Painted Canyon

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Distant Kin
"Distant Kin"

9.23/10 rating
(413 votes)

Print Available!
Ryan's TipJar

Playing around with 3D landscape editing in Vue 2014. I resorted to booleans to get some of the cutaway effects.

Member Comments

Holly
"Bravo!"
Simply said. A stunner.

Tue June 7, 2016 at 0:50 am

Renaud
"Wonderful"
Would love to see more similar renders.

Fri April 15, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Sara McCaslin
"Real?!"
I've had this on my laptop before, and people think its real! I love this ... it looks realistic, and seems like its full of adventure.

Mon April 11, 2016 at 5:56 pm

MooeyG
"Like home..."
Makes me think of a fantasy story. This could be a scene right out of Dragonriders of Pern! Also, reminds me of Arizona's canyons.

Thu December 24, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Mario Cari
"Painted Canyon"
A great place to get away from it all. I'd put my home somewhere among those trees! Well done and so realistic!

Thu September 24, 2015 at 1:49 am

Honey
"fabulous & uplifting"
makes me feel as though i was there!

Mon November 24, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Paul
"Incredible!"
This year we took a river trip down the Colorado River in Grand Canyon.

Makes me feel like I am still there.

Mon November 24, 2014 at 12:13 pm

John
"(─‿‿─)"
I'll observe that the deep shadow tones in this piece make it work *fantastically* well with the new Dark Mode in OS X Yosemite...

Fri November 14, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Kevin
"Wow!"
One of your absolute best Ryan! Love it.

Thu November 13, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Tom
"Wonderful. Great. Awesome."
I live in Arizona, and totally agree with Glenn's comment. I concur with comments made by other members in that this is definitely one of Ryan's greatest creations.

Wed November 12, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Daniel
"10/10"
Amazing! I am not the least bit surprised that it is now your highest rated wallpaper, it deserves it.

Wed November 12, 2014 at 5:56 pm

David
"Amazing-New Best!"
Ryan, man you killed it! Everyone passing my desk wants to know who took the picture! Love it, love it, love it.!!

Tue November 11, 2014 at 2:59 pm

sigmaman
"Great"
One of your best Ryan!

Tue November 11, 2014 at 2:55 am

aslan
"Magical"
Just perfect....

Fri November 7, 2014 at 10:54 am

Glenn
"I've been there!!"
You've totally captured a side canyon of Lake Powell.Just beautiful!

Wed November 5, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Tyler K
"Loved it right away!"
I love the little patch of trees growing there. Very cozy, clandestine and comfortable atmosphere in this image. The lighting is just right. Really great job.

Wed November 5, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Greg
"Love it!"
Everyone that has seen this is SHOCKED that it's a rendering.

Wed November 5, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Brian
"Nailed It!"
One of those rare love-a-first-sight-of-the-thumbnail. IMO, Painted Canyon is in the same league as Highland Spring. HS still wins because I'm a sucker for a huge vista!

Tue November 4, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Terry
"Stunning"
Simply stunning Ryan well done :)

Tue November 4, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Zach
"Beautiful!"
This is a wonderful background, and it just replaced Red & Gold, which is my standard for this time of year. Thank you for the lovely work, Ryan!

Tue November 4, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Joe
"Re: one issue"
Just to follow up on the heaps of praise from my earlier review: it seems like this piece was updated recently to brighten the ambient light. While it does bring out more foreground detail, I somehow preferred the darker, starker contrast. Too bad there is currently no pickle jar to compare. The way Vue renders shorelines close to the camera have always been a weak link, so keeping that in the shadow is a wise choice.

And, commenter "Foz" makes a good point below: there's noticeable clipping from branches passing through the canyon wall in the (newly added?) dead trees. Hopefully that's a quick fix for a future render.

Tue November 4, 2014 at 8:42 am

Foz
"amazing, bar one issue"
This is another truly amazing piece.



However there is one minor glaring issue - the dead trees in the background, the one on the left, look at the branches, there are a few branches just hanging in mid-air OR they are coming out of the wall. I can't tell which.

Tue November 4, 2014 at 4:50 am

Jeff
"!!!"
This is why I paid for a life membership to this site.

Mon November 3, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Drew
"Classic"
Yep, this is why I subscribe to DB. Just renewed my membership.

Mon November 3, 2014 at 8:13 pm

BobC
"Yes!!"
I wholeheartedly agree with my fellow DB members. This is my kind of place, - beautifully conceived and rendered. The update that seems to have appeared in the past few days is even better than the already great original. I'm thinking about purchasing two more monitors so when that triple screen comes out....

Mon November 3, 2014 at 6:28 pm

iellis02
"Want a poster "
I love it! I have to get a poster of this to go with my poster of Highland Spring!

Mon November 3, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Aelver
"Supurb!"
Definitely one of your best!

Mon November 3, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Halfwolf
"Excellent!!"
Barely patient, waiting for a triple monitor version...

Mon November 3, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Weeznow
"Dreamy"
I want to have a picnic under those trees... for several hours.

Mon November 3, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Skyweir
"Spectacular!"
This work truly captures the grandeur of the canyons of the Southwest. The early lighting is perfect and brings out the definition in the sandstone and the trees.

A theme of your most highly rated works seems to be clarity and detail, especially in vegetation. This one is masterful and stunning!

Mon November 3, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Blake
"First sight was "Oh WOW!""
This looks like Southern Utah! Just on a grander scale! Beautiful sandstone looking features.

Mon November 3, 2014 at 11:43 am

Eric
"12 (10++)"
Bravo!!!!

Mon November 3, 2014 at 10:33 am

0beron
"10"
This deserves the top spot on the all time highest rated list! Wonderfully modelled rock features - such a visually interesting set of shapes. I really like how the light comes from round the bend in the canyon. The rock wall looks brightly illuminated but the colours are perfectly exposed. Superb render, can't wait for the multiscreens.

Mon November 3, 2014 at 10:26 am

JM
"<3"
My wallpaper ADD is entirely your fault...desktops, laptop, iPad, Windows Phone...

Mon November 3, 2014 at 9:46 am

Tony R
"Loving it"
I want to beeeeee thereeeee

Mon November 3, 2014 at 9:37 am

Bez
"10"
Wow I love this!

Mon November 3, 2014 at 8:38 am

Kim
"Great..but!"
Make it work for triple screen! :D

Mon November 3, 2014 at 7:59 am

Jenanne
"Painted Canyon is #1!"
For the first time in recent memory, a render has pushed "Highland Spring" into the number two position in the Top Rated images. Ryan, you've managed to top yourself, no easy task. Yay, Ryan!

Mon November 3, 2014 at 7:58 am

Bill
"Massive"
Lighting, shading, textures and perspective all add up to one spectacular image. It's no small feat to capture as much of the true beauty of nature as you did.

Mon November 3, 2014 at 5:59 am

Are
"Simply stunning"
Definitely one of your all time best images.

Mon November 3, 2014 at 2:25 am

Joe
"A Return to Form"
Simply wonderful.



The kind of wallpaper that keeps the eye engaged. There is great depth of detail here. Beautiful composition and palette. The choice to keep the foreground in the shadow swallows the viewer into this scene.



Unlike another reviewer, I find the shadows to the right VERY realistic, backlit by the captured ambient light. It actually helps you feel the scale of canyon outside of the frame.



Anxiously awaiting the multiscreen renders!

Sun November 2, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Penny D
"10"
I love the shadow play. It also gives the impression that it is waiting for someone, or something... to come home. Let it wait. Though 1 little Cedar tree, Bonsai style, for the stunted locale, to the bottom right might prove to be the finishing touch.

Sun November 2, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Slackweed
"10/10"
I usually only post here to complain about your images being too noisy.



But this.. this is outstanding. I think my single favorite render of yours. Absolutely beautiful.

Sun November 2, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Lester D
"Awesome"
One of your best Ryan. Superb.


Sun November 2, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Kerry
"10"
Wow, beautiful work! The lighting is fantastic. Great job.

Sun November 2, 2014 at 3:58 pm

David W
"10/10"
So very contemplative and such a sense of depth created by the darkness of the foreground. Been a fan of yours for years. Keep knocking them out!

Sun November 2, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Jenanne
"Wow!"
Incredibly beautiful. While I agree the right hand side cliff-face, particularly the jagged shadow, needs a bit more work, overall this render is fantastic. 10+

Sun November 2, 2014 at 12:42 pm

FacePlants
"Best in a long time!"
I love this render! The contrast of the hard rock and the patch of soft green trees with taller dead trees standing tall behind them. The cave wall almost looks like stone fingers reaching out to touch the trees. The only critique I have is that the right side of the foreground feels a little 'empty' to me.

Sun November 2, 2014 at 12:39 pm

MT
"10!"
PLEASE make this in triple fit! THX!

Sun November 2, 2014 at 11:57 am

Travis
"Amazing - Zion Canyons"
This image invokes many memories of a bend in the Zion National Park "Narrows" slot canyon.



http://www.oceanlight.com/log/category/national-parks/zion

Sun November 2, 2014 at 10:42 am

CE
"10!"
Wow. Just wow! I love it!

And I have to disagree with Joe, the lighting on the right side makes sense to me. I think maybe it is the sharp angles combined with softer lighting that makes it look a little weird to some? Maybe the boulder lit on the far side right next to the curved face lit on the facing side is a little confusing.

Sun November 2, 2014 at 10:10 am

Ryan
"@Brandi"
My first title for this was "Big Bend" because I drew on my memories of visiting there in 2007. I changed the title because I didn't want to invite a direct comparison.

Sun November 2, 2014 at 9:55 am

Brian J.
"9"
I somewhat agree with Joe that the shadowing comes a little odd on the right, but I guess it's because the rock has broken off at a hard right angle, causing the odd shadow.



Overall though, I love this picture. It reminds me of a camping trip I went on to the Rio Grande National Park in south Texas. The river forms the US/Mexico border, and you can canoe up the river into a canyon with sheer hundred foot walls, with odd beaches here and there growing some sparse trees. Magical quiet there.

Sun November 2, 2014 at 9:33 am

Brandi U.
"Gorgeous"
Love this one. The light falling into the canyon is perfect. Photo realistic.

Sun November 2, 2014 at 9:23 am

Joe
"5/10"
The right side of this image is very bothersome. I stared at it for the longest time when it was a preview, and I hoped it was unfinished. The differences between the shapes of the rock and the shadows are too abrupt and the rock formations are extremely ambiguous because of the backlighting. Are there 2 columns and a boulder? 1 column and a boulder? Just a wall with texture catching the light at abrupt angles? I just don't think I'm seeing this wall's geology the way you intended, and I hate to rate such an otherwise amazing piece so low because that right side ambiguity is all I can look at, and I can't appreciate the lovely left side of the canyon.

Sun November 2, 2014 at 9:14 am

Pete
"11"
Oh, this is just absolutely gorgeous. My first thought was that you had posted a photo from a vacation you thought you might render. Definitely one of my new favorites.

Sun November 2, 2014 at 9:08 am

betsey
"10+"
trying to remember which wall from the way past this reminds me of.....

Sun November 2, 2014 at 8:44 am

Multiple Monitors?
DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
paintedcanyon2
9.25/10 rating (8 votes)

Digital Blasphemy 2018 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy