8.02/10 rating (102 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

8.27/10 rating (33 votes)

8.32/10 rating (31 votes)

9.73/10 rating (11 votes)

Member Comments

"GothamGardenxmasblue1 wrong one .. 1680 x 1050"
I am getting the standard yellow light on the trees when I try for the 1680 x 1050 of the blue light Gotham garden Xmas. Is it possible to fix this I love it!

Tue December 17, 2013 at 2:01 am

"Gotham Garden Blue Christmas 5760x1080"
I asked Santa if he would bring me a no-snow version of the Gotham Garden Blue Christmas, triple monitor, 5760x1080.

He said it was up to Ryan...

Regardless, the Gotham Garden collection is my absolute favorite.

Tue December 18, 2012 at 0:31 am

"Gotham Garden Christmas"
Goththam Garden Christmas - WOW! Your Gotham series is my favorite. I love your newest addition to it.

Sat December 15, 2012 at 2:38 pm

I apologize for not updating my screen. I didn't see that it took.

I will call it text turrets. ;)

Tue December 11, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Where is the love for a triple screen blue gotham garden xmas?


Tue December 11, 2012 at 5:14 pm

"5760x1080 Blue Christmas"
Awwww, no love for a 5760x 1080 Blue Christmas??

Tue December 11, 2012 at 3:37 pm

"5760x1080 Blue Christmas"
Awwww, no love for a 5760x 1080 Blue Christmas??

Tue December 11, 2012 at 3:37 pm

"5760x1080 Blue Christmas"
Awwww, no love for a 5760x 1080 Blue Christmas??

Tue December 11, 2012 at 2:07 pm

"3840 x 1200"
Sweet! Thanks Ryan you rock!

Sat December 8, 2012 at 11:36 am

I may need to get a new FTP program. The 3840 x 1200 should be listed now.

Sat December 8, 2012 at 11:02 am

Am I missing some resolutions or is this still being rendered?

Sat December 8, 2012 at 10:47 am

Daniel B
"Alternative Backusp"
You mentioned Vue keeps backups, but you might want to try a semi-Real Time backup like Genie Timeline.

Totally agree losing saved work is a huge pain, but software that backs up files as they change might be something to consider and could make saving more frequently less of a problem.

Fri December 7, 2012 at 5:11 pm

"Blue light Gotham , no snow triple?"
I love the Gotham renders! Gotham Garden (Autumn) was what sold me on buying a membership. That and the fact that you have the best triple screen wallpapers!

Any chance the Blue light Gotham Christmas with no snow will become a triple monitor render as well??? Santa?

Fri December 7, 2012 at 5:08 pm

KC has a building nick named the "Darth Vader" building, since it is tall, black, and foreboding. However, it also has florescent lights on the exterior that form a wreath which they light up at Christmas. Can you add something like that? If you want a picture of the building, you can see one here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ewstan/1501994749/

Fri December 7, 2012 at 1:07 pm

I really like the blue lights but the falling snow still doesn't look right. Can we have a blue version without it?

Thu December 6, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Shelly K.
"Great Wallpaper, but where are the clouds?"
I love this! Based off of personal experience, though, the only thing I would say that is missing is that the sky should have clouds lit by the city lights. Every time it snows in my hometown, the clouds are colored by the lights of the city. It often gives a surreal feel to my drab little city. Just my 2 cents. :-)

Wed December 5, 2012 at 8:16 pm

Dave W.
"Link Error"
Thanks for another Gotham City. The 1680x1050 link under gothamgardenxmasblue1 links to a wrong pickle jar version. Keep up the great work.

Wed December 5, 2012 at 4:05 pm

A very pleasant holiday urban setting and overall composition...in fact it’s “glow-tastic”... like many of your holiday themes!...I like your use of snow at night. You recently used snow in “green and gold winter”...where did that one go?...I don’t see it on your list anymore?...green and gold winter would make a excellent glowing Christmas tree at night wallpaper! L8

Wed December 5, 2012 at 2:42 pm

"go for blue"
I go for the blue version

I would love a complete blue version

Thanx for this one

Wed December 5, 2012 at 12:33 am

"Very good rendering"
love the lights, love the iced over water. I always assume it is a batman statue, standing vigil... awesome stuff as usual, looking forward to dual screen setup

Tue December 4, 2012 at 2:55 pm

"Eternal Guy at Gotham"
Am I the only one who wonders why that guy has been standing in Gotham Garden for over a year now?

Love the Gotham Garden series though :)

Tue December 4, 2012 at 8:58 am

Brandi U.
I like the addition of the snow and ice. The ice adds some realism. All versions have been great, but #3 tops the list for me.

Tue December 4, 2012 at 8:52 am

Nice job. I like the snow and how its behind the trees in the foreground. I think it really helps to give the pic some character while still showing the high def of the trees and other foreground objects. the snow is a nice touch, gives it a bit more realism. Just a thought since there are several different pockets of trees adding some different colors to them...red, green, and blue...not sure how it might look but it is an idea. At any rate I am waiting patiently for dual screens. Any plans for Digital Blasphemy Blue trees? I hope so :D

Tue December 4, 2012 at 8:48 am

I've added a third render this morning. I've changed the falling snow back to my 2D "fake" flakes and I've added snow/ice in the foreground.

Tue December 4, 2012 at 8:03 am

Nick A
Beautiful, I love that you brought back a classic. Would it be possible to get a 3840x1080 version as well, for my dual-screen setup. Thanks Ryan!

Merry Christmas ALL!

Tue December 4, 2012 at 7:52 am

Yet again a nice one. Hopefully there will be multi-screen versions as well

Mon December 3, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Have you looked into using something like Subversion? A document revision/version control application? I'm a software engineer, and that's the application I use to control the source code for several of my critical projects, though subversion doesn't care what kind of files it is maintaining the version history for. It can be code, office documents, whatever.

The only question I would have, is how subversion would scale to accommodate your graphics source files, which I imagine are quite large.

In any case. I hope you get all that sorted out. It's got to be frustrating having your software eat your stuff.

Mon December 3, 2012 at 9:48 am

Really really nice! Keep up the great work Ryan.

Sun December 2, 2012 at 4:48 am

"Gotham Garden (Christmas)"
I agree that this was a good candidate for arboreal illumination, and the second version does make for a good early December wallpaper (especially here in New York, where there's barely any snow right now, but people are already starting to decorate things with lights).

Sat December 1, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Nice seasonal update. I Put it in my Windows wallpaper rotation.

Sat December 1, 2012 at 4:00 pm

"Snow Again"
I put up the gallery image, but went back to the one with snow. I just like the snow so much, despite the problems that the rendering software seems to have getting it just right....

Sat December 1, 2012 at 3:20 pm

This is such a beautiful image! I really love it. I, personally, prefer the first image with the snow, but with just a bit less on the right side, to be similar to the left. Beautiful, Ryan!

Sat December 1, 2012 at 1:41 pm

"Snow = Essential"
What is this wallpaper without the snow? Not nearly wintery or Christmasy enough.

Sat December 1, 2012 at 12:39 am

Vue saves a set number of backup files every time you save. I sometimes have to go back 2 or 3 in order to get a file that I can open, but I have made so many changes that it is rather discouraging to have to redo so much. If I save more often then I run the risk that all my backups could be corrupted.

Sat December 1, 2012 at 12:00 am

@Ryan. Regarding the file loss you've been experiencing... Do you retain backup copies of your critical data? That way, if your application eats your current working copy of a project, you can revert back to the last known good copy in your backup.

Sat December 1, 2012 at 11:36 am

can you color some of the lights??? and you know you've got mr trained when the first thing I did was look for the Gardener!!!

Sat December 1, 2012 at 8:34 am

"Great, but..."
Would be even more awesome without the snow/grain? Lacks the surreal crispness I've come to the love about the wallpapers.

If it weren't for that, this would be a definite 10. As it is, I'd put it about 5-8.

Sat December 1, 2012 at 4:47 am

"9.0 but could be 10.0"
My comment is the same as others who asked about the snow effect. I downloaded this and set it as my background and immediately thought something was wrong with the picture because of the pricks of light. It appeared more on the right side and actually made the picture look "dirty". There must be another way to make this picture look more "Christmasy", such as adding snow to the walkways, etc. But the fine snow pricks of light detract from the beautiful image. Then I read the other comments and knew I was not alone in this thought.

Sat December 1, 2012 at 1:49 am

I LOVE Gotham Garden, so this is GREAT to see. It would be a 10 for me except for the snow. Two things: FIRST, you already have stars at the top and a vast array of building lights below that, so adding another layer of objects that size might not be a good idea anyway.

TWO: Is it just me, or is the snow only present on the right half of the picture? It seems to gradually fade out in the middle and leave nothing on the left, which I find highly disconcerting... Just saying. :)

Fri November 30, 2012 at 11:12 pm

For me, this picture is quite successful. I really like the cold, snowy, alone-in-the-big-city at night, reflections-in-the-water, atmosphere of it.

I actually think the snow came out better here than it did in, say, Sleepwalker Woods Winter with its motion blurred stuff close to the viewer. The odd thing is that the snow looks (HD monitor) like a "curtain" of snow at the level of the figure and anything closer to the viewer is just plain grainier.

Fri November 30, 2012 at 7:11 pm

The snow would actually look great if there was some context. Needs a bit of snow on the ground or or on the garden edges.

Fri November 30, 2012 at 6:50 pm

woohoo, the "gotham" series is the one that finishes up on my desktop most often. Now I have the Xmas version. Will leave the technical comments to those who know what they are talking about (I certainly don't - I am here for the pretty pictures :).

Fri November 30, 2012 at 4:16 pm

I really like the Gotham Garden series and it's cool to see a holiday version.

I can't necessarily say it would be better like this but I'd like to see it with a dusting of snow on the ground and ledges

Fri November 30, 2012 at 2:19 pm

"Snow a Detractor"
I agree with other folks about the noisy snow being an issue. Other than that I like it - the depth of interest with the decorations on far buildings is nice.

Fri November 30, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Rich A
Although the theme is a favorite of mine, the speckles detract much.

Also, for the taller-than-wide compositions used for mobile devices, something right-of-center that brings in the tree covered with lights would be welcome—even if it meant losing the tall building with the blue lights.

Fri November 30, 2012 at 12:43 am

I tried out Vue's new particle snow here and the results, as some have notices, are a bit noisy. I may try it without snowfall and see how that looks.

Fri November 30, 2012 at 12:31 am

"Not bad!"
I think some different colored lights and more snow would do well, and I agree; a bit too grainy. Otherwise well done.

Fri November 30, 2012 at 12:16 am

"I give this an 8"
Very pretty snow would make this even better

Fri November 30, 2012 at 12:13 am

Why are so many of the recent pictures all speckly?

Fri November 30, 2012 at 11:28 am

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"White Magic (2001)"
Only 200 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy