Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


8.44/10 rating
(89 Members Voted)

Print Available!

While "Arcana (2011)" was intended to update both "White Magic" and "Pyre", quite a few people wanted to see a proper update to the 2000 original (the source file for which was lost to a hard drive failure, btw).

This one sat on Asfaloth for many days while one of my Vue landscapes rendered on Bucephalus. I may make a change or two now that I can open it up on my main machine.

Member Comments

davethefan
"Enlightened"
Love this, reminds me of Ingress - and it's the right colour!

Fri August 12, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Pippa
"Pyre Dual Screen"
Just bought a second monitor and love this

Sun January 3, 2016 at 6:51 am

Ken Mastin
"Pyre"
I really like this. I would like to see the dual screen image in a smaller version.

Have a great holiday season and thanks for all you do.

Ken

Sat December 12, 2015 at 4:54 am

Dustin
"Stellar Job!"
I've been a lifetime member for quite some time and have been anxiously waiting for the Pyre redo! Not only has it been "redone", it has been "Remastered"! This will be my wallpaper for quite some time! Thanks Ryan

Tue July 14, 2015 at 10:09 am

Gardner
"9/10 Awesome"
Thanks for the remake, it looks beautiful.



That being said, is there any chance of a blue version instead of green?

Thu January 22, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Richard_H
"7/10"
I love all the "techno mage" (I'm a huge Bab 5 fan) themed images. Nice update to the original.

Wed January 7, 2015 at 6:29 pm

Ryan
"@Matt D"
Thanks Matt! It always bugged me that I hadn't created a new version of "Pyre" after your suggestion got the most likes. I'm glad you approve of the update!



Here it is on a poster, though I recommend the wrapped canvas.

Fri January 2, 2015 at 8:16 am

Matt D.
"Absolutely gorgeous!!"
As one of the people who's been waiting for the remake of Pyre, this is amazing! Pyre was one of my first favorites and the reason I became a lifetime member. This was also the piece I requested after winning one of your mini contests on Facebook :)



I'd love to buy this as a poster from Zazzle too, any word on availability?

Fri January 2, 2015 at 3:03 am

Iain
"Stunnin, one of my favs redone!"
Loved the original done years ago, and this one is even better, showing off the skills and software/hardware updates learned and used in the years in between.



more please.

Sun December 14, 2014 at 10:36 am

Mike
"Fantastic!"
I love updates to previous masterpieces - especially the ones centered around magic and fantasy settings! This is brilliant!!

Wed December 10, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Zachary
"Fantastic"
Arcana is one of my favorites. This one is excellent too. I can't wait for the dual display versions.

Mon December 1, 2014 at 11:45 am

Angelique
"Pyre (2014)"
is there ever gonna be a remake of "White Magic"?

Mon December 1, 2014 at 0:13 am

BIll
"10/10"
Love it! I have become a fan of adjusting the hue of your wallpapers and setting a different color for each virtual desktop. This image really lends itself to that. Fantastic!

Sun November 30, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Tyler
"Still love it but"
V3 is quite busy. As far as overall particles. Everything else is perfect. To me it ends up distorting the scene because there is so much energy and effects going on. A little overkill in other words.

Sun November 30, 2014 at 4:54 pm

kirnkorner
"AWESOME!"
Finally, after all this time I have been waiting for a reboot of Pyre. Thank you Ryan! The original is one of my most favorite renders of all time, and this one does not disappoint. If anything, I'd like to see a red version, but the green/blue is absolutely awesome. It will go on all my devices immediately.



It also makes me realize how long I have been following Digital Blasphemy. I can't believe it's been 14 years!

Sun November 30, 2014 at 8:43 am

Jenanne
"Great!"
V3 is definitely my favorite. I like the pyromancer's changed pose; what he's doing is much clearer now and I love the magic fire coming off of his hands. Terrific!

Sat November 29, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Talell
"still amazing"
At first I thought the change in stance of the Sorcerer was weaker but then saw the power coming from his hands. He's turned from a summoner to a commander of the power. Love it.

Sat November 29, 2014 at 10:25 am

Ryan
"v.3 -- Final?"
I've add a third (final?) version of "Pyre" this morning. Added a bit more "halo" around the pyre, changed the pose of the pyromancer, and added some magic coming from his fingertips.



Let me know what you think!

Sat November 29, 2014 at 9:55 am

Frank
"Timing"
I love both versions of this, thank you for the Pickle Jar!

The way I see it, the gallery version is a few moments after your Pickle Jar version, as even more power is manifested.

Fri November 28, 2014 at 5:59 am

Nox
"You've done it"
Beautiful work, Ryan. This is the kind of thing I love seeing from you... revamp some of the old masterpieces. You know the phrase well... art is never finished.



Keep doing this.



And get that pirate ship updated soon :)

Thu November 27, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Frank
"Thank you for the update!"
Great Update, thank you!!

Thu November 27, 2014 at 7:56 am

Jenanne
"Excellent"
The added detail in V2 is super (magical power coalescing?). Terrific update!

Wed November 26, 2014 at 8:13 pm

Steve
"Thanks, really."
The issue has been correct with the 'Blue Cubes' and WOW!

Thank you, looks great now.

Wed November 26, 2014 at 8:02 am

Steve
"Thanks, but .."
Hi Ryan,

thanks for the blue pickle jar version.

But what's with the series of blue cubes which have appears on the column and the foreground? It's also lacking details on the ground at the lower edge of the image.

It almost seems to have reverted to a work-in-progress?

I'd be fine if it were of course, and a new version was imminent :)

Wed November 26, 2014 at 2:53 am

Talell
"Breathtaking"
So many different fantasy worlds captured into this one picture. Amazing thank you

Tue November 25, 2014 at 4:47 pm

rhymez
"awesome..."
+1 for a blue pickle jar

Tue November 25, 2014 at 5:08 am

Dav
"YES!"
Oh you're the man!



That was fast... -And just in time for my Birthday too!

Mon November 24, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Geoff
"Love it"
Can we get some pickle jar versions in different colors? I personally love blue... :)

Mon November 24, 2014 at 5:50 pm

JacobKlein
"9"
The detail is amazing! I really wish you would post .png versions only, instead of .jpg which lose detail when applied to Windows Desktop backgrounds. Try it for yourself - take one of your 1920x1080 .jpg files, save it as .png, and apply each as background, and you'll notice the difference.

Mon November 24, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Draeke
"Great!"
It was a great wp then, but now it's awesome, well done!

Mon November 24, 2014 at 11:19 am

Tyler
"Love it"
First post? Excellent tribute and imagine will see another revision or two. I love the design of the "pyre" energy.

Mon November 24, 2014 at 9:18 am

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Dualscreen:

Triscreen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
pyre2k142
8.61/10 rating (33 votes)

pyre2k141
8.43/10 rating (44 votes)
Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy