8.15/10 rating (200 votes)

Member Comments

"Would love an update"
I absolutely love this image. Would love some updated resolutions and new renderings. as long as it keeps the "art" feel. great work.

Wed September 30, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Ryan, this is my all-time favorite of all of your pieces. I commented a few years back how great it would be to do a whole updated series of this one work - like you did for Canopy Creek a few years ago (winter, spring, summer, autumn). What do you think?

Fri October 3, 2014 at 10:49 am

I have this one on my main screen right now (it changes every 30 minutes, though), and I remember using it when it was in the free gallery... the reflections on the water are simply amazing! So is the overall light and mood this picture creates, even though it makes me some kind of depressed... looks like a chilly afternoon after a sunny day, and with the thin layer of clouds you can almost feel the breeze... and weather like that always makes me melancholic, because it feels as if time is slipping away too fast. Well, as for the 9 out of 10: almost everything is perfect, but I'd love to see an abandoned bathing jetty to make it even more sad... ;) Thank you once more, Ryan, for these great images!

Fri March 8, 2013 at 3:23 pm

"let me clarify"
I can only relate it in relation to the other things I see on the site. I also stated that I would love to see it re-rendered. Now to add to that, heck could I do any of this? heck no. So it is certainly not his talent that I have any critique at all for.

Mon October 1, 2012 at 12:06 am

In my opinion, it still compares quite well with the newer material, even with its age. Honestly, like a great painting, it doesn't need to be compared, just admired for its beauty.

Fri September 28, 2012 at 11:20 am

It has been my understanding, as long as I have had my ratings system in place, that images are rated in relation to each other. Someone seeing this piece back when it was made may have given it a high rating because it compared favorably with the rest of my collection. As my techniques have improved the older images can appear crude by comparison.

Fri September 28, 2012 at 8:55 am

"below me..."
Why would you rate a image from 11yrs ago badly because it doesn't look the same as images now...

Thu September 27, 2012 at 6:18 pm

This one could use a redo in your current rendering methods. Has a lot of potential...

Thu September 27, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Take the 1920x1200 version and crop it to your preferences.

Thu December 23, 2010 at 9:01 pm

"HDTV version"
I would really love to have the 1920x1080 version of this one!

Thu December 23, 2010 at 12:01 am

"All time favorite"
Every time I've shown this one to friends there's always someone saying "It looks a bit artificial".

Even though it may not be the most realistic scene ever, it is still breathtakingly-beautiful.

It's like a rare romantic painting; it doesn't need to be realistic.

Tue August 3, 2010 at 12:26 am

"I love this one so much."
This one still takes my breath away. I think it's as good as your current works, and I normally prefer your current works over your older ones, but this one is an exception.

Mon May 10, 2010 at 6:45 pm

One of my favorite things about your art, especially this one, is that I feel like I've been here before. I like to think that somewhere in the world there is a place like this.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 11:59 am

Trevor N.
"A new version of "Last Gold"?"
Ryan, I've enjoyed your work for years and have come to appreciate your Fall scenes the most. "Last Gold" is my favorite. Is there any chance you could re-do "Last Gold" this fall as you have done with some of your other images? I know it would be awesome! Thanks

Wed September 16, 2009 at 8:36 pm

"One of your best!"
This is one of my favorites. It reminds me of one of those cold days of mid-November, with the hazy sun and the dark reddish-brown leaves. This is my desktop image for most of the fall. Great work!

Tue September 1, 2009 at 7:06 pm

Jamie N.
"Perfect render"
Beautiful picture. The realism is amazing and the colours are awesome.

This would look great as a full-blown wall picture.

October 2, 2006

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • William Stevens -- (10/8/15)
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy