Synthestructure III

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Cradle
"Cradle"

7.13/10 rating
(125 votes)

Print Available!
Ryan's TipJar

My first render using objects modeled with "Structure Synth". I roughed out these objects on my laptop while watching my Ian's tennis practice and then imported them into Lightwave 11 for rendering. It's a cool program and I can think of some interesting uses for objects such as these...

Member Comments

Ben K
"Synthestructure 1"
I really prefer the color scheme of synthestructure 1 (the dark green and rusty red colors). Just wanted to leave that feedback. I wish there to be a multiscreen of that version :) Either way though, it's awesome.

Sun August 4, 2013 at 1:57 pm

koopy
""Synthestructure III (2012)""
I thought this was spilling upward towards new forms. Incredible how...

Thu August 9, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Dave Sp
"Cold Steel Sinking Into Molten?"
When I first saw this, I thought the foreground coils were sinking into a background of molten iron. Could be an interesting study in contrasts, or just me seeing too many documentaries. :-)

Tue May 8, 2012 at 7:55 pm

Alex H
"9s all around"
I give 9s to pics you produce for which I have no complaint. 10s are reserved for my absolute favourites. All the variations on display here are worth 9. The original is the best imo.

Sun May 6, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Ryan
"@Greg in CA"
I stopped the render yesterday after watching it spend 2 whole days grinding at 66% complete. Extremely frustrating!



I reset some of the render quality settings and started to render just the remaining 34% (the bottom) but I am rendering this "to disk" (rather than to the screen)to further optimize. So far it seems to be going faster but I don't have any visual feedback to tell if the render quality is on par with what has already been processed.

Sun May 6, 2012 at 8:56 am

Greg in CA
"Any update on that new tropical pic...?"
Just checking...

Sun May 6, 2012 at 4:18 am

Justin
"Google doodle??"
I think Google should make this one of their "Google Doodles" in honor of your amazing work over the years. You can almost see their name in it, I think. Different looking picture. Very creative. Looks nice.

Fri May 4, 2012 at 5:25 pm

Greg in CA
"Maybe I'm just ignorant but..."
How does one find flaws in an original piece of abstract art...?

Thu May 3, 2012 at 9:04 am

Ryan
"2x1080p watermark"
the watermark in the 2x1080p is in a weird place. it's just a little off center at the bottom of the right-hand screen.

Mon April 30, 2012 at 10:46 am

Ryan
"@Chris J"
Thanks for your comment. I wish there was a perfect way to stretch these scenes out over 3 monitors. It's hard to do.

As for the focus, I could have easily had the whole image in focus but then it would have looked very flat and busy.

What other flaws are you seeing?

Sun April 29, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Chris J
"I dislike it"
I think images using software like this should be rendered at a high resolution like 100000px by 100000px. The tri-screen should be a 5760x1080 crop of a focused part. To me that would look nicer. I see all the flaws in the tri-screen collection and its a plague.

Sun April 29, 2012 at 3:04 pm

RDL
"Yummy Pickles"
And there are the pickle jar versions I was hoping for. 8) I'm not sure if my comment had any effect on the outcome, but I like the new fiery/B&W versions.

Sun April 29, 2012 at 2:40 am

Andy
"Hm"
It looks like metal shavings of some kind. Well, thats what it reminds me of. Looks good

Sat April 28, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Ben
"Fuzzy?"
Love the way the pic shows up on your site - dislike the wallpaper. If it were crisp and had less noise it would take a lot to get me to change my wallpaper for a while!

Thu April 26, 2012 at 2:59 pm

teds2049
"Got a poster"
I picked up a poster of Endless Blue. I hope it will be light enough that Zazzle's dark printing process doesn't cause trouble. I hope it helps you get that new workstation!



Don't wait specifically for Ivy Bridge-E. The OEMs won't put up with Intel making them requalify their platforms for Ivy this soon after SB-E, so it would be a decent wait despite Ivy cpus coming out now for single-proc desktops. You could save a few bucks by dropping down to a slightly lower speed grade of SB-E. Intel is really charging for the the fastest ones compared to last generation.

Thu April 26, 2012 at 12:15 am

0beron
"V2"
I think I prefer the 2nd version, the fine filigree is sharper /crisper looking.

Thu April 26, 2012 at 4:15 am

Khyren
"Multi screen V1"
I hope you didn't abort and discard the tri-screens of V1. I'd love to have one of each.

Thu April 26, 2012 at 3:15 am

Chris B
"V3"
i like the best, the metal textures are much improved. Though the apparent multi colored metals in the 1st one are cool too.

Wed April 25, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Chris
"Synthestructure Final"
I like the third one because the coloration and reflections on the metal were smoothed, but I think maybe I like the second one best. Only problem is you didn't post the 1680 x 1050 version of it!

Wed April 25, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Scarr
"Wicked"
Microscopic metallic flakes.

Wed April 25, 2012 at 12:46 am

Ryan
"V.3 (Final)"
Here's my final update to "Synthestructure". I've tweaked the metal textures a bit so hopefully they now have a bit more "luster". The multiscreen should follow soon!

Wed April 25, 2012 at 10:43 am

Chuck J
"Nice!"
This reminds me of curled metal shavings after using a metal lathe. Nice!

Tue April 24, 2012 at 7:53 pm

Lidia
"Synthestructure II"
Very interesting second version; I like it. The metallic theme is certainly stronger. I really like the gold and silver colors. I don't know if I like this one better than version 1; I think I like them both the same but for different reasons.

Tue April 24, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Chris
"Like it"
I like this alot better than the first one. The first one felt crowded and it was a little hard to tell what I was looking at. I also really do like the metallic look. You don't have alot of work like this and I'm always glad to see you trying to take things in a new direction.

Tue April 24, 2012 at 5:39 pm

Greg in CA
"MUCH better with the contrasting colors!"
So we have to fill in the comment field to post now...?

Tue April 24, 2012 at 2:23 pm

ChrisSpera
"MUCH Better"
As an "organic" abstract, this didn't work. As an artificial or [more] metalic abstract, this works much better. I really like this version. Good job!



Chris Spera

Tue April 24, 2012 at 9:49 am

Ryan
"V.2"
A number of you suggested that the first version looked metallic so I ran with that theme for Synthestructure II. I've zoomed in a bit (to better accommodate the future multiscreen version) and inserted some little "filigree" items for contrast.

Tue April 24, 2012 at 9:43 am

Fumigator
"I have to vote 10"
I mean, it's not beautiful, in a traditional sense of the word, but it's certainly interesting and I find myself just looking at all the different details. That's art, man. Really cool.



But now-- I'm on to you, Ryan!-- you're in cahoots with Google-- look at those curlies, they spell GOOGLE!! Haha... subliminal but it's there... sorta... anyway this is a fun background to have.



I wonder what other color variants might do to/for the piece.

Tue April 24, 2012 at 8:31 am

Aaron
"Thought it was about Synthetic DNA"
Heh, just read an article the other day and from the title thought it had something to do with Synthetic DNA (http://arstechnica.com/science/news/2012/04/synthetic-dna-substitute-gets-its-own-enzymes-undergoes-evolution.ars). Sorta looks like it could be a strangely coiled/uncoiled segments of a synthetic DNA.

Mon April 23, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Mike
"Industrial yet Organic"
I love this one.

Mon April 23, 2012 at 10:17 am

Francesco
"IPad 2 Version?"
I do not find the wallpaper in the ipad resolution in 1024x1024 as usual. Will you still publish it? Thanks a lot!

Mon April 23, 2012 at 1:42 am

Anton
"Inventive and Creative, Our own little tinkerer.. :D"
I must say, you never cease to amaze Mr. Bliss, just when I think I have you figured out you come up with something completely out of left field and show me that you are still an artist. I absolutely love how your mind works and I hope you continue to entertain and inspire the world with your work!

Sun April 22, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Figgy
"Uuuuummmm"
Im not sure what the process was in making this picture because im a little confused. What the heck!. but still cool colors.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 10:23 pm

RDL
"Try it in Black & White"
I have this as my wallpaper, but in gray scale (ctrl+g in Irfanview). It looks more metallic and seems to increase the contrast. I'm looking forward to pickle jar versions.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 10:12 pm

Alex H
"One of your best"
I love your abstracts the most.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 7:17 pm

Lidia
"Synthestructure I"
This one looks metallic to me. I like it. It's just what I'm in the mood for right now during this end-of-semester rush. The tropical scene will be a good fit for when that is over.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 5:46 pm

julie G
"It's probably me being a biology major but . . ."
It makes me think of DNA wrapped around histones and coiled up into chromosomes. A beautiful representation of our hereditary matter. If only I saw that in my Honors Biology textbook thirty years ago, it might have helped me visualize mitosis!



I wonder if a physicist would see this as string theory??

Sun April 22, 2012 at 1:34 pm

Rams Fan
"Synthedissss"
I knew it was going to happen some day, disappointment.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 12:56 am

Rams Fan
"Synthedissss"
I knew it was going to happen some day, disappointment.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 12:55 am

Hoverwolf1
"Synthestructure I"
If this is I is there a II planned? I don't especially care for abstracts as artworks themselves, but, as a tool for future use, this looks very promising. Personally, I can't wait to see what you can do with the new program.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 12:27 am

Thunderbol
"earthworm jim"
reminds me for some reason of earthworn jim, lol.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 6:48 am

Greg
"Interesting"
Very cool effect, I like the sharpness of the foreground while blurring the background, it gives the image an interesting contrast with itself.

Sun April 22, 2012 at 1:35 am

Ryan
"Multiscreens"
...coming soon

Sat April 21, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Mars
"Cool but..."
looks HD but not my cup of tea ill stick with

http://interfacelift.com/wallpaper/D609abb5/02912_salmoncreek_1920x1080.jpg

for now :)

Sat April 21, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Lucas
"Epicness!"
This is now my desktop and it's epic! :D I love this! Please continue!

Sat April 21, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Nico
"Spring(y)"
Guess spring is here like the texture! Thanks

Sat April 21, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Nico
"Spring(y)"
Guess spring is here like the texture! Thanks

Sat April 21, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Multiple Monitors?
DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
synthestructure1
6.73/10 rating (56 votes)

synthestructure2
6.71/10 rating (34 votes)

Digital Blasphemy 2018 Wall Calendar

2018 DB Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy