8.25/10 rating (151 votes)

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

7.96/10 rating (73 votes)

8.11/10 rating (28 votes)

Member Comments

Scott Wray
"Facebook timeline verison"
Hey Ryan,

I wanted to toss this up on my timeline but the image sized for the timeline looks different than the actual background. Like its over saturated or too bright. Do you agree or am i just tripping =P

Wed May 9, 2012 at 3:34 pm

"Not fixed"
The two Pickle Jar 5120x1600 resolutions are still 5120x1440.

Fri November 18, 2011 at 7:48 pm

"Top score!"
You can never go wrong with abstracts in my book. +∞

Sat October 1, 2011 at 0:34 am

Alex H
"Ahh there it is"
Cheers Ryan!

Mon September 19, 2011 at 2:48 am

"String Theory 1"

Sun September 18, 2011 at 10:40 am

Alex H
"Where'd the yellow one go?"
It's not in the picklejar. (and I thought it was the gallery version anyway)

Sat September 17, 2011 at 5:10 am

It looks like somehow my PS Actions (that I use to slice up and create the different files from the original) somehow has become corrupted. Unfortunately they are hard to fix so I may just have to redo them all. Sorry for the hassle!

Fri September 16, 2011 at 1:41 pm

"5120x1600 Wrong link"
5120x1600 links to wrong size.

I run into this all the time Ryan. Whats up with the renders?


Fri September 16, 2011 at 12:08 am

Chris B
"All of the Pickle Jar Versions"
If you know how Ryan has them labeled you can just type it in the address bar.

EG: Gallery Versions:


EG Pickle Jar versions have /picklejar/NameOfGalleryVersion/VersionName after content. Git rid of everything after it and put.jpg

So the blue version is:


The Red iphone is:


so the iphone 4 blue one is at:


For the Ipad, follow the same path, just put in the resolution it uses.

It's not finding the Gold/Yellow one, but it's there if you follow Ryan's link below, you can get to any of them that way too, just change the name of the image at the end.

Sun September 11, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Tim H
Hey Ryan could you add the resolution for iPad and iPhone 4 please. I love the blue version but couldn't find apple resolutions in the pickle jar. Thanks !

Sat September 10, 2011 at 11:23 am

"the link to the yellow version on the pickle jar doesn't work"
Hi, this is beautiful. I like the yellow version a lot but the link to the pickle jar for that one goes to the blue version. Could you put the yellow version accessible?


Fri September 9, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Wow - LOVE this one!

Just a heads up: 2x/stringtheory22x5120.jpg is listed as 5120x1600 but is actually 1440 high?

Wed September 7, 2011 at 2:47 pm

"Re: Yellow Version"
Yes, the first version is still available in the Pickle Jar. For some reason my script is not finding it. Investigating now! You can find them all in this directory for now.

Wed September 7, 2011 at 8:11 am

"Pickle Jar Link Problem"
Clicking on the yellow version in the pickle jar takes us to the blue version. Is Yellow still available?

Wed September 7, 2011 at 8:09 am

"String Theory swap"
Aaaawwwww, seriously? I can't believe so many voted for the latter version... I did not think it was better than the first; the first is by far the best in my opinion...

Tue September 6, 2011 at 6:18 pm

"Yellow Now Missing?"
Can we get links to the yellow ones again?

Tue September 6, 2011 at 5:23 pm

Thanks, it looks great!

Tue September 6, 2011 at 12:48 am

Thanks for the heads up. Here it is...

Tue September 6, 2011 at 8:54 am

Hi Ryan,

It looks great! I like second theory the most as well :). But I seem to be missing my resolution (3840x1200), is it me?

-- Cheers

Tue September 6, 2011 at 8:32 am

"String Theory 2"
The overwhelming consensus seemed to be that String Theory 2 was the superior version so I've swapped out the first version. Thanks so much for the feedback!!

Tue September 6, 2011 at 8:00 am

"No Dual Screen?"
Hi Ryan, there doesn't appear to be any dual screen downloads available for any of the "String Theory (2011)" versions? I'm also having the same issue as Chris P below. Thanks. (PS. Fantastic work as ever!)

Tue September 6, 2011 at 2:15 am

Chris P
Why can't I get the yellow one featured on the main page? It keep redirecting me and it's not in the Pickle Jar

Mon September 5, 2011 at 11:28 pm

Chris B
"Love them all"
The more I look at them the more they draw you in. The Blue something going on deep underwater, the yellow looks more like something going on in a star, and the red one looks like something inside of a living organism. or maybe that's just me :)

Sun September 4, 2011 at 10:59 pm

String Theory 2 is my favorite of the three. Great work, Ryan!

Sun September 4, 2011 at 4:24 pm

"Best version!!"
I agree with the others.. this is the best variant. Thanks for continuing to tweak. I would vote for this one should make prime time and move the others to the jar.

Sun September 4, 2011 at 8:20 am

"Theory 2"
I really like this variant! It reminds me of the CBS show, "Big Bang Theory". Actually all of them do but this one the most. This is my favorite of all the variants.

Sat September 3, 2011 at 11:13 pm

"new color variant"
there was a mighty duel... it ranged all over. they were both jedi masters. and someone left the shutter on this camera open.

Sat September 3, 2011 at 1:27 pm

"Mobile versions?!?"
These would look great on my iPhone & iPad... HINT HINT HINT... Sorry, subtlety isn't one of my stronger characteristics... I tend to throw bricks!

Sat September 3, 2011 at 11:10 am

Ryan... these are FREAKING AWESOME!!! I'm thinking we need green, red, and orange versions!!!

Sat September 3, 2011 at 11:08 am

"Theory 2"
I really like the newest one!! The blue render seems fuzzy or noisy to me.

Hook us up with all the sizes for theory 2?

Thank You again for all your continued work Ryan!

Sat September 3, 2011 at 0:38 am

"new color variant"
This is the best one so far. Please give this one the full range of size renders.

Fri September 2, 2011 at 8:28 pm

"string theory blue"
I didn't have a choice about this one. My wife loved it!

Fri September 2, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Carlos S.
"Best Version"
This by far is the best version (at least to me). An instant favorite for me. Thanks for the wonderful work. If we could all see through your eyes. :)

Fri September 2, 2011 at 5:08 pm

"Best Version"
This by far is the best version (at least to me). An instant favorite for me. Thanks for the wonderful work. If we could all see through your eyes. :)

Fri September 2, 2011 at 5:06 pm

"Pickle Jar v.2"
Thanks for the extra color variant! The green one remains my favorite but this one is nice too.

Fri September 2, 2011 at 4:21 pm

"PJ v.2"
Best version by a mile. I'm sure anyone could toggle the colors in Photoshop but why bother with this winning combination? The blue/red contrast has always worked for you before so it's no surpise here. Top hat Mr. Bliss, top hat.

Fri September 2, 2011 at 4:06 pm

"Colour Variant"
I believe that I like the last one the best! All of them look fantastic and I can spend hours staring at them, but the last one really speaks to me. It would be interesting to see this one in multiple tones, like "Cobalt Daisy" or "Azula"

Keep up the awesome work as always! :)

Fri September 2, 2011 at 10:54 am

"New Color Variant"

Fri September 2, 2011 at 9:58 am

This one is great in both colors. :-) Your fractal abstracts are some of my favorites. Any way you could noodle with some more of these on the side, since they render quickly?

Thu September 1, 2011 at 11:00 am

Love the blue multiscreen versions, thanks for these, but the 5120x1680 image is still the wrong size at 5120x1440 instead.

Thu September 1, 2011 at 4:10 am

Brandi U.
I didn't know that! Ooooo, I might just download all those onto my phone! But, I still want you to add a 480x640 version. ;)

Thu September 1, 2011 at 0:06 am

Chris B
Ryan, thanks for making both. I've had them both up switching them throughout the day and I still can't decide which i like better, the blue has the more detailed center and my tower has blue LEDs which always look good with the blue, but the other has warmer multi-colors giving it more energy if you want to call it that.

Very nice, and love the render time!

Wed August 31, 2011 at 11:45 pm


Wed August 31, 2011 at 10:27 pm

"Tri screens"
Darn. No 16:10 (1050) size. I really liked this one too.

Wed August 31, 2011 at 7:15 pm

"String Theory"
awesome Ryan! love the blue version of this one!

and the string theory?

is one of my favorites theory.. amazing..

awesome job!

Wed August 31, 2011 at 6:09 pm

I feel the need to mention that I like the gallery version much more than the blue version. There's too many people saying they like the blue, so I need to add to those few voices who liked the gallery version better. I feel that it is important that you know that some of us really appreciate the color variety. Nothing against blue, but it does tire after a while (and for this particular wallpaper, it's just not the best in my opinion).

Wed August 31, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Are the Blue and 'Yellow' versions supposed to be identical in their structure or do they each use a different fractal in some way. Only the focal instances seem to show close similarities, the rest seem different in placement and structure.

As always both versions look amazing and even though I'm a 'blue' fan cant decide which I prefer.

(Side note: I recently got my hands on a newer better monitor with 2D to 3D conversion and by far the best images for this are yours, even better than my and others "artistic" snaps of the real world. I have no idea how it does it but so many of your scenes are utterly incredible in 3D, Highland Spring where you feel like flying off down the valley. It just shows the amazing level of detail, accuracy and precision you have always put into your images, thanks.)

Wed August 31, 2011 at 4:59 pm

Thanks for noticing! I will see what I can do about adding the 480 x 640 size. Did you know that the "Zoom" detail images I post are 480 x 640? Here's a link to the detail file for "String Theory". These might make interesting wallpapers on their own.

Wed August 31, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Brandi U.
"Can you add a new Mobile Size?"
First, love this fractal. The way it shows the same pattern over and over, no matter what size, really demonstrates the true beauty of fractals (I watched the documentary, too).

Can you add a 480x640 to the mobile wallpapers. I have the new Blackberry Torch 9810 and the screen is 480x640. Would love to see that size as an option in either Members or the free area.

Wed August 31, 2011 at 1:12 pm

Big Dave
Thanks for the blue multi-screen. If it is only a few hours to render, have you considered a red or green version? I like rotating through different renders of the same scene such as seasons or colors. Just a thought. As always, I love your work!

Wed August 31, 2011 at 11:44 am

"This one doesn't do it for me"
Unfortunately, this will be a rare occasion when a new DB work isn't added to my wallpaper collection. The blue is too blue for my tastes. I'd much rather it have a bit more color it, but colors of the gallery version are ugly to me and I find the pattern very uninteresting and too derivative of some of your earlier works without a twist to make it more interesting.

Wed August 31, 2011 at 11:25 am

Big Dave
"Love the blue"
I really like this render and can't wait for the blue multi-screen versions. You rock!

Wed August 31, 2011 at 1:13 am

"iPhone 4"
Any chance of this particular blue version in an iPhone 4 size?

Tue August 30, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Hey, Ryan. I've been a loyal follower for several years now. Your original stuff never ceases to amaze me. However, I've noticed a rather disturbing trend lately. Instead of completely original stuff, you are re-hashing older pics. A few teaks here and there, and that's it. When are we going to see brand new original stuff of the imaginative quality we are used to? Just saying, hon. No offense meant.

Tue August 30, 2011 at 1:21 pm

I love the blue version! It's a little more restful on the eyes for actual screen background.

Tue August 30, 2011 at 12:46 am

I always prefer "cool" colors so it's the blue one for me, but they are both very nice!

Tue August 30, 2011 at 12:01 am

"Image sizes"
Very nice, haven't seen a fractal one for ages and this one is beautiful. I like both the colour options shown so far.

Btw, the 5120x1600 image seems to be only 1440 pixels high?

Tue August 30, 2011 at 11:22 am

"Blue one"
I know most everyone got a little tired of the blue scenes a while back, but I much prefer the blue version. Can we get a dual screen of the blue one?

Tue August 30, 2011 at 9:50 am

"What are the light emitting objects ?"
If the bands are supposed to be strings from string theory, what are the the sunlike objects ? Light can be, among other things, a quantum particle. So if we're on a lot smaller scale then the quantum realm here (which I suppose we are), what are the light emitting objects supposed to be ?

Regards, Nephelyn.

Tue August 30, 2011 at 8:18 am

The great detail and depth, the unique color spectrum, the dramatic variations in brightness and clarity... A most exquisite work of art, Ryan!

Mon August 29, 2011 at 9:24 pm

Watched that same episode and thought of you when they discussed the use of fractals in digital art (your mountains . I'm thrilled to see this.

Mon August 29, 2011 at 9:12 pm

"Prefer the blue version"
thanks, as always, for the choice

Mon August 29, 2011 at 8:15 pm

"Nitpicking again..."
There's a cutoff in the upper left corner. (I know, I know, I'm far too picky. =P)

Mon August 29, 2011 at 6:44 pm

I really like this one. Great job! Worth every penny!

Mon August 29, 2011 at 5:44 pm

"String Theory"
Nice! I really like it! I'm not too hot about the pickle jar variation, though.

Autumn wallpapers already? I don't want to have to think about the fact that it's going to get cold again here soon... not yet...

Mon August 29, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Grand! Love it!

Mon August 29, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Daniel B
"Pickle Jar"
Nice. Definitely prefer the blue version in the pickle jar and would love to see triple screen versions of that.

Mon August 29, 2011 at 2:31 pm

Planetscapes and abstracts Ryan, planetscapes and abstracts. You excel in both like no other style IMHO. Anyway this is amazing and I would love to see more like this more often.

Mon August 29, 2011 at 12:48 am

Sorry! Maybe I will get it done sooner.

It's only $9.95 to renew for another year you know...

Mon August 29, 2011 at 12:46 am

Nooo not the end of the week, my membership expires in 3 days!

Mon August 29, 2011 at 12:28 am

Nooo not the end of the week, my membership expires in 3 days!

Mon August 29, 2011 at 12:28 am

"Very Pretty"
I like this render a lot. Great job!!!!

Mon August 29, 2011 at 11:49 am

...pretty. :)

Mon August 29, 2011 at 11:02 am

Chris H
Excellent work! I had been hoping for a new abstract. It's as if you read my mind. It has a very fluid feel to it. Glad I popped in just before i head off to work. Love it!

Also, it is never too early for Autumn renders. Or any seasonal render for that matter.

Mon August 29, 2011 at 9:32 am

You never cease to amaze.. I love your abstract work. Great job!

Mon August 29, 2011 at 8:58 am

Digital Blasphemy 2016 Wall Calendar

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓


Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)


Recent Guardians:
  • Gina Ballou -- (9/30/15)
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons:
  • Eric Eidson -- (9/30/15)
  • Tim Honkalammi -- (09/22/15)
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Jeanne Dowd -- (9/30/15)
  • Ryan Oldaker -- (9/30/15)
  • Claire Fairbank -- (9/29/15)
  • Arwyn Roberts -- (9/28/15)
  • Matthew Pounsett -- (9/23/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!

"Accelerator (2005)"
Only 225 Downloads!

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy