7.25/10 rating (324 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

6.26/10 rating (89 votes)

6.87/10 rating (178 votes)

Member Comments

One of my favorites! At least one of my laptops has sported this backdrop since you released it.

Fri April 24, 2015 at 10:24 pm

"@Elaine and Joe"
I'm glad you enjoy this render! Hope you don't mind that I tried to "improve" on it.

Thu January 30, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Somehow this pops off my monitor into real 3-D. It's the most striking image on the whole website. Love it!

Thu January 30, 2014 at 7:21 pm

It's 2013, and this is still my all time favorite. I keep coming back to it.

Sat January 12, 2013 at 5:06 pm

"Prismatic 'n' volcanic..."
Looks interestingly similar to the caldera of the Yellowstone supervolcano, when seen from the air...

Sat December 1, 2012 at 1:08 am

"Missing Image"
The 1152 x 864 version of prismaticpool1 is missing.

Tue June 21, 2011 at 2:18 pm

"Prismatic Pool (2009)"
The 960x800 (EVO, Incredible, N1) file is corrupted. Only a partial file is available in both the Members Only download area (Members Mobile Wallpapers) and also in the 960x800 .zip file version for the EVO, Incredible, N1.

Wed March 30, 2011 at 1:54 am

"missing watermark"
The watermark is missing from the 1280x800 render.

Wed April 14, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Eric-KM TA
"Volcanic pool"
I saw the similar pool in National Geographic talking about Volcanic in Greenland.

Tue January 5, 2010 at 8:15 am

"Prismatic Pool"
So is there going to be a dual screen render for this very nice picture? Just wondering....or does it a really long render time. :)

Mon December 14, 2009 at 7:22 pm

"I see that there are what appears to be some deliberate figures around the orange fringe of the pool. Some of these are red, some are not. Some look like they could be people, or birds, or some other creature. Is there something there, or is it the happy coincidence from the act of digital creation?"

"What are the figures in teh orange fringe?"

With so many of your fans holding their breath for multiscreens of this image, I do hope you don't lose too many to fainting, brain damage, or death. Maybe some multiscreens for the blue-faced among us? :)

Wed November 11, 2009 at 2:25 pm

"still holding my breath for multiscreen renders"
I think this one is a gem. This is the first wallpaper that I've felt moved to comment about. Absolutely desperate for the multiscreen versions (as are a surprisingly large number of others, going by the comments here). Maybe just the 7680x1600 so we can resample it down?

Tue November 10, 2009 at 4:15 am

"Rating & such"
It certainly does deserve a much higher rating. It's a very fine piece of digital art. The rating isn't a compilation of all three versions, is it?

By the way, what's the ETA on the dual screens? Last update was Sept. 21; tomorrow it will be November. I know you're busy, Ryan -- maybe after the next image goes up? Oh pleeease?

Steve D says, "This deserves so much more than a 7.2! It is easily in the top 3 for the year so far for me."

Sat October 31, 2009 at 2:28 pm

"prismatic pool"
looks like a nasa photo of an old meteor strike.

Mon October 26, 2009 at 1:00 pm

Steve D
"Keep going back..."
This deserves so much more than a 7.2! It is easily in the top 3 for the year so far for me.

Wed October 21, 2009 at 11:14 am

"Oh, the re-do is much better!!"
I thought the original image was nice, but the newer one is much better. The duller border really makes the pool appear like a source of life and vitality in an otherwise dead zone... much cooler. Jumped from a 6 to a 9 for me :D

Wed October 7, 2009 at 9:59 pm

could you post without the wildlife?

Wed October 7, 2009 at 4:14 pm

"Another requested resolution"

Don't know if you saw the note I posted a while back (and I can't find it to see if you responded), but...

I have a Samsung Rogue phone (brand new phone that just came out), and the screen resolution is 400x800. Would it be possible to start providing that one also? I've been taking the iPone pne and resizing, but it just doesn't look right.


p.s. Haiku is my all-time favorite picture of yours so that would be a good one to do :-)

Mon October 5, 2009 at 8:01 am

"Similar pool..."
I just picked up a brochure for the Caverns of Sonora here in Texas. One of the photos on the brochure looks kind of like your Prismatic Pool. If you go to their website (cavernsofsonora.com) you can see the picture in the slideshow on the main page.

Mon October 5, 2009 at 7:59 am

I just came from Yellowstone. This is a pool we always vist. What a wonderful take on it.

Sat October 3, 2009 at 11:03 am

R Harbick
Would love to see a dual widescreen version

Sat October 3, 2009 at 0:32 am

"Can't wait..."
...for dualscreens! I love the updates on this one.

Fri October 2, 2009 at 5:02 pm

i think i will anticipate the multiscreen renders of this one more than i have any other, keep blowing us away with ur wallpapers

Thu October 1, 2009 at 12:55 am

"Prismatic Pool"
I would love to see a triple screen version of this.

Thu October 1, 2009 at 8:27 am

"Prismatic Pool"
Looking forward to the multiscreen render for this one.

Mon September 28, 2009 at 4:18 pm

"I've got camera pictures like this from Yellowstone."
This is an awesome wallpaper, well done. And for those who say this isn't realistic, I've got pictures that say otherwise from Yellowstone. This looks very similar to Sapphire Pool in Yellowstone (see link).


Sun September 27, 2009 at 3:03 pm

"This version is much improved!"
I definitely like the copper tones surrounding the pool. It gives it a mystical effect, as if the water is more than what it seems. Also, the new version doesn't hurt my eyes. I like this one a lot! Much improved. Terrific work!

Sat September 26, 2009 at 9:58 pm

I'm probably one of few here, but I preferred the original. Then again, I love it when you leap into flights of fancy. I love seeing you push the art form.

Fri September 25, 2009 at 9:46 pm

"BlackBerry Curve Render"
I agree with Don, the BlackBerry Curve render is sized at 480 X 300, not 480 X 360. It's not that big of a deal because it produces black bars on the top and bottom for me, and it looks good. It would be awesome if you could update that render though, but if you can't, no biggie.

Thanks again for all your work, it is truly amazing!

Thu September 24, 2009 at 12:09 am

"Love this one"
I, too, am looking forward to multiscreen renders :-)

Thu September 24, 2009 at 7:20 am

"Prismatic Pool"
Looking forward to the split-screen versions of this one.... :)

Thu September 24, 2009 at 6:31 am

"A very nice improvement"
The picklejar versions were definitely a little too "neon" for my tastes.

I think you struck a perfect balance with this render though.

Keep them coming!

Wed September 23, 2009 at 12:54 am

I really like this now. Thanks for the new version!

Wed September 23, 2009 at 9:31 am

Hi Ryan

Yaay !!! More abstracts =D

Thanks for this image , it's really beautiful !

Looking forward to more abstracts :)


Wed September 23, 2009 at 4:22 am

"Blackberry Curve"
Ryan, I think the actual dementions for the BB Curve are incorrect. When I load it, it produces a white stripe on both the top and the bottom. When I look at it compared to your last piece, this one is shaped differently. Maybe there was a mix-up somewhere.

Tue September 22, 2009 at 10:52 pm

"I like it"
I joined for your landscapes, but this one is pretty cool too. I can appreciate the abstract but they are not normal what ends up on my desktop. This one did.


Tue September 22, 2009 at 7:27 pm

"A lot better"
I like this version a lot more because it looks so much more realistic. Really good.

Have you considered a light source below the water? The lighter edges close to the water already suggest it somehow... I'm not sure what would justify it... glowing fish or something? ;-)

Tue September 22, 2009 at 7:17 pm

"Much improved - very cool!"
Quite interesting now -- looks pretty photo-realistic and less abstract. I like it, dude!

Tue September 22, 2009 at 6:27 pm

I liked your second one with brighter colors better, but I like the positioning of the pool better in this one. You're probably moving on to your next project, but just in case I would love a version of this darker one to be made exactly the same except with the brighter colors from the second.

Tue September 22, 2009 at 6:05 pm

Josha V.
"Much Better"
I thought the first one looked pretty cool. This one looks much more "realistic" but in an abstract kind of way. Good job. :-)

Tue September 22, 2009 at 3:37 pm

"Prismatic pool"
Oh I see...in the previous one I didn't see the bird, I had that these pools were the size of a hot tube or something...I had no idea that they were this large! BTW thumbs up for the different color scheme, mysterious, as if this were an entrance to Atlantis very cool

Tue September 22, 2009 at 1:54 pm

"Now this is a nice one"
Third time's the charm! I think this is much improved, it doesn't hurt my eyes and I can actually focus on the pool, which is actually pretty awesome. Thanks for keeping at it!

Tue September 22, 2009 at 1:42 pm

"Lord of All Iowa....?"
And here I thought Ryan lived in Illinois. Isn't Illinois the "Land of Lincoln"? Although I guess you can still be Lord of All Iowa and LIVE in Illinois -- it's okay with me, anyway. If we're going there, how about "Lord of North America," "Lord of the World," or Lord of the Known Universe" instead? My vote is for the latter, Ryan -- I think you've earned it.

Back to the matter at hand, I love the new version, even the birds. They seem very out of place, an incongruous juxtaposition of details, adding to the surreal feeling of this render. The colors are a definite improvement, too, although I loved both early versions, too. The pool color is terrific; it gives such a splendid impression of depth. Great work, Ryan -- thank you so much!

Tue September 22, 2009 at 12:37 am

"Prismatic pool 3"
i like it..

dunno what it is but i kind of like it.. =)

tho it's seems a bit.. "dead" looking image is has some color !

maybe thats how a prismatic pool looks like.. i dunno!


but Ryan i know You can do much much better!

Tue September 22, 2009 at 11:18 am

"Much better - very nice!"

This new version is great. The eye can flow across the colors and the blue stands out even more. There's a great amount of depth....it's perfect, it really is.

Tue September 22, 2009 at 7:48 am

"Future ideas"
I would love to see this object in a low angle as part of an alien landscape with a few planets hovering in the background! Ever since I first saw the mesh, that has been what has called to me.

Tue September 22, 2009 at 7:08 am

"Yay, I prefer this version..."
Awesome modification, this looks fabulous. The first greener version was funky, but I like this one better as it's more realistic, like a surprise picture Yann Arthus-Bertrand may get from his helicopter flying over a volcano. Cool stuff.

Tue September 22, 2009 at 4:05 am

"2nd version, the best"
I liked very much the second "coloured" version, this third "dark" one could be a night version.

Tue September 22, 2009 at 0:29 am

"Switch it back"
The other one is much better and far more original looking. If you had posted this first it would look great, but now with the other one to compare it to it just looks boring.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 10:46 pm

Much more realistic than the others. I liked them from a purely visual concept, but this one has the feel of reality that the others lacked.

Looks like a rusty pool.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 9:31 pm

"Poor, Ryan!"
A THIRD version? Wow. You're a sport, you are. What a hard worker! I feel like this is closer to the target, but I feel bad like you are compromising the intent of a "prismatic" pool! I like this version, too. Very volcanic rock-y.

I lean towards the preference of a mystical pool though as opposed to a "prismatic" pool. But I'm still happy to have this wallpaper. Thank you so much for all of your hard work, Ryan. You really are awesome.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 8:55 pm

"Much better!"
You're getting there. I think this one is just about perfect now. :-)

Mon September 21, 2009 at 8:46 pm

"Pre unable to download"
Anyone else unable to us the dropdown to get the mobile sizes when using a palm pre?

Mon September 21, 2009 at 8:28 pm

"Pre unable to download"
Anyone else unable to us the dropdown to get the mobile sizes when using a palm pre?

Mon September 21, 2009 at 8:28 pm

Jason Crou
hi this is the first comment ive made on here i have been a fan of your "art" for a few years now all i would like to say is that i have the previous render as my desktop in 1366x768 but i feel (and im no artist by any means) that the dark earthy edges of this render just dont seem to have any life to them. the pool is still perfect and the edges are good to im not sure what im trying to say but i guess you no more about this sort of thing than i do. keep up the fantastic art.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 7:59 pm

Speaking as a new subscriber, I do NOT begrudge you the extra week you worked on this image (Prismatic Pool). The clearer water and more realistic colors are definitely improvements on the earlier rendering. Thank you also for including the link to the pool in Yellowstone in your email.

When I got member access, I went through your archives downloading everything I liked, and I noticed that as the years went by your quality kept going up and the number of finished ("abandoned") pieces per year kept going down. I am OK with this.

In western Canada there are glacier-fed lakes of a stunning turquoise color, caused by the glacial silt suspended in the water. I saw them once on a trip going north from Seattle to Banff and Jasper NatParks in Canada. Though very pretty, such lakes have no fish in them, because they cannot breathe, the silt clogs their gills. I imagine the Yellowstone Prismatic Pool hosts nothing but bacteria, due to heavy mineral content. I hope to get to Yellowstone someday.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 7:40 pm

scott wray
"much easier to look at"
my eyes flow around the image a lot easier than the previous render! great improvement!!

Mon September 21, 2009 at 7:25 pm

"Prismatic 21SEP09"
Very cool!

Mon September 21, 2009 at 6:51 pm

The Guru
"I usually nitpick"
Perhaps I'm just a little bit different than everyone else. I'm usually the one nitpicking what everyone else loves but I think this one is fantastic, both the previous renders and this newer one. Good job!

Mon September 21, 2009 at 6:13 pm

Kenny J
For me anyway, it takes a while to 'grasp' or appreciate abstracts. I don't know if there is too much 'happening' in them all at once. chaos vs. order, or what. But, your abstract work end up being what looks best on my mobile devices, I think because they cause me to halt and take a look.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 6:00 pm

"Forgot to Say..."
Something does strike me funny with the water though. It looks realllllllly artificial, and computer generated. Usually your water rendering is more realistic. Still a beautiful pic, but thought I'd throw that out there.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 5:52 pm

"Changed my Vote lol"
At first I rated it a 5, and didn't like it. Upon looking at it further, I had to vote again and make it an 8 (I hope this is ok!), because it really struck me this time what a beautiful piece this is. I promptly put it on my desktop and it looks awesome. Great work as always.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 5:49 pm

To me, vs the first and second update, this one is 300% better. It doesnt strain the eyes so much with the color blending. New desktop paper now!

Woot for revisions!

Mon September 21, 2009 at 5:19 pm

"Alot Better"
I really did'nt think you could turn this one around but you did. It looks alot better than the first version. It's still not my favorite but I can live with it. The main problem now I think is the water color, it just clashes too much. Ah well, I look forward to see what you come up with next.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Nate F
i like that it looks like a puddle on another planet

Mon September 21, 2009 at 4:54 pm

""real" Vs. abstract"
I really love both your real and abstract, it was really only when you tried to mix the two that I didn't really like it.

This is much better though, I like this version. :)

Mon September 21, 2009 at 4:20 pm

"Love the update"
Good job! 1000x better.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 3:54 pm

"Been following the twitter updates..."
Since I was following the twitter updates, I got to see both the first version and this one. I was so-so on the first one, but this one is definitely desktop-worthy - more so than the first.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 3:31 pm

"Love the newest update!"
Just wanted to say that this newest update is definitely my favorite thus far! I love that the colors are mellow so that the pool itself stands out more. Thanks for giving us so many options! :D

Mon September 21, 2009 at 3:06 pm

Rob H.
"Like Yellowstone"
I agree with SteveSw. First thing I thought of was the hot springs in Yellowstone National Park. Here's another link:


That ribbon running on the side is a road with cars on it.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 2:46 pm

"funny this is being called "abstract""
especially before you toned down the red, this looked very much like the hot mineral pools at Yellowstone National Park. They're hard to photograph, but here's an example:


i like the brighter versions better, as they look more "real".

Mon September 21, 2009 at 2:27 pm

"Cheese toastie anyone?"
Hey Ryan!

Great work as always. The water in this wallpaper is sublime.

Not entirely sure if the orange, blue, green and grey work together though. I did some experimenting in Photoshop (made a new layer on top, set blend mode to color and then coloured over all the orange bits with black). This looks far better IMO.

Perhaps if the orange were replaced with a darker shade of grey / black to give it a burnt out look ? At the moment it kinda looks like my cheese toastie maker after I've made a quick snack :P

Mon September 21, 2009 at 2:06 pm

This version is kind of symbolic for me. Nice changes.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 2:01 pm

"Prismatic Pool"
Very Pretty, I love it!!!

Mon September 21, 2009 at 12:24 am

"Prismatic Pool"
Interesting...I like the color of the water. How come the bird are that weird color of green-yellow?

Mon September 21, 2009 at 9:53 am

"Prismatic Pool"
I love this. It is so differant and the colors are astounding. Could you write and tell me what exactly a prismatic pool is. I know it has something to do with a prizm and it is some type of pool but the layers surrounding the pool look like maybe volcanic acid. Please tell me what I am looking at. It is a very interesting and eyecatching picture. Thanks, Charlotte

Mon September 21, 2009 at 9:34 am

"I Like Prismatic Pool"
I love this image. I tend to enjoy the abstracts and other images like this that come close to being abstract, because I can read something more into them.

In this case I find the blue pool calming in the midst of what appears to be a blasted, mineral rich rocky surface.


Mon September 21, 2009 at 9:30 am

"Love it!"
I love how this looks! You have such an amazing eye for color, shape, and design.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 9:23 am

"love it!"
I'm a big fan of the abstracts that you do, and I really like this one. The colors are stunning.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 9:21 am

"A little plain"
I like the image rendering but I think it's a little too plain. I like the birds though.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 8:29 am

"Prismatic Pool"
Hi Ryan -

I like this one, even though it's probably too garish (I mean that is a good way) for me to use as a desktop. I recognized the subject immediately, and I thik you did a nice job capturing an amazing natural occurance. Don't let the comments get you down!


Mon September 21, 2009 at 8:21 am

"Looks Good"
I really like this one. Good job Ryan.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 8:17 am

Jason B
This one is very cool. I love the almost unnatural colors of the rock. One of my favorite things about your art is that you can push past the boundaries of reality, even if it's just a little bit. I can't wait to see how you make this one into a multi screen.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 7:47 am

"I like it!"
I think this piece would do well with an animated version. I'm thinking the water droplets on an endless loop would be subtle yet impressive display.

I like this one! Very bright and colorful.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 7:42 am

"I like it"
It really captures the imagination.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 7:16 am

Chris B
Bird Camo that's pretty funny.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 6:21 am

"Well, not the newest version..."
So maybe that explains it.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 0:21 am

"Wow. I didn't even notice the birds..."
And I've had this on my desktop since yesterday morning.

Mon September 21, 2009 at 0:21 am

"and what's with the birds!?"
just wrong

Sun September 20, 2009 at 11:58 pm

Having seen many of these pools, my problem is the ripples on the pool. Usually, the water is hot and steaming and it is serene and you can see perfectly to the bottom of the pool. And the colors beginning to die out around the edges would add contrast and realism. I do like it though.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 11:55 pm

"I don't know man"
I love almost all of your work, absolutely love it...this one just seems a little too trippy. I like it, but I don't LOVE it. Good, just not your best work, in my opinion of course.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 11:17 pm

hey ryan all those people who rate this low have their own opinions, they may be critics, but all art work is good artwork. my absolute favorite is your abstract images. this one has to be a favorite of mine now just cause of the colors and the way its made to work together.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 9:37 pm

"Re: your Twitter message about your abstracts"
My all time favourites are Tendrils (a triple screen version, please!), the Comb (ditto!) Issuance (ditto!), Latticework (ditto!), Cilia (ditto!), Diaphaneity, Fire and Ice, Glimeren, Mandala, Riven, the Grid, Containment, Neuronet, Cosmic Dawn, Flourescence, Gnosis, Conduit, Ephemera, Nanocyte and Nifelheim.

All but... one?... of these are abstracts and they're by far my favourites. The more realistic stuff is great -- I can appreciate it -- but the colours and shapes of your abstracts are what I need behind the code in the terminals on my screen I stare at all day.

But I rate this one, Prismatic Pool, far below everything I've listed above. Please don't stop making abstracts based on response to this one. I think this one was just a bit out there. Someone above mentioned a lack of scale -- that was a problem for me on this one too. And the surface of the water just looks too computer generated to me.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 8:53 pm

Chris B
"I'm a Diver too"
and I'd love to see what is down there... unless the water is volcanic & too hot to handle... or have concentrations of sulfuric acid...

When i first saw the thumb nail I wasn't sure if I liked it but the detail is amazing. Didn't get to see the original but I like this one. I like the images that are close to being real with that added 'something' to take them over the edge. Like all of the extra stars in the first after glow.

My wife even said it looked cool :) granted that usually happens with a new one but...

Sun September 20, 2009 at 7:56 pm

So there are birds in this picture? They look cool all scattered in the corners, but I would really like to see these birds in other nature scenes of yours. Perhaps in some Autumn artwork? Other than the cardinal, what are the other birds present?

Sun September 20, 2009 at 7:46 pm

For some reason, I think I prefer the original. This blue, the depth, somehow falls flat.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 6:48 pm

Ok, so you gan create vast panoramic views of galactic scope, or a small hot pool, deep in some dark cave. Now, I am not saying you are really ready for Godhood, but certainly you could be a minor deity of some small area... Iowa, perhaps. Yes, Lord of All Iowa. I could get behind that.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 6:27 pm

Phillip D
An idea is too add a tint of steam coming from the waters to make it appear the water is actually"hot"

Nice ripples on the water. Nice rock texturess too.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 5:52 pm

But it works. Inspirational.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 5:43 pm

"Love the changes"
Great changes, Ryan! I particularly like the pool -- the sense of depth, good before, is even better now. I love what you've done with the place. ;)

Sun September 20, 2009 at 4:35 pm

"prismatic pool"
Mate,this is great. We've had the Yellowstone documentry on telly here is Aus. the last few sundays and I saw this pool last night during the doc on Yellowstones winter. Soon as I saw the thumbnail I new what your inspiration was. Would love to see more abstract work from you again.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 4:10 pm

"Prismatic pool"
yeah dude this is sweet, love how the blue pulls you in. On that note, maybe give the pool some more depth, maybe a darker blue? or concave it a bit more on that right side?...just thoughts...

Sun September 20, 2009 at 4:05 pm

Chase J
"Abstracts -- love 'em"
Ryan, never stop making abstracts. I'm always a fan.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 3:40 pm

"Much Better"
I like this one far better then your original, which I'll admit I didn't care for very much. However, I still feel the colors clash a little bit too much, and though the rocks on the edge of the pool are very intricate, the ones underwater could use some more detail I think.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 3:29 pm

scott wray
"hard to focus on it"
my eyes want to look at the water but the rocky texture and bright colors draw me out. i find it hard to take it all in as one piece of art. very busy~

Sun September 20, 2009 at 3:23 pm

I do like what you have here so far, but the red on the outside is a bit overdone.

That being said, I see the inside of this pool and think of the hot pools in Yellowstone, thinking, "man, that's gotta be over 400 degrees in that water!"

Good job on this one. :-)

Sun September 20, 2009 at 3:13 pm

"Takes me under"
I'm a diver - this takes me to Cozumel - the best dive I've done to date.

It's beautiful!

Sun September 20, 2009 at 3:09 pm

"Pickle Jar?"
Hey, Ryan ... is the original going to go in the pickle jar?

Sun September 20, 2009 at 3:03 pm

"Prismatic Pool"
I am really about color and my favorites are ones that showcase color. This is wonderful! I gave it a 10!

Sun September 20, 2009 at 2:54 pm

Resembles a hot spring from Yellowstone National Park. Throw in some steam and large bubbles, and you'll have another hit.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 2:44 pm

I love the depth of the pool, however I would like the ripples removed as they stop me from looking deeper into the picture!!!

What is down there?

Are we gonna find out Ryan?

Sun September 20, 2009 at 1:53 pm

I love most of your abstracts and I'm glad you did something like that again!

This picture has really nice colors and details, but I can't find a correct perspective. (Maybe it's my strange eyes?) I don't feel looking at a pool. Although there are plenty 3D structures, it seems too two-dimensional for me, somehow... Maybe it's something with the shadows?

And two-dimensional in itself would be no problem for me, but as this picture has a realistic origin, it's kind of distracting for me...

Sun September 20, 2009 at 1:49 pm

"Real v. Abstract"
My favorite of Ryan's work is when he takes a realistic scene and adds something completely surreal to it like the beach scenes with an enormous Saturn-like planet in the background or his older space-Egyptian scenes. That's classic Digital Blasphemy to me.

There just isn't a whole lot going on in an infrared pool to set the imagination going, but if you create something realistic (not like a photograph) and add something completely unbelievable to it, I find that preferable to any abstract, mathematically based or otherwise.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 1:37 pm

"My Second Opinion"
I guess I get really critical when I'm tired, that was a rather nit-picky review. My mind doesn't think it's awkward at all of the green, and though there are a lot of ripples, They're not awkward either. I'm glad I gave it a second look, it's a very intriguing piece of art!

Is it just me, or do the shadows on the top-left side of the pool resemble a diver?

Sun September 20, 2009 at 1:16 pm

"I love it!"
This is great work Ryan! Abstract or landscape... doesn't matter.... you never fail to bring it!

Sun September 20, 2009 at 1:06 pm

"It's an abstract, folks"
I must say I'm disappointed at the low rating on this one, Ryan. I love your abstract work, and this is up there with the best. What's the point of digital art if you must stick only to "realism"? Where are the fans of digital blasphemy? If you only want realistic scenes, a camera will do as well -- better! Anyway, thank you very much for the abstract -- it seems like it's been a long time, and I'm sorry you don't have more fans of this kind of work. You shine!

Sun September 20, 2009 at 12:31 am

"Better in real life"
I like the textures used in this wallpaper and the colors are neat, but I would have much preferred that this wallpaper have a more realistic tone like a pool of water in a cave that maybe has a dim glow coming from the bottom or something, as opposed to this infrared style. Maybe a pickle jar! Add some realism to what would otherwise be an abstract and have it both ways.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 11:54 am

Kyle L.
"Prismatic Perspective!"
If it wasn't for it's association with Yellowstone, I was hoping that this wonderful piece would be titled Prismatic Perspective, where it represents the strong similarities and differences between warm colors.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 10:39 am

This automatically becomes my all-time favorite. My two favorite things in the world--DB and Yellowstone--have now been immortalized in one. You, Ryan, RULE.


Sun September 20, 2009 at 9:35 am

my first reaction was, what the hell is this? But after I set it to my background it is pretty cool! It has lots of detail and makes for a nice background, very colorful. It also looks good with invisble bars, ie. start bar and browser bars. i like all the color that shines through. Don't think it is your best work but it is interestign none the less. I dont think this pis is finished yet, I think some pickle jar color schemes might do this justice.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 9:00 am

"Brings back memories ..."
I remember seeing the Prismatic Pool at Yellowstone when I was a kid. This is a really cool interpretation of the same idea ... I like it a lot.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 8:02 am

"Puke ?"
Digital Vomit? Help my screen has thrown up!!!!

Sun September 20, 2009 at 7:24 am

I don't like this at all, nothing you could do to change it. Move on.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 6:40 am

"Not my cup of tea"
Love your work Ryan but this one wasn't for me.

We all have different tastes though!

Keep up the good work.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 5:57 am

Jonathan L
"Really neat. :)"
I really like this piece.

It's unique. I really like how different it is from your other works -- it turned out VERY well!

Keep up the great work.

I'm very glad to have such a colourful background on my desktop.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 1:42 am

"Not my cup of tea."
Sorry Ryan, I usually love you work, but this kind of reminds me of a ti-dye version of a water-filled crater from mars. ;)

Sun September 20, 2009 at 0:49 am

Tim Rupe
"very nice"
This reminds me a lot of a few hot water pools in Yellowstone National Park, except at the park, the pools had the rainbow colors underwater.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 0:41 am

"Didn't like the thumbnail..."
When I first saw the thumbnail I thought it was some kind of abstract, possibly a fractal, but after opening the fullsize pic and seeing the depth and detail... Wow.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 0:27 am

I really like this one. :)

Sun September 20, 2009 at 0:22 am

"Dislike "
Its a cool concept, but it looks way to digitalized and fake in my opinion.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 0:09 am

Ryan, when you're taking risks and trying new things, I'm a happy guy.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 0:09 am

I agree that this is a very colorful wallpaper, but it lacks a sense of scale and if it wasn't for the title you might wonder what exactly you're looking at. Personally I think it would work better as a more traditional landscape, what with more to the picture. Perhaps the pool in the foreground with other stuff in the background.

Sun September 20, 2009 at 0:02 am

"Mixed feelings"
I like the concept of this piece, however, I'm mixed on the delivery.

I really like the dark reds and yellows and the blue of the water. I am not so wild about the green, however. Is it supposed to be a mosslike substance, or more like an algae, or just green colored rock? My mind can't decide what it's supposed to be.

Also, the surface of the water seems to have too many ripples without sources. I personally would prefer calmer water or a visible source for the ripples, some bubbles coming to the surface or something for me to understand why the water's so disturbed.

I'm not sure I like this piece as much as some of your others, but I do like where it's going. I will look at it again tomorrow with a new set of eyes and make a judgment then.

Sat September 19, 2009 at 11:59 pm

That's about all there is to say. :)

Sat September 19, 2009 at 11:52 pm

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • William Stevens -- (10/8/15)
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy