This is an update to one of my favorite renders from 2002. Whereas I used Lightwave to create the clouds in the original, I wanted to see what I could do with Vue's built in clouds this time. They've come a long way since 2002.
There are still some aspects here that I would like to tweak, but I think this version is interesting enough to share as is. Let me know what you think!


8.57/10 rating (115 votes)
56 Comments

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

springrite2k142
8.27/10 rating (93 votes)

springrite2k141
7.95/10 rating (38 votes)

Member Comments

Momcat
"Increasingly Good"
This grows on me every time I use it and I use it almost every time there are storms. It's a remarkable antidote for the actual weather it's replicating, making me feel happy instead of down.

That's why we use your beautiful wallpaper, Ryan; it makes us happy.

Tue May 26, 2015 at 11:31 am

Friarkelto
"Very Nice!"
I really like these. would love some dual screen treatments

Thu April 30, 2015 at 7:12 am

Kevin
"excellent"
Could you please add a 3840x1200 (dual 16:10) version?

Mon April 27, 2015 at 10:50 am

Lynn
"Beautiful"
I love all of you lightning strike pieces. I miss the thunderstorms of my youth - we don't get many where I live in CA. I do wish you had a tri-screen version of this!

Mon June 9, 2014 at 6:01 pm

hobbscienda
"Galaxy S5"
Love your work and would love to have this and many others in a size/screen res for Samsung Galaxy S5.

Tue April 15, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Jenanne
"@Marc"
Well! You ought to be sorry. Actually, that tree's name is Moe. The one to the right is named Larry. ;)

Fri April 4, 2014 at 4:05 am

Zach
"Multis"
With a day like today (very stormy, but really cool skies), I'm hoping that we multiscreen users will get to have this awesome render as our backgrounds. :)

Thu April 3, 2014 at 10:42 am

Marc
"8.99999"
I just realized I contracted its possessive reference. It's NOT "It is name is Larry.", it's "Its name is Larry." I am very sorry.

Fri March 28, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Marc
"9"
I have always been fascinated by twilight clouds and moonlit clouds. Awesome.

I don't like the second tree from the left, about 7 rows back... might be nice with it removed. It's name is Larry.

Fri March 28, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Elaine
"10"
Love, love, love the new dark version! I hope you are planning dual monitor renders.

Fri March 28, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Scruffdawg
"8"
I am a tough rater, 8 is quite high for me. Really like the way this is easy on the eyes yet subtly draws you in. The composition makes you feel as if you were actually standing there looking into the valley.

Fri March 21, 2014 at 9:52 am

Halfwolf
"10"
Love the darker, moodier theme.



Triple 1080 screen render??

Wed March 19, 2014 at 0:21 am

Eric
"10/10"
On a related note, what ABOUT an image with rainfall?

Tue March 18, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Tyler
"Ten"
Ryan this is perfection. All attention is drawn to the beautiful purple bolt. The foreground and surrounding areas are subtle and crystal clear. No doubt this will make it to your top ten.

Mon March 17, 2014 at 8:24 pm

cmmnoble
"10/10"
Wow. I liked the sunset versions. But this darker one really nails it! Thanks for revisiting Rite of Spring. The original was one of several "must haves" for me when I first became a member, and it is still a favorite.

Mon March 17, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Blindfury
"9"
Diggin' the darker theme. I think some other renders with a darker, more ominous feel would be a great addition.

Mon March 17, 2014 at 5:45 am

BobC
"10"
Instant love for the night version - the cool, damp, night air and sense of solitude. I think the composition is perfect...

Sun March 16, 2014 at 11:44 pm

Topher
"10"
This one is particularly awesome.

Sun March 16, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Ray
"2k142"
There's something wrong with the 2k142 1920 x 1200 version in the pickle jar.

Sun March 16, 2014 at 9:01 am

T®©™
"10"
FB cover version please!

Sun March 16, 2014 at 8:19 am

Jenanne
"10"
Aah...great. The blue gives this version just the right mood, and I like the changes to the clouds, and the trees in the distance and foreground. Thank you, Ryan, for sticking with this render!

Sun March 16, 2014 at 4:07 am

JK
"9"
Love it. AAMOF, I've noticed over the years I seem to like anything dark and bluish. Lightning is always an added bonus.

Sat March 15, 2014 at 9:12 pm

yokhannan
"7"
Pretty sweet. I do not like the tree in the bottom-right though... might be nice with it removed.

Sat March 15, 2014 at 8:54 pm

jmk in ct
"9"
I really like this render! Storm is a coming!

Sat March 15, 2014 at 7:00 pm

cvb66
"9"
Has a feel of Fantasy, with but enough detail to make the mind question. I really like this!!

Tue March 4, 2014 at 0:13 am

Jen
"MultiScreens?"
You have three new pieces with no multi screen renders. Are they coming?

Wed February 26, 2014 at 10:54 am

Elaine
"8"
I like the color of the clouds now but I find the lighting a little confusing. The glow in the pink clouds looks to be coming from the upper right but there is also a lot of glow behind the lightning. It also seems like a lot of sunlight for the lightning and heavy rain. The foreground trees look amazing.

Tue February 18, 2014 at 12:32 pm

I Miss It
"9"
So gorgeous..so peaceful. Straightly?? Yeah, I guess so. Even so, although it does look a but windy in the upper cloud layer, perhaps it's not windy at all where the precip is falling, so why make winds up? I dunno, maybe? It's like, if it ain't broke, don't fix it, know what I mean? Bless you Ryan, you're so talented. Don't ever quit. I knew that lifetime membership would be well worth it.

Mon February 17, 2014 at 1:20 am

I Miss It
"9"
So gorgeous..so peaceful. Straightly?? Yeah, I guess so. Even so, although it does look a but windy in the upper cloud layer, perhaps it's not windy at all where the precip is falling, so why make winds up? I dunno, maybe? It's like, if it ain't broke, don't fix it, know what I mean? Bless you Ryan, you're so talented. Don't ever quit. I knew that lifetime membership would be well worth it.

Mon February 17, 2014 at 1:20 am

I Miss It
"9"
So gorgeous..so peaceful. Straightly?? Yeah, I guess so. Even so, although it does look a but windy in the upper cloud layer, perhaps it's not windy at all where the precip is falling, so why make winds up? I dunno, maybe? It's like, if it ain't broke, don't fix it, know what I mean? Bless you Ryan, you're so talented. Don't ever quit. I knew that lifetime membership would be well worth it.

Mon February 17, 2014 at 1:19 am

I Miss It
"9"
So gorgeous..so peaceful. Straightly?? Yeah, I guess so. Even so, although it does look a but windy in the upper cloud layer, perhaps it's not windy at all where the precip is falling, so why make winds up? I dunno, maybe? It's like, if it ain't broke, don't fix it, know what I mean? Damb you Ryan, you're so talented. Don't ever quit. I knew that lifetime membership would be well worth it.

Mon February 17, 2014 at 1:17 am

Michael
"9.5"
It is almost perfect... My only thought would be to have a little bit of an angle on the rain. Falling straight down feels like a torrential downpour, which is in contrast to the rest of the image I think. The rest of the scene is so serene, and I'd almost picture a breeze blowing through, just enough that the rain isn't falling quite so straightly.

Fri February 14, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Jenanne
"8"
Greatly improved!

Fri February 14, 2014 at 11:57 am

Chris S.
"8"
Vast improvement over the previous version.

Fri February 14, 2014 at 8:16 am

Mark
"9"
I prefer this to the previous one, since I like darker backgrounds better

Fri February 14, 2014 at 6:36 am

Deanna
"10"
Oops, thought I would clarify, Ryan.. I should have said that on the 2nd image, the clouds AROUND the lightening section are stunning! Love the billowy ones to the left of the lightening, as well, where the blue sky is peeking through. Lovely.

Thu February 13, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Deanna
"10"
Very beautiful. I love both versions for different reasons, but I still prefer the soft clouds of the first one, which is still on my desktop. The clouds have a dreamy quality to them on the top 3rd of the image (really blew me away) that set off the darker branches and bits of green, and this is now missing on the 2nd one. However, on the 2nd one, the lightening section and the clouds just below... stunning! Would love for both of those things combined into one, somehow. :)

Thu February 13, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Zach
"8.5"
This piece is really getting cool! I agree with 'D' that the brighter background was more appealing to me. I also agree that the clouds that are higher up are nicely done, but the ones below them seem a bit off. In any case, I'm excited to see the finished product!

Thu February 13, 2014 at 8:57 pm

Greg
"9"
This is perfect for my lockscreen. So much snow today (16 inches with another 5 coming later) this is what I'm praying for.

Thu February 13, 2014 at 5:35 pm

JMK in CT
"8"
The upper level clouds look great. The lower clouds not so much. Love the bark on the tree. That is perfect. Need more lightning. :)

Thu February 13, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Ryan
"@Topher"
I intentionally set the atmosphere settings a bit low so the render wouldn't take more than a day. If I find I am happy with the layout I will do another with higher quality settings and replace this one.

Thu February 13, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Topher
"8"
The clouds look VERY grainy to me, and the rain looks like oil painting rain, rather than real. If that's intentional I like it, it LOOKS like a painting, rather than real.



If you meant it to look real I'm not sure it worked. :)

Thu February 13, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Halfwolf
"10 now"
The darker, moodier clouds are much better for this piece. The others were washed out and gave it a different feel entirely.

Thu February 13, 2014 at 3:48 pm

D
"8"
I like the foreground of v2 but prefer the brighter background of v1. Anyway to combine those elements into a v3 render?

Thu February 13, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Josh/Sylar
"10"
Love it now it is brighter!

Thu February 13, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Littlemom
"8"
Nice I like it Good job Ryan!!!

Thu February 13, 2014 at 11:39 am

Tatiana
"8"
The clouds look like something out of a painting instead of a photo. I like it. Whenever I see those clouds I think of brush strokes on canvas. =)

Wed February 12, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Joel
"8"
I think that this landscape is really pretty. The dramatic center with the close-up flowers is a strong contrast. However, I think the lighting is a little off. I think it might be nice for the lighting in the foreground to be brought up or for the size of the foreground to be reduced; it almost looks like I'm peering through a tunnel and it seems much less wide open. :) Also, something about the clouds just looks really grainy to me. Is that also an effect of lighting? Great work and I look forward to seeing the lighting update! :D

Wed February 12, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Laura
"8"
I really like where this is going. At first release, this would have been a finished work, 10 years ago. It's amazing how far your work has come in that time.

Wed February 12, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Zach
"8"
I really like where this one is going! Once the harsh highlights are fixed, I think it will be outstanding. My hope is that the dual-screen version has a little more openness so that we can see more of the tree line in the background. The thumbnail of this one really doesn't do it justice.

Wed February 12, 2014 at 11:22 am

Michael
"8"
The lighting actually reminds me of the summer monsoons we get in AZ... When they pop up in the late afternoon or early evening, it's not unheard of to see a hazy amber glow over things with clouds lit by the sun in such a way that can be deceiving as to whether or not rain will truly come.



As for the foreground lighting, I actually think somewhere in between the near black and the bright leaves would be good. Crank the brightness up about 10% on the darker parts and down about 20% on the bright leaves and flowers so there's still some contrast between the two... you'd still get a few of things popping, but it wouldn't be as stark relative to their immediate background.

Wed February 12, 2014 at 10:36 am

Ryan
"Foreground Lighting"
Yes there are some harsh highlights on the leaves that were unintentional. That will be fixed in a future render but I do want a bit of lighting on the foreground so it's not just black.

Wed February 12, 2014 at 9:45 am

SimonRev
"6/10"
Ooh ooh, I can't wait for an update to Amazed! I've been waiting for nearly a decade for that!

Wed February 12, 2014 at 9:45 am

Matt
"6/10"
I agree with Joe, overall it's pretty good. The foreground though is somewhat off. Lighting of the leaves and grass doesn't look like it fits.

Wed February 12, 2014 at 9:43 am

Joe
"6/10"
I like all the pieces, but they don't fit together well.

The clouds and lightning are very well done

The plants look great

The rain effects are subtle and pretty cool...

but,

The plants in the foreground look to be lit by 'magic' or some sort of green glowy thing that doesn't have a place in nature.

The trees in front of the clouds are lit to look like fall,

and the clouds really don't seem dark enough.



I can see that maybe it's early evening, and the sun is just setting as the clouds are rolling in, but even then I really have to push to see it. I do admit that I liked the 02 render and would love to see this one be similarly dark, but there's just a continuity problem that I'm having trouble with.

Wed February 12, 2014 at 9:21 am

suab
"7/10"
...would love to see a darker version of this (more similar to the 2002 original)

Wed February 12, 2014 at 8:48 am

All new and renewing Members will receive
a "Thank You" card hand-signed by myself and my family.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Accelerator (2005)"
Only 22 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play