My first render using objects modeled with "Structure Synth". I roughed out these objects on my laptop while watching my Ian's tennis practice and then imported them into Lightwave 11 for rendering. It's a cool program and I can think of some interesting uses for objects such as these...


7.09/10 rating (122 votes)
47 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

synthestructure2
6.71/10 rating (34 votes)

synthestructure1
6.73/10 rating (56 votes)

Member Comments

Ben K
"Synthestructure 1"
I really prefer the color scheme of synthestructure 1 (the dark green and rusty red colors). Just wanted to leave that feedback. I wish there to be a multiscreen of that version :) Either way though, it's awesome.

Sun August 4, 2013 at 1:57 pm

koopy
""Synthestructure III (2012)""
I thought this was spilling upward towards new forms. Incredible how...

Thu August 9, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Dave Sp
"Cold Steel Sinking Into Molten?"
When I first saw this, I thought the foreground coils were sinking into a background of molten iron. Could be an interesting study in contrasts, or just me seeing too many documentaries. :-)

Tue May 8, 2012 at 7:55 pm

Alex H
"9s all around"
I give 9s to pics you produce for which I have no complaint. 10s are reserved for my absolute favourites. All the variations on display here are worth 9. The original is the best imo.

Sun May 6, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Ryan
"@Greg in CA"
I stopped the render yesterday after watching it spend 2 whole days grinding at 66% complete. Extremely frustrating!



I reset some of the render quality settings and started to render just the remaining 34% (the bottom) but I am rendering this "to disk" (rather than to the screen)to further optimize. So far it seems to be going faster but I don't have any visual feedback to tell if the render quality is on par with what has already been processed.

Sun May 6, 2012 at 8:56 am

Greg in CA
"Any update on that new tropical pic...?"
Just checking...

Sun May 6, 2012 at 4:18 am

Justin
"Google doodle??"
I think Google should make this one of their "Google Doodles" in honor of your amazing work over the years. You can almost see their name in it, I think. Different looking picture. Very creative. Looks nice.

Fri May 4, 2012 at 5:25 pm

Greg in CA
"Maybe I'm just ignorant but..."
How does one find flaws in an original piece of abstract art...?

Thu May 3, 2012 at 9:04 am

Ryan
"2x1080p watermark"
the watermark in the 2x1080p is in a weird place. it's just a little off center at the bottom of the right-hand screen.

Mon April 30, 2012 at 10:46 am

Ryan
"@Chris J"
Thanks for your comment. I wish there was a perfect way to stretch these scenes out over 3 monitors. It's hard to do.

As for the focus, I could have easily had the whole image in focus but then it would have looked very flat and busy.

What other flaws are you seeing?

Sun April 29, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Chris J
"I dislike it"
I think images using software like this should be rendered at a high resolution like 100000px by 100000px. The tri-screen should be a 5760x1080 crop of a focused part. To me that would look nicer. I see all the flaws in the tri-screen collection and its a plague.

Sun April 29, 2012 at 3:04 pm

RDL
"Yummy Pickles"
And there are the pickle jar versions I was hoping for. 8) I'm not sure if my comment had any effect on the outcome, but I like the new fiery/B&W versions.

Sun April 29, 2012 at 2:40 am

Andy
"Hm"
It looks like metal shavings of some kind. Well, thats what it reminds me of. Looks good

Sat April 28, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Ben
"Fuzzy?"
Love the way the pic shows up on your site - dislike the wallpaper. If it were crisp and had less noise it would take a lot to get me to change my wallpaper for a while!

Thu April 26, 2012 at 2:59 pm

teds2049
"Got a poster"
I picked up a poster of Endless Blue. I hope it will be light enough that Zazzle's dark printing process doesn't cause trouble. I hope it helps you get that new workstation!



Don't wait specifically for Ivy Bridge-E. The OEMs won't put up with Intel making them requalify their platforms for Ivy this soon after SB-E, so it would be a decent wait despite Ivy cpus coming out now for single-proc desktops. You could save a few bucks by dropping down to a slightly lower speed grade of SB-E. Intel is really charging for the the fastest ones compared to last generation.

Thu April 26, 2012 at 12:15 am

0beron
"V2"
I think I prefer the 2nd version, the fine filigree is sharper /crisper looking.

Thu April 26, 2012 at 4:15 am

Khyren
"Multi screen V1"
I hope you didn't abort and discard the tri-screens of V1. I'd love to have one of each.

Thu April 26, 2012 at 3:15 am

Chris B
"V3"
i like the best, the metal textures are much improved. Though the apparent multi colored metals in the 1st one are cool too.

Wed April 25, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Chris
"Synthestructure Final"
I like the third one because the coloration and reflections on the metal were smoothed, but I think maybe I like the second one best. Only problem is you didn't post the 1680 x 1050 version of it!

Wed April 25, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Scarr
"Wicked"
Microscopic metallic flakes.

Wed April 25, 2012 at 12:46 am

Ryan
"V.3 (Final)"
Here's my final update to "Synthestructure". I've tweaked the metal textures a bit so hopefully they now have a bit more "luster". The multiscreen should follow soon!

Wed April 25, 2012 at 10:43 am

Chuck J
"Nice!"
This reminds me of curled metal shavings after using a metal lathe. Nice!

Tue April 24, 2012 at 7:53 pm

Lidia
"Synthestructure II"
Very interesting second version; I like it. The metallic theme is certainly stronger. I really like the gold and silver colors. I don't know if I like this one better than version 1; I think I like them both the same but for different reasons.

Tue April 24, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Chris
"Like it"
I like this alot better than the first one. The first one felt crowded and it was a little hard to tell what I was looking at. I also really do like the metallic look. You don't have alot of work like this and I'm always glad to see you trying to take things in a new direction.

Tue April 24, 2012 at 5:39 pm

Greg in CA
"MUCH better with the contrasting colors!"
So we have to fill in the comment field to post now...?

Tue April 24, 2012 at 2:23 pm

ChrisSpera
"MUCH Better"
As an "organic" abstract, this didn't work. As an artificial or [more] metalic abstract, this works much better. I really like this version. Good job!



Chris Spera

Tue April 24, 2012 at 9:49 am

Ryan
"V.2"
A number of you suggested that the first version looked metallic so I ran with that theme for Synthestructure II. I've zoomed in a bit (to better accommodate the future multiscreen version) and inserted some little "filigree" items for contrast.

Tue April 24, 2012 at 9:43 am

Fumigator
"I have to vote 10"
I mean, it's not beautiful, in a traditional sense of the word, but it's certainly interesting and I find myself just looking at all the different details. That's art, man. Really cool.



But now-- I'm on to you, Ryan!-- you're in cahoots with Google-- look at those curlies, they spell GOOGLE!! Haha... subliminal but it's there... sorta... anyway this is a fun background to have.



I wonder what other color variants might do to/for the piece.

Tue April 24, 2012 at 8:31 am

Aaron
"Thought it was about Synthetic DNA"
Heh, just read an article the other day and from the title thought it had something to do with Synthetic DNA (http://arstechnica.com/science/news/2012/04/synthetic-dna-substitute-gets-its-own-enzymes-undergoes-evolution.ars). Sorta looks like it could be a strangely coiled/uncoiled segments of a synthetic DNA.

Mon April 23, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Mike
"Industrial yet Organic"
I love this one.

Mon April 23, 2012 at 10:17 am

Francesco
"IPad 2 Version?"
I do not find the wallpaper in the ipad resolution in 1024x1024 as usual. Will you still publish it? Thanks a lot!

Mon April 23, 2012 at 1:42 am

Anton
"Inventive and Creative, Our own little tinkerer.. :D"
I must say, you never cease to amaze Mr. Bliss, just when I think I have you figured out you come up with something completely out of left field and show me that you are still an artist. I absolutely love how your mind works and I hope you continue to entertain and inspire the world with your work!

Sun April 22, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Figgy
"Uuuuummmm"
Im not sure what the process was in making this picture because im a little confused. What the heck!. but still cool colors.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 10:23 pm

RDL
"Try it in Black & White"
I have this as my wallpaper, but in gray scale (ctrl+g in Irfanview). It looks more metallic and seems to increase the contrast. I'm looking forward to pickle jar versions.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 10:12 pm

Alex H
"One of your best"
I love your abstracts the most.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 7:17 pm

Lidia
"Synthestructure I"
This one looks metallic to me. I like it. It's just what I'm in the mood for right now during this end-of-semester rush. The tropical scene will be a good fit for when that is over.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 5:46 pm

julie G
"It's probably me being a biology major but . . ."
It makes me think of DNA wrapped around histones and coiled up into chromosomes. A beautiful representation of our hereditary matter. If only I saw that in my Honors Biology textbook thirty years ago, it might have helped me visualize mitosis!



I wonder if a physicist would see this as string theory??

Sun April 22, 2012 at 1:34 pm

Rams Fan
"Synthedissss"
I knew it was going to happen some day, disappointment.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 12:56 am

Rams Fan
"Synthedissss"
I knew it was going to happen some day, disappointment.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 12:55 am

Hoverwolf1
"Synthestructure I"
If this is I is there a II planned? I don't especially care for abstracts as artworks themselves, but, as a tool for future use, this looks very promising. Personally, I can't wait to see what you can do with the new program.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 12:27 am

Thunderbol
"earthworm jim"
reminds me for some reason of earthworn jim, lol.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 6:48 am

Greg
"Interesting"
Very cool effect, I like the sharpness of the foreground while blurring the background, it gives the image an interesting contrast with itself.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 1:35 am

Ryan
"Multiscreens"
...coming soon

Sat April 21, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Mars
"Cool but..."
looks HD but not my cup of tea ill stick with

http://interfacelift.com/wallpaper/D609abb5/02912_salmoncreek_1920x1080.jpg

for now :)

Sat April 21, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Lucas
"Epicness!"
This is now my desktop and it's epic! :D I love this! Please continue!

Sat April 21, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Nico
"Spring(y)"
Guess spring is here like the texture! Thanks

Sat April 21, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Nico
"Spring(y)"
Guess spring is here like the texture! Thanks

Sat April 21, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Plus Level Members and above will receive
a "Thank You" card hand-signed by myself and my family.

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Biodome (2007)"
Only 8 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play