7.74/10 rating (73 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

7.77/10 rating (13 votes)

7.74/10 rating (27 votes)

Member Comments

"Cool 10/10!!!!!"
http://digitalblasphemy.com/content/picklejar/horizons2/horizons31080x1920.jpg possible corrupted ((

Mon July 6, 2015 at 1:53 pm

"Good call"
I'm one of the folks who told you how swell V3 would look. Sorry about that, Ryan. Everyone is right -- too busy and draws focus away from the galaxy. V2 is the best.

Thu July 17, 2014 at 7:25 am

"v.2 it is"
I will be sticking with v.2 going forward. Hope to have the multiscreen up soon!

Thu July 17, 2014 at 7:12 am

"v.2 best"
v.3 is too busy and colors clash. v.2 is perfect and should be the go-forward render. You can always have v.3 in the pickle jar but to not see a multi of v.2 would be a crying shame. Thank you Mr Bliss.

Thu July 17, 2014 at 0:31 am

"Prefer the other versions"
The bioluminescence takes your focus away from the central image and makes for a scene that is a too busy. Preferred the versions with the darker plants.

Wed July 16, 2014 at 11:49 pm

"Prefer the orangey-plants"
I think the orangey plants are more harmonious with the overall color scheme of the image. Just my opinion.

Wed July 16, 2014 at 9:54 pm

I've added some bioluminescence to the plants in the cave for v.3. Why not? :-)

Wed July 16, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Really like this one!

Tue July 15, 2014 at 8:50 pm

"Wow, better!"
I really like the new render. It doesn't look cluttered any more with the clouds less bright and the foreground lighting more subtle. Now I can't wait for the dualscreen!

Tue July 15, 2014 at 10:30 am

...admittedly, it's already night.

Tue July 15, 2014 at 7:40 am

I like the planets, too. The clouds are greatly improved. And, I agree with Alec -- a night version with bioluminescent plants would be nifty keen. :)

Tue July 15, 2014 at 7:37 am

I like this lighting a LOT better! The color and intensity matches the galaxy much better now. Great work! Thanks for updating it. :)

Tue July 15, 2014 at 0:58 am

My second render is now up with (I hope) improved lighting on the clouds. They were a little unnaturally white before. I hope you like the changes. Yes, I could have removed the planets but I kind of like them myself...

Mon July 14, 2014 at 10:15 pm

I do agree it would look better w/o the moons.

Mon July 14, 2014 at 5:25 pm

"A little cluttered?"
This is neat as a planetscape but I'm not sure I like the moons. They distract from the beauty of the galaxy-thing in the sky and make the seen a little bit cluttered.

Mon July 14, 2014 at 4:59 pm


Holy shit.

Mon July 14, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Good stuff. I think this would make Carl Sagan smile.

Mon July 14, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Wow, just WOW!

Mon July 14, 2014 at 8:30 am

"One more render"
I am going to do one more render of this with improved lighting on the clouds.

Mon July 14, 2014 at 8:03 am

I really like how the colors in this piece pop so much! The framing around the outside of the galaxy and mellow tones contrast the galaxy, which when rendered alone in your previous piece, I thought was a little bit garish. I really like how these complement each other to produce a breathtaking and varied landscape!

Something I find is a little off-putting is the white lighting on the planets and clouds. I thought it was a little odd in the WIP, so I waited to see how it turned out at the end. I really like how it highlights areas of the scene that would be very dark otherwise, but I'm having a hard time seeing where the light is coming from. The clouds make it look as though the source is above and behind the clouds, while the planets hint the source is far below. The galaxy doesn't really seem to fit this terribly well, and the light is so bright and so white it doesn't really match the galaxy anyways. The only improvement I can really suggest is to tone down the white light so it seems more consistent and less jarring. It kind of distracts from the gorgeous maelstrom of color in the middle. :)

Sun July 13, 2014 at 10:42 pm

I like this piece of work, I really do, but I'm struggling to rate it higher. The framing of the rock around the galaxy is so perfect that it looks extremely artificial, and that bothers me. I love to suspend my disbelief with the planetary scenes you've been producing, but this scene takes just one step too much liberty with the 'framing' for my like.

I could believe the framing if it were possible that we were looking at the reflection of the stars in a still body of water or even if the archway just didn't connect. The probability of everything working out:the archway forming like this, the timing of the rotation of the planets around their sun, the weatehr... It's just one journey of the imagination I can't take with you.

Sun July 13, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Wow. This is easily one of your top 20 works ever. I'd love to see a "night" version with the bio-luminescent plants from 2013's Asunder.

Sun July 13, 2014 at 10:16 pm

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Temple of the Leaf (2009)"
Only 102 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy