Shifting Sands

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Tableau
"Tableau"

9.27/10 rating
(188 votes)

Print Available!
Ryan's TipJar

Every Christmas my Mom and I exchange calendars. She receives a DB calendar and I receive the new Sierra Club offering, which hangs in our kitchen throughout the year. I am often inspired by the beautiful nature images and every once in a while I try to recreate something from the calendar.

It so happens the May 2017 page features a lovely photo of sand dunes...

I created this scene as an exercise to learn how to better use World Machine and the Geoglyph plugin. I hope you enjoy the results!

Member Comments

Ivy
"stunning!"
this one takes my breath away.

Sun September 10, 2017 at 6:01 pm

mollycule
"WOW"
WOWEE this is beautiful! Some of your scenes can be very realistic-looking, but more beautiful than can usually be captured with a camera. I frequently have to explain to people that your images are digital renders. Very cool!

Sat September 9, 2017 at 10:38 am

Ozaawaagos
"Beautiful"
Reminds me of the time I've spent in the Arizona and The California High Deserts, when I use to live there. Simply Beautiful

Fri August 25, 2017 at 6:31 am

Colin
"Makes me miss the desert"
I spent a lot of time in the Mojave and south-east Asia, and love this render!

Wed August 9, 2017 at 7:41 am

Ben K
"Maybe best desert themed wallpaper yet"
I missed this one somehow when it came out. Definitely a refreshing variation on desert/sand theme wallpaper, which are usually too bright for my preference. That is not an issue here, where the dunes are rich in color and texture.

Sun July 30, 2017 at 4:30 pm

Mangoman
"I actually gasped...."
The second I looked at this rendering, I actually gasped, it's that beautiful...to me. I've yet to travel to Utah, or Death Valley, or any other arid location on our planet, but this is a resplendent example of one, and again sir, your amazing talent. Live long, and Prosper. I'll help some with the prospering part. You're the best!

Fri July 7, 2017 at 1:40 am

CynCtyChik
"Beautiful!"
Reminds me of a sand dune made of Navajo Sandstone in Southern Utah(up by Zion) -- this one is my all time favorite!

Wed June 21, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Smitmaul
"Amazing"
Beautiful. I love your "places" artwork - I always want to go.

Tue June 20, 2017 at 5:36 pm

feylief
"just fell in love"
i tried making a digital painting of a canyon scape, and the amount of work i put in was insane. when i look at this, i'm awed by the level of detail and stark beauty, that awe made all the more powerful for having some first hand experience with the difficulty of doing justice to this type of landscape. truly amazing!

Tue June 13, 2017 at 10:40 am

Mario
"Shifting Sands Daylight"
Not the kind of place that would be easy to cross in the heat of the day. These sands are active!

Wed June 7, 2017 at 5:59 am

Jenanne
"Re: Top Rated"
Those darn tally manipulators! Perhaps they are "Highland Spring" fans, determined to see it stay at #1 forever. Seriously, I understand the problem, Ryan, but my only issue with setting the requirement so high is that some highly rated renders will never get to 250 votes. For example, your terrific Christmas render "Sleepwalker Woods" (Winter/Night) scored a 9.11 rating, but only has 220 votes. Since it's from 2015, it's not likely to get many more.

Sun June 4, 2017 at 12:23 pm

Ryan
"@Rich A"
I guess I chose 250 :-)

Sat June 3, 2017 at 7:58 pm

Rich A
"Hmmm"
"I've increased the required votes to 200 in order to be listed on the 'all-time' pages."



... except that the text at the bottom of the Top Rated page reads "... 250 votes minimum for inclusion"

Sat June 3, 2017 at 10:48 am

Ryan
"@Jeananne"
I've increased the required votes to 200 in order to be listed on the "all-time" pages. When the appear high up on the list with too few votes people tend to drop 1's on them to lower the ratings. Why I do not know but with at least 200 ratings it will be harder to manipulate the tally.

Fri June 2, 2017 at 8:06 pm

Jenanne
"Top rated?"
This terrific render should have surpassed "Highland Spring" for the highest rated render of all time, but for some reason none of the recent works show up on the list. Enough members have voted, unless the parameters have changed. A glitch in the software perhaps?

Fri June 2, 2017 at 11:08 am

Rodewaryer
"Outta the park"
You knocked this one outta the park, I'd call it a grand slam if it had slightly more dramatic geologic features but that's not a criticism, as I can't find anything wrong at all in your rendering. What a great creation Ryan!

Wed May 31, 2017 at 2:33 am

Ozaawaagosh
"Worldly"
Love The Colours, Amazing how this could be a place here, or maybe even Mars. So other Worldly, very Stunning Love IT

Tue May 30, 2017 at 4:58 am

Yvan T
"Beautyfull texture"
Wow this is a lovely picture.

Nice colors and shades.

Amazing.

Mon May 29, 2017 at 8:28 pm

T-Dub
"Fantastic"
love the detail in the textures. Could be another planet at sunset... could be the future.. or the past. Shifting Sands is open to vast interpretation by the viewer. It's the appeal of art vs technical achievement. Bravo!

(Looking forward to the dual screen version!! (Mac/split)

Mon May 29, 2017 at 1:19 pm

Richard Bisschops
"Shifting Sands"
I would like to see more of these. I calm nice picture with not so much "things" on it. However much detail! Great as wallpaper. Beautiful picture!

Mon May 29, 2017 at 12:32 pm

Andrew
"A return to glory!"
Ryan, as a writer, I've always appreciated your pieces like this. It's atmospheric, it invites questions to be filled by the viewers imagination. Too many of your recent works have focused on the technical challenge of creating the most complicated image. You comment frequently on how long it takes images to render. That complexity buries the charm and mystery of your early works. It's the reason I have not switched to a Lifetime Supporter. With Shifting Sands you manage to maintain both the complex detail of the image AND the sense of mystery and story telling. Bravo. More like this please!

Mon May 29, 2017 at 8:00 am

Jenanne
"Fabulous"
Just when I think you can't possibly exceed yourself, Ryan, you come up with...this. Incredible. But I have to disagree with those who want you to add various people and/or animals. It's perfect as is.

Sun May 28, 2017 at 12:18 pm

Doc
"Oh yeah !"
The textures, colours and lighting come together to give a feeling of ancient, and maybe something that was once very different but that was a long long time ago.

(Similar to a previous post, but I'm thinking more mechanical, I'd love to see a version with something like a 'planetary expedition vehicle' or similar traversing the valley. Something relatively small to keep that sense of inhospitable space and size.)

Anyway, I like it, a lot.

Sun May 28, 2017 at 7:24 am

Don
"Incredible! WOW!"
Love this desert landscape the colours are so lively!

Sat May 27, 2017 at 12:24 pm

Stephan
"Oh, WOW!"
I literally just shouted that out loud when I first saw that. That's absolutely amazing.

Sat May 27, 2017 at 11:28 am

ChrisW
"Ah, summer"
Incredible image, but I think it needs 2 things:

1. A Man in Black, fleeing across it, and;

2. A Gunslinger to follow.

Fri May 26, 2017 at 11:41 pm

Jess
"Perfect"
This is exactly what I've been waiting for!

Fri May 26, 2017 at 9:56 pm

Mark
"Wow"
Incredible! That's all that I need to say.

Fri May 26, 2017 at 2:46 pm

Littlemom
"A Perfect 10!!!"
Oh my gosh Ryan this is absolutely stunning!!! I seriously thought it was a picture from the calender your mom gave you. It looks so professional. Simply amazing. Even my husband was amazed.

Fri May 26, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Gene
"Stunning, Spellbinding"
Just finished saving this to my "DB Favorites" folder, setting it as my desktop background, and giving it a 10. Shoot, if the scale went up to 15, I'd have given it that. Brilliant, as the other member said. I won't bother to conjure more mere words.

Fri May 26, 2017 at 12:53 pm

B0bb1ns
"Effortlessly brilliant"
Great mix of colours, depth and shade. Keep up the good work!

Fri May 26, 2017 at 11:26 am

Barry
"Wow"
"10" - I love the natural detail in this one! Is there any way to make this available in dual screen resolutions?

Fri May 26, 2017 at 11:04 am

James
"Simple Yet Amazing!"
Such a simple natural landscape yet there is so much detail and shading/shadowing; I love it! Another great piece!

Fri May 26, 2017 at 10:54 am

Ashaman
"Simply"
WOW.

You never cease to out do yourself Ryan. Images like these are simply the reason I stick around and visit your page daily for updates.

Absolutely love it!

Fri May 26, 2017 at 10:23 am

Rick Raborn
"Shifting Sands"
Ryan,



Exquisite. The colors playing across the image are amazing. Very nice work. It makes me think of the movie Dune. Love it!

Fri May 26, 2017 at 10:19 am

Zach
"10"
Wow, I don't give out a perfect 10 very often. I try to save that score for the pieces of yours that truly speak to me. This is absolutely stunning, and I can't wait to see the multis!

Fri May 26, 2017 at 9:50 am

EMTMCG
"Sandy"
Wow this one is really cool! With a red sky it could also me Mars.

Fri May 26, 2017 at 9:38 am

Christian
"Shifting Sands"
one of the more fresh Ideas I have seen in a long time, and I absolutly love it. The sand looks amazing, and it opens up a whole new terrain type to color and mix with other climates that you do. As Always, keep kicking ass

Fri May 26, 2017 at 9:35 am

AG
"MORE LIKE THIS"
This is great! Would love to see more 'real world' scenes like this and more planetscapes too. Day night versions always welcome. Good to see you doing images like this again, haven't been the biggest fan of the plant factory stuff tbh.

Fri May 26, 2017 at 9:34 am

Doug Wilson
"Stunning!"
Ryan, I normally prefer night time or dark renders but this turned out beautiful!



I'd still like to see a night sky with the sand lit by a full moon but I truly love this version.

Fri May 26, 2017 at 9:33 am

Paul Gibbs
"Wow"
The detail in some of these, you could be cheating and it's really a photo... amazing Mr Bliss.

Fri May 26, 2017 at 9:21 am

mst51
"Beautiful!"
This is just gorgeous! I love the peaceful feeling it engenders.

Fri May 26, 2017 at 9:17 am

Pete
"Stunning!"
You've outdone yourself, Ryan... certainly passes the Graphics Turing Test for me; congrats on an exceptional piece!

Fri May 26, 2017 at 9:01 am

Edwin
"Needs sandworms"
Just kidding about the sandworms. However, it does make me think of Arrakis.

Fri May 26, 2017 at 8:51 am

BR
"My Favorite So Far!"
This is one of my favorites so far. I love the array of different colors and hues and the brightness is not overpowering, It's just dark enough to allow the icons on my desk top to pop out well enough to see them.

Fri May 26, 2017 at 8:48 am

RobC
"More real than real..."
Awesome picture - is there a multi-screen in the works?

(Like you haven't hear THAT request before...)

Fri May 26, 2017 at 8:41 am

TheDrooper
"Almost perfect"
Only one thing missing: some kind of animal walking in the shadowy areas of this scene.

Fri May 26, 2017 at 0:37 am

Mark A.
"Shifty"
I like this one. The sky looks pleasant and peaceful yet the sands look dry, desolate & barren. It's like sweet and sour sauce.

Thu May 25, 2017 at 10:54 pm

Luke
"Fantastic Realism!"
I was blown away by the realism of this one. Even on your most beautiful works, I can often tell it's CG, but this one could have fooled me.

Thu May 25, 2017 at 10:54 pm

Multiple Monitors?
DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
wmpractice1
8.50/10 rating (4 votes)

Digital Blasphemy 2018 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy