Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)



7.65/10 rating
(207 votes)

Print Available!

In June 2003 Jessie and I were living in the Elevado Hills of northern San Diego Co eagerly awaiting the arrival of our first child. The anticipation of becoming a father consumed me. I've always loved kids (Jessie and I actually met when I was working as a preschool teacher) and I was over-the-moon excited to finally be a Dad.

Sometimes I create a piece and then only when I'm finished do I realize why I was working so hard to craft that image. In this case what I thought was a simple Lightwave hypervoxel exercise was really my visualization of the embryo developing inside my wife.

Our son Ian was born in August of 2003 and this image was my subconscious expression the massive beautiful change that was about to occur in our lives.

Ian is now 18 as I write this. We had a second child, Jason, in 2006 to complete our little family. He's now 15.

Nothing, not even my art, is more important to me than being a good Dad.

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

Member Comments

Please Log In To Share Your Feedback!

Mike
"Can't get image file"
http://www.digitalblasphemy.com/preview.shtml?i=protist#

When I click on the blue image, there is no link, my cursor does not change?

Help! I really like it.

Fri December 11, 2020 at 9:46 am

Mike
"Any chance of..."
...possibly getting more artwork like this? Envisioning the microscopic, particularly biological, has always fascinated me. I would LOVE to see your take on anything in this realm!



PS: You mentioned that you would be working on a new render of "Protist" in 4K (3840x2160 please!), and I'm itching to see my favorite image updated to a scintillating 4K resolution :)

Thu May 28, 2020 at 6:29 am

Kate
"can't access"
can't download this image, when i click on the picture the page stays the same and doesn't turn to a downloadable link.

Sun March 19, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Caleb
"another favorite"
..that deserves the move to high-res, say 4k-ish. :)

Sun September 6, 2015 at 10:40 pm

Lunevar
"So Tranquil"
I can't help but experience a calm somewhere when I look upon this image...definitely one of my favs, up there with Neuron without a doubt!

Sat June 11, 2011 at 1:05 am

revolut10n
"wrong link"
looks like the 3840x1024 links to mandala instead of protist in the proper resolution.

Mon February 22, 2010 at 10:13 am

Fizzrate
"Protist"
This is my all time favorite wallpaper from you. I come back to it at least as few times a year. And it's set as my iPhone as well.

Sun January 31, 2010 at 10:09 am

Keith
"My Personal Favorite"
I've used this as my background for years.

May 22, 2008

Theurge
"Tri-screen version"
Love this image, it's among my personal top ten. I would most definitly like to see a tri-screen version of this one.

May 21, 2008

JakeW
"Aaaaand.."
this one really doesn't look amazing from the preview, but i set it as my background and it really looks close up, real, and amazing. There are so many textures. definitely a favorite.



Thankyuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

February 1, 2008

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Winter is Coming...

Winter is Coming...
En Español
Worldwide: UK | CAN | NZ | NL
AT | EU | BR | BE

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2021 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy