Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


8.12/10 rating
(94 Members Voted)

With the New Horizons probe quickly approaching its rendezvous with Pluto, I thought it might be fun to imagine just what it will find when it gets there. This piece isn't intended to be 100% scientifically accurate, but rather a fanciful (and hopefully artistic) view of Pluto from its moon Charon.

Member Comments

Mario Carini
"Outlier"
Might be a good place to visit for a photo shoot or two. That atmosphere looks too thin to sustain life for long.

Mon November 30, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Rusty
"Pluto Flyby has nothing on this"
The Scientists taking of pictures of Pluto should have just called you.

Sat July 18, 2015 at 1:59 am

Are
"Like the final version"
With the smaller moon, the image got a better balance. I really like the image as a whole, but would have liked some more details in the foreground to better match the details on the moon. :-)

Mon July 13, 2015 at 2:45 am

Silviaf
"dark"
I do love the planet and space images :) always a pleasure looking at your work :D

Thu July 9, 2015 at 7:39 pm

bronzed
"pickle jar version"
I really love this one!

Thu July 9, 2015 at 5:01 am

Greg in KC
"Revision is great"
Yeah, I definitely like the revision (with the smaller moon/planet). Not that I had any issue with the original, it just seemed that the moon/planet took up too much of the frame, in my opinion. But yeah, well done was always, sir!

Wed July 8, 2015 at 11:11 am

Chris
"Love it"
I always liked the space/planet/nebulae wallpapers, this is no exception!

Tue July 7, 2015 at 3:31 pm

Galtrold
"Missing 21:9 resolution"
This would be nothing less than spectacular on my Dell U3415w 3440x1440

Tue July 7, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Molly
"Love it!"
Really neat conception, and I especially love the Milky Way in the background. Can't way to see the photos from New Horizons!

Mon July 6, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Stephanie
"interesting"
i like meatballs in space ;-))



no kidding created beautiful Ryan!

Mon July 6, 2015 at 10:33 am

Kana
"thought-provoking"
Very nice, as usual. I can't help but wonder if the foreground planet has atmosphere? Is that haze fog? or a light ice layer? And the distant planet - what are the different layers - rock for the greyish, and the brown is... plant life? Different rock?



Very interesting :)

Sun July 5, 2015 at 10:10 pm

">David
"its cool"
did anybody notice this?

first posted 06/31/15

last updated 06/30/15



does that make any sense to anybody? June doesn't have 31 days and you cant update something you haven't posted ;)

Fri July 3, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Hoverwolf1
"Cool"
Cool. Cool cool cool.

Fri July 3, 2015 at 5:39 pm

">James F4e
"Great Work"
Ryan your work is one of a kind.

Once a member, always will be.

Fri July 3, 2015 at 2:26 pm

">Kyle
"Great detail!"
Detail on the background planet in orbit is very sharp. Added to the desktop background rotation!

Thu July 2, 2015 at 10:28 am

">Dustin
"Floored."
This is amazing. I've been anxious these past few months watching New Horizons getting closer and closer. The more we learn about this distant the world, the more amazing it seems. This picture is a great visualization of that.

Wed July 1, 2015 at 8:58 pm

">Nithilher
"Incredible awesome"
This piece of art is a very good example of why I love your art and why I think it is great art. Your art caputres to the point so many things I associate with space and the universe: how alien it can be, how vast and grand, how beautiful, but at the same time, how cold it is, how lonely, and how mysterious, enigmatic, strange.



When you read popular science articles or books on topics abotu cosmology, astronomy and planetology, you very often find "artist's renderings" showing something which we cannot (yet) observe directly. However, very often, these renderings are dull, without true imagination. Almsot all the "artist's renderings" of Pluto and Charon currently sweeping through the media are nothing more than variations on "rockyy moons with craters" not really taking into account the vast richness of different possible rocky celestial bodies within our solar systems as photographed by spacecfrat like the Voyager probes or Cassini etc.



How infinitely better your creations are!

Wed July 1, 2015 at 2:02 am

Ali
"Nice"
Looks good. Looking forward to the planet version.

Wed July 1, 2015 at 1:48 am

Maarten
"Wow!"
One of your best lately. I particularly like the level of detail in this one. This makes it really stand out on a hi-res monitor!



On a side note: I've noticed that for a couple of your newest renders, the Surface Pro 3 resolution (2160x1440) is missing. Menger Bulb appears to have been the last one. Is that on purpose? Because I really love using your artwork on my SP3 because the high resolution on a 12 inch display makes the details look stunning. But I realize its aspect ratio is somewhat different, so if that is the reason, I could understand that.



Best regards from The Netherlands.

Wed July 1, 2015 at 1:08 am

">Eel River
"11/10"
The finest piece of artwork ever released on June 31st.

Tue June 30, 2015 at 7:09 pm

">drow
"cold"
cold... so cold...

Tue June 30, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Rachel
"So good I now kinda hate real satellite pics"
Ryan - you make such amazing artwork that makes me want so badly for them to be real places!



I can't tell you how many sci-fi books I have read that are populated in my head with your images...real satellite images are almost disappointing.

Tue June 30, 2015 at 3:57 pm

sigmaman
"Nice!!!!"
Very cool Ryan. Love the detail.

Tue June 30, 2015 at 3:52 pm

BobC
"Great!"
Quite fanciful, yes. All the better and that's why we like it so much. I agree that the band of atmosphere (I think) is slightly distracting - I had to think about it for a while to figure out what was going on.

Tue June 30, 2015 at 3:49 pm

VSanch24
"Stunning"
I really enjoy the space-scapes you do. Was the reason for my lifetime membership! I wonder if we will get actual images that look like this from a probe.

Tue June 30, 2015 at 3:13 pm

">Jesse
"Incredible"
I love the detail in this one. A wonderful imagining. This is, honestly, one of my favorites that you've done. It's going right on my desktop!

Tue June 30, 2015 at 2:02 pm

">PixelHead
"Nice! and Creepy!"
Love the detail and the overall look is creepy! This is a nice dark wallpaper and the Triscreen really does it justice!

Tue June 30, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Jenanne
"Well done!"
The planet's rocky and crater-pocked surface is great -- the deep blue and brown hues give it an attractive and realistic look. I'm not as crazy about the foreground; in particular, the misty white band at the horizon is too straight and uniform -- doesn't look quite real. And I'm not sure what the white surface is supposed to be; it looks a bit like ocean waves or a field of ice. Otherwise, though, terrific!

Tue June 30, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Littlemom
"Awesome."
This render is amazing Ryan!!! I love planetscapes and spacescapes and this render is both... Love it!!!

Tue June 30, 2015 at 10:16 am

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Dualscreen:

Triscreen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
outlier1a
8.60/10 rating (5 votes)
Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy