A number of folks were perplexed by the planets that I added to my 2013 "Singularity" update. The original did fine without them, but I added them to this scene because I wanted to try a "from the ground" render.

That render took Vue a little longer than I had anticipated (84 hrs!) but it is complete and now available to my Members. I'm calling this one "Singularity Rising" (for now) bit that may change as I make some revisions.

I hope the issues that were pointed out for "Singularity" are minimized in this planetary render. Perhaps I will go back and render a version without the planets?

8.20/10 rating (122 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

7.77/10 rating (39 votes)

Member Comments

Simple reason I'm giving it a perfect score is because I'm left in great perplexity looking at it. It's mind-boggling for me, it truly truly truly is!

Mon April 14, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Love this piece, but really really want dual and tri screen renders for my workstations! Please? I like all of the versions of this, but I love the stuff going on in the background of this one and really want it for my setup. Been waiting for an update for multi-screens since it came out.

Thu April 18, 2013 at 1:52 pm

I agree... My Work Laptop wants a dual-screen of this. Need to confuse my "normal" co-workers with your realistic sci-fi landscapes more! = )

Fri April 12, 2013 at 5:05 pm

way too much going on in it. just a simlpe galaxy would win me over.

Sun April 7, 2013 at 12:51 am

Could we have dual screen versions? Please?

Thu April 4, 2013 at 8:17 am

"V.1 remake"
Can we please get version 1 with a little less brightness for the Singularity? I can't use it on my desktop as-is because that really bright spot just blinds me.

Mon April 1, 2013 at 6:54 pm

The ground views always seem a little busy (on the ground) to me, but I prefer V1 as the lighting seems a little unreal, which I would imagine is what it would be like to be near one of these things. Love it.

Mon April 1, 2013 at 12:39 am

"V.1 vs V.2"
Decided to go back to V.1 for the gallery on this one.

Mon April 1, 2013 at 8:47 am

I like the new version better because of the greater contrast... the pickle jar version to me looked a bit washed out. Personally I would increase the contrast/darken it a bit more to make it look a bit more like a night seen but I like the night scenes the best. Undecided if I agree about it being a bit cluttered... Maybe would consider decreasing the bioluminescence in the center, if it were me. Still really cool image no matter what.

Sat March 30, 2013 at 2:35 pm

"Picklejar version?"
It looks like the Picklejar version is quite a bit more popular overall (a 8.53 rating from 68 votes versus a 7.75 rating from 36 votes). I like the brighter treatment of the singularity, but I do agree that the new version seems a bit cluttered. The bioluminescence from the blue plants, in particular, is a little distracting. Perhaps the PJ version should get the multiscreens, if you're going to do them?

Fri March 29, 2013 at 3:28 pm

I love the image itself but its a bit to dark, even though I get it being a black hole I wish we could have played with the colors a bit more to give some brightness to it. Its always hard to put a really dark background on anything unless it has a nice bright focal point and this one doesn't really have it.

Fri March 29, 2013 at 11:58 am

I'm aware it took a huge amount of time to render, but I really prefer the lighter coloured variation with the clouds (singularityrising1), and hope there might be a multiscreen version.

Wed March 27, 2013 at 6:29 am

I think if the singularity and the planets are scaled down so it looks like they are a bit further away and the sky a bit darker it looked better to me, it`s a little bit crowded now

Sat March 23, 2013 at 5:51 am

Trippy and yet enjoyable.

Waiting for the dual screen so I can have my co-workers marvel at it when they come by my cube. B-)

Fri March 22, 2013 at 5:59 pm

"Better in some ways"
This one is much better due to the singularity being less overwhelmingly bright, but I miss the clouds and plants from the first version. I also think it would be better without the ringed planet.

Fri March 22, 2013 at 5:33 pm

I really like both equally. I like that this has more color and I like the heavier shadows but I liked the other one just as much because of it being washed out and seemingly more like a dying planet being that close to a singularity.

Fri March 22, 2013 at 2:14 pm

I've added a new render of "Singularity" Rising" to the Members Gallery this afternoon. The first version did seem a bit washed out to me so I have endeavored to add some more color his time around.

I nixed most of the clouds in this version. It was a tough call to make but it brought the render time down from 85 hours to around 13.

Let me know what you think of the changes!

Fri March 22, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Inspired by Waking Mars?

Thu March 21, 2013 at 9:18 pm

This one looks great! Keep up the good work! What would be even better would be an urban view of this from the planet. So scrap all the plants etc and replace them with a city. Now that would be cool,a city about to be swallowed whole

Thu March 21, 2013 at 8:47 pm

At first I agreed it seemed a little 'washed out', but actually it could be argued that atmosphere/climate are the cause of that. After all, human eyes are optimized for Earth's atmosphere.

This works GREAT as a Windows 7 lock screen for my 1080p monitor!

I can't stop using 'The End 2012' as my main dualscreen paper though. :)

Thu March 21, 2013 at 10:41 am

This looks epic - I don't mind the pastel colours compared to the space render, gives it a sense of looking through a misty / foggy atmosphere on the planet we're stood on.

Thu March 21, 2013 at 9:10 am

I really like this...is very pretty. I think a "day" version of just the alien planet could be interesting without the singularity.

Tue March 19, 2013 at 3:37 pm

I prefer the space one but this one is pretty good. I just like your space images the best overall so I'm usually happy with them.

Tue March 19, 2013 at 11:25 am

I love the sense of alien ecology. I love it when you do that. I'm talking myself into the limited color choices being a good idea, in light of the proximal explosion.

Heh. Unintentional puns are the best kind.

Tue March 19, 2013 at 6:52 am

For some reason, the image seems to be "washed out" to me, like there something wrong with the contrast. And I'd have to agree with Doug B. on its busyness.

Mon March 18, 2013 at 9:18 pm

Chris B
way better than the space one IMO. The Foreground really makes this one. As others have said, it is washed out which I like on one hand, but the other hand wants to see it in all it's splendor.

And I don't expect it, but it would be cool to see it ripping the other planets apart ;)

Mon March 18, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Alex H
The Washed out-ness is freaking awesome imo. I don't rate many pics 10, but everythign about this one is so beautiful. The other version is less washed out, and that looks awesome too, but the colours in this one are just perfect

Mon March 18, 2013 at 4:19 pm

I agree with D that it looks a bit washed out. Were it more bold especially in the sky object and a cooler palette overall it'd be an easy 10.

Mon March 18, 2013 at 3:59 pm

I prefer this version, which is wonderfully 'alien'. Would quite like to see a version either with the ringed planet much smaller or without it altogether.

Mon March 18, 2013 at 2:16 pm

The landscape is really cool but the colors of the singularity are just too washed out in this version.

Mon March 18, 2013 at 1:38 pm

Wonderful! I love the foreground, and for some reason I like the background much better now. Terrific render!

Mon March 18, 2013 at 12:09 am

"SO cool! 10"
Wow, the planetscape looks gorgeous!! I can't find one single detail I could complain about :-) It has a sense of "normality" inmidst this unrealistic setting which I think has made many of your former works so stunning. Don't know how you achieved it here, but I don't care, it's just great!

Oh, and this "washed-out" look fits very well as the light is being dispersed in the clouds and atmosphere. It also makes the outer singularity parts look less oily.

Mon March 18, 2013 at 11:53 am

The loss-less files should be showing now. Thanks!

Mon March 18, 2013 at 10:56 am

Where are the 1440p and 1600 lossless versions?

Mon March 18, 2013 at 10:38 am

Doug B.
This one just seems too "busy" to me

Mon March 18, 2013 at 8:33 am

Aesthetically it is amazingly pleasing. I just have one question: Aren't singularities supposed to have such a strong gravitational pull at their center that not even light can escape? The physics doesn't seem right... Otherwise, perfect!

Mon March 18, 2013 at 8:33 am

"8 - Too many planets"
I always like your alien landscapes with interesting skies, but how exactly is this solar system set up? How are there three planets in the sky large enough not to just be point sources. One makes sense if you're on a moon orbiting it, but what are the other two doing? Yeah, it's kind of a literal nitpick, but a wallpaper is something you stare at a lot and this sort of thing bugs me. So I would definitely approve of a version with fewer plants. Otherwise I love it.

Mon March 18, 2013 at 1:54 am

"5...Washed Out"
This looks really really washed out. Especially if you compare it to Singularity 2013.

Sun March 17, 2013 at 9:41 pm

So the "alien" plants in on the rock outcroppings really remind me of a perennial flower native to my area called a Spider Lily (Lycoris radiata). See the picture on Wikimedia: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Red_spider_lily_October_2007_Osaka_Japan.jpg

Sun March 17, 2013 at 9:26 pm

"I really like the foreground, but..."
I really like the foreground on this one, but really don't like how the background came out. I really dislike how the black hole came out so much brighter than in the planetscape, and I don't really like the planet with the rings. I would really like to have this foreground with a better background, though.

Sun March 17, 2013 at 7:12 pm

The Guru
I don't know how you did it, but everything that was wrong with the last rendition was fixed with the ground view. I love the alien nature of this planet and how it blends seamlessly with the sky. Definitely one of my favourites. Good job!

Sun March 17, 2013 at 6:13 pm

I'm a different Tyler than the other poster. I like to think I'm the original one =) Anyway I LOVE this piece and feel that it has one of the most intense 'otherworldly' feels I've ever seen from Ryan. It absolutely screams extraterrestrial and I would travel there in a heartbeat. The lighting is also perfect in revealing all of the various planetary details that make this so amazing. Planetscapes are why I joined so forgive my rant.

Sun March 17, 2013 at 5:16 pm

i like the darkness of the Singularity 2013

I think this one is to bright

Sun March 17, 2013 at 4:19 pm

I like it. The scale of the planets and the angle of this view of space does take away from the on-the-ground perspective though.. Perhaps it would be better served without the planets?

Sun March 17, 2013 at 2:35 pm

I prefer it from this view, it's actually as near perfect as you can get! No noise on it, the water looks realistic, the planets look amazing, etc. etc.

Nice work.

Sun March 17, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Your planetscapes are what first entranced me when stumbling upon your work and this one is no different. Whenever I see these images my mind travels elsewhere, creating stories behind what is seen. With the added fog and high plants, I think this piece of art captures the scale just as well as your older stuff even without the little person standing somewhere to signify it. Regarding the planets being in it, either way they're all doomed.

Sun March 17, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Love it, as always, however the gamma seems to be too high... It looks washed out a bit, like the colors are under-saturated. I like the planets though, keep em in :D

Sun March 17, 2013 at 12:08 am

Sorry for the double comment. I was so excited by the picture, I only just now read the whole news post that went with it. Please leave the planets in! IMO they're totally awesome in the "ground view" version of this. :-)

Sun March 17, 2013 at 10:51 am

Brilliant. Love the truly unique and alien vegetation.

Sun March 17, 2013 at 10:51 am

So. Very. Cool!!!!!!!!!

Sun March 17, 2013 at 10:47 am

All new and renewing Members will receive
a signed "Thank You" postcard.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Accelerator (2005)"
Only 167 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy