9.05/10 rating (292 votes)
195 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

sleepwalkerwoodwinternight1
8.42/10 rating (89 votes)

sleepwalkerwoodwinternightmixed2
8.75/10 rating (20 votes)

sleepwalkerwoodwinternight3
9.14/10 rating (167 votes)

sleepwalkerwoodwinternightmixed4
9.14/10 rating (14 votes)

sleepwalkerwoodwinternightblue2
7.83/10 rating (69 votes)

sleepwalkerwoodwinternightmixed1
8.76/10 rating (96 votes)

sleepwalkerwoodwinternightmixed3
8.85/10 rating (20 votes)

Member Comments

Mason
"0/10"
Just because upon viewing the images, it seems the lower 1/2 to 1/3 of the image is not rendered (fuzzy/foggy). Otherwise, the brighter yellow/white lights which look like those off the xmas tree--looks quite nice (~4/5). Sadly, in all versions just lok like little light balls attached to the trees, not actual lights.

Fri October 17, 2014 at 11:52 pm

Greywalker
"7/10"
I have always enjoyed this background and the modifications of it for the seasons. I would have rated this higher but much like most of the lighting effects it seems to me like glowing circular bugs on a tree rather than a string of lights methodically placed. it does seem more natural from one perspective but unnatural for those of us whom have frequently seen Christmas light displays.

Wed January 9, 2013 at 4:19 am

Blake
"10"
Great wallpaper. This isn't a rating. I just couldn't find where to ask for another rsolution. Any chance you could pull off a 3840 x 2560 resolution. Your DB app on my nexus 10 says that is the resolution of my launcher. It would look awesome. Thanks.

Sat December 1, 2012 at 11:35 am

Sara
"10"
Absolutely lovely. The color variations each have their own feel and I couldn't really choose a favorite if I had to. :)

Fri November 30, 2012 at 7:18 pm

Lynn
"10"
Matt - you can scroll down in the list - they are there.

Fri November 30, 2012 at 12:31 am

Matt
"9.5"
Ryan, can't find the Dual Screen version. When you click on the "Dual Screen:" image on the "Sleepwalker Woods (Winter/Night) (Christmas)" page, it brings you to the Dual Screen section, but it doesn't list the Christmas version, only the regular walkers version. Hope you can get it up there! Thanks!!

Fri November 30, 2012 at 10:39 am

Austin
"See it in 3d"
I love this scene! It reminds me of a trip I was took to a cabin in New Mexico. I am a huge fan and wanted to show my support by creating a 3d world out of this image you can check out what it would look like to walk through here: http://youtu.be/F-V_KitkA1M it was done on the fly and I intend on creating more with better depth and some more camera interaction. Thanks Ryan for all the inspiration you have given me these past few years!

Fri November 30, 2012 at 2:51 am

Ryan
"Re: 2560 x 1024"
Strange! That file is on my server but for some reason my script is not generating the link. You can download it directly from here.

Thu November 29, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Tyler
"@Rachel"
Meant to say gets *it up. Not to imply he is sleeping on the job or anything lol!

Thu November 29, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Tyler
"@Rachel"
Same story for me. Hopefully Ryan sees our posts soon and gets up.

Thu November 29, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Rachel
"Missing Multi Screen"
I normally use the 2560x1024 Mutli Screen renders for my work computer and it seems to be missing on the "final" version. Is there a way that you can add it? I don't mind using the white light version of it, but I do enjoy the blue version too!

Thu November 29, 2012 at 9:48 am

Dusty
"Mulit Screen Hidden Holiday Message?"
I love the Sleepwalker Woods series, espcially the white and blue (blue being my favorite). As I have looked at dual screen versions over the past few days, I think I see a hidden message in the lower right hand corner in the trunk of the trees written in the 'reeds'. Are my eyes playing tricks on me?

Wed November 28, 2012 at 10:01 pm

Justin B
"My vote..."
My vote goes to 'sleepwalkerwoodwinternight3'. I like the warmer tones, and clear focus. I agree with others before me though, each of the color variations has its own feel. Great job overall.

Wed November 28, 2012 at 11:33 am

Ryan
"@Lidia"
That is my favorite too, but I would like to keep the colors as they are. Things tend to verge towards purple when I add more reds and greens to the mix.

Wed November 28, 2012 at 9:01 am

Lidia
"sleepwalkerwoodwinternightmixed4"
sleepwalkerwoodwinternightmixed4 is the best mixed one so far I think. I would really like to see it with a larger variety of colors.

Tue November 27, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Trav
"focus"
can there be versions of the pickle jar variations that dont have the middle of the image out of focus?

Tue November 27, 2012 at 12:05 am

Henry V.
"10 Love the different versions"
Great use of the Sleepwalker Woods. There's lots of variations to keep people happy with different versions. The Sleepwalker Woods I believe is one of your best works. So much has been done with it and every one of them has a different feel to it (even emotionally). Keep up the awesome work!

Tue November 27, 2012 at 6:05 am

Garry
"7"
I think a red/green Christmas variation would be fun...but maybe that's just me.

Mon November 26, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Tyler
"2560 x 1024 Multiscreen Missing"
Ryan please add when you have a moment. BTW my favorite is the blue. Your blues images are always the best go figure. Thanks and keep up the phenomenal work!

Mon November 26, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Biggs
"10"
I'm so glad you decided to go with the blue render. It is definitely my favorite version of Sleepwalker Woods and is easily one of my favorite overall wallpapers.

Sun November 25, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Jason
"Seasons"
would be nice in facebook timeline for seasonal changes!

Sat November 24, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Chris B
"White > Blue"
Just saying :) The blue makes me shiver, but the white has a lot of good color in the trees and ground. It has a warmer feel to it.



The blue is cool, but the white is better. The white feels like it is mid day & the blue feels like it is in the evening. if that makes sense.

Fri November 23, 2012 at 9:16 pm

Ness
"10"
this is stunning! definitely one of my favourites!

Thu November 22, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Sovereign
"10/10"
I had "Song of the Sky - Yuletide" as my wallpaper four years running (seasonal themes for my computer). It's finally getting bumped by something else! Now to decide between blue and white...

Thu November 22, 2012 at 11:51 am

Hectic
"Love Your Work; How About..."
I really like the deep focus version and the blue version (since blue is my color). You always have a good Christmas wallpaper like this around the holidays. I especially like any of the ones at night with Christmas lights. To that end, I thought of suggesting to you that you do a Christmas village scene. You know, lighted (flame) lamp posts, wreathes and trees decorated and lighted, etc. Just a thought I hope you will give some serious weight!

Thu November 22, 2012 at 11:26 am

degel3030
"More cowbell....err....zombies"
Love to see some zombies in this

Wed November 21, 2012 at 11:25 pm

ford freak
"red version"
I'd love to see the one with a lot of red in a 2560x1024 version.

Wed November 21, 2012 at 10:19 pm

quantum
"9"
Any chance you could animate the lights? THAT would be a cool christmas wallpaper!

Wed November 21, 2012 at 1:51 am

Violet
"10"
I love this setting, and all the color variations, there is preference for the deep focus as my eyes keep trying to fix the blur.

I'd love to see even more colors

Tue November 20, 2012 at 9:36 pm

Wintrgreen
"10"
You take my breath away. Your imagination is boundless and helps brighten this somewhat dingy corner of Britain. Love all of these, especially the blue. Thankyou.

Tue November 20, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Wintrgreen
"10"
You take my breath away. Your imagination is boundless and helps brighten this somewhat dingy corner of Britain. Love all of these, especially the blue. Thankyou.

Tue November 20, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Watcher
"10/10"
This i would love on my playstation,

Also i like the one with the red and blue.



Great work many thanx

Tue November 20, 2012 at 5:13 pm

zoo maven
"more colors"
My favorite one is the winternightblue2 also. You did a wonderful job. I am curious to know if another version could be done with a more varied amount of colors - red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple lights amongst the trees to make it look even more like a Christmas tree would. If not possible, that's okay as I really do love the winternightblue2 as I said ealier.

Tue November 20, 2012 at 12:37 am

rupietupe
"Love 'em all, but..."
I like the winternightblue2 best; the red fits with the zombie theme. :-)

Tue November 20, 2012 at 11:49 am

0beron
"Red/blue"
I second (third?) the request for the multiscreens of the red and blue version. No big deal if this isn't possible, I have the in focus white in jumbo size, that's still my favourite.

Tue November 20, 2012 at 11:03 am

Scott
"What happened to white in-focus?"
It's just gone? The only variations in the pickle jar are out of focus.



White in-focus was my favorite by far, guess it's only going to be on my Desktop.


Tue November 20, 2012 at 10:58 am

fizzrate
"Beautiful"
The white version looks absolutely photo-realistic!

Tue November 20, 2012 at 10:47 am

Josh
"Blue?"
People are crazy. The blue version is so monochromatic and cold compared to the warmer and more colorful "sleepwalkerwoodwinternight1".

Tue November 20, 2012 at 9:49 am

Ryan
"Blue vs White"
Most people seem to prefer the blue version of this scene so I will be featuring that one in my gallery. Thanks for helping me by rating the different renders in the Pickle Jar!!

Tue November 20, 2012 at 8:29 am

Shelly K.
"sleepwalkerwoodwinternightmixed1, sleepwalkerwoodwinternightblue1"
I like the dual versions of these. I didn't see a 3360x1050 in the Pickle Jar versions, though. Would love to see a dual screen in the red/blue one, too. Keep up the good work!:-)

Mon November 19, 2012 at 11:17 pm

Noliving
"sleepwalkerwoodwinternightmixed1 and winternightblue2"
2560x1440 for the mixed and lossless versions of that resolution for both for both of them please!

Mon November 19, 2012 at 7:55 pm

cappydawg
"great"
Just beautiful!!

Mon November 19, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Lidia
"Variations"
Interesting variations, especially the last one (sleepwalkerwoodwinternightmixed1). I'd really like to see that one with more variety of colors (like adding green and yellow to the mix).

Mon November 19, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Zebulin
"@Ryan RE: Missing Dual Screen"
Fixed, thank you! :)

Mon November 19, 2012 at 1:25 pm

Jon Wayne
"10/10"
This one is the best!

Mon November 19, 2012 at 12:49 am

Bob
"Blue dual screen"
5120x1440 coming as well?

Mon November 19, 2012 at 12:40 am

Ryan
"@Zebulin re:2560 x 1024"

Mon November 19, 2012 at 12:30 am

Zebulin
"Missing Dual Screen"
The Blue version, dual screen (2560x1024) seems to be missing: http://digitalblasphemy.com/content/picklejar/sleepwalkerwoodwinternight3/sleepwalkerwoodwinternightblue12x2560.jpg



Getting URL not found.

Mon November 19, 2012 at 11:33 am

betsey
"8"
can't wrap my head around the purple...yet!!! maybe it does need a bit of focus!!!

Mon November 19, 2012 at 11:08 am

betsey
"8"
can't wrap my head around the purple...yet!!! maybe it does need a bit of focus!!!

Mon November 19, 2012 at 11:08 am

ChrisSpera
"Thank You for the Variations"
The pickle jar variations on this are really great, Ryan. Thank you for rendering them for us. I'm using ChronoWall at the office, and these are going to round out the Christmas set very nicely.

Mon November 19, 2012 at 9:05 am

Walo
"wow"
It's been a while since I last visited to look around, and I must say these renders are great.

Mon November 19, 2012 at 8:46 am

pendragyn
"Purple in focus"
Love the purple, would really like it in focus. The blue is very nice too, and the original is stunning. Thank you so much for all the lovely work!

Mon November 19, 2012 at 1:42 am

JC
"Winter sparkles"
Love them all, but to me blue is quitessentially winter, while multi is more Christmas. The red one is cool, but for some reason it reminded me of Hallowe'en... it's screaming out for the headless horseman riding through the tunnel.

Sun November 18, 2012 at 9:58 pm

Scott
"Staying with different"
The blue is definitely pretty and common. I kept being drawn to the component colors of the purple. The purple was more interesting and fantastical.

Sun November 18, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Trav
"focus"
Can you please render the pickle jar versions in full focus like you did with the main one?? I will make it my background if you do! :D

Sun November 18, 2012 at 7:12 pm

Varoon
"Winter Night Blue"
This version just feels like a winter night.

Sun November 18, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Dana
"Blue Version"
This is wonderful. I can almost feel the snow falling quietly while walking under those lights.

Sun November 18, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Rankin
"9"
Sir, you've out done yourself. On first impression, "walking in a winter-wonder-land." Looking forward to more art

Sun November 18, 2012 at 3:59 pm

dBartender
"10"
Awesome blue version. Immediately applied the multi-screen version to my desktops.

Sun November 18, 2012 at 7:22 am

Amaryllis
"Perfect"
The Christmas version is astounding... I love all the Christmas landscapes you've done but this one is really special. I'd give it a 10!

Sun November 18, 2012 at 6:56 am

docsensi
"Its amazing...."
.....how this piece has transcended from a scary, creepy site to a blue, bright, wonderful sight!

Sun November 18, 2012 at 2:10 am

docsensi
"luv d'bleu"
thank for the focus change and this marvelous twist to an already spectacular work of art!

Sun November 18, 2012 at 2:06 am

Greg in CA
"What about a multi-color, Christmas version?"
Have no idea if it would be possible or how much work it would be for you, but it would look cool...

Sat November 17, 2012 at 10:00 pm

ChrisC
"Missing Blue 2560x1024 (dual screen)"
The blue dual screen 2560x1024 seems to be missing. It would be great if you could track it down so that I could download it. :o) Thanks, Chris.

Sat November 17, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Ryiidkyii
"Ohhhhhh love it!"
Thank you! I live in AZ and miss the snow/lights every Christmas. This feels a little bit like home came to visit every time I sit down at my computer.

Sat November 17, 2012 at 12:25 am

Noliving
"Never mind figured it out!"
Never mind figured out how to get the facebook timeline of the blue version.

Sat November 17, 2012 at 12:13 am

Noliving
"Facebook Timeline"
Anyway to get a facebook timeline of the blue version?

Sat November 17, 2012 at 12:11 am

Jason
"Multi-Screen"
Love both of these. Thank you.

Sat November 17, 2012 at 11:32 am

Roboto
"Blue multiscreen"
Christmas spirit in a wallpaper.

Sat November 17, 2012 at 9:53 am

Hoverwolf1
"Blue"
Love the idea. Prefer the blue version. Then again, blue and silver are my favorite Christmas colors.

Sat November 17, 2012 at 6:36 am

Jack
"10"
Love the blue one! Can't wait for the multi-screen!

Fri November 16, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Darla
"10"
Love this! Both versions are beautiful.

Fri November 16, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Littlemom
"10,10,10!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
OMGosh The blue lights on this are amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It so puts me in the holiday spirit.

Fri November 16, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Seth Eden
"10"
I sure love this! Esspecially the Blue version! But they are all good! It would be interesting to see a variety of colors. Maybe something to think about for next year. ;-) Amazing as always!

Fri November 16, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Lidia
"Blue version"
The blue version is nice (and we always appreciate options, of course), but I like the non-blue version much better.

Fri November 16, 2012 at 6:16 pm

Tyson
"10 10 10 10"
Looks Sick!

Fri November 16, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Ryan
"Re: Blue Multi"
The blue multiscreen is rendering now. I should have it up before the end of the day. Glad you guys like it!

Fri November 16, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Russell
"sleepwalkerwoodwinternightblue1"
Please do this one dual screen. I see you have the one for my laptop already.



Thanks, man!

Fri November 16, 2012 at 1:29 pm

JD
"Blue rocks"
I like the blue version quite a bit

Fri November 16, 2012 at 1:27 pm

cdp601
"Blue Version"
Could you do a dual screen of the blue version?

Fri November 16, 2012 at 1:24 pm

Eric H.
"blue version"
So much better, thank you!

Fri November 16, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Ross H.
"The blue version..."
...is very pretty!

Fri November 16, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Kaaletram
"Blue Version"
I love this scene. Could you do a multi screen of the blue version. :D

Fri November 16, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Ryan
"@Linda (re: Christmas Card)"

Fri November 16, 2012 at 12:52 am

Linda
"10"
I think this would be a wonderful Christmas card. It is beautiful!

Fri November 16, 2012 at 12:00 am

Will
"Fantastic"
You nailed it on the last one. The first render looked a bit like a tilt shift miniature photo - didn't really work for the scene.

As for your shameless plug...

Do you know why I can't find your calender in Zazzle's Australian domain? http://www.zazzle.com.au/gifts?ch=digitalblasphemy

Fri November 16, 2012 at 2:20 am

Violet
"10"
OMG. that's gorgeous. jaw literally dropped. wow.

Thu November 15, 2012 at 10:00 pm

celmendo
"dual screen"
Really like the dual 16:10 version cropped to a single screen. Makes it a bit darker and 10 for me. One of those that you have to question if it's a photograph or not. Perfect for the holidays. love love it. thanks!

Thu November 15, 2012 at 9:44 pm

RDL
"10"
I actually don't like the yellowish hue, but I love it in black and white (ctrl+G in IrfanView). Granted I just like B&W photography, but it suits this art work so well.

Thu November 15, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Brad
"10"
Outstanding. Thanks for the fix! It's perfect.

Thu November 15, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Kelton
"10"
Perfect for the winter season. Awesome.

Thu November 15, 2012 at 2:11 pm

Thomas
"10"
This is really a perfect wallpaper for the season!

Especially as multi monitor! Looks real nice on my duals!

Really get the wintery/christmas feeling!!

Thu November 15, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Brent
"10"
Awesome. it looks great! Thank you for getting the size I need!

Thu November 15, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Zebulin
"HUZZAH!"
Now that's what I call a beautiful background. (Yes, I call most of your work beautiful, but this is something else, entirely.)

Thu November 15, 2012 at 1:03 pm

Zach
"Gorgeous"
Once we get a little closer to the holidays, I will be using this as my background. The dual-screen render is beautiful! Thanks again, Ryan, for your amazing work!



Cheers,

Zach

Thu November 15, 2012 at 12:56 am

Jason
"3840x1200"
Nevermind there it is. Thanks Ryan

Thu November 15, 2012 at 12:39 am

Jason
"Awesome!"
Where is the 3840x1200? :)

Thu November 15, 2012 at 12:32 am

Ryan
"Re: 3360 x 1050"
Apologies! The 3360 x 1050 should be showing up now.

Thu November 15, 2012 at 12:28 am

Brent
"9"
I would make it a 10 except the size I need, which is usually available.. isnt. I need a 3360x1050 (dual 16:10) version. otherwise its beautiful

Thu November 15, 2012 at 12:00 am

Tyson
"9"
Would be a 10 if it had some blue lights mixed in! :D

Thu November 15, 2012 at 10:41 am

Phoenyxx
"Awesome!"
I just love this one, it's fantastic! It's peaceful and beautiful and definitely gets me in the Christmas spirit... I will be using this one for quite a while. :)

Thu November 15, 2012 at 9:45 am

Wint
"Hopefully multiscreen coming?"
Need to update to a winter wallpaper soon, this looks like a winner if it ends up with a dual screen version :D

Thu November 15, 2012 at 9:43 am

Ben
"Awesome"
One of the very best. Will be on every screen in the house for the next 6 weeks!

Wed November 14, 2012 at 3:28 pm

Ryan
"@John"
They are actually luminescent spheres (built in Vue primatives). They only cast light through global illumination.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 3:24 pm

John
"NICE!!!"
Very cool render!!! What are those lights, Omnidirectionals? if so, DAMN!!!!

Wed November 14, 2012 at 3:20 pm

Littlemom
"10!!! "
This one is absolutely perfect. Thanks Ryan!

Wed November 14, 2012 at 12:06 am

BeccaM
"9/10"
I like this very much and fully expect to put the dual-monitor version into the rotation with my Chronowall setup here.



Just kinda wondering what this scene would look like with more than just one color of light.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 12:00 am

Dan
"10+"
Your last render with the foreground focused and the back blurred was a great photography concept. But this more focused one I really love! Keep it up! I look forward to more winter/holiday renders. This year could be a great one if you are already pumping out this good of winter themes! And what's wrong with Mars' comment? He doesn't know good wallpapers when he sees them :)

Wed November 14, 2012 at 11:39 am

Mars
"9+"
Stop coming here for about a year, wasint feeling the wallpapers since got lured into interfacelift.com 1080i wallpaper. i had to check in to see your Christmas stuff. Would have given a 10 but it need more "hi-res" but i guess am just expecting more.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 11:25 am

jmpond
"Sleepwalker woods Christmas"
Veeery Cool. Excellent for the season. Brings out the mood.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 10:58 am

John N.
"10+"
Yep, it's a 10...and then some. The resolution is sharp, there's snow on the ground, and there are the Christmas lights! What could be more perfect than that! Just love it! Kudos!

Wed November 14, 2012 at 10:33 am

Steve
"LOVE THE DDOF"
Ryan - the DOF in this is amazing and adds a great photo quality. My favorite Christmas scene you've done yet.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 10:29 am

Dave
"Awesome!"
Now let's see the multi-monitor version. :)

Wed November 14, 2012 at 10:22 am

Kyle
"10/10"
My honest first word when I saw this in the email was "ooooooooooooooo". Love it. One of your best.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 10:20 am

Ryan
"Blur"
There is actually some DOF blur in this image of course. The first two were set to "200%" blur but I dialed it back to 50% for the third version.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 10:16 am

Rachel
"Sleepwalker"
I love it, it's absolutely beautiful. I like the fact that not all the trees have the same amount of lights or brightness, the variety seems more realistic. I wouldn't add anything, it's perfect just the way it is. Simple, clean, elegant.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 9:26 am

Sandra C.
"10"
Love it. :) I like how it looks like there's just a bit of blur around the lights.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 9:24 am

Michael
"I love it"
I love Christmas lights, and this scene is amazing.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 9:11 am

Michael
"I love it"
I love Christmas lights, and this scene is amazing.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 9:11 am

doug
"sleepwalker"
Looks good. Only concern is the depth perspective on the lights. in particular there are a couple of trees in the back that appear too bright and concentrated. put gift boxes or footprints, something that will not take away from the scene.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 7:59 am

Theo
"Much better!"
This latest version is so much better! The crispness makes the picture that much more beautiful, and my eyes are happier as they're no longer struggling against the depth-blur effect.

Wed November 14, 2012 at 7:55 am

BenC
"9.5/10"
Really good, I much prefer this latest version. Now I just need to wait for the multiscreen!



(Note: only 9.5/10 as nothing can match Highland Spring and Sierra's 10/10!)

Wed November 14, 2012 at 6:50 am

David
"Center needs object(s)!"
How about some deer / snowman / something in the center, everything looks beautiful but a bit barren in the center!

Wed November 14, 2012 at 1:46 am

Chris B
"9/10"
Awesome Ryan! The first version was growing on me, but this 3rd version is just awesome in focus. I'm glad you stuck with the more lights, the more you can cram on a Christmas tree the better it looks :) I really do appreciate the photo-realism of the 1st one, but it's awesome to see everything sharply focused in all it's glory :)



PS: all the Christmas wallpapers... Someone getting excited? ;)

Tue November 13, 2012 at 11:07 pm

docsensi
"10/10"
superb!! Thanks!! putting it on my desktop NOw!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Brandi U.
"Version 3 for the win!!"
Thank you for version 3!!!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Zach
"Love the third rendition"
Though all the versions are cool, the newest one (in focus) is the most appealing to my eye. The others may be more photographically accurate, but for a desktop, the sharper focus is nice.



Cheers,

Zach

Tue November 13, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Rob C.
"All great, but like it best in focus"
I have to agree it is extremely difficult to tell this isn't a photograph. Thanks again for another truly inspiring image!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Sara
"It always amazes me..."
It always amazes me that these aren't photographs... I have to look really closely and evaluate the minute details that "give away" the truth.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Jim
"Perception"
For me, the depth of field blur was distracting, so I like the in-focus version better.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 6:35 pm

Amanda
"Most definitely a 10"
This looks so real! It's totally awesome :) I agree with the others about a version with multi-colored lights.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 6:16 pm

Shannon
"Third time's the charm!"
This is the version I've been waiting for! I like it so much better in complete focus. It looks like a photograph!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Ricahrd
"Version 3"
I like having more in focus better. The Depth of field was too small on the original. I don't suggest rerendering, but if you were, you could blur the background of 3 a bit for effect.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 5:37 pm

Ross H.
"Version Three"
Version three absolutely does it for me!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Thomas
"10"
Id love to see the multi monito from Version 3! It just looks best!!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Matt
"life like"
If i didn't know better i would of thought this was as photo

Tue November 13, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Matthew
"10"
I think this image is great. The depth of field and the bokeh is lovely. It's simple. It's sharp. It's exciting.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Henry V.
"Perfect DoF! Freaking 10!!"
I love the DoF. I dunno why people are picky about it. Very artistic and very good!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Lisa B
"10/10"
I LOVE the blur and focus exactly where it is :)

Tue November 13, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Ben
"Focus"
Maybe drop a Christmas tree at the end of the tunnel- as if you were heading down a rural street towards the city center? That might give it the focus needed - but would require a reversing of the blur with the focus in the center and blur around the edges. Love it! Multi screen renders on these last ones Pleeeeeeease!!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 11:06 am

Zebulin
"Multi-Monitor Must Happen"
Holy crap, this has to be a multi-monitor wallpaper, Ryan!!! :) I can't wait to put this on my work and home computers, my iPhone, and anywhere else I can get away with!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 11:04 am

Littlemom
"10!!! for sure!!!"
I absolutely love this. Both renders are beautiful. Have you ever considered doing something Thanksgiving related?

Tue November 13, 2012 at 10:50 am

YBNorml
"10/10!!!"
I hope you make a multi-monitor version of this :D

Tue November 13, 2012 at 10:16 am

Dan
"10"
Genius! This looks like a photograph, really! I love how you made it look like that... because you have the focus in the foreground where we can really see the tree limbs, lights, and dead grasses focused and the background blurry. Just as you would with a camera set up to photograph the scene that way! Awesome!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 9:56 am

Ross H.
"One more thing..."
I'm currently using a 13-in MacBook Pro, and wish there was a 1280x800 render. Other than that, I still love this one.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 9:43 am

Ross H.
"9/10"
Definitely better, though the blurry part still bugs me a tiny bit. Keep it up!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 9:39 am

docsensi
"7/10"
sorry for the multiple posts....technical difficulties

Tue November 13, 2012 at 9:35 am

Ryan
"Awesome - Need Dual-Screen"
Please! My monitors have jealousy issues so I can't use this until I get a dual-screen render.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 9:34 am

docsensi
"7/10"
Its amazing, but the focus shofted to the center of towards the end would make it spectacular 10/10.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 9:34 am

docsensi
"7/10"
Its amazing, but the focus shofted to the center of towards the end would make it spectacular 10/10.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 9:34 am

Liggs
"DOF"
Is it possible to dial back the DOF? I agree with the others who have mentioned that it is a little too blurry. Outside of that, though, it looks amazing!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 9:32 am

brad
"8/10"
This needs to be mastered! :D



It's so awesome, but not quite there yet. Mostly my eyes focus to a few twigs right in the center top, and it's just not enough to focus on. But the idea is solid and classic awesome DB. I also like how you turned a Halloween pic into a Christmas pic. ;)

Tue November 13, 2012 at 9:21 am

Brandi U.
"7/10"
Agree with others that has great potential. The blur is too much. It literally bothers my eyes. The lights on the trees do look amazing.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 9:05 am

Russ
"10"
Love it as it is! I live in a area that does extreme lighting of their tress in the downtown. A photographer took a picture similar to this and there is no way of telling that your computer render is not a real life photo when compared. My friends and colleagues have always gasped to find that some of my desktop backgrounds, your work, were in fact not real world photos. As always I am amazed at what you can create Ryan!!

Tue November 13, 2012 at 8:36 am

BenC
"7/10"
When I saw this as a thumbnail on my phone I thought this looked awesome.

However, when I see it in full my eyes struggle with the centre not being in focus. If you can think of a way to fix it then it'll be a ten for sure.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 6:34 am

0beron
"10"
Wow.. I wasn't a fan of the white winter version, but this is amazing. The lights illuminating the snow is perfect.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 3:58 am

Thomas
"7"
The idea is great.. Its just a little to much!

Maybe just put it on some trees, and not just as much...

The Focus is also distracing..



But it looks very promising! :D

Tue November 13, 2012 at 2:51 am

Atma
"Nice !"
Nice feature, and nice result too.



I don't know what to say about the focus exclusively on the foreground. I am not used to see that.



Can we please get a multi-screen render ot it ?

Tue November 13, 2012 at 2:38 am

Paddy
"6/10"
I like the idea but it's just too much. I find the point of focus a little distracting, and the lights are too many and too much. Less (well, fewer) would be more here.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 2:23 am

kellzilla
"Sleepwalker Woods (Winter/Night) (Christmas)"
I agree with both "focus is distracting" and "too many lights". I think reducing the number of lights would allow you to move the focus back and not overwhelm the scene.

Tue November 13, 2012 at 0:08 am

Ross H.
"Fantastic!"
I absolutely love this one, though I do agree with others that the out of focus background is a bit distracting. Other than that, it is quite lovely, and currently being used as my background.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 10:36 pm

SM
"10"
The only thing is, when will these newest wallpapers be available for the 1920x1080 single screen Zip file download?

Mon November 12, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Alex
"beautiful but..."
I am not a fan of the tight focus. The background blur is sort of distracting. Just an aside, I think I am permanently creeped out by this scene, in all it's forms, because of the zombie version!

Mon November 12, 2012 at 10:02 pm

SaltNPeppr
"Nice, but..."
A little *too* much lights? And its too out-of-focus for my taste. Too heavy-handed and the wow factor's lost.

I never thought I'd say this, but there's actually too much bling. If the lights were dialed back by, say, 25-33%, I think that'd about do it. I'm a fan too of hidden lights -- I like the ambience of lights you can only see the effect of, not the light itself.

:shrug: That's my two cents anyway. They're probably worth about as much.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 8:19 pm

Katie
"Beautiful"
Christmas is my favorite holiday and I love all things Christmas lights. :) I am instantly drawn to this holiday version of the Sleepwalker Woods, but something about the focus bothers my eyes. I don't have suggestions about how to fix it, but I look forward to a "tweaked" version.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Lidia
"Sleepwalker Woods (Winter/Night) (Christmas)"
Very nice, though I would like to see a little bit more focus and I also wouldn't mind seeing other color variations for the lights.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 7:28 pm

Tazz
"1920X1080"
Where is the 1080p res?



Image looks beautiful btw.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Ian Hopkin
"8"
Where is the iPad 4 screen size?

Mon November 12, 2012 at 7:21 pm

Chris B
"Actually..."
...My wife loves it so props to you :)

Mon November 12, 2012 at 7:15 pm

Chris B
"7/10"
Artistically I love it and I would probably take a similar photo; but I don't think it's one that would get chosen by people looking at them. I like that it messes with your vision... My eyes are drawn up to the top where the branches overlap, I think you need an "Easter Egg" in your Christmas Picture or something to focus on, even if it is out of focus itself.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 7:00 pm

Chris T
"Beautiful!"
I love it! Its so cheery! Certainly the best Christmas wallpaper in a very long time. I was thinking it would be really neat if you could do a similar wallpaper, but instead of a trees in a forest, it'd be trees in a town (like an old town sort of area). Theres a place like that near here and its always so warming to see their christmas lights.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 6:36 pm

docsensi
"7/10"
Its amazing, but the focus shofted to the center of towards the end would make it spectacular 10/10.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 6:03 pm

docsensi
"7/10"
Its amazing, but the focus shofted to the center of towards the end would make it spectacular 10/10.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 6:03 pm

docsensi
"7/10"
Its amazing, but the focus shofted to the center of towards the end would make it spectacular 10/10.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 6:03 pm

docsensi
"7/10"
Its amazing, but the focus shofted to the center of towards the end would make it spectacular 10/10.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 6:02 pm

docsensi
"7/10"
Its amazing, but the focus shofted to the center of towards the end would make it spectacular 10/10.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 6:02 pm

docsensi
"7/10"
Its amazing, but the focus shofted to the center of towards the end would make it spectacular 10/10.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 6:02 pm

docsensi
"7/10"
Its amazing, but the focus shofted to the center of towards the end would make it spectacular 10/10.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 6:01 pm

docsensi
"7/10"
Its amazing, but the focus shofted to the center of towards the end would make it spectacular 10/10.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Kieran
"1280x800? 9/10"
Love it, Ryan! I've always been a fan of your nighttime/winter/christmas wallpapers, and this has got to be one of my favorites.

However, I'm using a 13" MacBook Pro with a screen resolution of 1280x800. Most of your other works have this resolution available. If you could please add that resolution to this one, I'd really appreciate it! :)

Thanks!

Mon November 12, 2012 at 5:39 pm

Beausuff
"Well now!"
Not exactly what I requested, BUT I LIKE.....

Mon November 12, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Scarr
"@Ryan/Kyle"
Maybe throw full focus in the pickle jar? This is brilliant though.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 5:09 pm

Les
"9"
Ryan, this is crazy good. With the added lighting the lens focus effect really shines (no pun intended!).

Mon November 12, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Genj
"Depth of Field"
would you play with the focal point a bit and see how it looks placed in the middle of the woods, rather than right up front?



This one is going to be in the top 3 I think!

Mon November 12, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Littlemom
"So Pretty"
This is an awesome Christmas wallpaper. However if I had one complaint it would be that the Christmas lights blur as you look further down the tunnel. And I love the idea of colored lights or maybe blue that someone on here suggested. The snow looks so realistic as do the trees. Great job Ryan!!!

Mon November 12, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Ben
"Where are the triple screens!?"
Love your work, some of the latest are single screen only atm- I need that Christmas lit corredor on my setup asap! :)

Mon November 12, 2012 at 3:48 pm

John
"8.5"
Looking very very cool. Your Christmas wallpapers are always some of my favorites. Looks very realistic. I do have to wonder what it would look like with multi-colored lights as well.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 3:39 pm

Kana
"addition"
an additional note - if there were something else in the foreground that my eyes would be able to focus on, not just the edges with the trees, my eyes would be much happier. Currently, because the bulk of the in-focus stuff is on the sides, my eyes are drawn to the center, to the distance, meaning I'm trying to pull *that* into focus.



Also, if there were fewer lights on the unfocused trees, the focused trees would "pop" more, also drawing the eyes.



Just my two cents :)

Mon November 12, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Kana
"focus"
Beautiful, but I like the original render you put up on google+. My eyes are bugging out trying to pull the far-distance into focus. Please post one with everything in focus :)



Other than that, beautiful!

Mon November 12, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Kelton
"9"
Very seasonal, great perspective, use of the fuzzy and clear. The lights blur at the right points, especially in the distance.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Jock
"7.0"
It's good. Very photo-realistic, BUT very "busy" as you yourself put it. The middle distance has far too many lights, especially on the left-hand side, in my honest opinion. Perhaps another render using about half the amount?

I could see this as being part of a scene described in a fantasy novel, where the travel weary characters come across a moment of wonder, before having to continue their mundane journey.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Ryan
"@Kyle"
I felt the scene looked a bit too busy (for use as a wallpaper) when everything was in focus.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Kyle
"Best of the Series"
Very nice! Not sure what I think of just how tight the focus is, but the overall effect is good.

Mon November 12, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Greg in CA
"Pure awesome."
Looks like a photograph...

Mon November 12, 2012 at 2:54 pm

All new and renewing Members will receive
a "Thank You" card hand-signed by myself and my family.

Free Downloads

Members Mobile Wallpapers

Single Screen (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play