7.75/10 rating (301 votes)


Member Comments

"M45 + DB = Yay!"
I truly appreciate your inspiration by one of the most gorgeous sites of our night sky as well as your creative tribute to it. The nebulosity is wonderful.

Tue September 25, 2012 at 10:20 am

Jeff R.E.
Finally got around to commenting on this render, one of my favorites. This piece actually inspired me in my own creative pursuits. Thanks again, Ryan.

Mon January 10, 2011 at 12:45 am

This piece is truly amazing. You have an inspirational gift.

Mon January 18, 2010 at 6:53 pm

"Love it!"
Please make more pictures of this type :D

Fri January 15, 2010 at 4:39 am

I love Sisters. The Pleiades is a very interesting celestial grouping. How about doing Cassiopia when you get some time.

Wed December 9, 2009 at 3:48 pm

Your star/planetscapes and abstracts are what keep me here Ryan, I love these! Especially this one!!

Tue December 8, 2009 at 8:01 am

"Another mobile resolution request"
Ryan - I have the Samsung Rogue, which has a screen resolution of 400x800. However, when turned sideways, the phone uses the *same* image, at 800x400. When turned vertical the center of the image is used. If you could accommodate this resolution, I would appreciate it. Otherwise I suppose I could make a bunch of them myself :-)

Mon December 7, 2009 at 6:59 pm

Afraid this one does nothing for me, not even sure what i,m to be looking at, for the first time in in a long time Ryan -0/10..

Mon December 7, 2009 at 1:43 pm

Ryan, I realise that you live in the nortern hemisphere and Christmas for you is all about snow, St Nick and a sled. Where I and doubtless many other members live is in the southern hemisphere (Australia in my case). Please allow that for us Christmas day will see around 40 degrees celcius so the reindeer will die of heatstroke. Can we have a summer heat version of your 2009 Christmas offering??

Sun December 6, 2009 at 8:01 pm

I hope to work on a Christmas image as soon as the new new server is humming along on its own (hopefully soon). I do have a few ideas so that part won't be hard!

Sun December 6, 2009 at 5:30 pm

"Christmas backdrop"
I was just wondering when you were coming out with a new Christmas backdrop for 2009? Keep up the great work it's the only backdrops that I us.

. Merry Christmas

Sun December 6, 2009 at 1:28 pm

I have to agree with Nate F's post.

With the exception of Desert Dawn, Dark Wings and Beginning of the End, 2009 has been a very disappointing year.

This wallpaper lacks creativity, there's nothing particularly special about it. The background is great, but the stars themselves look like they've been thrown on with some "free star brush" from DeviantArt. Really disappointing.

There is a huge gulf in quality between wallpapers made in 2008 and 2009. If the next wallpaper shows the same amount of effort as this one (almost none), don't expect me to renew my membership next year.


Wed December 2, 2009 at 11:01 am

Nate F
i really liked your last image (the blue abstract);

but this one, honestly in my opinion doesnt even fall into your top 100 images, so since that is how many i keep at an given time, im not even downloading it

sorry to be so harsh, usually i am thrilled to see another image come online, but for the first time since i signed up, im just not

Tue December 1, 2009 at 9:05 pm

The Pleiades have always been one of my favorite celestial bodies. Great picture!

Tue December 1, 2009 at 9:16 am

"Dual 1680x1050 versions?"
I asked this on another news post comment but never got a response.

Is there any chance you could do 3360x1050 renders for us with dual 1680x1050 monitors? Or, at least, do a resize as a professional graphic artist?

As a bonus, it would mean you could put properly sized watermarks on that wouldn't be concealed by the taskbar after resizing.

Tue December 1, 2009 at 8:14 am

Greg in CA
"Hey, what about some more color in the version for those of us with only one monitor?"
Just a suggestion...

Mon November 30, 2009 at 11:13 pm

"First thought Part 2"
I just put the dual widescreen version on my computer at work, and I simply can't stop staring at it. The detail is astonishing! So, "Oooooh....Pretty" x2!

Mon November 30, 2009 at 6:13 pm

"Love it"
As a student of astronomy, this is spectacular. The blues of the reflecting dust and the reds of ionized gasses really shine through absolutely spectacularly. I'd love to see you tackle one of the Orion Nebula, maybe around the Trapezium region.

All in all, wonderful!

Mon November 30, 2009 at 3:18 pm

Thanks Ryan, the splash of color on the multiscreen versions really bring the image to life. I love your space/planet-scapes and abstracts! Especially the blue ones. :)

Mon November 30, 2009 at 2:21 pm

"Triple screen paper"
Been looking forward to the triple screen wallpaper, but the watermark doesn't seem to be quite aligned properly for the middle display in the 3840x1024 version... anyone else notice this? On mine it *just* drops over the edge by a couple of pixels. A minor irritation on an otherwise great background.

Mon November 30, 2009 at 12:33 am

PNG file is available now. I really need to find a new way of keeping all of these files straight!

Mon November 30, 2009 at 11:59 am

"PNG Broken?"
Is anyone else having trouble with the PNG? I cannot seem to grab it.

This one is wonderful otherwise!

Mon November 30, 2009 at 11:42 am

"Dual screen"
Just downloaded the dual screen as soon as I saw it available. I think I'll be keeping this as my desktop for a while. I've been switching among the various abstract and space scenes... but I really love this one.

Mon November 30, 2009 at 11:28 am

"First thought"
My first thought when I saw this: "Oooohhh.... pretty...." Great job Ryan and a belated Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

Mon November 30, 2009 at 10:39 am

Sweet as!!!

Sun November 29, 2009 at 9:54 pm

"I Like"
I adjusted the image in an image editor and got some extra details to appear. I love staring at real stars, so this is a nice image when I can't watch the skies.

I think your watermark is fine. Though, my screen is only 1280 x 1024. Maybe that's a difference for some.

Sun November 29, 2009 at 8:49 pm

"about cell phones"
I haven't had any problem getting your wallpapers onto any model phone I have used. I just plug the phone into the computer and drag and drop the pictures right to the phone. I like that you have such a variety of sizes for any model of phone. Everyone who see your pictures as the background always comments and wants to know where I got the gorgeous backgrounds :)

Sun November 29, 2009 at 8:30 pm

Chris B
Kinda off the topic but I don't suppose there is any chance of dividing the "all gallery view" up by year like it was. It looks cool, but it's a lot harder to find the images I'm looking for. Unless it's just me then ignore it ;)

Sun November 29, 2009 at 7:57 pm

Chris B
"Wasn't sure at first"
but it's growing on me and it got a compliment from the wifey :) Does remind me of going up to camp with a telescope and looking at the stars.

It looks a lot better now in a darker room than it did during the day when it was bright.

My only complaint is that the 1920x1080hd seems cramped. It looks better when I used the 1920x1200 even with the little extra distortion so that the stars at the top aren't cropped. It just seems more centered & bordered. Even if the image was shrunk a little to get more of a border for the 1080hd version would make it look a little better I think.

Sun November 29, 2009 at 7:43 pm

scott wray
space scenes are/have always been my fav.

before my wife and i go to bed we watch 20/30 minutes of the history channels hit TV show, The Universe.

side note: i like having the new backgrounds on my iphone just as much as i do on my computer. Its proven to be kind of a hassel to sync up just to upload one background into the phone.


Sun November 29, 2009 at 7:21 pm

This looks so-so. I would rather like a planet scape like Planitia. Otherwise, 8/10.

Sun November 29, 2009 at 6:30 pm

"@Ryan Gamma Adjustments"
Ha, I'd forgotten there was Gamma correction in Photoshop. Thanks Ryan! Looks great now.

Sun November 29, 2009 at 4:57 pm

never mind my watermark opinion on my post bellow..



Sun November 29, 2009 at 4:51 pm

"@Ryan (Sisters) Da Vinci Quote!"

art is never finished... i wouldn't say it any better!

well i suppose this one is a simple one!

about the gamma levels:

on my apple 30" if i raise it a bit

some minor stars start to show a bit...

but i think is fine as it is!

and the water mark is fine for me but then again i have a huge desktop space!

solution? Maybe if Ryan scales down the DB mark as the resolution goes down to compensate the lack of space!!

Sun November 29, 2009 at 4:49 pm

"Ooohh pretty, I like."
This is nice, Ryan. I love it. Like Lynxie, I feel peaceful when I look at it. First words out of my mouth are above in the subject line. :)

I really like the subtle glow in the upper left and lower right corners. Looks beautiful on my widescreen.


Sun November 29, 2009 at 2:19 pm

"To Scott"
I believe when people talk about watermarks they mean Ryan's website/copyright notice on the bottom right. I'm not sure why unless it's a new web term and I'm way behind the times -- in the past watermarks were identifying marks impressed on paper during manufacturing, which were visible when the paper was held up to the light.

Sun November 29, 2009 at 1:39 pm

"Gamma Adjustments"
If you had an image editor (and the inclination to do so) you could adjust the gamma of the image itself to your liking and then you could leave the rest of your settings alone.

The sad fact is that, especially for darker images such as this, how my work looks depends a lot on your monitor settings.

Sun November 29, 2009 at 1:27 pm

I turned my gamma up based on Ryan's comment below, and it certainly made a difference! There's much more detail then I had previously noticed.

However, everything else looks crap, so I turned it back up.

Sun November 29, 2009 at 1:23 pm


Sun November 29, 2009 at 12:25 am

I have always been a major fan of the abstract and the planetary/stellar pieces. This is beautiful.


Sun November 29, 2009 at 11:26 am

Personally, I love “Sisters” the Pleiades are my favorite astronomical objects. I always love the space scenes and of course blue!! On my monitor it looks great with the nice dust clouds. I like the simplicity of it too. Added to my favorites list :).

Sun November 29, 2009 at 11:08 am

Something of a divergence of opinions here. I wonder if this one is losing something when I lower the resolution for smaller monitors.

Sun November 29, 2009 at 10:49 am

These are usually my favorites of yours but this one doesn't seem as striking as it could be (though it is still nice.)

I'm not sure what people are referring to with the watermark. It looks the same as it always has to me.

Sun November 29, 2009 at 10:39 am

Hmmm. I thought I put quite a bit of detail into this, but perhaps it is not showing up on everyone's monitors due to different gamma settings (etc). I can certainly see how if your monitor is set even just a shade darker than mine this one would look pretty boring.

Sun November 29, 2009 at 9:54 am

"@ Larawen"
Check out Display Fusion (if you're running Windows).



Sun November 29, 2009 at 9:25 am

"Dual Monitors"
I have a quick question. My current setup is dual 1920x1200 monitors, but my right one is the primary. Is there a quick way to properly display the dual monitor wallpapers? Right now the only way to do it is to open the wallpaper in a photo editor and switch the two sides.

Sun November 29, 2009 at 9:05 am

"Ooooh pretty colors"
Bluuuuue. =)

Sun November 29, 2009 at 5:13 am

Nice I think a star constellation is something new for this site. I love how ya chose blue. I love how you give the fans what they ask for. I'll be looking forward to what ya come up with for Christmas. Keep up the great work Ryan

Sat November 28, 2009 at 11:57 pm

"LOVE IT...Just got back from a 4 hour drive in my Subaru!"
Hey Ryan,

Love this image. It is perfect...and fitting for it is my birthday tomorrow and this image represents me in so many ways! Fav Color = Blue. I'm from the mountains, so I always gazed at the stars growing up. Just got back from a 4 hour trip in my Subaru, which is represented by the Pleiades constellation!

BRAVO! Simply marvelous.

Sat November 28, 2009 at 11:40 pm

"Going Back In Time"
Sorry as well. Looks like the art you made in 2000. Will look forward to your next piece. Still a big fan though.

Sat November 28, 2009 at 11:29 pm

Greg in CA
I love the space scenes!

Sat November 28, 2009 at 11:21 pm

Definitely not a fan of this one. Good effort, but it's definitely lacking something. Still very pretty, but not up to your usual excellence.

Sat November 28, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Jonathan L
I love it!

I love your space scenes so much.

This... is just fantastic. It's so simple and perfect!


Sat November 28, 2009 at 9:19 pm

Sorry Ryan, this just isn't one of your best. Cool, but not terribly interesting.

I also agree with previous comment that says the watermark still isn't right. Sticks out way too much.

Sat November 28, 2009 at 8:55 pm

"Very good work..."
...but astronomy class ruined this for me! This is great work, but (no offense Ryan) I'll take God's own version! ;-)


Sorry dude! :D

Sat November 28, 2009 at 8:13 pm

The Guru
"Simple is nice."
Serene would be the word I use to describe this one. I probably won't be keeping in on my desktop too long, due to the simplicity, but it looks very nice. Kudos.

Sat November 28, 2009 at 7:51 pm

Love It!!

Great Work Ryan!!

Sat November 28, 2009 at 7:21 pm

"Sisters are Spectacular!!"
Wow, Ryan, this is terrific! I love your space art, but this is extra special. Another thing to be thankful for on this holiday weekend!

Sat November 28, 2009 at 5:48 pm

Love all your work, but you planetscapes/abstacts are my favs. :)

Sat November 28, 2009 at 5:46 pm

Great render Ryan! Although, and I know you're probably getting sick of this from me; the watermark sticks out too much and I feel the need to use a higher resolution so it is cut off. I miss the old watermark. :'(

Sat November 28, 2009 at 4:29 pm

I'm sure I could improve it but, well, check the Da Vinci quote at the top of the new images page.

Sat November 28, 2009 at 3:46 pm

"Love it!"
I've always loved your space wallpapers, and this one is no exception. Great job! Looking forward to more in the future.

Sat November 28, 2009 at 3:32 pm

Nice deep space scenario!

and the color is the best color as usual!!

blue! =)

simple and beautiful!

tho i bet you can improve it!

Nice Work Ryan!

Sat November 28, 2009 at 3:30 pm


Sat November 28, 2009 at 3:26 pm

Ryan, this starscape is, in my opinion, one of your best works. It's subtle and feels spacious, yet retains the silent majesty of space. Well done.

On a side note, it's my birthday today. What a present, eh?

Sat November 28, 2009 at 2:59 pm

"Very peaceful"
Not sure why, but I get a peaceful feeling when I look at this one. Can't wait for the dual monitor one.

Sat November 28, 2009 at 2:23 pm

"Have always..."
Loved your space based wallpapers.

Thanks for the heads up, best thing I ever did was add you to twitter. :)


Sat November 28, 2009 at 2:04 pm

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • William Stevens -- (10/8/15)
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Accelerator (2005)"
Only 252 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy