8.58/10 rating (106 votes)
81 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

panoply1
8.54/10 rating (84 votes)

panoply2
8.48/10 rating (54 votes)

diffusepanoply1
8.25/10 rating (4 votes)

Member Comments

Elaine
"Texture Problem"
I don't know if you're reading comments on older stuff. I had this scene up on my monitor and noticed a problem with the tree bark texture on the left monitor in the dual screen versions. It's very distracting. I really like this scene so I hope maybe you could re-render it with the texture fixed at some point.

Thu January 30, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Colin
"6"
I am a big fan of your nature renderings. Some just take my breath away. This one falls a bit short for three reasons. 1. Trees generally grow straight up. The trees on the left lean in, like a wide angle lens perspective. 2. The leaf colors are too intense, particularly the green. It is almost neon. 3. The leaves appear to be more like algae growth than individual leaves. You normally do fantastic leaves. I offer these comments only as constructive criticism; I have been a subscriber for many years.

Sat December 21, 2013 at 5:42 am

Nathan
"8"
tiple screen 3840*1024 version. Something wonky happened to the background trees in what would be the left monitor. Like their skin messed up.

Sat October 26, 2013 at 3:56 pm

Jenanne
"9"
Great new multiscreen version! Thanks, Ryan!

Tue October 22, 2013 at 3:56 pm

Dan
"9/10"
Needs a facebook version.

Thu October 17, 2013 at 11:16 pm

Ryan
"New Multiscreen"
I have a new multiscreen version rendering right now, but it is rendering on Asfaloth. I hope to have it ready in a day or two!

Thu October 17, 2013 at 12:54 pm

nithilher
"5/10"
The new lighting setup does not awake a autumnal atmosphere in me. The haze and the light rays of the first version have been so beautiful. I really had hoped that it would have been possible to have this as a triple screen render ...

Thu October 17, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Jenanne
"9 for Single Screen"
Closer. I like version 2's colors better but this version is beautiful, too. I particularly like that more of the stream can now be seen. Not a 10 because of the sun ray graininess on the left.



I must admit I dislike the widescreen version. The graininess problem is gone and that's great, but much of the original render's charm is also gone.

Wed October 16, 2013 at 6:25 pm

KRingg
"8/10"
I love the single-monitor version... perfect blend of natural and other-wordly. Unfortunately, the multiscreen version is pretty darn awful. My rating is based on the assumption you'll continue tweaking.

Tue October 15, 2013 at 6:10 pm

kellzilla
"Panoply (2013)"
Oof. Not a fan of the weird multi-screen this time around. :(

Tue October 15, 2013 at 12:26 pm

Ryan
"@Nate"
Yes, that is what I meant by a different lighting setup. I will have a multiscreen of the original setup eventually but it is going to take some more tweaking...

Tue October 15, 2013 at 11:26 am

Nate F
"Multiscreens?"
Is there an issue with the multiscreen copies? (I tried 5120 * 1440 and 7680 * 1600) and it was basically an entirely different picture than the singlescreen version. It looked more like a pastel photo rather than actual leaves. Or is this what you meant by new angle.

Tue October 15, 2013 at 11:14 am

Genj
"3"
Not for me. The water comes to close to the trunk, fog comes in to quick and too much on a flat plane. Exposed branches look too sharp and the leaves are highly unnatural and colors too clumped. Fall is just starting, I say revisit this one after a bit. *shrug*

Tue October 15, 2013 at 9:15 am

Patrick
"7/10"
The leaves look more like grapes,not natural also due to the colors I Think.

Tue October 15, 2013 at 4:29 am

Adam
"6"
I like the composition, but you tend to make the greens too vibrant in your outdoors scenes - that really vibrant green only appears in the spring with new growth, and when the leaves are turning the greens would be much darker, don't you think?

Mon October 14, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Adamtrons
"10!"
Excellent! I'm very happy with this third version. It seems to strike the right balance of color and light rays. Will be set as my desktop background, as soon as I get home. :)

Mon October 14, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Ryan
"Multiscreen"
I am rendering a multiscreen version of this right now on Bucephalus and I am hoping it will be ready sometime tomorrow. I am trying something a bit different for the multiscreen though. When I added the new trees on the side it cast the entire scene into shadow so I chose to render with an entirely different lighting angle/setup. If you guys like the new setup I could probably re-render a single-screen version, though it is easy enough to crop the wide versions...

Stay tuned!

Mon October 14, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Scott
"10/10"
I love this time of year, and I really love your interpretation - especially the balance between normal and all the "unnatural" :) colors - makes it feel like Fall in a completely different place..

One question - no iPad HD of v3?

Mon October 14, 2013 at 11:14 am

Manu
"10"
Absolutely perfect!

Mon October 14, 2013 at 8:34 am

Sharon
"10"
v3 is awesome. I absolutely love it! Thanks for the beautiful work!

Mon October 14, 2013 at 8:12 am

Bob
"9"
Be nice to have dual screen on both this and the original; both beautiful...

Sun October 13, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Lynn
"9/10"
I like the purples! It is a part of the changing of the colors that you see in the fall!

Sun October 13, 2013 at 11:00 am

sundogvet
"7/10"
I'd rather your art didn't look like my back yard, but still like a place I'd like to visit. I like where you're going with the little fractal trees like you said, but you've colored each cluster of leaves all the same. There are no gradients. It looks like Fruity Pebbles.

Sat October 12, 2013 at 9:05 pm

Midnight
"8.5"
I like the adjustments, but I have to agree with Penny, it definitely changes the mood with all the purple.

Fri October 11, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Penny
"5"
What happened to all the beautiful colors? This rendering looks so dark and distressed, as if the trees are literally dying.

Fri October 11, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Greg
"9"
I like the purples actually - unnatual perhaps, but that's what makes this good. It feels dark and surreal. The only nitpick would be the repetition of plants at the bottom, the seem fairly evenly spaced and only a few different types grouped together. This was nearly my new favourite, great job sir!

Fri October 11, 2013 at 11:25 am

Littlemom
"8"
This one is a little better as far as the light rays go, but the purple is just aweful and out of place with the fall colors.

Fri October 11, 2013 at 11:03 am

kellzilla
"Panoply (2013)"
Bleh. Do not like the purple at all. I love your fall colors because they're so realistic - very few leaves go purple in your average tree copse.

Thu October 10, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Randy
"7.5"
The purple and burgundy makes it look more like fruit - raspberries - than tree leaves. Love the colors, just not in this application. Green, yellow, orange, and red are the more natural colors.

Thu October 10, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Kenny
"6"
Honestly to me this looks, especially in v2, like giant exotic vegetables, or maybe giant rainbow truffles, growing out of the ground. I see colored broccoli, rather than leaves.



I do like both the light and the grass, otherwise I'd rate it about a 4... Sorry lol.

Thu October 10, 2013 at 9:11 pm

Dave
"9"
I like the original with more orange and reds in it. I'd like to see one with the same orange and reds and browns but with dusk light (not the bright spot on the top edge)

Thu October 10, 2013 at 8:00 pm

D
"9"
I really like v2, it took a couple views before it grew on me. As for the bottom of the frame, replace the water with a grassy meadow spotted with fallen leaves.

Thu October 10, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Slackweed
"9"
Better! I still would like the light beams toned down further, but this is quite exceptional.

Thu October 10, 2013 at 1:38 pm

Chandler
"9.99"
I first took a look at V2 and was absolutely disgusted, but then after looking at it and comparing it back to V1 I grew to appreciate it and like it more than V1.



Awesome work done on both! I expect more versions to keep coming!!!

Thu October 10, 2013 at 12:13 pm

cmmnoble
"9"
The color mix on V2 works better for me. It seems more balanced. And the trees with everything from green to deep purple remind me of the Bradford Pear trees we have around here.



Here's a good example of one: http://feliciakramer.blogspot.com/2011/11/awe-full-fall-color.html

Thu October 10, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Randall
"Good"
I like this better than the first version. And I love the purple tones, glad you kept them!

Thu October 10, 2013 at 11:15 am

Jenanne
"@Sharon"
"I like the colors of the first, and the light of the second. Is that allowed?"



Heck, no! You're not allowed to have an opinion! ;)

Thu October 10, 2013 at 11:12 am

Jenanne
"9"
I LOVE the purple tones. Fantastic. Gorgeous. Magnificent. I don't really care that real trees don't look like this; if I wanted photorealism I'd use photographs for wallpaper. You've made this one member very happy, Ryan. :)

Thu October 10, 2013 at 11:09 am

Ryan
"@Laura"
I've learned that it is impossible for me to make big changes to a piece that everyone will like ;) No worries!

Thu October 10, 2013 at 9:51 am

Laura
"Panoply 2"
... :( I like the first version better. I'll leave my 10 up for the first version, but I'm really tempted to rate this a 5.



I guess it's true that you can't make everyone happy. ;)

Thu October 10, 2013 at 9:40 am

Zach
"5"
Though I like the exploration of the new colours, I greatly prefer the original "sneak peek" version. It seemed very smooth, whereas these gallery versions have seemed rough and grainy. I miss the smooth style of http://digitalblasphemy.com/preview.shtml?i=canopycreekautumn2 and of http://digitalblasphemy.com/preview.shtml?i=redandgold1 .

Thu October 10, 2013 at 9:00 am

Sharon
"8"
I like the colors of the first, and the light of the second. Is that allowed?

Thu October 10, 2013 at 8:53 am

Greg
"9"
I love the new version.

Are you going to do a dual screen? I thought you always did one, but noticed Gazebo isn't in there and you're on the next one.. I'd love a this to be a dual screen, as right now I'm using the older Elegy12

Thu October 10, 2013 at 8:46 am

Sarah
"6"
I love autumn, but the colors seem off. Purple and red generally aren't on the same tree. Some leaves turn purple, but I've only seen it on smaller trees. More yellows/oranges. Most trees in the northeast are yellow and orange. September is Green with red tinged edges (my favorite), then October the reds turn brown and the yellow and a little bit of orange come out. Can some of them be brown? LEss ferns and more brown leaves on the ground. Every step crunches this time of the year.

Thu October 10, 2013 at 8:45 am

Topher
"9"
I like it much better than the first.

Thu October 10, 2013 at 8:34 am

Ryan
"V.2"
I've added v.2 of "Panoply" this morning. I've toned down the lightbeams a little and also desaturated things a bit. It was mentioned that I should cut out the purple tones but I wanted to explore those a bit more for this version (sorry!).



I still need get the bottom of the frame sorted out. Let mek now what you think of the update!

Thu October 10, 2013 at 7:59 am

Gary
"7"
Not sure I really like the look of the longer branches sticking out the top of these trees, OR the different colors on the same tree. Sure there might be some slight change on a tree, but for the most part the entire tree changes to the same color... NOT red, yellow, green on the same tree.



This is why I really like going down into some valleys in the Fall and see Green pine trees, Red maple tree, some others that are yellow... the aerial views of a lot of different trees (forest area) looks much better.

Thu October 10, 2013 at 7:24 am

Will
"10"
Ryan when are you going to update the app? A couple work in progress are not shown, and also, can you please add a new size, Nexus 4 phone, is not matching with HTC one size. Thank you

Wed October 9, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Ryan
"@Beth"
Actually I am going to double-down on the purples in the next version, sorry. I'm intrigued by how different it looks!

Wed October 9, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Beth
"8"
Tone down the purples and the sunrays and it's perfect!

Wed October 9, 2013 at 6:05 pm

John B
"9"
I REALLLLLLLY REALLLY like this wallpaper. But I do have a slight critique about it. The colors of the leaves and the texture of the leaves are FANTASTIC. But the bottom half, the tree trunks just don't look as realistic as the leaves. This just could be my personal opinion, I don't know. But you seem to be updating your wallpapers a few times before the final release lately, so i imagine i will love the final version.

Wed October 9, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Harry
"7"
Very nice, looks like it took a while. My comments are:

- The bright greens in the tree foliage are too bright (particularly those two in the top quarter middle), they much more closely resemble the fresh spring leaves a tree like that would have, greens will still look good and be on the tree but more likely duller with a slight brown hue hint.

- The bare branches ("tentacles") sticking out of the trees aren't very natural. A tree with that density of leaves remaining would not have that size branches near the main canopy. To be honest in this situation you would only ever see branches below the leaves, like you have a few visible in the shadow to the right. I therefore believe that the "skeleton" of the tree could do with being shrunk back to match the shape of its canopy.



Looking forward to the final form of this and any other Autumn images they always have such beautiful colours.

Wed October 9, 2013 at 4:44 pm

oaf357
"8"
Tone down the purple hues and it's a 10!

Wed October 9, 2013 at 10:00 am

Phil S.
"8"
I have to agree with others, the rays detract from this piece, and also the far right tree trunk looks like the textures messed up.

I really liked one of the WIP versions that you posted, had great lighting without the rays. It was sharp/crisp and looked wonderful.

Please at least post the "rayless" versions in the pickle jar.

Keep up the great work.

Wed October 9, 2013 at 9:45 am

TheROUSes
"10!"
Wow!!!!!

Wed October 9, 2013 at 3:46 am

Laura
"10"
Great new work! It's the inaugural background on my new computer. Looks wonderful! Thanks Ryan!

Tue October 8, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Adamtrons
"8"
I really like the color of the trees and I disagree with others that say it does not look real, because the trees in my area are currently this color. They still have some bright healthy green from the summer but are changing to gold, orange, brown, reds as the days get shorter and they produce less chlorophyll. I do have two minor complaints: I think it does look "overexposed", to use a photography term. I like the dramatic sun rays but think that the brightness needs to be toned down just a bit. Also the tree on the far right has a chisel texture in it's center that looks like maybe it was chewed up by a beaver. Not sure if that was a glitch or if it is meant to be that way. Other then that, awesome work!

Tue October 8, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Jenanne
"7/10"
Just in time for the fall colors! I like this piece, and I'll love it when the nitpicks are taken care of. Like some others I think the left side and the center tree are obscured by the sun rays and/or haze, and is rather grainy. The tree trunks need some polishing. But I love the colors of the foliage, the leaves floating in the stream, and the overall composition -- perfect for my favorite season. Can't wait for the final!

Tue October 8, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Alex H
"Gorgeous"
I didn't notice the sunrays until someone else mentioned them, so I wouldn't dock a point for that. The Colour pallet used is brilliant. I save my 10/10s for absolute favourites though (or pictures which I think are criminally ignored/underated). If you do another which is as abstractly inventive as The Grid 2005 or Azula 2004 (the quantity, quality and subtle differences of the picklejar versions goes a long way, those aren't just simple recolourings); I'd be pounding the 10 button immediately.

Tue October 8, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Jonathan
"Colours are off"
I love the scene, but the colours look too fake. I would tone down the saturation just a little bit. Also, the pattern of colours in the trees looks unrealistic for autumn (or any season for that matter). Tone down the deep green and purple.

Tue October 8, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Slackweed
"7"
Kill the sunrays. You're killing what would otherwise be incredible artwork. I don't mind a subtle effect, but you turn it up too high.

Tue October 8, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Angelique
"9"
Beautiful! I love all the Fall colors :) If you make any adjustments though, could there be less of the sunrays? It kinda looks like fog on my computer screen and is somewhat obscuring the lovely scenery.

Tue October 8, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Eric
"9.5/10"
Great piece, Ryan. And while I do tend to agree with the nit-picky stuff, it is just that. Nit-picky. I love the colors, even though you wouldn't see such color variation on a singular tree (center & left). However, that's also what makes it a great piece. Ever so slightly other worldly. Well done.

Tue October 8, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Scott
"9"
Safari Joe does it again! Looking good.

Tue October 8, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Midnight
"8"
Love the idea and the mix of colors. I also like the perspective. The level/angle chosen makes me think i could be there looking out into the forest.



That said, I gave it an 8 because of a few nit-picky items:

1) The green is almost TOO green for the fall. Making it a little more subtle would help the realism a bit.

2) The haze just seems to be there to show the sun beams. I ike seeing the beams, but the haze seems unjustified.

3) I think it would be amazing to see a little fog hovering just above the water and slowly fading as the elevation gets higher. This might be what is showing us the sun beams?

4) Some of the darker areas are "grainy"

Tue October 8, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Littlemom
"7"
Autumn is my favourite time of year, but the hazy look to this render takes away from the color of the leaves. Also I think the foliage on the trees is way to full and I just didn't care for the green in the leaves either. but nice first try.

Tue October 8, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Pete
"10/10"
Beautiful, Ryan. Just stunning.

Tue October 8, 2013 at 11:49 am

Kelton
"9/10"
I kept looking at it and the only improvement I can see is double screen....

Tue October 8, 2013 at 11:14 am

Kana
"9/10"
Beautiful piece, Ryan! I love all the colors that you've combined, and the nice long wavy grass.



Nit-picky stuff:

Your tree bark on the right side of your picture is grainy / digital-ish, and one trunk in particular looks... "unfinished" graphically.

I also agree with Conrad that some of the branches might not be quite as full, though that's very, very minor comparatively. I still love the way you've done this piece. :)

Tue October 8, 2013 at 9:20 am

Kaaletram
"10"
I love the colors and the effect of the mist. One might expect to see something magical emerge from the mist. Like the color variations. One thing I would change is loose the water and maybe put in some grasses with a fairy ring...maybe a fairy light or three floating about it. Just a thought. Excellent work as always.

Tue October 8, 2013 at 9:12 am

nithilher
"9/10"
Light, haze, depth are very beautiful. The image truly creates an autumnal atmosphere and mood. I impatiently await the triple screen version!

Tue October 8, 2013 at 8:02 am

Toni
"9"
I love the colors! I prefer seasonal screens and this is the most colorful Fall screen yet!

Tue October 8, 2013 at 7:51 am

Nicole
"8/10"
I love the colors in the trees. There is nothing better than a fall scene with a lot of rich color. But the reason I didn't give it a 10 is because of the fog/haze in the image. I think that it just takes too much away from it. I look forward to seeing what else you might do with this scene. Your work is amazing. :D

Tue October 8, 2013 at 7:45 am

Rachel
"10"
I can't wait to see this one finished and in multi-screen so I can add it to my autumn collection of backgrounds!

Tue October 8, 2013 at 6:55 am

Topher
"8"
I'm a huge fan of the fall and winter stuff, but this one feels a little off. The green is TOO green to be mixed to intricately with the other colors. Frost wouldn't be selective like that, it would be more likely to have color on the top of the tree, and green underneath where it was protected.



I'm still putting it on my desktop though. :)

Tue October 8, 2013 at 5:49 am

Randy
"9"
Very good work, Ryan. I love the mix of green, yellow and red. A bit of a wash out on the left. I'd say cut back on the fog a little bit or raise the sun up a bit.

Now I'm ready for Autumn's seasonal color changes.

Tue October 8, 2013 at 5:05 am

Ruth
"10"
I love your autumn works!! The color in this one is so gorgeous, and with the sunlight slanting through it, I smell apple cider, burning leaf piles, and pumpkins being carved! I, too, love the definition, and the leaves floating in the water is an added bonus to bring life to the foreground. Fantastic work Ryan! <3

Mon October 7, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Derek
"9"
Stunning! Awesome job. I hope you are working on a Dual screen soon!

Mon October 7, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Derek
"9"
The trees are beautiful. I love the sunlight. This is going to look awesome on my dual screen. The only thing that keeps it from being a 10 (right now) is the leaves on the water. I think they kind of distort the depth of the image. Just not quite sold on that aspect at this moment. Love the work Ryan.

Mon October 7, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Conrad
"9"
Ryan, your work continues to get better every year! This is an excellent image and one of the best for fall by far. My only nit-pick has to do with leaf density. Some branches are bare while others are very full. By the time some branches are bare, the others are more sparse than here. Like I said, a nit-pick.

Mon October 7, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Chris
"10/10"
I saw this picture and my jaw hit the floor at how amazed I was. This is EASILY among the BEST fall wallpapers ever! The different leaf colors made all the difference, and the definition of the atmosphere and trees is great. Best desktop this year.

Mon October 7, 2013 at 9:35 pm

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"California Poppies (2004)"
Only 10 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play