Become a Member!

~or~
Become a Patron!

Not a Member?
Enter your email address
and be notified when
I post new artwork!

subscribe
unsubscribe

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Morning Light
"Morning Light"

7.23/10 rating
(105 votes)

Print Available!
Ryan's TipJar

A Member recently wrote...

"Would it be possible to do an abstract at some point that is more minimalist? Generally I love the incredible amount of detail that is everywhere in your work, but for some types of wallpapers (mobile mostly) I prefer things which are towards the minimalist side, and abstracts seem like the perfect place for that."

I decided to try it out so I put together something very quickly, very "minimally", in Lightwave. I only used Lightwave's "Textured Environment" for this piece, no geometry at all, and I previewed it for my Members a couple of days ago. The feedback was generally positive so I kept tinkering.

This "finished" version is a bit more complex than I had originally intended but the construction is still fairly minimalist. I added a single 2D plane and some volumetric lights so it is technically a "3D wallpaper".

All in all it was a fun exercise and nice to render something that only takes 30 min instead of 30 hours. I will try to have a multiscreen up shortly along with some of the early versions. Hope you enjoy it!!

Member Comments

Rick (Horseman)
"Simplexity from the 2013 gallery"
Our spirits and energy are linked as one with the universe. When there is a disconnection, fragmentation, and chaos replaces purity of soul.

Tue March 13, 2018 at 8:18 am

Brian
"8/10"
It really pops on my tablet and phone.

Mon April 8, 2013 at 9:32 am

Ryan
"@Scott"
The iPad HD link should be working now. Thanks!!

Sat April 6, 2013 at 9:07 am

Scott
"7/10"
I like the piece, and the minimal quality, but as mentioned earlier it does remind me more of my window with bullet holes in it :) not a bad thing, but detracts a little in my head at least! :)

Also -no iPad HD render? (2048x2048)

thanks as always for all your hard work!

Fri April 5, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Jenanne
"9/10"
Well, that's the fastest multiscreen render I've ever seen. :) I love H20 Weave, too. It's one of my all-time favorites, and I was sorry when my screen outgrew it. I'd love to see that one as a remake, or just some larger sizes. If you have the time for additional requests -- I'm sure everyone has some image they'd like bigger, or brighter, or darker, or in different colors.... :)

Fri April 5, 2013 at 10:44 am

John
"9/10"
This is currently my phone background. Its different than the vague idea I had in mind, but I like it a lot. Above and beyond that, it is incredible to me, and was an incredible experience for me, to be able to post a comment on a site with 18,000 current members and have the artist not only respond but actually create something along those lines. I am blown away and deeply gratified. Thank you.

Fri April 5, 2013 at 0:14 am

jlpilkin
"1/10"
Hmm... :/



I think it's just the style that was chosen that I dislike, regardless of the amount of effort that was put into this piece.



For a simplistic image, I would rather have something less "spidery", like many of your early abstracts ("Flamedesk" and "H20 Weave" are good "simplistic" examples of what I like - though this is just my opinion).



Sorry that I had to give you a 1, but it is my honest opinion. Looking forward to your next masterpiece!

Thu April 4, 2013 at 7:27 pm

Lidia
"Not appealing"
I really don't like this one, and not because it is "minimalist". I honestly think you could pull off a much more appealing minimalist image.

Thu April 4, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Jenanne
"9/10"
What a great name for this piece! I love the names you come up with, particularly for your abstract renders. I, too, think it looks like bullet holes in glass, but I like the effect very much. It has sort of a edgy feel to it, which is enhanced by the simplicity of the image. Terrific!

Thu April 4, 2013 at 10:28 am

Ryan
"@cat"
Those are artifacts of the noise function applied to the individual "blasts". Echoes would be a good word for them. Sorry they are distracting!

Thu April 4, 2013 at 8:42 am

Chase
"7"
It's missing something...not sure what. But it does remind me that I need to get my windshield fixed. This is what it looks like at night when hit by oncoming headlights.

Thu April 4, 2013 at 5:18 am

JMK in CT
"8"
Nice but for some reason it reminds me of bullet holes in a piece of glass.

Thu April 4, 2013 at 5:12 am

cat
"8.5"
whats up with the writing in the picture like the "xj" or the "70s" in the medium blue color. it draws a way too much from the main image

Thu April 4, 2013 at 2:58 am

Sean
"9"
Really liked this one. Probably one of my favorite abstracts in a while, actually.

Thu April 4, 2013 at 0:30 am

Hoverwolf1
"8/10"
Not a fan of minimalist,(or abstract, for that matter) but this is still cool. I don't know what sort of mobile the aforementioned member was complaining about, however. I prefer the details. Example, I have a Samsung Galaxy S2 with Phraxis (planet view) as the background. I don't have any issues with it cluttering up the screen. Maybe some of us are just better at sorting through "clutter". As far as this piece is concerned, I like the color juxtapostition. Although, I might suggest using a medium or dark green instead of red to oppose the blue. That way, they would complement eachother rather than contrast. But, that's just me spitballing. Maybe it would work; maybe not. I still think this one is cool, though.

Wed April 3, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Multiple Monitors?
DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
simplexity1b
7.20/10 rating (5 votes)

simplexity1a
7.00/10 rating (5 votes)
Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2018 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy