Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Midnight Trooper (2005) -- Halloween 2005
"Midnight Trooper (2005) -- Halloween 2005"

7.82/10 rating
(89 votes)

Ryan's TipJar

This piece was inspired by a photo I saw of Hokkaido's famous "Blue Pond". My first version of this render kept the tropical blue from the original pond, but I am trying out a more wintry color palette here.

Believe it or not The Dreamer and this scene sprang from the same root, even though they couldn't be more different tonally.

PS: Purely coincidence that I am posting this on my 43rd birthday...

Member Comments

Joel
"Hokkaido"
Great picture! The first thing I thought of was Hokkaido. I had the unfortunate experience to be sent there while in the military. Kind of reminds me of a "light" morning snow there. :-)

Mon September 7, 2015 at 0:04 am

Steve
"Nice!"
Living in Japan, I love seeing these Japan-inspired backgrounds. Keep it up!

Sat October 4, 2014 at 10:23 am

Jenanne
"@BobC"
Okay, now I see it. Thank you! You're right; it's hard to see. I thought it was an old leaf, but when I increased the size it's obviously a bird. Either the trees are much, much bigger than they appear, or that's the smallest bird in the known universe. Definitely cool. :)

Mon September 22, 2014 at 11:43 am

Ray
"Hokkaido"
The trees look like they're upside down.

Sat September 20, 2014 at 9:11 am

BobC
"@Jenanne"
The bird is, indeed, hard to see. I didn't see it until this version, but when I went back to earlier renders, it's there. I had to download the work in a high resolution and magnify it to make sure I was seeing what I thought I was seeing. I guess it's one of Ryan's nifty little touches to sort of "hide something in plain sight" like that. Fun! :)

Fri September 19, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Doug B.
"Chilly"
@Jenanne -

The bird (coloration looks like a cardinal, maybe?) is about 2/3 up on a branch, left side of the more prominent tree on the right.

Fri September 19, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Jenanne
"@BobC"
Crested bird? Okay, I'm stumped. I guess my eyesight isn't what it used to be. Can you give me a hint as to where I might find said crested bird, please? :)

Fri September 19, 2014 at 2:42 pm

BobC
"Lovely"
This version is much more convincing! The seemingly technical (not artistic) problems with the water on previous versions are far less with the fog or ground blizzard in this one. Love the little crested bird hunkered down in the storm.

Thu September 18, 2014 at 10:47 am

Littlemom
"10!!!"
Absolutely love this one Ryan!!!the fog is awesome!!!

Wed September 17, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Jenanne
"Fantastic!"
I love the added fog. This is better than ever!

Wed September 17, 2014 at 11:40 am

Ryan
"@Rich"
Which size did you select and what is the combined screen-res of your setup?

Wed September 17, 2014 at 11:29 am

Rich
"AWESOME!"
i have a tri monitor setup and switched it to Tile but see multiple display images. thoughts?

Wed September 17, 2014 at 11:18 am

Rich
"AWESOME!"
i have a tri monitor setup and switched it to Tile but see multiple display images. thoughts?

Wed September 17, 2014 at 11:18 am

Heather
"Nice improvement...."
But I think it could use something more to attract the eye. I love how it reminds me of our winters here in Mass. Too soon for winter!

Sat September 13, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Jenanne
"Great!"
Really like the deeper blue coloration in this version; before it was more gray than blue. This gives the piece a "winter at dusk" look and feel. I like the name change as well.

Fri September 12, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Theo
"It's okay...confusing"
This piece is not readily apparent what the vantage point is, as it appears there are trees going upwards and trees going downwards on the top edge, meaning we're looking out on a scene from within the trees or something with the far treeline isn't right. The trees coming out of the water aren't very distinct either. This piece could use some more contrast to improve clarity.

Fri September 12, 2014 at 8:47 am

Tor
"I like it"
Ohh, much better. I like it. Makes me want to turn on the fireplace.

Fri September 12, 2014 at 2:39 am

Zach
"Not my thing"
I also see it more as an abstract than a nature scene, but it really isn't my thing. That being said, I'm still glad that you made it and looking forward to seeing how it turns out in the end.



Happy Birthday, Ryan!

Thu September 11, 2014 at 10:59 pm

ChrisW
"Winter's A-comin'!"
I like it. Really puts me in the mood for the cooler temps ahead. Will you also be doing different seasons using the same scene? I always liked those.

Thu September 11, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Ryan
"Re: Water"
I've created a new render with and updated water texture. You might need to refresh your browser (Shift-F5) to see the new image.

Thu September 11, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Tor
"Reflections"
The trees and snow looks lovely but the water is a little confusing to the eye. At first look it seems to be more like a fog that just obscures the trees. If it was water I'd expect to see more color in it and more distortion in the reflections. If it was ice I would expect to see snow accumulated on it and no reflections. It almost seems like a strange amalgamation of ice, snow, and water.

Thu September 11, 2014 at 2:07 pm

JMK in CT
"Confusing"
To me I see this as more of an abstract than a nature scene. For whatever reason I dont see the water and cant tell what is tree or what is reflection.

Thu September 11, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Littlemom
"9"
I love this render. It really has the winter feel. Amazing Ryan. And Happy Birthday!

Thu September 11, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Jenanne
"P.S."
Happy birthday, Ryan!

Thu September 11, 2014 at 11:15 am

Jenanne
"Fantastic!"
I really love this render. The water underneath the trees is much improved from the preview version; the trees' reflections also make it clear that it's water rather than snow. But since I'm familiar with the image that inspired this render, I'll be interested to see what other members think.

Thu September 11, 2014 at 11:13 am

Ryan
"Winter is Coming"
This piece was inspired by a photo I saw of Hokkaido's famous "Blue Pond". My first version of this render kept the tropical blue from the original pond, but I am trying out a more wintry color palette here.

Believe it or not The Dreamer and this scene sprang from the same root, even though they couldn't be more different tonally.

The title is borrowed from the words of House Stark in George R. R. Martin's "A Song of Ice and Fire".

PS: No coincidence that I am posting this on my 43rd birthday...

Thu September 11, 2014 at 10:54 am

Multiple Monitors?
DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
hokkaido1
7.42/10 rating (33 votes)

winteriscoming1
7.35/10 rating (17 votes)

Digital Blasphemy 2018 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy