8.55/10 rating (184 votes)


Member Comments

"wish I'd given it a 10"
I voted 8 on this originally thinking "meh nice jellyfish", however every time it comes up in the rotation I find myself arrested by the image. It is very well done and deserves a 10. From now on I'm waiting to vote until after I've had to view it a couple times on my monitor (there is another that I rated highly but I've found it irritating the longer I look at it - till I finally pulled it out of the folder so I didn't have to look at it anymore).

Tue December 17, 2013 at 12:08 pm


Wed July 10, 2013 at 0:28 pm

Excellent image. Like many creatures on our planet this one looks alien, as if it was dropped off by a passing starship that needed to unload some cargo and found our oceans to be a perfect place to leave it behind. Your ideas are wonderfully imaginative and creative. Thank you for sharing.

Sun June 30, 2013 at 9:07 am

I'm relatively picky and know what I like.. it takes a good piece of work to affect me enough to choose it as a wallpaper let alone give it a '10/10'. Or even leave a comment :-p ... This is my current dual-screen at 3360x1050. Absolutely fabulous. Don't see how it could be better. There's an emotive response here, and as Billy D said, this one truly "resonates" with me as well! Well done!

Wed May 29, 2013 at 11:27 am

Billy D
I absolutely love the color and how real it looks. I'm picky about what I like and don't really know what I'll like until I see it, but something about this just really resonates with me.

Tue May 28, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Ross H.
Your artwork continues to amaze me, Ryan. You have a subscriber for life!

Wed May 1, 2013 at 1:09 pm

It's been a while, since I last visited. Wow lots of good new stuff around. I'm gonna enjoy myself for a while. For this image I only find 2 things off, the tentacles and that the single screen jellyfish is too lonely.

Tue April 30, 2013 at 8:08 am

Because its friggin awesome.

Mon April 29, 2013 at 10:55 am

Very well done Ryan. I always appreciate the out-of-the-ordinary renders like this one. I like the subject a lot, but that said though I think people are too quick to give 10's. There is a bit too much negative space in this to earn more than a 7 in my book but the jellyfish is awesome!

Sun April 28, 2013 at 10:11 pm

love the texture in the water, especially.

did you see the video released about the fish with the transparent head that hunts underneath jellyfish? because that would make a pretty sweet addition to the multiscreen render ...


Sun April 28, 2013 at 5:45 pm

"10 and above"

Sat April 27, 2013 at 11:37 am

While not 100% anatomically correct, it's an awesome image. Very cool in every respect. Great job!

Sat April 27, 2013 at 6:00 am

Awesome as usual... (I only rate images a 9 until you have a dual-screen of it, after all. :))

Fri April 26, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Amazing! Blew me away!. The tones of blue, the luminescence, the dark water being gently pierced by the light form the moon and stars...

Fri April 26, 2013 at 2:03 pm

If this were an Olympic performance:

Technical performance: 10 of 10 (your usual)

Artistry: 8 of 10

First thing this made me think of was the album cover to Boston. Not sure what that says about me other than my age.

Fri April 26, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Rob C
Single screen version is great, but dual screen is even better. Thanks again, Ryan!

Fri April 26, 2013 at 12:29 am

I know a lot of people love this render but it just doesn't work for me the underside of the jellyfish looks like someones insides to me, that is just my opinion mind you but still downloaded it to go with my always growing DB collection :)

Fri April 26, 2013 at 10:45 am

Wanna give it a 10 but the tentacles are just off to me. Too thin and not enough contrast between the thicker ones. Some central thicker ones would help and give some opportunity for more color. Love it though, thanks

Fri April 26, 2013 at 10:35 am

Brandi U.
"Doug B."
@Doug B.: Thanks!

Fri April 26, 2013 at 10:18 am

Love the composition, and colors.

Now for the multi-screens :) Maybe with a couple friends / jellies? Like two friends on the dual, a half dozen on the triple. Maybe a diver (or part of) to show size. Is this Jelly massive, or microscopic? At different times I see it both ways. How `bout you, Ryan?

Great work, love how the tips of some tendrils have extra thickness - like stingers.


Fri April 26, 2013 at 7:32 am

Nice work Ryan, Have you thought about doing a monchromatic version. Grey'ish background with the jelly as black showing off all the transparency? Reckon that would look pretty cool...

Fri April 26, 2013 at 7:16 am

Very intricate, but seems a little... lonely.

btw, your old one has been copied here: http://www.funxite.com/get/downloads/wallpapers/animals-wallpapers/jelly-fish.htm

Fri April 26, 2013 at 5:21 am

I can understand why some people don't like the tentacles but I like this piece. It reminds me of the electric jellyfish from Legend of Zelda (now in HD).

Fri April 26, 2013 at 3:34 am

Bob C
Artistically, this is a 9.5. I love the lighting, the colors, and the fact that the jelly is floating there by itself. The tendrils are great! Technically, there is, to me, something a little unsatisfying about the texture - with it being a tad "papery" rather than completely jelly-like. We put this one up right away...

Thu April 25, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Beautiful, one of the best works of the year. Only change I would like to see is possibly a busier water background (bubbles...maybe even coral (but not to pull away from the main subject as it's obviously your main vocalpoint)) and a more translucent body on the jellyfish.

Thu April 25, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Sorry to destroy all the good ratings here, but for me this doesn't work. Everything (especially the tentacles) is so harsh, too crisp, too jagged, not smooth enough. Why are the tentacles so strongly dashed?

Well nevermind, I've got that perfect Sakura, that's enough for the moment :-)

Thu April 25, 2013 at 4:27 pm

finally figured out the "In Progress" link so I've been watching this one grow--love it--interesting to compare this with your long-ago original--see how YOU've grown!!!!

Thu April 25, 2013 at 2:13 pm

WOW! I love the ocean and its inhabitants. This is absolutely gorgeous!

Thanks for this one!

Thu April 25, 2013 at 1:57 pm

First words uttered upon seeing it: "Oooh, wow..."

Thu April 25, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Terrific! I love the jelly's colors and the way the tentacles seem to move with the water. The light radiating though the water adds depth and texture. Perhaps the two very light tentacles in the upper right corner should either be dark enough to see or removed, since now it looks like the tips are floating around unattached.

Yes, your original jellyfish pulled up first thing when I googled. The original (sans your watermark) is being used by thejellyfishloversblog.blogspot.com.

Thu April 25, 2013 at 12:41 am

THIS IS SO AWESOME!! Definitely a refreshing switch from you usual land/planetscapes.

Thu April 25, 2013 at 12:06 am

Doug B
@ Brandi U: I think it's the end of a tendril, I pulled it up in 4096 x 2560 and you can just see the faint line in the background

Thu April 25, 2013 at 10:19 am

Doug B.
Outstanding, a little more background activity (off in the distance) could get it to a '10' as long as it isn't overdone

Thu April 25, 2013 at 10:15 am

I love this one alot. You don't usually do too much with animals it seems like, usually just straight environments. My only criticism is that maybe the tentacles could be made a little more fluid and less jagged or zig-zag like. Otherwise one of your best so far this year.

Thu April 25, 2013 at 10:14 am

Greg in CA

Thu April 25, 2013 at 10:07 am

This one looks really cool. I have always been fascinated by sea creatures. Especially big ones. Would you consider doing a render of some huge sea creature, some interpretation of the Leviathan maybe?

Thu April 25, 2013 at 9:32 am

This one looks really cool. I have always been fascinated by sea creatures. Especially big ones. Would you consider doing a render of some huge sea creature, some interpretation of the Leviathan maybe?

Thu April 25, 2013 at 9:32 am

Brandi U.
Love the colors!! Simple yet detailed piece. Wondering what is to the right of the jellyfish. A fish? Bubbles? Stands out in the 1920x1080, but I can't tell what it is.

Thu April 25, 2013 at 9:29 am

I like it. I joined the site because of the crisp, clean renders that you do, and this one adds nicely to the collection.

Thu April 25, 2013 at 9:23 am

Awesome render Ryan!! Wow, colors, definition, tentacles, all looks great! I must say too, this Jellyfish looks mature, an older jelly who's survived it all. :)

Thu April 25, 2013 at 9:15 am

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:

  • Kevin Lynch ('Crimmy') -- (11/2/15)
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)

Recent Sponsors:

  • Jonathan Stanley -- (11/1/15)
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)

Recent Patrons:

  • Richard Month -- (11/1/15)
  • Cliff Bloom -- (10/25/15)
  • Michael Swanson -- (10/16/15)
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)

Recent Donors:

  • Jonathan P Man -- (11/27/15)
  • De Beers -- (11/19/15)
  • Alisa McKeehan -- (11/7/15)
  • Patrick Biggs -- (11/6/15)
  • Dean Andrews -- (11/5/15)
  • Technovation Design -- (11/4/15)

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

On Sale!! 60% off if you use coupon code "PREP4HOLIDAY"!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy