Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Jolly Roger
"Jolly Roger"

8.32/10 rating
(104 votes)

Ryan's TipJar

I was never really happy with the clouds in my original "Moonshadow" render. For this update I wanted to simulate a real "moonshadow" with the clouds (some still lit by the sun and some are in shadow). You may notice that quite a bit of this scene as adapted from "The Green Flash". I put a lot of trial and error work into achieving those atmospheric/beach effects and I didn't want to re-invent the wheel for what would essentially be the same environment. You can think of this piece as a companion to "The Green Flash" if you'd like, taking place a bit further up the beach ;-) As with the original Moonshadow, I'm sure a lot of people would prefer there be no human in this piece. I may provide such a render later, once I am happy with the "final" settings. Let me know what you think!

Member Comments

Jon Montgo
"Moonshadow 2014"
Add the 4 arched 'Blood Moons' we are experiencing to this image!

See jhm.org for inspiration.

Sun August 2, 2015 at 4:08 am

Elaine
"wow!"
This is another of your places I'd like to visit. I have a dual screen system so I guess I have to content myself with the pickle jar version but I sure would like the main one as dual screen.

Wed June 10, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Jarrad
"Awesome"
PLEEEEEASE DUAL SCREEN ??? <3333333

Wed June 10, 2015 at 2:40 am

Richard H.
"Best of the three"
I love this one. I like it a bit more than the original 2008 version (which is also really great) and a lot more than the just-finished 2015 version (which I don't like anything like as much; sorry – it's too gloomy, with not enough interest in the lower part of the picture). In this 2014 version I particularly like the foreground water, reflecting the sky colours, and the backlit clouds. Greatest frustration: no 5K version! You've done a 4K, but I need a 5K for my iMac. Any chance, please…?

Thu April 9, 2015 at 4:31 am

Getwired
"AMAZING - Needs Multi!"
I would LOVE it if you had multi-monitor lossless renders in general, and especially of this one. The dynamic range and smoothness of the lossless renders are unparalleled and simply look stunning on my monitors. Thanks Ryan!

Mon January 5, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Zach
"Multis"
I know that this one wasn't perfect, but I really enjoyed it. Are you still working on it, Ryan? Even if you don't make any further adjustments, is there a chance of getting a multiscreen render?

Wed December 10, 2014 at 11:11 am

Bob
"10+"
Is there ANY chance this could be made in to a multi-screen? It's so beautiful.

Fri November 21, 2014 at 10:35 am

Jen
"Beautiful"
I realize some of your landscapes haven't been universally loved lately but, this one and the Autumn one are both very beautiful. I hope you will still do multi screens of both of these.

Tue October 28, 2014 at 10:20 am

Sirjacob
"Powerfully Imanginative"
The power of an eclipse with a child sitting in beautiful landscape is the essence of imagination and wonder all rolled into a single picture. This is the basis for all creative thought, weather from science to fantasy, it takes your mind to flight. What a wonderful picture, thank you for sharing it with us.

Tue October 21, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Sirjacob
"Powerfully Imanginative"
The power of an eclipse with a child sitting in beautiful landscape is the essence of imagination and wonder all rolled into a single picture. This is the basis for all creative thought, weather from science to fantasy, it takes your mind to flight. What a wonderful picture, thank you for sharing it with us.

Tue October 21, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Kelton
"Very Nice"
Agreed please create dual screen :)

Mon October 20, 2014 at 11:58 am

KG
"Awesom"
Please render this in a dual monitor download. Thanks.

Sun October 19, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Zach
"Hopeful"
I'm really hoping that this piece won't get abandoned without multiscreen renders. I think that it's outstanding, and with a little tweaking, it will be a background for me for years to come.

Tue October 14, 2014 at 8:58 am

Nick
"Very good, but..."
While you artwork is breathtaking as always, I can't help but be distracted from the beautiful eclipse by the rocks to the lower left of the screen. Compared to the rocks on the right, the rocks on the left seem to have an outdated design. Smooth and very computerized compared to the rough, realistic ones on the right. Was that how you intended the rocks to come out? Or is it possible to have an update to this, maybe even just a pickle jar version.

Wed October 8, 2014 at 0:45 am

Dr
"People"
No People Plz!!

Sat October 4, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Mangoman
"Incredible!"
Ryan, never forget - "Constructive criticism" - there is no such thing. I'm just happy to never have read anyone tear you down for doing such beautiful work. We all give our opinions on this or that, or perhaps what might be changed, or left out, or put in, but I defy ANYONE to insult you or your gorgeous work. This one, in my eyes and heart, is a 10! With the exception of the eclipse, the sky is a stark reminder of a 4:00 A.M. sky driving from MI to MS years ago. Once again, great job. Sorry to prattle on so.

Fri October 3, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Rainer
"8 but...."
... I do prefer backgrounds without humans in it.

Fri October 3, 2014 at 9:00 am

Bob
"10+"
Dual screen coming?

Wed October 1, 2014 at 10:35 am

LindaS
"Inspiring"
I love the shade of pink. Clouds are georgeous with the light edges. Anxious to see a PJ version.

Sat September 27, 2014 at 4:54 pm

violet
"love the colors"
I love the dark water and the clouds

Thu September 25, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Jenanne
"Good Beginning"
As others have said, the rocks, sand, and beach need more work, but overall I like the update a lot, particularly the clouds and the new color scheme. I think the little guy would look better if he wasn't bisected by the horizon, but it's not that big of a deal. I do hope you'll do a PJ version without the figure for us anti-figure folks.

Thu September 25, 2014 at 2:23 pm

J-Crew
"Can't say I'm fond of it"
As a HUGE fan of the first Moonshadow, I can't say I'm too fond of this version. I loved the sense of scale of the old version with a giant moon (taking up a large amount of the screen) and a tiny human. [Always loved the human for scale btw ;) ]



Personally I liked the old clouds and how smooth they were but I appreciate the new detailed clouds. Overall I feel the overall quality of this updated version is incredibly lacking (i.e. water, rocks, sand, etc.)



I also very much preferred the old color scheme. This one looks too much like Cronus Rising to me. I would love if you could make a pickle jar version with the old coloring to get a more accurate legacy update.

Wed September 24, 2014 at 9:46 pm

devoin
"XXXelent"
Triple 4k....?

Wed September 24, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Littlemom
"9"
I also love that you can actually see details on the person in the render instead of a generalized figure. Would love to see that from now on

Wed September 24, 2014 at 10:28 am

Littlemom
"9"
Love this render. It's very calming and peaceful. Love the colors.

Wed September 24, 2014 at 10:26 am

Zach
"Great start!"
So far, I'm really liking this one. As others have said, I can tell that it's not finished due to the texture issues with the rocks, water, clouds, et cetera. That being said, parts of the sky and the eclipse look amazing! Also, I disagree with Joe regarding the boy. I think that the added detail on him propels the image even further.

Tue September 23, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Joe
"Step Back on the Rocks"
I love the original, and if this is a step forward on the clouds, it is also definitely a step back on the rocks, sand, and water on the beach. The lack of movement in the water surface around the rocks and the highly unfinished look of the rock mass texture (lower left corner) mean that I really don't appreciate this re-do of one of my favourites.



I also prefer if the figures are very general, I'm not sure how much I like that this one has defined skin tone, shirt, pants, hair... it just removes some of the magic from the landscape.

Tue September 23, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Brian J.
"Nice Update"
I agree with Atmos42 that the rock/sand is unfinished, though the boy sitting there ads a nice element to the scene.



I do like the new look though. Even the detail of having the "moon" with a rough outline shows your attention to detail.



I wonder how long it will be before this picture ends up on EarthPics' Twitter feed as a "Really incredible solar eclipse!!!1!" lol

Tue September 23, 2014 at 10:56 am

Atmos42
"So far so good!"
I can tell it isn't finished, what with the grid patterns on the rock/sand, but I wanted to say that I like it when you add humans to the image. In this case especially, the landscape would look dead with them! Keep up the good work!

Tue September 23, 2014 at 10:45 am

Multiple Monitors?
DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
moonshadow2k151
7.30/10 rating (30 votes)

moonshadow2k152
7.66/10 rating (65 votes)

Digital Blasphemy 2018 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy