7.01/10 rating (89 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

8.94/10 rating (18 votes)

8.42/10 rating (12 votes)

Member Comments

"Pyre 2015"
One of my all time favorites. Sometimes I wonder why it hasn't cycled onto my background in a while, then I remember it's not in my resolution anymore.

Then I wonder what it would look like revisited more with more than a decade's extra hardware and experience!

Hint, hint.

Wed November 5, 2014 at 11:06 pm

You didn't have a red version. Try it. I miss these wizard pieces like this.

Sat January 11, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Just comparing this to todays works and you think mmmn i wonder how i will perceive todays work in another 10 years time?

thought provoking even if its not its intention to do so.

Sat August 7, 2010 at 7:53 am

"One of my favorites"
But unfortunatelly I have 1360x768 res :( I wish you could update it someday

Fri March 5, 2010 at 9:59 am

wasnt this wallpaper "animated" at one time? i could swear it was..... and im having this memory in blue pyre form.. lol am i going nuts?

Mon January 25, 2010 at 8:07 am

"Hmmm... revisit this one someday?"
I like this one, almost as much as Summoning (which I'm currently running; hit this while looking for it), but it's all particles, and looks just a touch chunky as a result.

I like the composition of opyre from the picklejar better even better, but it seems like this render did come out better looking. (And Summoning better still, a year later...)

Still, I wonder what could be done redoing this theme, but with volumetrics and modern horsepower... and getting wide and hopefully dual-screen into the bargain!

July 23, 2008

Love this one!! My favorite, it is very mysterious and the color is just awesome. Simple yet somehow, just makes you think about the image.

December 17, 2007

"Love it!"

I have been a "lifelong member" for a few years now, and this is still one of my favorites (had it as my desktop for several months even before subscribing to your site).  I would love to see an updated render, especially in a widescreen format!  I love all of your art, have an entire subfolder for just your work, and will only use your art for my desktop images.  Many thanks, and keep up your awesome work!

May 23, 2007

Justin B.
"Hard to believe this is six years old!"
Pyre is still better than 90% of the wallpapers made after it. If I had to take a guess at what year you had made it, without already knowing, I'd have guessed 2004. You must have been really proud when you first released this one back in 2000.

October 4, 2006

"My favorite image"
I believe this was one of the first backgrounds I ever used from your site. After many years of being a member, this one is still my favorite.

I still love all of your other artwork, but this one is at the top of my list.

Thanks, and keep up the good work.

October 2, 2006

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"White Magic (2001)"
Only 196 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy