8.18/10 rating (564 votes)
69 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:

Member Comments

Josh
"2560x1600 Lossless link doesn't work"
I tried downloading the 2560x1600 lossless version, and I get maybe the first 1/5th of the image (384k or so) and that's it. Tried with both Chrome and Safari, same results. Perhaps the file got corrupted somehow?



Anyway, I really like this image and I'd love to add it to my wallpaper rotation, just waiting for the lossless version.



Thanks!

Mon December 5, 2011 at 6:53 pm

The Metal
"5760x1200 duality!"
Man, I really wish this one was in my resolution. I love the red/blue duality thing going on here.

Tue June 22, 2010 at 0:54 am

AMTRAK
"Planetscapes"
Hi there firstoff i am new to the world of the net and computer and i'm 49 jrs old fullon sci-fi freak SO when i came across your planetscapes i signed up for life(you just proved that a male is capable of having multibale orgasms).I don't want to be forward but when can we expect more of your amazing planetscapes?

Sun September 27, 2009 at 5:41 am

Kelsey
"Amazing"
Still one of my all-time favourites.

August 6, 2008

Gibbons
"True Blue"
The best part of these pictures is that sometimes, you can't tell they're pictures. Great work. Lets get some more "Dark" ones soon.

May 27, 2008

J Perridew
"Amazing"
It's just amazing where we've come in the short span of 8 years since I originally subscribed to your art work. I've also started to understand a lot more about your work since taking an Astronomy class, there's some pretty clever stuff going on in here. I love displaying it all so that my kiddo can see it too, he's four - it really gets his imagination working! Great stuff, please keep it up!

May 10, 2008

Bel
"Amazing"
I just signed up for a life time membership and I have been downloading your images for my widescreen at home and smaller monitor at work. Your work is stunning and I love this one. It is on my monitor at work and my colleagues are impressed.

May 5, 2008

Maryannn
"Starbirth.....wow"
Ryan,

I'm sure others have said it, and that I am "come lately", but I feel this is REALLY exceptional. The first impression I had - and still have - was that I was seeing a magnificent reimagining of the Old Masters. I was literally awestruck. There is an incredibly fine, and accutely tuned-in, sense of the majestic, the possibly mythical nature of the world around us. So well done. I really think you have moved to the next level...



Your admirer,

Maryann

April 20, 2008

alexM
"Could go for some like the older days"
I think this one is cool, but some of the ones that I really love are when you show a nice scene like in conjunction or sunspire day/night. A nice creative structure is always nice to see. Hopefully we can see one of those in the near future.

April 20, 2008

Smithy
"Wow man"
Wow man your really making some insane stuff this year the last 3 has been incredible work, Star birth is just incredible man this ones insane... just wow!!!...... all i can say is Well done man and keep it up...



Incredible!!!....






April 17, 2008

Mirage
"Mesmerizing"
Absolutely beautiful and so... in 'depth' with the 3D feel to it.



I haven't been at work for the past couple days, but I guarantee that as soon as I go in tomorrow morning this wallpaper is going to be going up on my dual screens.



On a side note, my condolences to you and your family. Loosing family, no matter how much it's expected can be hard.

April 13, 2008

Ryan
"to Eric"
Thanks for the suggestion Eric. I had thought to add more stars to the mix, but due to how Hypervoxels work (the volumetric system which creates the clouds) I can't add more light sources and still maintain the look I tried to create.



That's the technical answer. The short answer is that I tried and it didn't look right.



Thanks for the feedback though!

April 13, 2008

eric
"this wallpaper"
Hey, I really like this picture you have done, however I was thinking it could be just a tad better if you had some stars appearing in front of the cloud as well. This would make it appear like it was really in space (where there would be stars appearing behind, inside, and in front of the cloud). It looks less real when you just see a tiny patch of stars in only a few spots of the image as if the cloud was just superimposed on a starfield. If possible maybe you could render a new one? :) All and all great work man!

April 13, 2008

atlana
"nice rendering - but how about animated for VISTA ?"
it looks nice, but i can see this being a nice animated wallpaper for any AERO-supported VISTA (i.e. via Stardock's DESKSPACE http://www.stardock.com/products/deskscapes/ ) where the clouds/nebulae are slowly drifting.



cheers

@

April 12, 2008

Silver
"D/T Screen"
I have to say I wasn't really a fan of this render before I got it on my dual screens at home. All I have to say is WOW ... great render .. the clouds are much more visible with the extra space .. looks great :)

April 11, 2008

Cliff Edge
"dual/triple screen"
Holy crap. I wish I had a dual or triple screen set up just for this picture. I love the way the clouds on the sides came out in those two versions.



Great job!

April 11, 2008

Sean W
"Similarity"
I just realized something. When I first saw this, I was struck at how familiar it looked to me for some reason, and I realized why: it looks very similar to a nebula in the Xbox game Mass Effect. There's a giant space station that's central to the game's plot that is situated in a dark pinkish/purplish nebula. The similarity isn't 100% dead-on, but Starbirth is close enough to remind me of it. While they did a phenomenal job of doing a 3-D nebula in the game, Starbirth trumps it.



A fantastic piece, Ryan; keep 'em coming!

April 11, 2008

PunkinsPi
"I love eerie..."
This is a beautiful depiction of a stellar nursery... However, it feels very creepy and eerie to me. At the risk of sounding like a complete whatever, it reminds me of a star trek: tng episode. The one where Troi is receiving dreams from another ship on the opposite side of a rift (I think a dyson's rift, could be wrong). In her dreams she goes floating towards this light searching for the source of this voice saying "Eyes in the dark... One moon circles" That episode creeped me out but it is one of my favorites. So in similar respects, I love this eerie, yet beautiful piece.

April 11, 2008

Kathumpa
"Creepy"
This reminds me of the Creepy sky from the old Dracula movies. It's great, but Creepy.

April 10, 2008

celmendo
"Dual/Triple Screens"
I gave the regular version an 8 because the star was just too bright for me.



It seems you pulled back a little from the perspective on the dual/triple versions and the star became just right. I cropped to fit my desktop size and flipped it and have a perfect 10 desktop. It's mesmerizing.



Thanks Ryan!

April 9, 2008

R. Mozil
"Artistic creation or an image of creationism | 04.09042008.1"
This image stimulates several critical questions about the philosophy of creationism. Nevertheless, the work draws my eye to the center of another creation, taking me into a dimension far beyond the realism of our world.

April 9, 2008

asterismW
"Dual-screen"
The dual-screen picture is nice, but I prefer it when there's something to look at on both screens, rather than one screen with a great picture, and one that's relatively uninteresting. That's why instead of using the dual-screen version of "Maya", I took the middle and right split files of the tri-screen version and Photoshopped them together (cropping would have worked too). The RHS of the tri-screen was much more interesting than the LHS of the dual-screen.



Also, to Ben: With the dual-screen wallpapers, I too prefer the main image on the left, so I usually download and mirror the image.

April 9, 2008

Tim
"Dark Matter"
Excellent choice to use dark matter on the sides!



Good job!

April 9, 2008

Ryan
"To Ben"
Ben: I generally pick one side for the focus and stick with it. If you like you can take the triple-screen version and crop it so the focus is on the screen of your choosing.

April 9, 2008

Ben
"Other side?"
The Dualscreen one is nice. However, it would be great if you did some occasionally where the 'main' thing was on the left side of the screen.



10/10.

April 9, 2008

Adi
"Dual-screen version"
I like the choice of Dark Matter.. It brings out the isolation of space very nicely

April 9, 2008

Jeff
"Well done."
Fantastic contrast between the gas at the center and the clouds that haven't yet been pulled close enough to glow. I anxiously await a dual-screen version for my workstation.



Also, Tomster, I see the dragon too!

April 9, 2008

Dryst
"dual-screen?"
Also patiently waiting for the dual-screen version... I really like it.

April 9, 2008

brailsmt
"Patiently waiting..."
I'm patiently waiting the dual widescreen version...



Or maybe not so patiently...

April 8, 2008

Jeremy
"Awesome!"
Love this one!

April 8, 2008

LTomBerry
"Like it would really look"
I agree that this is just fine as a background without a foreground. When a star is born there aren't any planets around it yet. I figure a the event would look something like this. Regardless, this one is just awesome.

April 8, 2008

celmendo
"Starbirth"
Very Nice. I agree that the center is a little too bright but I can fix that myself. Lovely.

April 8, 2008

Scott
"brilliant"
I just wanted to say this is a truly beautiful background, combining some of my favorite color combinations.



I have always loved your spaces-scape's and this one is by far my personal favorite one with its soft nature and relaxing demeanor.



Congratulations on your much needed and deserved vacation as well as on the new rendering rig, and thank you for sharing such a lovely background with us yet again.

April 8, 2008

Brad
"Starbirth et al"
I think it's a fantastic image in general. The problem I have with this and others like it is the center star is much, much too bright. It makes looking at it on my desktop

April 8, 2008

Josh
"Shoals Encore"
Please give us a Shoals encore. I must have it. Please.

April 7, 2008

Howler8
"Starbirth"
I really, really like this. You got the bluish light off the dust cloud just right. But one thing; the dust cloud, when you look in at the edges, looks kind of blurry; maybe you could make it sharper? Thanks. It really like it though (gave it a ten)!

April 7, 2008

Cylar
"Nice. Looking forward to new work."
I like this one.



Glad you had a good time on your vacation. Maybe we'll see some Maya and undersea inspired pieces in the near future? I always enjoyed your undersea work, but have not seen as much of it lately.

April 7, 2008

Daniel
"2D v 3D"
I think it's got to look much better this way, using the 3D techniques. To me it looks much like photos from the Hubble. You wouldn't have the same realism if you'd gone at it 2D

April 7, 2008

Anne
"Amazing, but..."
I love this one, but I really miss that fantastical element you had with your previous planetscapes. This one is great, but I love the surreal-ness of digital art, rather than something that looks too close to reality. this looks slightly like an actual telescope photograph. Digital art that border between the realistic and the improbable are the most stunning pieces.



But that's just me! Wonderful job as usual, this will go on my desktop till the next!

April 7, 2008

Lizi
"Yay! Blue!"
I'm so happy for another space scape.... and a blue one at that!!!



So peaceful and beautiful... thanks for the great image!



I'm glad you and your wife had a nice vacation. :)

April 7, 2008

Mercury
"Very pleased"
I always enjoy your 'space'-scapes, and I think this is one of, if not THE, best one yet. No complaints from this end.

April 7, 2008

anthony
"love"
Love it. Just like it is. No planet, people or spaceships. Thanks for another great one. Now for that dualscreen....

April 7, 2008

Graham
"Link"
The link to this picture (at the top of the members section) is pointing to the wrong picture.



Great image though.

April 7, 2008

Matt
"Very Nice"
You said that it would be easy 2D, But I really appreciate the 3D aspect of it. I think it really adds something to it...



Aces in my book

April 7, 2008

MarkInATX
"Beautiful work; near perfect name"
I'm a casual astronomer and this render jumped at me as soon as I saw it. The colors are spectacular, the depth of field captivates the enormity of the scene and the coalescence of nebular dust into a young star makes a fantastic wallpaper. I'm very glad you didn't put a planet in this scene because it would throw off the genuine nature being depicted. It reminds me a little of the Homeworld games I played years ago. Great job! Amazing what a little vacation can do for the mind.

April 6, 2008

Peter
"Nice!"
Very cool, you really do get the feeling of a star being born.

April 6, 2008

dejerdejer
"Very Nice!"
I like this one! Looks great on a HD screen!

April 6, 2008

Erik
"Needs a spaceship"
I know it's been a long time, but how about a spaceship in one of the space-scapes?

April 6, 2008

Equinox
"Good... But not your best."
Title says it all. I like it, it's a great idea and design, but it seems to lack a "wow factor" for me. I mean, it's pretty, but not stunning... I suppose I've started to take stunning for granted with your work now!

April 6, 2008

Aesir
"Perfect"
This is exactly what I was hoping for. I love the simple serene images like this. A little different from the original, but still great!



Keep it up!!!!!

April 6, 2008

Getwired
"Fantastic!"
I love how the nebula has depth and structure. VERY cool. Excellent work -- this one will be on my desktop for a while I think.

For your next space-oriented image, how 'bout a closeup of a star, something like a re-make of 'Stellar' but using new techniques, and put a close-orbiting planet in front of it, I dunno... I watched 'Sunshine' recently, and that's a cool movie -- would love to see your take on an image of the sun or something, using your new workstation and apps.

Great job on this one!

April 6, 2008

Jonathan L
"Wow! I love it!"
This background's what I've been waiting for! I love your space backgrounds, and... wow, this one is just spectacular. :D



Great job!!!



10/10



;D



Oh and, it's great that you enjoyed your vacation -- it sounds like it was thrilling, and I hope you were feeling well enough to enjoy, well... the time without the kids. ;)

April 6, 2008

Tomster
"Starbirth"
It reminds me of several Hubble images I've seen, but higher quality! My mind almost sees a dragon with outstretched wings on the top of the screen...great work!

April 6, 2008

Scott P
"Fantastic!"
It's always nice to see an update of an old favorite, and your nebula-type images have always been my favorites!

April 6, 2008

Sean W.
"Beautiful"
This is a serene piece, very gorgeous. Well done, Ryan, and welcome back!

April 6, 2008

Michelle
"Love it!!"
I love almost all your space/star type wallpapers, and this is no exception!

April 6, 2008

Overdrive
"nice background"
Nice background, but i'm missing something (a planet?) what could be the main 'subject' of starbirth. Don't get me wrong, it's quite beautiful.. but according to me it's not finished. It's somehow like astronomer without the foreground.



7*

April 6, 2008

Mark
"Wow"
Wow! That holiday did you good! This is breathtaking, thank you.

April 6, 2008

Patty
"WOW!!!"
Amazing!! Really outstanding!! Makes me feel like I'm out really in space!! Looks like a shot from Hubble, so realistic looking!! Thank you!


April 6, 2008

Pathfinder
"Love it"
Greate work.

Would like to have that one animated for use as a dreamscene.

April 6, 2008

Cumbria
"Nebulatastic"
Desktopped. Shame I have to run any applications... Looking forward to seeing what the multiscreen turns out like.

April 6, 2008

Cliff Edge
"Awesome"
I've been a member here for nearly two years and this is by far one of the most impressive images to date.



Keep up the good work!

April 6, 2008

Phantom
"Impressive"
I love the depth that the 3D brings this piece, looks more like a real Nasa Photo this way

April 6, 2008

Fumo
"You keep topping yourself!"
Wow... seems very simple at first glance, but the detail is amazing. One of my new favorites!

April 6, 2008

Jason A
"Gorgeous"
Always love your space scenes, and this one is awesome.

April 6, 2008

Pat
"Starbirth (2008)"
You seem to have gained a lot experience w/ clouds since your last endeavor, (Moonshadow). Lookin' good!

April 6, 2008

Greg
"Very, VERY nice."
I've always liked the space scenes, thanks for another great one!

April 6, 2008

Tarkan2467
"Wow"
Just wow.

April 6, 2008

ACE
"Starbirth"
Love it!!! Beautiful composition.

April 6, 2008

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Fluorescence (Bloom) (2009)"
Only 1 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play