Valley of the Stars

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


8.89/10 rating
(148 Members Voted)

Here's a night version of "Valley of the Sun. It certainly took a lot less time to render than the day version because I removed most of the cloud cover from the sky. I left the mountain mist intact however.

The snowcaps are supposed to be lit by moonlight here, but I may need to practice that effect more with such wide-angle renders.

As before, I've chosen a single-screen area and cropped the multiscreen. I would like to do dedicated single-screen renders of both this and the day version someday soon.

Let me know what you think!

Member Comments

Lance
"Superb"
I have fallen in love with this one. The dual screen render is just perfect

Fri October 14, 2016 at 2:18 pm

Kenneth Eddington
"Vally of the stars"
Outstanding.....

Fri December 18, 2015 at 8:14 am

Ali
"good harmony"
Aurora, mists, tall mountains and a galaxy that looks like the Milky Way. I like it! But make sure you don't go overboard with the "heavy artillery" in your renders, so that the they won't be like those movies with too many A-list actors. You got this one just right; one more element and it would've been overcrowded. It's been a while since I logged in, it's good to be back.

Mon October 12, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Janis C.
"Winter is coming"
Sorry Ryan, I couldn't resist (review title).

Wed September 16, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Mike
"Haunting natural beauty"
I'm jealous of the view from that ridge beyond the city. But was the 3200x1200 left out deliberately? It's the perfect fit for the wonky monitor setup I have at work.

Thu August 27, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Kurt
"Duplicates"
starvalleyportals1 is showing up as one of the pickle jar versions of valleyofthestars.

Sat August 8, 2015 at 4:33 am

Darlene Y.
"Valley of the Stars"
Yet another masterpiece!

Wed August 5, 2015 at 5:19 pm

spazzium
"21:9"
I could have sworn this was in a closely compatible format earlier. I just upgraded to Win10. After upgrading my updating the drivers for my graphics card, the fist place I went was digital blasphemy to get my new favorite background. I think I was using dual 4:3 or dual 5:4 earlier. Any possibility of getting a render in this format?

Mon August 3, 2015 at 11:46 pm

Frooom
"EPIC"
I would love a version of this with no peoples. Some of your work is unbelievably evocative, especially the ones that show different stars/skies, and makes me long for interstellar travel.

Fri July 31, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Daniel
"Nice!"
Very nice!, altho i think a variation without the clouds/ mist and castle would be cool aswell. That way the focus would be purely on the stars and the beautiful landscape of mountains. ;).

Wed July 29, 2015 at 7:39 pm

Littlemom
"Very Cool"
Wow this looks awesome like this. Love it!!!

Tue July 28, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Jenanne
"Picklejar"
Terrific new picklejar version, Ryan!

Tue July 28, 2015 at 10:07 am

Bluequail
"21:9"
The scene is beautiful. It would be amazing if you could make it available for a 21:9 (3440 x 1440) screen.

Mon July 27, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Don T
"Dual 5:4?"
Are you no longer producing this format? I would think it would be a common format for people.

Mon July 27, 2015 at 6:33 pm

R
"8.5"
Really like the addition of the castle.

Mon July 27, 2015 at 10:09 am

Dustin
"Absolutely Amazing!"
The whole scene is just unbelievably awesome! Well done!

Sun July 26, 2015 at 10:44 pm

DarthSync
"Valley of Stars"
Love it. I especially love the night-time scenes.

Sat July 25, 2015 at 6:48 am

Ryan
"@SGlasgow"
Let me know what you think of the new split-screen options!

Sat July 25, 2015 at 0:27 am

SGlasgow
"Mac Users need spit screens"
Hey Ryan.



Don't forget us split screen multi-screen mac users! The last 4-5 uploads don't have the files. We need what you always have been doing for years. It can be stretched to our needs in OSX.



Just keep doing what you were. I want to new desktop wallpapers too!



SG

Fri July 24, 2015 at 5:04 am

Jeff Myers
"Valley of the Stars (2015)"
I am also a huge fan of all of David & Leigh Eddings books. Riva?? I think that JG hit it right on.

Fri July 24, 2015 at 1:54 am

Jeff Myers
"Valley of the Stars (2015)"
What? No 1680 x 1050 for desktop members??

Fri July 24, 2015 at 1:26 am

Ryan
"@JG"
I have been reading those book to my kids at bedtime. Coincidence?

Thu July 23, 2015 at 10:40 pm

JG
"Riva?"
I'd swear this is the city of Riva out of David Eddings' The Belgariad.

Thu July 23, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Arngu
"nice mountains"
Almost like the Mountains here in the Center of Europe. in the Middle of the Alps. Will love to use this one on my devices, THX, Great Work !

Thu July 23, 2015 at 7:38 pm

BobC
"Yes!"
I agree with RCD. Also, the composition for single screen is rather more satisfying (and you may have consequently saved me the purchase of another monitor). Thank You!

Thu July 23, 2015 at 5:31 pm

RCD
"Out of the ball park!!"
Amazing image! You've got it all, auroras, galaxies, clouds, majestic mountains, still waters and a mysterious temple! Very nice. Did you create the galaxy? It looks a lot like the Milky Way.

Thu July 23, 2015 at 5:12 pm

Craig
"Love it!"
Can you please offer 1680 x 1050? Other wallpapers you offer have that size. Thanks!

Thu July 23, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Gary
"Problem with navigation"
I want to download the picklejar version of the Valley of the Stars and when I click on the link it takes me to this comment page for the (Alternate Versions), but I don't see the image.

Thu July 23, 2015 at 7:13 am

Romarch
"Welcome shift"
I like this quite a bit now that the field of view includes the actual valley like the daytime version did. :-)

Wed July 22, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Kevin
"Love it!!"
Any chance we can get a 1440X900 res? Thanks!

Wed July 22, 2015 at 7:31 pm

Ryan
"v.2"
Version 1 was pretty well received but I still had a change or two I wanted to make. This new version adds a small castle on the shore...

Wed July 22, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Elaine
"Perfect 10"
Wow! Valley of the Stars is gorgeous! The way you render aurora borealis is magical.

Wed July 22, 2015 at 8:24 am

Kevin
"There's just something about your space renders..."
I always love the beautiful space renders that you do with aurora borealis and the Milky Way in them. These scenes just make me want to walk around in these stellar environments.



One thing I will suggest is that you remove some of the noise from the water, as it makes the water appear grainy. Great work nonetheless!

Wed July 22, 2015 at 2:02 am

TomR
"Awesome!"
Long time I've been a fan; first time to comment. I really love this wallpaper. I feel completely drawn in, like I am looking through my screens into the vast beyond. Thanks.

Mon July 20, 2015 at 10:52 pm

joe
"WOW!!"
this is amazing

Mon July 20, 2015 at 9:49 pm

BobC
"Beautiful!"
This is extremely (!) pretty, but doggonit, that second 27" monitor that I'm considering buying....

Mon July 20, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Zach
"Night version"
I really enjoyed the Valley of the Sun, but this version (Valley of the Stars) is even better! I, too, prefer darker wallpapers, which may be why I like this one better. Thanks, Ryan!

Mon July 20, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Dave Ross
"Sweet"
Pretty awesome if I do say so myself. Making it my desktop background now!

Mon July 20, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Clear
"Valley of the Stars"
This is such an awesome render! This just became the new backdrop on my Note 3. Thanks so much for the mobile renders! :)

Mon July 20, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Angelique
"Valley of the Stars"
So beautiful! I love that you added the aurora over the mountains, though I do wish that more of the aurora could be seen in the single-screen version. Also the stars are kinda tiny on my little scree so I wish they were larger. Other than that - perfect :)

Mon July 20, 2015 at 10:45 am

Littlemom
"10!!!"
Absolutely stunning!!!

Mon July 20, 2015 at 10:32 am

Littlemom
"10!!!"
Absolutely stunning!!!

Mon July 20, 2015 at 10:30 am

Kerry
"Excellent"
Beautiful image! I've always loved your night and space renders.

Mon July 20, 2015 at 10:06 am

Jenanne
"10+ (again)"
Magnificent! Looks fantastic on my computer and tablet. Not much else to say about this one, Ryan. :)

Mon July 20, 2015 at 9:57 am

Terry
"Incredible"
I admit I've always preferred this kind of work over abstracts, the night sky stuff you really nail. Well done.

Mon July 20, 2015 at 0:50 am

Lester D
"Nice"
Awesome Ryan.

Sun July 19, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Molly W.
"Another great render!"
I'm so glad you did another image featuring the Milky Way!

Sun July 19, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Yvan T.
"Awesome"
I love it, with all the stars and the fog on the ground. very realistic.

Sun July 19, 2015 at 11:47 am

Mark
"Love it"
Thank you, I really like this one. I prefer my desktop backgrounds dark and this is perfect

Sun July 19, 2015 at 11:01 am

Gardner
"Very nice"
I think this might be a candidate for replacing my current desktop. (Harbinger has been my mainstay for years now) I'll have to give this a try to see how it works. Right off the bat, though, the combo of galaxy and aurora looks odd somehow, but I think it might grow on me. Have you thought of doing it with one or the other?

Sun July 19, 2015 at 10:11 am

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Dualscreen:

Triscreen:

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?
valleyofstars1
8.74/10 rating (69 votes)
Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy