8.41/10 rating (99 votes)
37 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

lwfireworks1
8.62/10 rating (8 votes)

Member Comments

Marc
"9"
I think it is interesting sometimes to have a human figure in some pictures somewhere, just to give a scale for reference against the subject. And in the back of my mind, I think that in order for something to be beautiful or majestic, there has to be a subjective eye involved... in this case, the figures witnessing.



Sand storms on Mars mean nothing, without a human eye to view and a human brain to process them. Otherwise, it's just sand, in the wind, somewhere else. No beauty, no majesty, no scale, no emotion, no value.



How many people have selfishly bought larger monitors just because of your pictures? I WANT a huge monitor to display these beautiful and sometimes tragic vistas in the highest resolution I can afford. I want to be able to see and witness every pixel.

Sat March 29, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Garrett
"4096 x 2560"
No 4096 x 2560???

Thu August 15, 2013 at 10:58 am

Ryan
"@Paul"
My compromise with the folks who do not like people in my artwork is that I make them tiny.

Fri July 12, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Paul
"9"
Awesome color bursts. People too tiny. Version without people too plain. Such a critic, I know! ;)

Fri July 12, 2013 at 9:46 am

unsunghero
"10/10"
Truely amazing everytime I check this site.

Wed July 10, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Ben
"10/10"
Can I get a 5760x1080?



Love the fireworks. Gives me a dark background (Less distracting and still easy to see icons) while cheering up the screens with color.

Wed July 10, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Joe
"8/10"
One of your better renders recently, but would have really appreciated a bit more detail in the sand and plants. The sky looks great, but the sand and trees look 2003, not 2013.

Mon July 8, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Chris J
"6"
Missing 5760x1080

Mon July 8, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Jeremy
"7"
I like this one much better than the last one mainly cause I know where the source of fiery images are coming from.

Thu July 4, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Jenanne
"Happy Independence Day!"
Wishing everyone in the DB fellowship a happy Fourth of July. Ryan, I hope you and your family enjoy some great fireworks today, after providing us with all the terrific displays for our monitors!

Thu July 4, 2013 at 9:32 am

Gene
"10"
OK, allow me to be the pesky killjoy -- I just thought of something for which a 0.1 pt deduction might be applied: REAL fireworks will never look the same again! ;)

Thu July 4, 2013 at 9:22 am

Nic
"9/10"
Love the new use of colour and the way it reflects back off the clouds, I prefer it to the original starfall

Thu July 4, 2013 at 9:08 am

Jeff
"Oops..."
I meant 1920, not 1620. :)

Thu July 4, 2013 at 2:13 am

Jeff
"1620x1080?"
Can you make this in 1620x1080 (16:9)?

Thu July 4, 2013 at 2:12 am

Angelique
"Starfall (Happy 4th!)"
I love that you changed the comets or falling stars to the fireworks but how come there is still all the smoke along the shoreline? Also, unlike some others who commented, I prefer the people there watching the fireworks. Adding people to the scene makes it better, such as the little boy watching the huge moon in "Reverie" and the guy leaning against the tree in "Lone Tree". It's that little something extra that makes it special. No matter how beautiful a scene is, you'd hate to think of a barren world with no people or animals. That's just cold. I like when there's something living in the scene.

Wed July 3, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Pete
"10"
This is fantastic! I hate to call it better than the original, because I love the original as well, but this one is absolutely beautiful. Nice work!

Wed July 3, 2013 at 10:34 pm

sundogvet
"10"
Very classy. I love the way you artfully hid the explosion centres behind clouds and leaves so no one would complain about the blinding contrast on their monitors.

Wed July 3, 2013 at 10:24 pm

Shelly K.
"9"
I think the foreground is too dark. Its hard to see the beach.

Wed July 3, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Jenanne
"10/10 for Picklejar!"
Great pickle Jar version, Ryan. Hey, no people! ;)

Wed July 3, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Jenanne
"Oops..."
Sorry for the repeat. Too enthusiastic, I guess. :)

Wed July 3, 2013 at 2:29 pm

Jenanne
"I dare. :)"
I'd still like a version minus the people. Although I must admit this version has the cuddling couple behaving more realistically, for those who care about realism in Ryan's renders. Anyway, I love this version and gave it a 10 -- perfect for the 4th!

Wed July 3, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Jenanne
"I dare. :)"
I'd still like a version minus the people. Although I must admit this version has the cuddling couple behaving more realistically, for those who care about realism in Ryan's renders. Anyway, I love this version and gave it a 10 -- perfect for the 4th!

Wed July 3, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Ruth
"10"
Awesome piece for 4th of July!! I love the back-lit clouds! I dare anyone to complain about the people now. Haha! ;-) Thanks for a new favorite holiday piece, Ryan. <3

Wed July 3, 2013 at 12:48 am

Eric
"10"
LOVE IT!

Wed July 3, 2013 at 10:33 am

Gene
"10"
Works for me. Maybe it's the technical differences betwe en this and the "standard" version (gave that a final 9), maybe it's that it's a much "happier" vision, both, or perhaps more. Whatever -- really cool. Nicely done!

Tue July 2, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Mike
"9.5"
My new vote with the re render. One of, if not my favorite holiday wallpaper now.

Tue July 2, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Ryan
"@Chris"
That one just finished uploading. Should be ready to go now.

Tue July 2, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Chris
"9"
Still looks great, but missing the iPad HD render ...

Tue July 2, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Ryan
"@Mike"
Good catch. I neglected to correct the levels as I did was the previous Starfall renders. I am uploading new versions now which should really POP ;-)



Thanks for the heads up!

Tue July 2, 2013 at 3:23 pm

mike
"7"
love it but the contrast is too light. on the entire image. the blacks arent black...at least on my screen

Tue July 2, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Gary
"7"
Nice, but maybe a little more like the 2004 July 4th wallpaper would look a little better.

Tue July 2, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Laura
"8"
Love it! I think the smoke at the bottom is still reminiscent of the "detraction" aspect of Starfall, but it's not distracting. Looks great on my monitor!

Tue July 2, 2013 at 1:36 pm

cmmnoble
"9"
Neat. Have a happy holiday!

Tue July 2, 2013 at 11:19 am

Chris
"9"
Love it. The color totally makes it for me ... any chance of an iPadHD render?

Tue July 2, 2013 at 10:37 am

D
"9"
Best 4th render by far. Remove most of the clouds and this is a 10.

Tue July 2, 2013 at 9:58 am

Scarr
"9/10"
I have a hard time giving 10's, as perfection is near impossible... but I must say, this is beautiful. I hope to be experiencing a scene like this very soon!

Tue July 2, 2013 at 9:53 am

Randall
"9 of 10"
Very cool! Thanks for doing just in time for the 4th!

Tue July 2, 2013 at 9:23 am

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"California Poppies (2004)"
Only 23 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play