8.75/10 rating (117 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

9.14/10 rating (22 votes)

8.69/10 rating (16 votes)

Member Comments

John S.
I have used almost every BG Ryan has made, yet I keep coming back to this one. Has to be my favorite.

Mon November 23, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Jessica M.
This has always been my favorite one from the beginning years ago. It has been on every computer I have owned. Looking out through the windows is just so relaxing. Sometimes, its more interesting to look on then participate.

Mon August 10, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Brian B
This is a great update of one of my all-time favorite wallpapers. Awesome job!

Tue October 21, 2014 at 2:12 pm

"Triscreen awesomeness"
The triscreen makes me wish I had three monitors...

Tue August 19, 2014 at 11:02 pm

"Love it"
I have *always* loved these fantasy styled pictures. Arcana and Portals are a couple of my favourites, but this is lovely too.

The Fantasy nerd in me loves the God like figure looking out over his (her?) domain....

Thu August 14, 2014 at 7:47 pm

"One of my favorites"
I love the perspective - you can really see how the figure IS the Overseer. Or is he? Anyone that has been owned by a cat truly knows who the Overseer of a house is!

Wed August 13, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Bill M
I don't comment often, but this one is over-the-top good. The dual-screen perspective is fantastic. Instantly one of my favorites!

Tue August 12, 2014 at 3:58 pm

"To get an idea of what I was talking about"
In "Portals" you angled the images to give a different perspective for each section. I feel this is what would really make this piece come together for me. I bet it will not be nearly as easy angling each "window" and keeping it lined up as it was angling the ones in "Portals".

Also, like I said before, it would be neat to put "Overseer over more different wallpapers. Not just space ones, but I think it would be neat over your 2010 "Subarctic" with the Orca.

Mon August 11, 2014 at 1:06 pm

"Good, but..."
I really like what you have done with this. The original has always been one of my favorites. However, once I set it as my wallpaper on my laptop (1920x1080 HD) I noticed that the perspective is wrong. Each "window" looks more like a panel that was placed there, rather than looking through at the galaxy. I'm not sure if you cut and overlayed the galaxy onto the overseer or visa versa, but the curvature of the image seems off. I don't know if you can "bend" the galaxy image to match the curve of the floor. But overall I really like the concept. I would love to see you overlay the Overseer onto other wallpapers of yours.

Mon August 11, 2014 at 12:58 pm

"One of my favorites"
A long while ago, 'The Overseer' was among the reasons I decided to buy a lifetime membership. I'm so glad you decided to update it.

Fri August 8, 2014 at 0:45 am

I put this on my desktop as soon as I saw it. I'm liking it better and better and better. I tried the triple-screen crop suggested below by drow and I definitely agree that this works extremely well - I can see the windows and blue lights better, the galaxy somehow works better, and (as Ryan says) the floor is really cool...

Thu August 7, 2014 at 5:39 pm

i really like the triple-screen variant the best, i'm using a crop of that instead of the widescreen.

Thu August 7, 2014 at 12:32 pm

For me, this is by far the best setting of the "Island in the Void" yet. The extragalactic point of view from an unknown, inhabited place is fabulous. The juxtaposition of the familiar with the fantastic is wonderful. (I like the cat, turning to look at ?)

Thu July 31, 2014 at 7:47 pm

The small details really make this one come to life; awesome, Ryan! <3

Thu July 31, 2014 at 1:08 pm

If Carl Sagan had made "Cosmos" today, I imagine that his "Spaceship of the Imagination" would have looked something like this. (Never got around to watching the recent update with Neil deGrasse Tyson, but I plan to do so ASAP.)

Thu July 31, 2014 at 11:03 am

"Great Update"
The original overseer is one of my favorites. The updates to the figure and the floor and the addition of the cat are great. I still prefer the planet with moons to the galaxy though.

Hopefully you'll add dual 1080p soon. :)

Thu July 31, 2014 at 9:56 am

"Definitely a 10"
I love the changes you've made, especially to the overseer and the addition of his/her feline companion. The overseer's robe is particularly nice, and the changes in the colors makes the figure really pop against the galaxy. Thank you, Ryan! I just knew my cats came from outer space....

Thu July 31, 2014 at 8:46 am

"Very nice!"
The cat's a very nice touch, too.

Thu July 31, 2014 at 8:20 am

Ohheckyeah this is a 10. Love it. Really happy you are giving it it's own spot and the little changes are perfect.

Thu July 31, 2014 at 2:39 am

love love love all the details

Thu July 31, 2014 at 0:38 am

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:

  • Kevin Lynch ('Crimmy') -- (11/2/15)
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)

Recent Sponsors:

  • Jonathan Stanley -- (11/1/15)
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)

Recent Patrons:

  • Richard Month -- (11/1/15)
  • Cliff Bloom -- (10/25/15)
  • Michael Swanson -- (10/16/15)
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)

Recent Donors:

  • De Beers -- (11/19/15)
  • Alisa McKeehan -- (11/7/15)
  • Patrick Biggs -- (11/6/15)
  • Dean Andrews -- (11/5/15)
  • Technovation Design -- (11/4/15)

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

On Sale!! 60% off if you use coupon code "PREP4HOLIDAY"!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy