I had created this cupola structure and was rendering some views of it when I decided to move the camera inside. Still trying to decide if I like the arches between the viewer and the sky.


8.02/10 rating (231 votes)
169 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

quartet3
7.68/10 rating (44 votes)

quartetsky
9.10/10 rating (112 votes)

quartet4
8.98/10 rating (48 votes)

quartet2
7.91/10 rating (43 votes)

Member Comments

avlo
"sans arches?"
hello, did you ever to a tri-screen of the above sans arches ("outside") as you mentioned above? would love to see it!

Tue June 12, 2012 at 5:25 pm

LauraS
"DecalGirl"
Any chance of sending this one to DecalGirl? I'd love to have this on my new laptop!

Tue March 22, 2011 at 6:16 pm

Jeff R.E.
"Scintillating "
Another beautiful sunset. Oh, you do know what I like. This scene is a little piece of perfection!

Tue January 4, 2011 at 11:11 am

Mogsy
"Santa's gift and thank you"
finally got around to signing up for a full membership, came across a lot of your old wallpapers from 8-10 years ago. no longer a poor part-time retail assistant.



nice job on keeping things going, really breath taking pictures, the wife is going to love having a look at all the new wallpaper, she still likes her Pyre backdrop.



any chance of more water/ocean and dolphins...and perhaps some space/explosions (ships).



oh you could build a brilliant PC, if you look at the AMD Phenom II X6's, and stay away from the over-priced/power hungry Intel Xeons. I'm sure we can start chipping in to help, many Santa's make light work!!!

Fri October 15, 2010 at 10:52 am

Ryan
"Windows 7"
You are right Frank. Ultimate was the default setting in the online configurator I used and I didn't bother to change it. I certainly don't need Ultimate.

Fri October 8, 2010 at 10:22 am

Frank
"Santa's gift"
You can shave off some cash switching to Windows 7 Professionl (64 bit) rather than Ultimate. The trade-off between the two, for what you do, doesn't warrant going full blown Ultimate.

Fri October 8, 2010 at 10:02 am

David M
"Cresents"
From the angle of the crescents of the moons/planets in the sky, it looks like the sun is small and very very close to the planet. Of course, there are red dwarfs where the goldilocks zone is extremely close (so close, planets have yearly orbits measured in days). Can you imagine seasons cycling over, say, 39 days (like the recently discovered Gliese 581-g)? And a planet phased lock, so the best place to live is the terminator zone, perpetual evening or dawn. What a weird world that would be. This is what I imagine Quartet to be - Gliese 581-g. What fascinating worlds await for us, and Bryan takes us on previews!

Mon October 4, 2010 at 1:11 pm

Dave T
"Build your own!"
More fun and much cheaper ... plus, think of the learning experience for Ian!

Sun October 3, 2010 at 5:59 am

Dave T
"Build your own!"
More fun and much cheaper ... plus, think of the learning experience for Ian!

Sun October 3, 2010 at 5:58 am

David W
"wowowowowo"
*Grand Total: $19,145.00



thats one serious system. dont forget to add a couple nvidia tesla's! cant go wrong with those!

Sat October 2, 2010 at 2:55 pm

robk64
"Dream Machine?"
Ryan, have you looked at Mac Pro's? I know the price is high for the maxed-out systems, but if you're gonna dream...

Sat October 2, 2010 at 2:51 pm

Walo
"Quadro?"
I thought you were disappointed with the quadro cards, why the sudden change of mind? Anyway I think I can help you somewhat by doing again what we did earlier this the year. I will contact you by november after I renew my car's annual registration.

Sat October 2, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Ryan
"@Tonicart"
I would never spend that kind of money on a system, and yes I will most definitely be building my next system from scratch.



I would like to give Maya a try, as I am afraid Lightwave's development has not kept pace.



Vue d'Esprit seems to perform better on Nvidia cards so I will probably stick with them for the time being.

Fri October 1, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Tonicart
"Hardware Critique"
That workstation looks a little over priced, but I don't know what the going rate for Maya is... ($5k like autocad?) Those "liquid-cooled" CPUs are half-assed water cooling (Corsair H-70's probably). Those combined with those 80mm fans in the rear of the case are going to be very loud... The case just looks too small/tight. Have you considered an ATI card (less power demand) with a more reasonable power supply (~Corsair AX1200)?



Don't think you want to deal with real water cooling, but some good air-cooled solutions should suffice and be quieter/safer. Do you have a separate backup solution or is that 500x2 RAID-0 going to be it (thinking it will be your scratch disk... if so, 640 WD blacks would perform better)? Any idea which SSD they are using exactly? Don't want to get gyped on a lesser 160GB SSD...



I say build this rendering monster yourself ;) I've been enjoying your work for the past decade, finally decided to get the lifetime membership. Totally worth it and hope it helps you to get your dream workstation sooner :)

Fri October 1, 2010 at 5:46 pm

betsey
"Santa...."
USB 3.0???? Boy am I technology-challenged!!!

Fri October 1, 2010 at 2:15 pm

Ryan
"@Cody"
I really need to render a dedication 2 screen version of this one. The crop from the triple screen leaves out too much.

Fri October 1, 2010 at 11:28 am

Cody
"3200 x 1200 - Triplet?"
Ryan, the Dualscreen 3200x1200 render is missing the moon on the left, perhaps just cropped out. I understand with so many image sizes they can't all be perfect, but wanted to point this one out.

Fri October 1, 2010 at 11:19 am

Ryan
"5120 x 1600"
The link should go to the correct file now. Thanks for the heads up Peter!

Fri October 1, 2010 at 9:42 am

Peter
"Quartet Dual Screen Wrong Size"
Ryan, the Dual screen 5120x1600 image is uploaded with wrong link. When you download it actually downloads 5120x1440 file.

Can you fix this.?

Fri October 1, 2010 at 9:29 am

Phillip D
"this made me sign up again"


This image has caused me to renew again I love it sooo much...beautiful more beautiful than actual nature itself good job!!

Thu September 30, 2010 at 8:38 pm

Ryan
"Multiscreens"
The multiscreens are available!

Thu September 30, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Ryan
"Multiscreen Rendering"

Tue September 28, 2010 at 9:05 pm

zyster
"A new favorite!!"
I think being inside the structure works famously. The whole image has such a captivating balance.

Mon September 27, 2010 at 8:45 pm

darkuncle
"morningglory redux"
I love quartet4; reminds me of one of my favorites from the old days :)

Mon September 27, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Tril
"Quartet4 replace gallery image?"
Definitely not. As others have said, it's not really the same concept at this point. I wouldn't mind it having its own place in the gallery, but I still like the current default image better.

Mon September 27, 2010 at 10:25 am

Ken
"Quartet 4"
Love it. Can't wait for a multi-screen render.

Mon September 27, 2010 at 9:44 am

Tazfan
"Quartet 1"
I love how the pillars in your first version are all unique, each showing different parts of the patterns in the stone work.



For the dual/tri monitor renders, maybe zoom out a bit, showing what's left of the structure the pillars are supporting, and showing some runes of pillars that have fallen.

Mon September 27, 2010 at 8:36 am

celmendo
"Quartet 4"
really prefer the gallery version. I never did like that balcony and it makes this a diff. concept all together.

Mon September 27, 2010 at 8:31 am

Walo
"Name?"
This one is my favorite, but I agree this one and the sky only version should go under a different name since the concept is a different one.



This render made me remember "Morning Glory".

Mon September 27, 2010 at 8:10 am

Greg
"I like it!!!!"
This is frankly my favorite version - you can see the full sky, you still have the water going on, but there is some extra sense of depth added by including the balcony as well. Although I agree with some of the other comments that it probably needs to be renamed if this is to be the final version.

Mon September 27, 2010 at 8:05 am

Atma
"Nice compromise"
It is true that sky and sea are looking great in that picture.

But that balcony and the plants are fine too.



I wonder what it would like at other times of day or night.

Mon September 27, 2010 at 4:35 am

kellzilla
"@GeneralB"
The "front page" version is quartet1 in the Pickle Jar.

Mon September 27, 2010 at 0:48 am

GeneralB
"A Suggestion ..."
It'd be really handy to have the 'front page' version of the image on top of the Pickle Jar page. It'd be interesting to see quickly and easily what exactly changes between the main image and the PJ version(s).

Sun September 26, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Brandi
"Quartet 4"
I don't care for this one; the original concept and image feels ruined. And I agree the sky-only one is too simple for your gallery.



BUT, if this one renders well in multi-screen sizes, I could see you moving it to the gallery for that reason alone. I've only got one monitor, so I'm set with the original version (which is what I liked). :)

Sun September 26, 2010 at 11:30 pm

Reuben
"Quartet 4"
Although I've downloaded them all anyway I would like to see quartet 4 replace the gallery version, mainly because of the idea that it would make a much better multiscreen, than the columns (as you said yourself).

Sun September 26, 2010 at 11:14 pm

Reuben
"Quartet 4"
Although I've downloaded them all anyway I would like to see quartet 4 replace the gallery version, mainly because of the idea that it would make a much better multiscreen, than the columns (as you said yourself).

Sun September 26, 2010 at 11:12 pm

JD
"Doh!"
I just figured out the meaning of quartet - Doh!

Sun September 26, 2010 at 10:16 pm

JD
"Quartet 4 wins"
although in this configuration I can't figure out why the name is quartet

Sun September 26, 2010 at 10:14 pm

Marilyn
"Quartet 4"
Quartet 4 is nice, but I would rather the main one posted in the gallery remain as the gallery option. The arches add this wonderful sense of age and the unknown to the image.

Sun September 26, 2010 at 9:19 pm

Chris B
"Totally missed the one with the rail"
Didn't see it go in lol I like it as a separate piece because it totally changes the mood/feel of the piece. It's a nice relaxing piece, but I think I prefer the current gallery image. It seems more ancient & mysterious and makes my mind work rather than relax if that makes sense

Sun September 26, 2010 at 8:12 pm

kellzilla
"Columns"
The little railing completely changes the 'feel' of the image. I vastly prefer the columns.

Sun September 26, 2010 at 7:34 pm

Scarr
"Quartet"
I like the columns best. The one you have posted in the gallery is the one I believe should stay there.

Sun September 26, 2010 at 6:40 pm

Tworules
"Quartet 4..."
is the winner for me.

Sun September 26, 2010 at 6:39 pm

Trifid
"Love #4"
I really like Quartet4.

Sun September 26, 2010 at 5:36 pm

Max
"Idea for Multiscreen using Quartet 1"
Honestly "Quartet 4" doesn't even have what makes the Quartet set, "Quartet". I just looked at "Quartet 1" again and noticed something I'd missed before. It's more apparent in "Quartet Sky". There's a mountain range that creeps up on the edges of the picture.



Would it be too hard to leave the structure as the focus entirely on one screen (the left or right for dual and the center for tri)? The mountains would be beautiful and be successful in drawing your eye to the focus. "Niflheim" and "Reverie" are brought to mind when I think of this method. In both of these, the focus is one one screen while the much less busy sides supply a still very impressive and simple beauty to the piece as a whole.

Sun September 26, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Geep
"Really like the 4th one"
I do like #4 and it is going to go on my bg. However, like Wraith said, it looks very close to Cloud Terrace(which is one of my favourites). My personal feeling is to leave the original Quartet in the gallery and leave #4 in the pickle jar. :)

Sun September 26, 2010 at 3:24 pm

Wraith
"Quartet 4"
I like 4 better. Although it seems a bit too similar to Cloud Terrace from 2008.

Sun September 26, 2010 at 3:21 pm

Xetal
"Quartet 4"
Any of the Quartet quartet would look great in your gallery, but the name of the piece should surely influence the final choice unless a new title occurs to you.



In the end it's your gallery, much as I appreciate the democratic gesture...

Sun September 26, 2010 at 2:55 pm

Ryan
"Quartet 1"
I agree with you that there needs to be something in the foreground to give the image depth and life. While quartet3 shows more of th sky, quartet1 is just more unique and interesting, it makes me wonder more.

Sun September 26, 2010 at 1:51 pm

icepyro
"focal point"
I feel like the sky is the focal point, but only in constraint of the quartet of pillars. Quartet4 is better than Quartetsky if only for the extra constraint. I still like Quartet1 the best, but admittedly it's because I have an LED monitor so the shadows aren't too oppressive (filling in the sides also makes quartet2 too oppressive and the worst of the 4). At work where I don't have such a nice monitor, I do like quartet4 better, but it's close.

Sun September 26, 2010 at 1:15 pm

RSA
"Quartet vs Quartet"
I still say hands down that "Quartet Sky-Only" looks amazing and was REALLY looking forward to the triple monitor render of it.



This was going to be the one that finally replaced 2008's "At World's Edge (Winter)....yes, you do great work, but so far I keep finding myself judging everything new against it, and have been happy with At World's Edge for over a year now. Now granted I was also very happy with 2005's "The Overseer" and had been using that one for years, and before that it was 2001's "Tropical Moon of Thetis", but that was back when I was had just gotten into using multiple monitors...and had one wall paper on booth screens...so I guess I'm just stating that even thought I don't change my wallpapers as often as you make new renderings it's more because I get stuck loving one that you'd done for a while; it's nothing personal against your art, which is always amazing.

Sun September 26, 2010 at 12:43 am

Liggs
"Quartet4"
I like it! Looking forward to the multi-screen!

Sun September 26, 2010 at 12:04 am

Laura
"Quartet 4"
I do like the railing, but still like QuartetSky better.

Sun September 26, 2010 at 11:52 am

Laura
"Quartet 4"
I do like the railing, but still like QuartetSky better.

Sun September 26, 2010 at 11:51 am

Firefly
"Quartet"
I sincerely hope you're going to be making a dual screen for this. The colors are phenomenal and you picked a great perspective.

Wed September 22, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Angelique
"Quartet (2010)"
This one is breathtaking! I love the colors of the sky in the piece :D

Wed September 22, 2010 at 1:02 am

Yanthor
"I love the view"
I love the fact that the camera is inside the arches, looking past them. It gives this a different feel than some of your other pieces and variety is nice. Plus, since the arches are almost completely silhouetted, it is fun to try to make out the runes and vines on them.



With the gorgeous sunset and the dark arches, I noticed something else about this. More than most of your work, if you make your monitor brighter or dimmer, the sun appears to get brighter and dimmer. An awesome affect! :-)

Tue September 21, 2010 at 9:46 am

Ryan
"Multiscreen"
I have one more version of this in the works! The multiscreen will follow.

Mon September 20, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Max
"Dual Screen"
He said this on the 13th, "I'm busy working out the multiscreen for this one now." I've been waiting impatiently ever since then.

Mon September 20, 2010 at 8:15 pm

David
"Dual Screen Version"
Will there be a dualscreen version of this one? AMAZING!!!

Sun September 19, 2010 at 5:20 pm

tcr521
"Enjoy."
You have the same birthday as my mother and she is 87! Happy Belated Birthday!

Fri September 17, 2010 at 6:47 am

goldencat
"feeling oppressed"
The image feels top heavy and oppressing to me, with the heavy triangular shapes at the top outweighing the foundation line of the image. On my netbook, the columns have a flat effect, whereas the light effects have good depth. If you were going for the contrast between freedom and being trapped, you have that, but for me the foreground is too dominating and regularly positioned to feel comfortable.

Thu September 16, 2010 at 5:57 pm

Tril
"Quartet3"
Absolutely love the current image. Don't know what people see in QuartetSky...too simplistic for my tastes. The full picture has so much more depth and perspective.

Thu September 16, 2010 at 3:34 pm

C-loke
"Quartet3"
At first glance I wasn't sure how I felt about this image. I was a little confused as to what the pillars were at first when I saw the thumbnail. Now that I see it in full size I must say that the 3rd one that is more of a silhouette is my favorite version. The sky is a little simple but I like the foliage and the way the pillars and openings look. The closed off sides makes a big difference to me also, makes the picture look more framed in like its a shot someone took the time to find, and captured that moment, with the sides open it looks, well, just to open. Overall I like this piece, its different from your others and shows the diversity you can create in your artwork and it gives the viewer a creative viewpoint. Keep'em coming Ryan and Happy Birthday man, hope you had a good one.

Thu September 16, 2010 at 2:11 pm

XGuitrDude
"Stunning"
Stunning

Thu September 16, 2010 at 10:08 am

docpixl
"Quartet"
I haven't commented for a long time. Don't like it. Looks like the legs of some large, possibly mechanical, beast on the edge of an ocean waiting for sunrise. I always think they are sunrises. Just a sunrise type of guy.

Thu September 16, 2010 at 7:16 am

GeneralB
"Hrm ..."
... got enough moons in there? :P

Wed September 15, 2010 at 9:04 am

Ryan
"Quartet Sky"
I guess I covered up too much of the sky with the original design. Perhaps I can incorporate the sky into a new design that is sophisticated enough to fit in my gallery but also shows off more of the skyscape. "Quartetsky" is just too simple to fit in my gallery as it is.

Wed September 15, 2010 at 9:00 am

dejerdejer
"I third????that QuartetSky is the best"
I think QuartetSky should be in the gallery.....It makes one amazing background...it is my fav. of the lot.

Tue September 14, 2010 at 9:21 pm

John N.
"I second that QuartetSky is the Best as well"
It is just simply beautiful. I think Quartet would look better if the arches were like arched window openings like from a Cathedral church or something of that nature that looked out into the scenery. Just my opinion.

Tue September 14, 2010 at 6:07 pm

celmendo
"Missed it "
but happy birthday!

Tue September 14, 2010 at 11:35 am

Wilf
"QuartetSky is the best of the lot"
Belated Happy Birthday!

Just love QuartetSky. Any chance of multiscreen renders? Pretty please?

Tue September 14, 2010 at 6:09 am

SaltNPeppr
"QuartetSky's my new fav..."
...and it looks absolutely *awesome* on my widescreen monitor and on my laptop. (I use the same res for both and let windows fiddle with it for the laptop -- I get some great views on the laptop that way.) Its *fantastic*.



I have a whole new 10, Ryan. Even higher than Highland Spring, Enshrouded, Shanshu, Solace, and the series for Gotham Garden and Canopy Creek... :D I am one happy camper. Even my family are oohing and ahhing over QuartetSky.



Really, I don't think I can rate it high enough. :)

Tue September 14, 2010 at 2:37 am

kellzilla
"@cyondios"
It's only apparent in the widescreen (16:9, 16:10) versions. Quartet1 has open space on the edges; quartet2 has walls instead of columns, closing in the edges.

Mon September 13, 2010 at 11:56 pm

cyondios
"which"
i can't find any differences between the first and second renders

Mon September 13, 2010 at 9:22 pm

kellzilla
"@FlareHeart"
Ooh. You're talking about the sky-only version (should probably mention that near the beginning, not at the very end where it's easily skipped ;) ) - there is none listed, you are correct. The PJ stuff typically don't get all the extra sizes rendered.

Mon September 13, 2010 at 6:56 pm

kellzilla
"@FlareHeart"
1024x600 is the fifth item listed on the right. It's the first (Netbook) size listed. HTH!

Mon September 13, 2010 at 6:54 pm

FlareHeart
"Screen size"
Hey there and Happy Birthday. I have noticed that there is not a rendering in the 1024 x 600 that my netbook uses. I have made do with another of the sizes for now, and would appreciate having the sky only version come in my netbook's size.

Mon September 13, 2010 at 3:11 pm

FlareHeart
"Screen size"
Hey there and Happy Birthday. I have noticed that there is not a rendering in the 1024 x 600 that my netbook uses. I have made do with another of the sizes for now, and would appreciate having the sky only version come in my netbook's size.

Mon September 13, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Gage
"Hapy Belated Birthday"
Happy birthday super artist dude, and that sky only pic is Officially my favorite!

Mon September 13, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Ryan
"Thanks and Multiscreen"
Thanks for the birthday wishes guys. I had a great day! I'm busy working out the multiscreen for this one now.

Mon September 13, 2010 at 1:00 pm

kim
"birthday wishes"
Happy belated Birthday! Just logged in today for the 1st time in about 6 months. Love your work!!

Mon September 13, 2010 at 7:41 am

Robin
"Happy birthday!"
The sky only pic is beyond amazing.

Sun September 12, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Happy
"Happy Birthday"
Just wanted to wish you a happy birthday. Best wishes always!!

Sun September 12, 2010 at 4:22 pm

Karl
"Pillars"
I'll echo the comment below that the pillars look flat. If some shadow could be added for the carvings, it might look better next to the other detail.

Sun September 12, 2010 at 3:12 pm

Truett
"Happy Birthday"
It may just me but I am digging the alternative looks for each wallpaper that has come out recently (i.e. Hexline, Quartet). I know it is a lot more of work but it is very cool. Happy Birthday!

Sun September 12, 2010 at 2:50 pm

NJ
"Happy Birthday!"
Hope you had a great birthday - same day as my mum's!

Sun September 12, 2010 at 2:28 pm

Jenanne
"@icepyro - Open Sides"
I like the open space at the sides, too. However, Quartet 1 and 3 are the same in that regard. Only at higher res can open sky be seen at the edges (1900 and above), so it only APPEARS that the main version is different. Look at Quartet 1 & 3 at 1600 and you'll see what I mean. Quartet 2 is indeed filled in at the sides regardless of res. Variety -- the spice of life. :)

Sun September 12, 2010 at 12:26 am

littlemom
"Happy Birthday"
Happy birthday Ryan, Hope you have a very blessed day. Good job on the new render, it's very pretty.

Sun September 12, 2010 at 12:10 am

icepyro
"Happy Birthday and..."
I like the open sides of quartet1. It feels like the sides are filled in just to be filled in and it makes the scene a little claustrophobic (as in it makes me want to step forward so I can see more sky anyways). The clouds feel a little busy compared to quartet3, but more natural too. The foliage also feels more natural in 1.



tl;dr - The sky and lighting is amazing and closing up it's awesomeness in quartet 2 and 3 merely takes away from it.

Sun September 12, 2010 at 11:47 am

Walo
"Happy Birthday!"
/\ /\ /\ oh and also the sky version looks cool.

Sun September 12, 2010 at 10:17 am

Max_Power
"Sky Only and Birthday Wishes"
Happy Birthday. May you enjoy the day with family and friends. The Sky Only is great. I love the addition of high clouds.

Sun September 12, 2010 at 9:52 am

Kana
"very pretty"
Happy Birthday, Ryan! Awesome renders, as always. Each one is unique.

Sun September 12, 2010 at 9:35 am

Ryan
"@James"
I'm putting the calendar together now and I hope to have it ready sometime this coming week!

Sun September 12, 2010 at 8:53 am

Andy
"Hiphip, Hooray!"
Happy B-Day Ryan!

Sun September 12, 2010 at 1:55 am

James
"new calender(?) and sky version"
The sky olny version is awesome. I hope there will be a multi-monitor edition of it.



I was wondering if there is going to be a new calender coming out soon. I know they usually cover Oct. of the current year to Dec. of the next year.

Sun September 12, 2010 at 1:47 am

RobO
"Quartet Sky Only"
I forgot: Can I get a version for my phone of Quartet sky only, please?

Sun September 12, 2010 at 1:11 am

RobO
"Cogratulations"
Happy Birthday!

The Quartet Sky only pic is amazing. The scenery takes my breath away. The only thing small problem with it is the planets. IMO they disturb the scenery.

Sun September 12, 2010 at 1:09 am

Ron Fisher
"Quartet and Happy Birthday"
Happy Birthday, Ryan

After looking at the Quartet, I am mesmerized by the small details within the tendrils of the vines, and it gives a surreal look with the contrast between the warm and cool colors.

Sun September 12, 2010 at 0:03 am

Wraith
"Happy Birthday!"
^_^

Sat September 11, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Chris B
"Happy Birthday!"
It's the day before my son was supposed to be here... turns out he wanted to come 8 days early lol



That is an amazing sunset. I think i'll leave it up for a couple days before I go back to the first version :)

Sat September 11, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Grue
"Happy Birthday to ya!"
Congrats on another orbit, Ryan!

Sat September 11, 2010 at 9:31 pm

Jenanne
"Happy Birthday!"
Wow, birthday on 9/11 -- that's a birthday no one's likely to forget. I hope you and your family have a wonderful day. I love Quartet, too, in all its various forms. Thank you!

Sat September 11, 2010 at 8:19 pm

Gunner Joe
"Nice"
I very much like the sky background. Since you've been doing so many pickle jars, how about one with the bow of a ship or small boat as your foreground to make it more like we're on a journey... and someone pointing to the far off land... and a grizzly bear hidden on one of those distant hills to the side... and a mermaid, yeah! ;-)



Kidding aside, excellent work as usual Ryan! Seems like you've picked up the pace lately. I don't get to enjoy your wallpapers for as long as I used to because another winner keeps popping up on this site.

Sat September 11, 2010 at 4:07 pm

Marilyn
"Happy Birthday!"
This skyscape is wonderful! Thank you for sharing it with us, especially on this, your special day.

Sat September 11, 2010 at 2:36 pm

betsey
"9/11/10"
Happy Birthday Ryan!!!!

Sat September 11, 2010 at 1:33 pm

betsey
"9/11/10"
Happy Birthday Ryan!!!!

Sat September 11, 2010 at 1:32 pm

Lidia
"Happy Birthday!"
Enjoy your day!

Sat September 11, 2010 at 12:20 am

Dan
"Nice!!"
Wow, another great skyscape!! I love when you do these types of images so keep them coming in the future! I also like the other pickle jar versions! Also, Happy Birthday!

Sat September 11, 2010 at 11:42 am

Mark J.
"Happy Birthday, Ryan."
Relax and enjoy.

Sat September 11, 2010 at 11:39 am

Dale
"Wow....."
I'm almost speechless. That "sky only" version is awesomeness without question. I never noticed the subtle rainbow effect in the other pictures but this image really brings it out and now I can see it in the others.



I still like the lack of clouds in #3 though. If I could lobby for additional images I'd like to see the foreground of the original with the background of #3 and of course a "sky only" version of #3.



As always, Ryan, your work is incredible! Keep it up!



p.s. Happy Birthday! Have a good one.

Sat September 11, 2010 at 10:48 am

Richard H
"Feedback on Quartet (2010)"
I like the version in the gallery. Less foliage is better for me at least.

Sat September 11, 2010 at 9:46 am

Lidia
"Undecided between 2 and 3"
I would like to have the columns from version 2 with the sky and pool from version 3.

Sat September 11, 2010 at 8:43 am

jbhodges7
"Quartet versions"
I prefer the version with fewer clouds, because it makes it easier to notice the point of the image; the three planets visible through the archways. The one you are standing on makes the fourth of the quartet. (Which, incidentally, is never going to happen in real life. Somewhere in this vast universe there may be two earthlike life-bearing planets orbiting each other as a double-planet; very very unlikely but possible. But THREE? even FOUR? Never happen. Not in a million Universes. Not a gravitationally-stable arrangement.

Sat September 11, 2010 at 8:19 am

Dave T
"Hard to say ..."
I like the sky in version 1, but I like the darker, less green-lit pool in version 3. Ultimately, I like them all.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 11:52 pm

Kristin
"Interesting"
It's interesting to see the different versions for this one. Personally I'm more partial to #3.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 9:41 pm

celmendo
"pickle jar"
I like the sky in #3 but prefer the foreground in #1 or the gallery version. I like the glow in the pool and seeing the texture of the pillars, open around the edges and less clouds. Interesting job. I like.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 8:04 pm

Sean S.
"Agreed with number 2"
The fact that the sides are filled in makes it feel more like looking out rather than already out and looking around.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Chris B
"Original"
I like the first one the best. It seems more open. #2 is kinda neat like you are sitting IN an ancient ruin, but I like the openness of #1, makes it seem bigger.

#3 doesn't do it for me, you loose almost all of the details in the pillars and I personally like the thin wispy cirrus clouds.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 4:08 pm

Geep
"I still like the original..."
Although all the pickle jar versions are great, I still prefer the original one (I like the bits of pillar peaking thru the leaves).It just seems to flow perfectly from sky to pillar while the 2 and 3 either seem too closed off or too leafy.



I do have to agree with Brandi however, about the pickle jar. Not to say your fans/members aren't important, but I like seeing the pictures as you envisioned them and not as the members want to see them.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 3:26 pm

ingo
"definitely loving #3"
i wasn't sure at first but i like the contrast created by the darker pillars

Fri September 10, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Laura
"Door number 2"
Of the pickle jar I really like #2 the best. #3 is pretty, but I think the simplified background doesn't work as well with the pillars.



Love to see the background only render when it's done! :D

Fri September 10, 2010 at 2:16 pm

Michael
"My Fav"
I believe I will take what is behind door number 3... Yes yes that is my fav. Always excellent work.



Does help to review prior to submission.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Michael
"My Fav"
I believe I will what is behind door number 3... Yes yes that is my fav. Always excellent work.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 2:04 pm

Dale
"Very Nice"


Great job as usual, Ryan.



I like the first one in the PJ with the lack of so many clouds. But I also like the foreground in the Gallery version - the open sides are nice. I also like the green glow in the pool in the Gallery version - it gives the scene some more mystery.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 1:46 pm

Brandi
"Original - and thought about "versions""
I prefer the original version. All the Pickle Jar versions are nice, too, but your original vision is great as is.



It seems to me you've done a lot of pickle jar versions of the recent wallpapers. I'm wondering if there's a little too much listening to the fans going on. No one is going to love every wallpaper. I also think some of us miss the point/vision of the original wallpapers. This wallpaper is an example...a no-pillar version might look great, but the pillars splitting the sky is part of this picture. If you want to create a sky-only wallpaper for fans, great, but don't feel the need to make all these changes because fans don't see your original intention.



Great job, as always.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 1:44 pm

Lokie
"It is what it is..."
What I see is one persons view from a garden pool? Doesn't look like it is level with the water/sunset, up in the air like Gotham garden. Love the combination of the foliage reflection and the transparency of the pools wall.



The only thing that stands out to me, are the clouds. Too many? Too straight? Guess that's why you do your versions for everyone. None the less I love this image just like everything else you have done.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 1:01 pm

Rod
"original"
I like the original (quartet1) the best. It has an open airy quality that the closed sides loses.



I also agree with a statement below... a background-only version would be fantastic.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 12:46 am

Walo
"nice but..."
as some other guy said, this one feels like 2 images put together. The foreground looks artistic while the background looks realistic. It somewhat breaks the "flow" of the image. But still is a nice image overall.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 12:41 am

John
"Current"
I like the current version best. I prefer the sides being open.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 12:33 am

dank
"pickles"
hey this is great.. not sure which one i like best. a question, though; where is the link to the pickle jar, for browsing not for this picset in general..? cant seem to find it on homepage or anywhere else...

Fri September 10, 2010 at 12:32 am

Chris
"Original gets my vote!"
The pickle jar versions are okay, but not near as much as the original. I don't care much for the closed in sides, I like the opening, it makes it feel like four columns, not two columns and two walls. I also think the more foliage on the pillars in 3 detract a bit from the scene overall.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 12:02 am

Ted
"Prefer original"
I actually like the space at the edges of the image in the original. This image is definitely awesome! I am not as happy with the fewer clouds and dimmer pool in Quartet3.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 11:28 am

littlemom
"Quartet (2010)"
Very nice, I even love all the pickle jar versions. Great job Ryan. Your work is awesome.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 10:44 am

littlemom
"Quartet (2010)"
Very nice, I even love all the pickle jar versions. Great job Ryan. Your work is awesome.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 10:43 am

Gemgirl
"I like it!"
The sunset is beautiful and I, too, am intrigued with the pool/reflections....

Fri September 10, 2010 at 10:09 am

Jeremy
"Pillars"
Nice image, but the pillars don't do it for me... would be better without 'em...

Fri September 10, 2010 at 7:38 am

Dave T
"Awesome"
I like it just as-is; always love the pseudo-fantasy wallpapers. They're so evocative.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 4:58 am

Wilf
"nice, but too much foliage"
I think there is too much foliage on the columns. I think cleaner lines on the uprights would look better with some sparse ivy. Same for the wall at the bottom. and is that a pool in the foreground. Definitely nice, though

Fri September 10, 2010 at 3:13 am

Luc
"Reflections"
I am intrigued by the reflections in the pool. They seem to reflect the top of the pillars. But i feel looking at the picture, that they should reflect the lower parts of the pillar.



I like it anyway.

Fri September 10, 2010 at 2:35 am

Andy
"Nice Job! :)"
Oooo. Love the wide range of hues used in this one Ryan. Don't mind the pillars, & the silhouetting effect is too strong. Amazing work as always!

Fri September 10, 2010 at 0:31 am

Mars
"Holding off on putting this on as Wallpaper"
Am using "Extrasolar" wallpaper which is just great, usually if theres a better one I usually change it but hopefully next time.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Stephen
"Amazing!"
This is an amazing wallpaper. Wouldn't mind seeing a pickle jar version without the pillars though, considering that this is by far your best sunset ever!

Thu September 9, 2010 at 9:56 pm

William
"Bravissimo Ditto"
You've incorporated some really good monochromatic moods into your pieces, but the rainbow of color seen in this one is no less powerful. To me, what makes it work is the *fantastically* rendered sunset, which seems to me to be far more captivating (and rendered much more smoothly) than the one in "Extrasolar". I don't think the four pillars detract from the sunset at all; really, there are so many fantastic sunset works and photos out there that this piece needs something to "break up" the sunset.



The pillars do seem to chop up the piece into perfectly oriented symmetrical blocks, though (which as I understand is something an artist usually tries to avoid). I might suggest that something be added around the left and right edges of the piece, to help keep the pillars from giving a sense of uncomfortable symmetry.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 8:07 pm

Lidia
"Quartet"
Nice. No complaints about the pillars; I like them and would not remove them. I'm trying to figure out that pool at the bottom, though... is it a pool? It's a bit confusing.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 7:56 pm

Marco
"Fantastico, Bravissimo"
As always ...great amazing job. Keep it Rayan

Thu September 9, 2010 at 7:23 pm

Chris B
"Wasn't expecting this!"
I saw about highland summer on FB & was seeing if it was here yet. I really like this one, always a fan of ancient ruins/ancient looking places and sunsets so this works well for me.

I do hope you're doing a night version of this! Those those awesome planets glowing in a nice bright star scape, while the green glow from the pool? in the temple brings all the details of the pillars & plants into focus.

*nudge nudge* lol awesome work as always.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 7:09 pm

KRingg
"Brilliant"
I'm usually pretty critical of your work, but I love this one. It has that wonderful "alien humanity" feel. Wildly creative and absolutely brilliant.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Harry King
"Very good but.."
As always very good but to me there seems a slight disjointedness between the foreground and the background, almost dare I say it like the foreground has been pasted onto a sunset scene (of which I would love a pickle jar solo version of). If I was forced to put my finger on what doesn't sit right with me I would say the stonework on the pillars is rather flat and lacking in detail in the rendering (not the design), there is a disparity between the detail in the vine plants (particularly individual leaves) and the detail in the shadowing and topography with the carving, and the green plant life around the pool is rather overly vibrant and day glow-y. Also the foreground scene appears to be a bit bright for the location of the sun.



However I am, as always, grateful and impressed that whilst I sit and "complain" you are able to imagine and then produce such brilliant art.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Wraith
"Beautiful"
The foreground being in silouhette here works alot better than in Tears From Heaven. It separates the background and foreground into distinct regions which showcases the entire scene. Really well done, although the horizon MAY be a bit empty, I think everything here fits together nicely.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Mike
"Scarr is 2nd'ed"
I love the ancient structure type, and the background sunset is amazing. Keep playing with foreground silhouettes...there's awesome potential there!

Thu September 9, 2010 at 4:27 pm

Max
"This is what I've been waiting for!"
OMG I instanly LOVE this one! This is, by far, my favorite piece by you in some time. DUAL SCREEN PLS! :D

Thu September 9, 2010 at 4:27 pm

BenC
"Also..."
Will there be a little caption to go with this like you've done with you other recent works?

Thu September 9, 2010 at 4:20 pm

BenC
"Confused like Geep"
Is the bottom a pool, I dont dislike it, i just dont get it.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Ted
"The lighting works"
The darker foreground works well since the view is towards the sun. "Silhouette-y" or not, it is a fairly natural light scheme. I like the green pool too, it gives color variety.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 3:14 pm

Geep
"Inside looking out..."
The view on this looks like your standing inside a ancient pavilion. Its really pretty and I like the oranges and reds in the sky.

The only thing I'm confused about is the green at the very bottom of the picture. Is it a pool or something?

Overall though, very very nice. Its going to replace Pharos as my bg. :)

Thu September 9, 2010 at 3:01 pm

Hunter
"My new favourite"
Yes, this even beats Highland Spring! It's just amazing. It's sharp, there's no cheap blur effect, the sky is perfect... etc.



Keep it up Ryan!

Thu September 9, 2010 at 2:59 pm

Robin
"Less is more"
Love your work, but this one.... It will probably never become on of my favorites. I prefer the more minimalistic view. Loose the foreground, or atleast the foliage...

Thu September 9, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Joshin42
"Nice one!"
Beautiful! Is this Vue and lightwave again? You really are a pro with those tools! Keep it up.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 2:26 pm

Laura
"Beautiful!"
I don't mind the silhouette foreground at all, but I would love to see a pickle jar of the background - that's an amazing sunset.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 2:02 pm

Chad
"Very cool!"
Excellent! Can't wait for the multi screen version of this one. Great work!

Thu September 9, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Scarr
"Awesssommmeeee"
More of this type of stuff would be realllllly sweet. Ancient temples and things... that's what I like to see.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 1:39 pm

David
"Nice One, but..."
Really nice Wallpaper althought i think i´d like it more without those pillars in the foreground.

Maybe you rendered one version without them?

Would be even more awesome ;)

Thu September 9, 2010 at 12:56 am

Bill
"Awesome!"
I liked this wallpaper when i first saw it but i didnt even notice the three other planets/moons in the sky until i looked closer.

lifetime member here!

Keep em comin!

Thu September 9, 2010 at 12:43 am

Terrence
"Quartet 2010"
To be honest, I think the background could stand on its own and be one brilliant piece!



The Pillars are quite intriguing! To me it looks like they're in the way of the background, it detracts your attention away from them! More detail, more foliage, more lighting, and a less eye catching background!



This could be two wallpapers!

Thu September 9, 2010 at 12:32 am

Chris
"SICK wallpaper!"
This render is amazing, I wouldn't change a thing about it. Extraordinary. Almost like What Dreams May Come, but if it took place in an alien world or something. As always, keep up the unparalleled work Ryan.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 12:15 am

Brian
"It Has Potential"
I like this one enough to give some constructive criticism. The greenery doesn't look natural. At first I thought the stone columns were trees. I would try some creeping vines with leaves to replace the climbing bushes. I'm thinking of a Roman vibe.



Love the sky, clouds, moons and water.

Thu September 9, 2010 at 12:15 am

Justin
"Very, very cool"
As always, a job well done. I love your sunsets and sky pieces. Looking forward to Highland Summer and a Halloween wallpaper! Almost time!

Thu September 9, 2010 at 12:08 am

Tyler
"First Post!"
Hey Ryan,

Looks like I get to be No. 1 for once. This is absolutely stunning, and I thank you for sharing your beautiful gift w/ us.

God bless

Thu September 9, 2010 at 12:05 am

Plus Level Members and above will receive
a "Thank You" card hand-signed by myself and my family.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Biodome (2007)"
Only 8 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play