8.29/10 rating (91 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

9.10/10 rating (21 votes)

8.41/10 rating (22 votes)

8.93/10 rating (15 votes)

6.86/10 rating (14 votes)

Member Comments

Ryan, I really-ultra-super-supremely believe the "Overseer" version merits its own space in the Main Gallery! In my eye it's the closest you've come yet to actually capturing the feel of an older favorite while, as you like to say, "amping it up to 11". It's even got a certain symbolic value; the fact that the Overseer is looking out on a galaxy instead of a planet could just as well serve as a metaphor for how far you've come with what you've been doing here since 1997.

For me, v2 looks better by itself, but v1 makes the most spectacular wallpaper. Pick the one you like best; I love them both!

Sat July 26, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Any chance of getting this version in multis?

Thu July 24, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Nice job Ryan; love the colours on this one. I actually prefer the first version to 2 or 3. The focus is more on the centre which lets me have icons on the sides without hurting my eyes. Version 2 is nice too but the third is a little busy for my tastes -- all that detail is tough to look at. V1 also reminds me of "Singularity" and its more modern revision.

Tue July 22, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Nope, not the only one. I vote V1, even though it was a tough choice. This is because Island in the Void (2014) has become my absolute, all time favorite DB image. But, I have to say that between these two Overseer versions, V1 has a more dramatic, epic depth to it. I love the subtlety of the figure and golden beauty of the galaxy behind it. I believe it needs it’s very own spot in your gallery.

Mon July 21, 2014 at 2:23 pm

"V2 vs. V1"
Well, I can only speak for myself; I prefer V2. It's more colorful, the center isn't as overwhelmingly bright, and I like the way space and the star field show at the sides of the widescreen resolutions. Only IMHO, of course; see what others say. Admittedly, V1 seems like it would work better for multiscreen resolutions and you've already rendered them. :)

Sun July 20, 2014 at 8:32 pm

"v2. v v.1"
Am I the only one who prefers v1?

Sat July 19, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Forget the @ symbol. I'm so OCD!

Sat July 19, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Agree 1000% overseerisland2 is worthy to leave the pickle jar. In fact I want multi as this would go on my desktop right now.

Sat July 19, 2014 at 3:29 pm

"Overseer Island V2"
Fantastic render, Ryan! See what others think, but IMO this belongs in the main gallery.

Sat July 19, 2014 at 4:37 am

"pot of gold (night) thank you card"
This picture is the reason I signed up for the membership be my g/f loves it so much. Would love on be of these if they are still available.

Thanks for the awesome pictures!


Thu July 10, 2014 at 11:47 am

This last batch of starscape's are absolutely stunning! I'm wiping the drool off my keyboard every day. Keep up the stellar work!

Wed July 9, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Not really my thing, but the colouration is very cool. I also greatly appreciate how quickly the multi-screen renders have been coming out; thank you!

Tue July 8, 2014 at 9:37 pm

"Minor Update"
I've posted a minor update this morning which fixed some issues I had with the smallest stars. The changes are so minor that I've just overwritten v.3.

The multiscreen (rendering now) is based on this new version and should be available soon!

Tue July 8, 2014 at 10:17 am

PNG files missing. Thanks!

Mon July 7, 2014 at 5:51 pm

"Awe inspiring"
Will there be triple screen renders?

Mon July 7, 2014 at 3:46 pm

You did great on this one, it draws the eye once again to the front, but you don't get cross-eyed anymore since you can focus on the pixels in the front ;P GREAT job!

Mon July 7, 2014 at 8:16 am

This is one of my absolute favorites of all time.

Sun July 6, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Love the beautiful color and detail. This latest v.3 is my favorite and went straight to my desktop (I like the 1st one, also). You could hear the wind whistling as it went straight to my desktop! Also, thank you for linking the extremely cool space images that inspired you. I love to see that.

Thanks for a beautiful piece, Ryan. You continue to amaze.

Sun July 6, 2014 at 1:36 pm

I've replaced the tilt-shifted version of its in-focus counterpart. I guess the macro look was a little too weird. It was inspired by these images which I saw earlier in the year. Thanks for the feedback everyone!!

Sun July 6, 2014 at 9:20 am

I'd say "too much blur up front". I like blur, when it is happening in the distance. But I hate blur, when it is happening in the foreground. Thank you very much for creating a blur-less pickle jar variation!

Sun July 6, 2014 at 5:01 am

Yes, I was going for the macro look here. I thought it would be an interesting juxtaposition. Perhaps it is too jarring though...

Sat July 5, 2014 at 9:40 pm

I agree with Mark B, the "Bokeh" make this one appear to be shot in macro, as though it were infinitely small.

On that note, perhaps a zero plane view for the multimonitor?

Great work, as always, Ryan.

Sat July 5, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Mark B
"Too much blur"
Agree with nithilher, the depth of field "bokeh" is impossible unless this is a miniature galaxy!

Sat July 5, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Why are you working on this holiday weekend, Ryan? Go enjoy yourself! :)

Sat July 5, 2014 at 3:30 pm

"V.2 DOF, etc."
I like the V.2 non-DOF version much better than V.2 DOF, but still prefer V.1. The graininess doesn't bother me in any of the renders, however. Overall, this is a terrific update/remake/do-over of the 2001 version.

Sat July 5, 2014 at 3:28 pm

"Awe inspiring"
A full few of a galaxy is, imho, still one of the most beautiful views one can have. I definitely prefer the version without depth of field, as this it the only one physically possible. Simply, the dimensions involved are way too vast for any imaginable optical system to produce the slightest amount of depth of field. The blurred version leaves me with the wrong sense of scale. The non-dof gets a 9/10 from me.

Sat July 5, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Veering into abstract territory with this second render. I wanted to see what it would look like zoomed in but the number of stars became somewhat overwhelming. It was suggested that maybe some blur would help and I thought it might look interesting to tilt-shift a galaxy.

The non-DOF version is available in the Pickle Jar. Let me know what you prefer. There isn't really a way to combat the graininess though, it's a galaxy and is full of stars (and grains of dust) after all.

Sat July 5, 2014 at 1:26 pm

"Loved the 1st version..."
...but really don't like the second. Sorry, Ryan.

Sat July 5, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Simply breathtaking!

Sat July 5, 2014 at 5:11 am

I really love this one. The simplicity of it. Yeah, its grainy as littlemom said, but good... sometimes everything being 'sharp' is just not the best way to go.

Fri July 4, 2014 at 9:42 pm

"pretty but......"
Love the colors in this render but the galaxy seems a little grainy to me

Fri July 4, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Sunspire by Night (2004)"
Only 232 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy