8.09/10 rating (254 votes)
66 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

interopposite2
7.50/10 rating (6 votes)

Member Comments

Josh
"Nicely complementary in dual-screen"
This is my favorite dual-screen arrangement so far. My two monitors are on separate computers, and the split works out so one side gets almost fully red, the other blue. Either side is interesting enough to stand alone, yet they complement each other nicely.

Fri October 28, 2011 at 12:17 am

Jason
"Holy Crap"
This might be my new favorite DB image. Amazing!

Sun October 23, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Karl
"method"
I was wondering what method you used to create the strands in this piece.

Fri August 12, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Fumigator
"Multiscreen noise"
Oh wow, yes, that is a big improvement. Though, it looks like the 3360x1050 version still contains the noise. I noticed this only because this is the size I download and resize for my 2880x900 setup. When I downloaded and resized the 3840x1200 size, the noise was gone.

Wed June 29, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Ryan
"@Peter"
Must be a problem with the Photoshop action I use to resize and crop the images. I've reuploaded "Interopposite", "Riverbend", and "Red Harbinger" at 5120 x 1600. Thanks for the heads up!

Sun June 26, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Peter
"5120x1600 Wrong link"
5120x1600 points to 5120x1440.......:(

Sun June 26, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Ryan
"Re:Multiscreen Noise"
I'm curious whether the multiscreen update corrects the noise issue.

Tue June 21, 2011 at 10:04 am

ThinGeek
"Noise"
I've always liked your abstracts, and Interopposite is no exception. I have it on my single-screen laptop and love it. As Max stated though, the noise is too distracting to put it on my dual-screen setup.

Wed June 15, 2011 at 1:28 pm

Fumigator
"I like the noise"
I rather like the noise, it looks kinda cool. Maybe I'll change my mind though once I see a render without it.

Tue June 14, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Ryan
"DOF"
Thanks for the feedback! The noise is caused by the depth-of-field in this one so I will try a render without it to see if it looks better. It will render faster without it anyway...

Tue June 14, 2011 at 9:20 am

scott wray
"i thought i was looking at a bad format.."
but i agree with the noise.. theres no clarity to the image. single screen looks nice and crisp.. multiscreen looks blurry. sorry ryan!

Tue June 14, 2011 at 9:11 am

Max
"Too much noise :("
The multiscreen render has too much noise. It's distracting.

Tue June 14, 2011 at 8:11 am

Nathan
"Re: Noise?"
I agree, there does seem to be quite a bit of "noise" in the dual screen render I am using. Very grainy using the 2560x1024 version.

Tue June 14, 2011 at 8:11 am

Jason
"Noise?"
Love the image, but is it just me or is there an excessive amount of noise in the multiscreen render?

Mon June 13, 2011 at 7:11 pm

RA
"Interopposite"
Nice work Ryan. I like this, though I am not a fan of very distinct bright spots on the screen this image has become one of my favorites rapidly. It is on my xoom and my desktops too. Keep up the great work and put that new rocket to good use :-)

Tue June 7, 2011 at 10:25 pm

RA
"Interopposite"
Nice work Ryan. I like this, though I am not a fan of very distinct bright spots on the screen this image has become one of my favorites rapidly. It is on my xoom and my desktops too. Keep up the great work and put that new rocket to good use :-)

Tue June 7, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Ryan
"Multiscreen"
I've been working a bit too much on new projects and neglecting my multiscreen renders lately. My apologies!

Fri June 3, 2011 at 8:44 am

0beron
"Multi screen"
It would be a real shame not to have a multi-screen render of such a great abstract.

Fri June 3, 2011 at 5:45 am

Fumigator
"Sigh, no dual-monitor version"
I'm sad it seems the dual-monitor version got skipped on this one. Me likey.

Wed June 1, 2011 at 11:52 am

Ninhalem
"Awesome Merger"
Somehow reminds me of the commercial right now of LTE and the Droid combining, in a good way.

Sun May 29, 2011 at 12:38 am

Eric
"Nice"
Love this one.

Sat May 28, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Khyren
"Multi-Screen"
I would love to see this in a triple screen render.

Sat May 28, 2011 at 7:55 pm

madtyger
"@Ryan, horcruxhp"
Thanks for the suggestions. Found out that the Xperia Play's resolution is 480x854, so I was able to adjust the wallpaper to fit.

Sat May 28, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Lidia
"Interopposite"
I usually love your abstracts, but I don't like this one very much at all. I'm not a big fan of bright lights that sort of blind me when compared to the rest of the scene.

Sat May 28, 2011 at 12:03 am

kellzilla
"@Jeremy M."
Do I detect a familiar name? There are surely a lot of Jeremys with the last name starting with M, but few of them would sign their name as such.

If not, ignore me! :)

Sat May 28, 2011 at 0:49 am

Jeremy M.
"Interopposite"
D'oh!!! guess I submitted that a couple of times too many. Had "mad click" disease this moring... lol...

Fri May 27, 2011 at 10:27 am

Jeremy M.
"Interopposite"
Looks great... think it'd be awesome with some other color variations too!

Fri May 27, 2011 at 10:26 am

Jeremy M.
"Interopposite"
Looks great... think it'd be awesome with some other color variations too!

Fri May 27, 2011 at 10:26 am

Jeremy M.
"Interopposite"
Looks great... think it'd be awesome with some other color variations too!

Fri May 27, 2011 at 10:25 am

Paul M.
"Interopposite"
I love the look & Colours!

Fri May 27, 2011 at 9:42 am

Paul M.
"Interopposite"
Interesting...

Fri May 27, 2011 at 9:40 am

Ryan
"@madtyger"
I would try the 1024 x 600 (Netbook) images). Does your device allow you to size the image to fit your screen?

Thu May 26, 2011 at 9:09 am

horcruxhp
"@madtyger"
Depending on the type and model of the smart phone you have, just pick the resolution that best fits your screen. That's what I do. I have an iPhone 3GS and I use the iPhone 4 screens.

Thu May 26, 2011 at 9:06 am

madtyger
"Xperia Play version?"
Love this one and would like to use it on my phone. Anyone know what size to use?

Wed May 25, 2011 at 11:46 pm

kellzilla
"@Arrrion"
The Pickle Jar link will only be there if there ARE other versions of an image. Not all images will have a PJ link.

Wed May 25, 2011 at 2:35 pm

kellzilla
"@Arrrion"
Under the downloads links, above the comment box. Pickle Jar Versions are alternate versions, sometimes different colors, sometimes different angles, and also when a piece goes through various upgrades, the old ones are usually still available. All these are in the Pickle Jar.

Wed May 25, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Arrrion
"Pickle jar?"
What is pickle jar?

Wed May 25, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Anton
"Perfection"
This really is an image that inspires duality on the basest levels, as well as the most intellectual, bravo!

Wed May 25, 2011 at 5:12 am

Andrew
"Wow!"
One of my favourite this year, nice job! I wish I had your new PC, it's a beast! :P

Wed May 25, 2011 at 0:19 am

Mark J.
"Love this one, Ryan."
You're still at the top of your game.

Tue May 24, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Ryan
"@horcruxhp"
Thanks! I am going to do one more single-screen version before I concentrate on the multi-screen. I'm hoping to have it up before the end of the week though!

Tue May 24, 2011 at 3:07 pm

horcruxhp
"Waiting..., waiting..."
I really like this new render. I can hardly wait for the dual screen version to put on my desktop!

Tue May 24, 2011 at 1:36 pm

Ryan
"@matthew"
Thank you for supporting my work!

Tue May 24, 2011 at 11:01 am

matthew
""Interopposite (2011)""
very nice work been wanting to become a member for a while just now did.

Tue May 24, 2011 at 0:11 am

Ross H
"I love it!"
Very cool! I'll be making this my new wallpaper!

Mon May 23, 2011 at 7:43 pm

GeneralB
"Machine Morality"
I'm getting a very cybernetic feel from this. Maybe a hint toward AI sapience, their first struggle with their own morality. Either way, it's a really nice jump from your realistic renders.

Mon May 23, 2011 at 6:33 pm

macindean
"Way cool!"
I love the dark background with contrasting colors. Looks great on my screen! thanks again ryan

Mon May 23, 2011 at 5:44 pm

fandeboris
"Facinating"
This one kind of 'grows' on you. The more I look at this the more I see in it and the more I like it.

Mon May 23, 2011 at 2:25 pm

fandeboris
"Facinating"
This one kind of 'grows' on you. The more I look at this the more I see in it and the more I like it.

Mon May 23, 2011 at 2:24 pm

Walo
"Yup great one!"
Another hit!

Mon May 23, 2011 at 11:34 am

0beron
"Fantastic Abstract"
Another awesome looking abstract - can't wait for the multi screen version!



On another note, is it possible to make a render with vertical size of 1680 pixels? I run a multi-monitor config with some 22 inch wide screens in portrait mode. I usually use the largest dual 16:10 as it is the closest in aspect ratio, but it either has to be resampled or letterboxed. I know these renders take a long time, and so an odd sized render in such a large size might not be possible.

Mon May 23, 2011 at 8:30 am

Mp
"Vibrant detail"
I love the scenes you create that depict these lovely vibrant details. Please to admire and makes my imagination wonder.

Mon May 23, 2011 at 7:45 am

Xorothian
"Particle physics"
I love this wallpaper. It reminds me, in a way, of particles colliding.

Mon May 23, 2011 at 1:05 am

The Guru
"Idea for multi-screen"
First of all, love it. Definitely one of my favourite abstracts. For the multi-screen, why not o back in time and show the two opposing elements while still on a collision course? I'm not sure of how you would occupy the middle or anything, but it would allow you to spread it out more horizontally.

Mon May 23, 2011 at 0:25 am

Kristin
"Beyond Words"
I love it when you create! Your images never fail in leaving me gob-smacked and wanting more. I do love all of your images, thought abstracts have a bit bigger piece of my hear. Can't wait to see what the new system will bring!

Sun May 22, 2011 at 11:25 pm

James
"Inter-Bend"
Still psyched about the final Riverbend.



This new abstract makes for a fantastic background on my Storm. Thank you!

Sun May 22, 2011 at 8:34 pm

Jenanne
"Wonderful!"
I love your abstracts in general, and this one in particular. Great, great work, Ryan!

Sun May 22, 2011 at 4:53 pm

littlemom
""Interopposite (2011)""
It's ok but not my favorite, but as with all your renders I'll add it to my collection.

Sun May 22, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Vincente
"Jaw-dropping"
Very great. I am so looking forward a dual screen version.

Sun May 22, 2011 at 3:10 pm

Andrew
"Rendering"
With all those workstations you should definitely try to set up a render farm and have all those machines work together!

Sun May 22, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Scott
"A little rough..."
Could use some polish, but a nice visual nonetheless. I was reminded of Greg Martin's work too.

Sun May 22, 2011 at 2:28 pm

Geep
"Abstracts"
I have to admit, normally the abstracts don't make it to my desktop as I prefer the landscapes, but this one definitely made it. I love the polar opposite colors of red and blue.



And it kinda reminds me of Avatar: The Last Airbender (the show, not the movie). There is an episode where two characters are firebending, and one has blue fire, and the other red. :) Very nice work!

Sun May 22, 2011 at 2:06 pm

T3chn0g33k
"Superb!"
This beats out Greg Martin's Glacial Inferno!

Sun May 22, 2011 at 12:31 am

Mat
"Awesome work"
You never fail too impress, Ryan. This is another great abstract. My only complaint would be that it looks a bit flat. It lacks the depth that made your other abstracts so great. But this is still more than enjoyable.

Sun May 22, 2011 at 11:49 am

charrion
"Worth Renewing Membership For!"
I had foolishly allowed my membership to expire some time ago but this image has inspired me to renew.



Like Greg in CA, I love the abstracts.

Sun May 22, 2011 at 11:22 am

Greg in CA
"AWESOME!!!!"
The abstracts are always my favorites and this one doesn't disappoint!

Sun May 22, 2011 at 11:02 am

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Temple of the Leaf (2009)"
Only 12 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play