8.54/10 rating (145 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

8.45/10 rating (55 votes)

7.71/10 rating (7 votes)

Member Comments

"Satori night close-up: 10"
This piece - though pickle jarred - is a Monet for our times. Beautiful.

Tue September 10, 2013 at 4:51 pm

There's a game for the Wii called Xenoblade Chronicles, with an area known as "Satorl Marsh" that lights up with a beautiful blue shimmer at night. I couldn't help but to think of that upon seeing this piece, as it captures the same serene majesty.

Thu May 9, 2013 at 7:53 pm

OOOOhhh ^_^ O_O ^_^

Beautiful!! ^_^

Fri March 22, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Dear Ryan,

After having this on my devices now for a few days, I have to say that Satori has undoubtedly moved to the TOP on my list of FAVORITES. It's a little slice of HEAVEN!!! You're TRULY BLESSED with an INCREDIBLE GIFT!

A BRILLIANT ARTIST!!! Thank you for sharing it with all of us!

Thu March 7, 2013 at 11:01 am

I'd love to be leaning up against this tree, relaxing, taking it all in. Absolutely MAGICAL! "Satori, take me away!"

Mon March 4, 2013 at 4:27 am

Love the floating leafs.. so tranquil.. Nice stuff!

Fri March 1, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Looking at the comments it seems like quite a few agree with me: my immediate first thought was that this looks like something out of Avatar.

Fri March 1, 2013 at 12:12 am

Been with you since the beginning. This is one of the best to date. Not a ten simply because knowing you there will be one even better :D

Wed February 27, 2013 at 9:33 am

Best work yet...Love it!!!!

Mon February 25, 2013 at 8:15 pm

Absolutely phenomenal. This is easily your best piece in the last several months. I am absolutely in love with it!!

Sun February 24, 2013 at 7:57 pm



This "Pandora" version is the best of all of them.

Sun February 24, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Awesome image, but a little TOO bright. Yeah, I know. Can't please everbody!

Sun February 24, 2013 at 12:23 am

Easily one of the best ever.

Sat February 23, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Absolute, stone cold brilliance

Sat February 23, 2013 at 12:02 am

Wonderful! The folks who say this reminds them of Avatar are right. It's now my wallpaper on all my devices. :) Thank you!

Sat February 23, 2013 at 7:28 am

This picture just keeps getting better and better!

Sat February 23, 2013 at 5:21 am

Ok, this is awesome! I love your night renders, this one and "starlight grotto" are two of my absolute favourites. Keep up the great work!

Fri February 22, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Good work!

As a side note, Please don't be afraid of the dark. The night is supposed to be dark. Some of your best pictures are quite dark. ^_^

While some people seem to complain, I actually really like the occasional redo of older pictures from long ago. It feels oddly like... Revisiting a place you grew up as a child and seeing how it had changed (and in some ways stayed the same.) Please keep doing these once and a while. :)

Fri February 22, 2013 at 5:35 pm

The Satori Night Alien 5760x1080 is beautiful on triple monitors! Thank you so much!

I find it to be the best of the series. I always like the darker, more mysterious renders.

Fri February 22, 2013 at 1:38 pm

Guess I was checking the site right as the Pandora version was being uploaded, because here it is. :)

Fri February 22, 2013 at 9:46 am

I love this new 'Pandora' variation. Brilliant work.

Fri February 22, 2013 at 8:54 am

I love this one.

Thu February 21, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Yes, I agree. The Pandora version is really neat!

Thu February 21, 2013 at 8:11 pm

Let me add my vore for the "Pandora" version too! I absolutely love it!

Thu February 21, 2013 at 6:03 pm

I definitely like the Pandora version better. I think the additional lighting from the phosphorescent plants helps lighten the scene, too. And that "natural, yet unworldly" effect that you do so well really shines here.

Thu February 21, 2013 at 4:52 pm

"Pandora version"
Oh, this is very nice! The regular night version still has its charm, but I think I like this one a little more.

Thu February 21, 2013 at 3:58 pm

"Full Pandora"
Yes, yes, yes.

Thu February 21, 2013 at 3:12 pm

"10/10 "
Wonderful colors! Yes, put this in the main gallery.

Thu February 21, 2013 at 12:01 am

"Now this is great"
Love the colors.

Thu February 21, 2013 at 11:35 am

"Best yet!"
Cant wait for the multi screen!!

Thu February 21, 2013 at 11:32 am

"Triple monitor 5760 - satorinightalien1"
I know it is a pain on render time, but this needs to be a triple. Some of your best items are in the pickle jar with no triple monitor. This piece is another of those cases.

The reason I bought a lifetime membership was specifically for your 5760x1080 resolutions.

Thu February 21, 2013 at 10:45 am

Yes, I am starting the multiscreen render right now. Hopefully it will be ready by tomorrow morning or late this evening.


Thu February 21, 2013 at 9:54 am

Previous post was meant for the Pandora version...

Thu February 21, 2013 at 9:49 am

Any chance this going to done in dual-screens? This looks great!

Thu February 21, 2013 at 9:47 am

Chris C
Pandora version should definitely be in the main gallery. The additional color makes it so much better!

Thu February 21, 2013 at 9:34 am

Brain-freeze. Thanks for the heads up!

Wed February 20, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Why is this called Tharsis in the members' gallery ...?

Wed February 20, 2013 at 3:03 pm

"10 - Brilliant"
Full Pandora is something you should absolutely go for with this one... but keep this version in the pickle jar.

In the depths of Summerwood, a mystical tree grows with all the spirit of the forest within her bark... this is that tree. It brings the magic and wonder to the forest..

It also makes for a nice dual screen coupled with summerwood. It almost tells a story... I think shakespeare would agree. "I'll met by moonlight, proud Titania". Right here.

Wed February 20, 2013 at 8:49 am

There will be purple glowy things for sure. Fortunately there are some good candidates for "glowification" already in the scene...

Tue February 19, 2013 at 9:11 pm

"Pandora or Lothlorien?"
I was originally thinking Lothlorien at night but with the lighting and lack of structures it could easily be Pandora too.

If you want to go full throttle on the Pandora render I say go for it. What would you change? I suspect it would need some purple glowy thingies, (excuse my technical language) and if you could make the hanging tree branches luminescent it would resemble the tree of voices.

Maybe I'll just shut up and let you use your artistic ability which is infinitely better than mine.

Tue February 19, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Is it just me or do I see a sort of mask or a face with hollow eyes. A little creepy, I like the effect. Something out of a haunted forest. A keeper

Tue February 19, 2013 at 12:39 am

"Right Side"
I'm really starting to love this piece. Only gripe is that the right side looks washed out compared to the left which is distracting. I realize this is probably suppose to be the moonlight but it just doesn't come across well.

Tue February 19, 2013 at 11:56 am

It's a good scene for nighttime-type lighting; I like the silhouette-look, maybe even better than the daytime.

Go for it! "Pandora or bust!" :)

Tue February 19, 2013 at 11:15 am

Given all of the "Avatar" comparisons perhaps I should do one more render and go "Full Pandora". What do you think?

Tue February 19, 2013 at 9:44 am

Ads we have to see that are related to DB are just fine. Especially if they don't blink. I hadn't even noticed until I read the article.

Tue February 19, 2013 at 8:54 am

Rob L
I really like both versions (day/night), and maybe it's just my computer, but the moonlight seems weird to me. Almost like it's "washed out". Otherwise I think it's great, I've never actually had one I disliked at all. Not saying I dislike this one either :)

Tue February 19, 2013 at 8:21 am

@Jeff: (Satori (Night) 2013 = Pandora (Avatar) !!)

That was the thought the crossed my mind as well, when I first saw this image!

A serene picture. Thank you, Ryan.

Tue February 19, 2013 at 7:36 am

Speedy J
I love it because it's an idyllic setting....so relaxing.

Great work!

Tue February 19, 2013 at 1:00 am

Since my favorite of you wallpapers is Summerwood, of course I liked this.

Mon February 18, 2013 at 11:31 pm

Sartori (Night) 2013 = Pandora (Avatar) !!

Mon February 18, 2013 at 10:49 pm

I had switched to satori(day) and was enjoying its dreamy tree quality, but I love night scenes even more.

Mon February 18, 2013 at 10:45 pm

"@The Guru"
I tweaked the heck out of it before I posted (this time). The multiscreen is rendering now and then onto new frontiers...

Mon February 18, 2013 at 7:10 pm

The Guru
I guess I'm the only one here who thinks this one deserves a ten. I would be perfectly happy with no tweaking. This is definitely one of my favourites. Good job!

Mon February 18, 2013 at 6:56 pm

I didn't bother to put the day time version on my desktop as I didn't really rate it. This night time version makes the cut however. Nice job.

Mon February 18, 2013 at 3:40 pm

"9/10 Terrific!"
I was hoping for a night version of this render! My only comment is that the right side of the tree seems lighter than the left side. It would be a perfect 10 if both areas were evenly dark, with perhaps another firefly high in the tree on the right. But overall, Great!

Mon February 18, 2013 at 2:46 pm

I gave this a 9 because It's so pretty. I love the twinkle lights and the blue tones in this render. Great Job Ryan!!!

Mon February 18, 2013 at 12:13 am

I love night views for wall paper. The day view is just a little too lush and busy for my desktop.

Mon February 18, 2013 at 11:52 am

Is it just me or does this remind anyone else of Avatar?

Mon February 18, 2013 at 10:36 am

"Very Nice!"
I like the Summerwood callback, and the lighted lilies are a neat touch.

Mon February 18, 2013 at 10:15 am

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Sunspire by Night (2004)"
Only 221 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy