions.)

Any chance you could ever go back and recompose the dual-monitor renders for Gotham Garden (Summer)?

Tue October 19, 2010 at 1:03 pm

"@ED Re:Dual Monitor Versions"
The multiscreen version is rendering right now. I develop the single screen prior to the multiscreen so there is an unavoidable delay between the two.

Tue October 19, 2010 at 9:38 am

"Something's Missing"
Love the new wallpaper, but where is the dual monitor version?

Tue October 19, 2010 at 5:24 am

"Love the contrast!"
I'm glad you decided on the night version for the gallery. The contrast with the leaves is striking.

Mon October 18, 2010 at 7:03 pm

"Best Gotham"
The night render is easily my favorite rendition of this scene. Well done. Makes me want to move to the a larger metro area.

Mon October 18, 2010 at 4:01 pm

"Pickle Jar 2"
Actually, I prefer the Pickle Jar version - like the redness.

Mon October 18, 2010 at 3:44 pm

"My 2 Cents"
I concur with the crowd on the PJ. However, I really feel that if a sky more like "Biodome Sunset" was implemented the PJ concept would have prevailed. We need to see the sun setting behind the skyscrapers for that effect to succeed. That is just my two cents though...

Mon October 18, 2010 at 10:55 am

"Pickle Jar"
The pickled version looks more like smog than sunset, glad you abandoned it for the gallery version - it's the best of the series so far!

Mon October 18, 2010 at 10:49 am

"Pickle Jar"
The pickle jar version needs to stay there....the gallery post is a lot better!

Mon October 18, 2010 at 10:29 am

"Pickle Jar"
The contrast isn't great I agree, but I think a bigger problem is that the buildings seem to have almost no detail in the sunset version, particularly the one a little to the right of the center with the triangular top.

Mon October 18, 2010 at 10:13 am

"Gotham Autumn"
I like this rendering better than summer and/or spring.

Mon October 18, 2010 at 6:58 am

Chris B
"One site question"
Not really the place for it probably, but is there a way when you log in to have a link that sends you back to the page you were on or for it to take you back to that page on its own? exe: The log in box popped up, I put in my name/pass. Then it takes you to the log in/sign up screen, then I had to go to home then back here. It's not that big of a deal really, just something you might want to look into next time you do a sight update.

keep up the great images (I'd rather have more images than that fixed but just putting it out there. ;)

Sun October 17, 2010 at 4:33 pm

Chris B
I wonder if haiku is somewhere in that pool ;) I like how the buildings blend into the stars in the sky. The ferns may need to turn a little more yellow but they're fine. Awesome render

Sun October 17, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Looking forward to the sunset version in the Pickle Jar.

Sun October 17, 2010 at 12:31 am

"Great trees"
I love the way the trees look, and although this is a nice render I agree with others that this one done with a day scene would look even better. I also agree with others that there should be more leaves on the ground. Can't wait to see what you do next.

Sun October 17, 2010 at 11:49 am

"Good times!"
I love thinking about being there. Thanks for this great wallpaper! BTW, please make this one a Dual and Triple Screen one. :-)

Sun October 17, 2010 at 10:35 am

The Guru
"Commendation and question"
First of all, I love it. The vibrancy of the colours on the trees is amazing. One thing I was curious about is the summer-like look of the ferns and other smaller plant life that is below it. I know they don't go to bright colours come the fall but still, they tend to go to yellow or brown, don't they?

Sun October 17, 2010 at 10:28 am

"Veru good!"
Agree with an earlier comment about needing leaves on the walkway. A daytime version would be great too. I love you Gotham series!

Sun October 17, 2010 at 9:30 am

I love this one, the leaves on the water are a good touch.

Sun October 17, 2010 at 9:16 am

Jackie F
"Love It!"
The colors are wonderful! Love anything with trees in the picture! Thanks for another awesome wallpaper!

Sat October 16, 2010 at 8:18 pm

"Another Great Offset"
I never really liked your new versions of gotham gardens, but just one look at this one and it was my new work background. I really like the brightness of the trees in the front and the darkness in the rear of the shot.

Sat October 16, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Jeff K
"Very Nice"
But I would think that guy would be tired of standing there after all this time. :)

Sat October 16, 2010 at 7:27 pm

Nate F
"best gotham yet"
the lighting and colouring all go together very well.

Sat October 16, 2010 at 3:16 pm

"Awesome, but what if..."
I like this picture and the whole collection, but I think a different perspective would make them even better. It looks like the roof in this picture is high above the ground. Could you render a night panorama of a cityscape where the viewer is looking down from a position where there is a line of sight all the way down to the streets? This is just a suggestion, but I think it would really reveal the enormous scale of the skyscrapers.

Sat October 16, 2010 at 3:11 pm

love it. keep it up!

Sat October 16, 2010 at 12:42 am

I love Gotham Garden...

Any color/season!

Sat October 16, 2010 at 10:13 am

"Autumn Gotham Garden"
WOW - fantastic a 10 in my book

Sat October 16, 2010 at 8:17 am

"Can't wait for the multi-screens!"
Yet another Gotham Garden, and it does not disappoint -- I think this is edging out At World's Edge for my favorite 4-seasons piece.

True story -- at work, I have a rotation of db wallpapers on my double-head workstation. Three out of the five coworkers who regularly come by my desk have asked "Where was that taken?" or some variation, all for Gotham Garden variations. Well, one of them also asked about Desert Dawn, and then again about some other one.

Sat October 16, 2010 at 3:05 am

Luc J
"Nice but the scene needs more leaves"
Looks beautiful. It would look even better with more "falling" leaves from the tree that aren't yet on the ground and there should be some leaves on the path also.

Sat October 16, 2010 at 2:09 am

Nice mix of nature within an urban environment. Could we perhaps see a day version that showcases the trees more?

Sat October 16, 2010 at 1:42 am

"Very Cool!"
I really love this series, and this autumn version is sweet!

Sat October 16, 2010 at 1:35 am

"Needs Batman"

Fri October 15, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Very cool! I love your winter and autumn wallpapers, can't wait to see winter versions of Gotham Garden and Highland.

Fri October 15, 2010 at 10:27 pm

"Like it!"
I really like the muted atmosphere of this. Looks like the view outside my window. :) Excellent work!

Fri October 15, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:

  • Kevin Lynch ('Crimmy') -- (11/2/15)
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)

Recent Sponsors:

  • Jonathan Stanley -- (11/1/15)
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)

Recent Patrons:

  • Richard Month -- (11/1/15)
  • Cliff Bloom -- (10/25/15)
  • Michael Swanson -- (10/16/15)
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)

Recent Donors:

  • Jonathan P Man -- (11/27/15)
  • De Beers -- (11/19/15)
  • Alisa McKeehan -- (11/7/15)
  • Patrick Biggs -- (11/6/15)
  • Dean Andrews -- (11/5/15)
  • Technovation Design -- (11/4/15)

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy