Ring of Fire (Night)

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


8.72/10 rating
(122 Members Voted)

Print Available!

With this new version of "Ring of Fire (Night)" I've replaced the "fake" glow of v.2 with "real" volumetric light. The effect is a lot more immersive and creates a nice contrast with the moonlight. Triple-screen users gets a bit of lightning on the right screen.

This one took nearly 28 days to render on Bucephalus. It simply wouldn't have been possible for me to produce this render without Shadowfax!

Member Comments

Nate R.
"Yin & Yang"
The power of the night co-existing with the destructive power of a volcano that brings the day. This makes it beautiful!

Fri January 1, 2016 at 11:04 pm

Angelique
"Ring of Fire (Night) (2015)"
Wow - I really love this! This one is the best version yet of this scene. I love the cool beauty of the moon juxtaposed with the glowing heat and smoke of the volcano and how realistic the palm trees look.

Wed August 26, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Nathan
"Smoke/Clouds"
i really like seeing the Smoke in the front of the fire. with the background lit up it just makes it look even better.

Sun July 26, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Brimmer
"Love the single screen update"
It's good to see both the moonlight and firelight.

Wed July 22, 2015 at 8:47 am

Ryan
"New Single-Screen"
I've created a new single-screen render which (I think) better captures the atmosphere of the multiscreen. People seem to really enjoy the moonlight and the fire in the same image but that was lost when I was using the cropped version.

I've put the old single-screen in the Pickle Jar as "ringoffirenight2k153a" if anyone is interested.

Which do you prefer?

Wed July 22, 2015 at 0:51 am

Eneelia
"Love it"
wonderful use of color and light. Thank you

Tue July 21, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Adam
"11+"
Dual screen is one of your best ever works. I love the ice and fire imagery in your works of late. Keep it up!

Mon July 13, 2015 at 8:41 am

James
"10/10"
The dual screen for this is absolutely stunning. Excellent work!

Mon July 13, 2015 at 6:07 am

Kevin
"Another Great Addition!"
I agree, the lighting did create an enhancement that was really needed in this render, and I love how you made the moon visible from behind the clouds in the triple monitor render (something I was hoping for in the daytime render for the sun). Great Work!

Sun July 12, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Ryan
"@CJ"
The 21:9 option should be showing now. Thanks for the heads up!

Sun July 12, 2015 at 8:49 am

CJ
"Love this image, but not in my size!"
Ryan, can you please explain why there is no 21:9 (3440x1440) version for this one and a few others? It seems really inconsistent. Your latest image has it but this one doesn't

Sun July 12, 2015 at 8:13 am

Scott
"Love this image!"
I love "Ring of Fire - Night" - all the versions! V3's glow is really great - adds a sense of depth that was missing.. Makes the size of the volcano feel much more massive, due to the distance being there. Fantastic job as always!!

Sat July 11, 2015 at 10:11 am

drow
"goes to 11"
now that's bloody stunning.

Fri July 10, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Jenanne
"Terrific!"
Hit it right out of the ballpark, Ryan. :)

Fri July 10, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Zach
"V3 was definitely worth the wait!"
Ryan, this is one of your best wallpapers ever (and a clear favourite of the year for me). It was definitely worth the wait for V3 and the multis! Thanks again!

Fri July 10, 2015 at 9:53 am

Brandi U.
"Love V.3"
Fantastic! Love this final version.

Thu July 9, 2015 at 11:01 pm

jmk in ct
"a winner!"
You nailed this one!

Thu July 9, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Ben
"10"
Wow this is amazing. I can almost feel the heat from the fire. :)

Thu July 9, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Curtis
"Love the fire"
Fire looks amazing, absolutely fantastic

Thu July 9, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Ryan
"v.3"
With this new version of "Ring of Fire (Night)" I've replaced the "fake" glow of v.2 with "real" volumetric light. The effect is a lot more immersive and creates a nice contrast with the moonlight. Triple-screen users gets a bit of lightning on the right screen.

Thu July 9, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Laell
"Stunning!"
A beautiful complement to the day version! This is definitely a new favorite!

Thu July 9, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Julian
"Awesom, Love the night version"
Dual screen please!

Tue July 7, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Brent
"Awesome, Currently have the 2015 day version"
I love this and can't wait to change my wallpaper literally from day to night. I like the new policy and like your users.. times will change. I have been looking into getting 2 ultra high res monitors... but what good are the monitors without a beast of a machine that they deserve. I think as more and more users switch to the higher res monitors, that you can cater your policy towards that. As always, we we support you on whatever you decide.. but from a frustration and time consuming standpoint, I think you are right to think on waiting to render such a high quality version until you have a final version. Best of luck

Mon July 6, 2015 at 10:42 am

Ryanb
"@Kyle"
I blame the leap second ;-)

Sat July 4, 2015 at 9:49 am

Kyle
"Might like better than the day time!"
I'm usually a bit more of a fan of renders with more lighting. This works great because of the contrast it gives to the ash cloud. Pickle jar version is just as good in its own way. Possibly more realistic with the extra glow!



Dual screen please!

Thu July 2, 2015 at 10:40 am

Inge Ryoga
"Excellent"
I got the same problem as Jenanne:



when I click on the 1920x1200 resolution (on the Picklejar section), I get this message: "Oops! The page or file you are trying to access doesn't seem to exist any more."



Hope that you would fix it soon. I would really like to have that wallpaper. Thanks.

Tue June 30, 2015 at 5:02 pm

shaldannon
"large resolution images"
Ryan,



I wonder if all the folks who want high res (4k, 5k) images could chip in some computing power... distributed rendering a la any number of other distributed computing projects from the past (like seti@home).

Tue June 30, 2015 at 0:50 am

Jenanne
"Gallery vs Picklejar "
I really like both renders, but the PJ version would be my favorite if it had the same ring of luminous flowers/plants along the waterline. Without it, the water and trees near the beach are a bit too dark.



BTW, when I click on the 1920x1200 resolution, I get this message: "Oops! The page or file you are trying to access doesn't seem to exist any more."

Wed June 17, 2015 at 10:31 am

Richard H.
"Thanks, Ryan!"
@Ryan: Thanks very much for the reply; I really appreciate it, and it's great to have an update on the current position.

I'm sorry if I seem selfish about always wanting 5K renders, not least because I really do understand your position and the problem.

All I'd say is that, looking towards the future, high-res renders are a good investment. As you rightly point out, the number of people with 5K monitors will currently be very small, but the world is clearly going in the direction of these ultra-high-resolution screens (are they *are* fantastic when you start using them!), so as they become more widespread, if you've got plenty of 5K wallpapers already made, you'll find yourself with a good resource to keep your existing members happy and attract new ones.

I do realise, of course, that you have to balance that against providing new material 'now' for the vast majority with standard screens.

Anyway, again, thanks for the reply/status report, and thanks very much for what you're doing in general.

Wed June 17, 2015 at 2:30 am

Ryan
"@Richard H"
I am rendering my "final" version right now at triple-5K. It's taking a while though. I only rendered the second version at 2560 x 1440 so I could have it finished in under 13 hours. If I would have rendered that one at 5K it would have taken a week and the multiscreen would have been delayed even longer.

I wish I could render all of my landscapes at 5K but Vue is a resource hungry beast and even on Shadowfax the 5K renders are taking way too long. I will certainly render everything at 5K that I can but I knew this one was going to cause problems.



I may be able to optimize this one and re-render v.2 in the future.



Sorry for your frustration while I adapt to the new monitor landscape out there! It's tough because >90% of my Members (and the world at large) aren't using 5K (or even 4K) screens so I need to balancing futureproofing my gallery with the danger of people forgetting about me while I render this huge files.


Tue June 16, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Richard H.
"Other PJ resolutions"
On the subject of the missing 1920x1200 version, could we please have a 5K render of the PJ version? I like it as much as (if not more than) the main version, so it's really frustrating that I can't get it in a decent resolution. Thanks. I know I've asked for this before, but clearly there are other people out there who want the 5K render too (and that number will only increase over time).

Tue June 16, 2015 at 12:46 pm

David F
"Missing 1920x1200 version"
The file referred to on the pickle jar page for the 1920x1200 version is missing, and it's not listed on the "all resolutions" page.



Oh, and I really like both versions, by the way. :)

Tue June 16, 2015 at 6:40 am

cmmnoble
"Re: New 5K policy"
I have the same feelings as Dennis M and Richard H below. I love your art, including a lot (if not most) of what ends up in the pickle jar--especially in situations like with Mengerbulb and Manifold where the pickle jar images are substantially different from the final version, or with alternate color variations for abstracts. I would be sad to lose high-resolution renders of these alternate versions. But I will respect whatever works best for you. It has been a pleasure to be a member of your site and to share in your artwork over the last decade-plus. And I look forward to doing so now and in the future--however you decide to proceed.

Mon June 15, 2015 at 9:38 am

Hoverwolf1
"woohoo!"
Night Version!

Wed June 10, 2015 at 10:12 pm

Dennis M
"Re: New 5K Policy"
I don't (yet) use a 5K monitor, but I do use a retina MacBook Pro, so I benefit from the higher-resolution renders. I agree with the comments below from Richard H. about the new policy. I too enjoy having the pickle jar variations that fit my resolution, and there are times where I prefer one to another (I love your work overall, and have been a subscriber for years). I understand the desire to streamline the creative process, especially if you find that you're unhappy with the current state of an image and want to be able to make adjustments faster. As fans we love everything you produce, including a lot of what ends up in the pickle jar, but ultimately if you'd rather spend more time working on new projects or working toward finishing ones instead of rendering "unfinished" versions, then we'll respect that.

Wed June 10, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Richard H.
"(New 5K policy)"
@Ryan: I've just read your comments about restricting preliminary renders to 1440p and waiting for the 5K renders until the image is final.

I can sympathise with this view and understand why you want to do things this way, but from my perspective as one of your lifetime members who does have a 5K monitor, I'm a little concerned that this policy will deny me some wallpapers that I'd really enjoy having.

For example, your recent Manifold and Menger Bulb/Bloom screens have gone through multiple revisions and versions, and the same was true of others not long ago (e.g. the latest Moonshadow). In all of these cases, I've managed to get multiple different 5K desktop images from the various new versions that have appeared. In the case of Moonshadow and Menger Bloom, this even includes at least one that's no longer available on the site (even as a pickle jar image). More importantly, in some cases, my favourite versions of images have been pickle jar versions. E.g. although I really like the final Manifold render, it's too noisy and overall I like the original best. And with the Menger series, much as I like the final Menger Bulb render, I think I may like the original Menger Bloom best. Also, for that and other series, I've also derived my own extra versions by cropping the dual- and triple-screen versions, so it's been great to have access to 5K versions of those too.

If you pursue your proposed policy, I very much fear that I'll miss out on a lot of renders of early versions and pickle jar images (not to mention the multi-screen renders) that would otherwise provide me with a lot of images that I'd really enjoy having – and that I may well prefer to the final image.

Besides, I don't consider that you're in charge of a factory production line! There's nothing to say that you have to produce artwork at a faster rate! Patience, as they say, is a virtue!

Personally, I'd much rather be patient and get all those 5K renders that I so enjoy having, rather than going down a short-term low-resolution route merely in the name of speed. Quality, not quantity, should be the watchword!

Wed June 10, 2015 at 1:20 pm

Elaine
"Love it"
I love your night-time scenes and this is another great one. I can't wait for the dual screen because this one is going straight into my wallpaper rotation when it's done!



I like the PJ version as well as the main one. It looks more dangerous, with the glow in the sky and reflection in the water. I get the idea that it's a bit later in the eruption.

Wed June 10, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Zach
"PJ"
Hmmmm, I kind of like the red glow in a way, but agree with Dane that it may take away from the smoke detail. I also noticed that there's a lot more grain in the PJ version. Ultimately, I think that I like the original better, and am looking forward to the multi-screen renders (whenever you're satisfied with the image). :)

Wed June 10, 2015 at 10:52 am

Woodstock
"Another POV"
Definitely a different POV than the original. Colors also seem more vibrant to me.

Wed June 10, 2015 at 7:47 am

Dane
"Original's my favorite"
I'll be downloading the original cut - the red glow seems too strong for me and takes away from the smoke detail, which I love! Thanks, Ryan!!

Wed June 10, 2015 at 7:14 am

Richard H.
"Love the new PJ… but!"
@Ryan: I love the new pickle jar variant. I'm not sure, but maybe I even like it more than the original. Certainly, the extra fire glow in the sky (and its reflection) adds extra drama.

But where's the 5K version? In fact, this image seems to be distinctly lacking in the higher resolutions generally. Do please supply a 5K one for people like me with the screens to support it! Thanks.

Wed June 10, 2015 at 4:09 am

Ben
"Awesome"
Looks great, especially when compared to the 2006 one. Can't wait for the dual-screen version :)

Tue June 9, 2015 at 4:18 pm

carter2013
"Better than 2006 ring of fire!"
Much better than the 2006 version!

Tue June 9, 2015 at 1:44 pm

PixelHead
"Another Clean Quality Piece"
I also like it better than the day scene. I was just looking for a replacement for my Perserverance background and I just found it :-)

Tue June 9, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Toolsmith
"Very nice!"
I like it better than the day scene. Any chance of a triple-monitor render?

Tue June 9, 2015 at 12:25 pm

Meadows
"Ring of fire"
Very nice!! It does look good, and Im sure you will play with it some more before you are satisfied!!!

Tue June 9, 2015 at 11:39 am

Mengistuh
"Intrigued "
I'm not quite sure what it is about this piece, but it really is hard for me to look away...

Tue June 9, 2015 at 10:09 am

Overdrive
"best work since"
... Moondance (jan/feb) and before that Moonshadow (autumn '14).

I'm particularly impressed by the moon- or dawning light (very smooth transitions) on the left, and the reflections on the clouds (of both the vulcano and the sky).

Outstanding 'uncanny' piece of art!

9*

Tue June 9, 2015 at 8:53 am

Brent
"Just...WOW!"
It's breathtaking for sure, One thing I might point out (sorry), is that the sky immediately around the light should be dimmed more. Other than that, no complaints. Cannot wait to see the finished product! I always love the tropical island themes, having spent much time there :-)

Tue June 9, 2015 at 8:53 am

Aaron
"Love it"
I have the old version as my desktop right now. Can't wait for the dual screen version.

Tue June 9, 2015 at 8:13 am

Ryan
"@Rene"
I'm so sorry to hear about your Dad. I lost mine to an accident in Jan 2012 so I some idea how you are feeling right now. I just comfort myself knowing that, 1) wherever Dad is now, he's watching, and 2) I can still see him everyday in the faces of my two boys.



I hope you find comfort where you can and if he is leaving a message to you through me then I consider it a high honor.



You have my condolences!

Tue June 9, 2015 at 8:08 am

Scott
"Beautiful"
I love the new render, Ryan. I hope we will see more of these!

Tue June 9, 2015 at 8:07 am

Rene
"Heavenly"
My Dad passed away yesterday. One of his favorite songs was "Ring of Fire" by Johnny Cash. He actually wants it played at his service. My Dad's since of humor. This is kind of a sign from my Dad in away. Thank you!

Tue June 9, 2015 at 6:44 am

James
"Awesome"
Can't wait for the multi-screen version :)

Tue June 9, 2015 at 5:44 am

Alexandre
"11/10 !!"
Looks very nice. I'm just patiently waiting for the triple versions to come out :)



Great job Ryan !

Tue June 9, 2015 at 2:03 am

Littlemom
"9"
I really like this render. Great job Ryan. I've been a member for years and love your work. Absolutely love this night scene!!!

Mon June 8, 2015 at 11:48 pm

Mike
"Fantastic night scene; fixes from day version!"
Another beautiful night scene from you, Ryan. I commented on the day version I had a problem with the brightness/flatness of the clouds - but now they seem to have great depth and look. Awesome lighting too, as usual. Definitely one of my new favourites. Thanks for all your work, by the way. :)

Mon June 8, 2015 at 9:06 pm

Ryan
"@Nancy"
I have the multiscreen built but I haven't started rendering it yet. It's going to be a long one. I may do a smaller version first (7680 x 1440).

Mon June 8, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Nancy
"Very intriguing"
Is there a dual screen version in the works?

Mon June 8, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Tyler
"What's not to like"
For me it's not how the piece looks as much as what it evokes. This looks amazing but what I feel when I see it is more profound. Serenity, anxiety, curiosity to name a few. The marking of a great work.

Mon June 8, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Mark
"Awesome!"
I've been waiting for this, thank you! Love it

Mon June 8, 2015 at 10:39 am

BobC
"Great night version"
I think this has more pizzazz than the day version. The ash cloud lit by the volcano is fantastic- like an opening from the underworld. I also like the very bright moon just out of the frame and the subtle colors it allows.

Mon June 8, 2015 at 9:24 am

Ruth
"Gorgeous!"
I really love the glow through the ash on the volcano! I also like the gradation of light from light to dark through the frame. Love it, Ryan!

Mon June 8, 2015 at 8:53 am

Irim
"Brilliant start"
Hmmm, it's too bright off to the left for one to believe that it's night, I think, even with a full moon. If it's meant to be sunset because this is twilight, maybe more sunset colours? If the moon, slightly darker, I think. xx

Mon June 8, 2015 at 8:39 am

Richard H.
"Very nice indeed"
Great! I love the erupting volcano itself, and overall the image works well because it's such a light night. There's a lot of dark detail, but it's not so dark that you can't see it. Even the shoreline of flowers is still visible. Nicely done.

Mon June 8, 2015 at 4:02 am

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Dualscreen:

Triscreen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
ringoffirenight2k151
8.55/10 rating (115 votes)

ringoffirenight2k152
8.66/10 rating (32 votes)

ringoffirenight2k153a
8.50/10 rating (8 votes)
Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy