Vue 11 "360 Ecosystems" finally makes it possible to bedeck my trees with Christmas lights!


8.64/10 rating (168 votes)
60 Comments

Dualscreen:
Triscreen:
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

newconstellation1
8.31/10 rating (131 votes)

worldsedgexmas1
8.57/10 rating (75 votes)

Member Comments

Meta
"9"
Hi, this is a great wallpaper but be better that if you have a dynamic theme.

Regards.

Fri December 20, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Telos
"7"
I like the ground and its lighting, as well as the wind effect and the clouds. The lights look a little meh to me, but a pretty picture overall.

Thu December 27, 2012 at 7:15 pm

Chris B
"Merry Christmas Everyone!"
Have a safe & wonderful Holiday! (or however you choose to celebrate the winter season)

Tue December 25, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Andrew S.
"8"
There it is (1680x1050). Thanks Ryan!

Thu December 20, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Vaesse
"9/10... Animated Request"
Love this image. I have always loved At World's Edge (Winter). This one is not something I'd use year-round, but is absolutely gorgeous for Christmas. I wonder if there's any way to add twinkle to the lights and moving snowfall in an "animated" version.

Thu December 20, 2012 at 2:45 pm

Dee
"World's Edge Christmas"
The coloured lights for me- I think it's joyous!

Wed December 19, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Bryan N
"(4/10) 4 being the white and 10 being the colored version"
The White lights are missing something and it feels too bland and cold. At World's Edge is already a darker view of the vista. I believe the white lights feel more like a shadow or an echo where as the colored has a feeling of warmth and life. So I am sad so see the white version win this time.

Wed December 19, 2012 at 9:16 am

Andrew S.
"8"
Where's the 1680x1050 reso?

Tue December 18, 2012 at 11:09 pm

John
"6/10: Update"
I'll have to amend my comment. There are some multi-screen versions of the original in the pickle jar.

Tue December 18, 2012 at 12:37 am

KRingg
"Tree Texture"
While I really love the image in general, the extra light around the tree really illuminates the poor texturing at the point where the branches first split from the trunk. They look more like slightly blocky PVC pipes than bark, spackled with snow. I'm afraid that alone is keeping me from giving this 10/10.

Tue December 18, 2012 at 12:34 am

John
"6/10"
I was so looking forward to a multi-screen of the original version. Color me disappointed :(

Tue December 18, 2012 at 12:33 am

HolyGrail
"Love the wallpaper.....Like this one the best."
The 4800 x 1200 (triscreen) (split files) link is broken....Just a heads up.

Tue December 18, 2012 at 11:24 am

Ryan
"Gallery Swap"
Most people seem to prefer the white lights version so I have swapped it into the the gallery. The blue/orange lights version will stay in the Pickle Jar. Thanks everyone for the ratings!!

Tue December 18, 2012 at 10:16 am

Sam
"9/10"
A nice colourful take on this image. It looks better without the whiteness like the pickle jar version.

Please make this for my dual monitor 2560x1024

Tue December 18, 2012 at 4:37 am

Halfwolf19
"Amazing again - Triple Monitor"
Thank you so much for the 5760x1080. You really do have the best multi-monitor content out there!

Tue December 18, 2012 at 0:23 am

Halfwolf19
"10/10"
Drat another pair of great adaptations but not triple monitor.

Tue December 18, 2012 at 0:20 am

Jenanne
"10/10 on both"
I love both renders, but the white edges out the multicolored by a smidge. I usually prefer the more colorful versions, but the white is so beautiful reflecting off the snow. Both, however, deserved and earned 10s IMHO. Thank you, Ryan, and Merry Christmas to you and your family!

Mon December 17, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Hannah Joy
"8/10"
Sorry about the double post - I keep getting network errors on this site.

Mon December 17, 2012 at 12:12 am

Hannah Joy
"8/10"
I can't make up my mind about these. I like the colored lights better, but I don't quite like the whole scene being that blue ... I like them both though, I love Christmas lights.

As a fellow Vue user I'm curious how you're doing this with Ecosystems. I know Vue doesn't like lights in Ecosystems, and glowing materials don't seem to light anything around them.

Mon December 17, 2012 at 12:11 am

Hannah Joy
"8/10"
I can't make up my mind about these. I like the colored lights better, but I don't quite like the whole scene being that blue ... I like them both though, I love Christmas lights.

As a fellow Vue user I'm curious how you're doing this with Ecosystems. I know Vue doesn't like lights in Ecosystems, and glowing materials don't seem to light anything around them.

Mon December 17, 2012 at 12:09 am

cmmnoble
"White = 9/10"
The colored version is nice. But I LOVE the white version. (I've never figured out how to make the ratings "take" from my browser, so I put it in the comment title.)

Mon December 17, 2012 at 11:17 am

Joel
"I like this one better"
I really like the design behind At World's Edge, but I think that the colored lights don't necessarily fit well, and they kind of distract from the rest of the picture. The white lights provide a much softer glow and I think it's much more appealing. Great job!

Mon December 17, 2012 at 10:31 am

Joel
"6"
I really like the design behind At World's Edge, but I think that the colored lights don't necessarily fit well, and they kind of distract from the rest of the picture. The white lights provide a much softer glow and I think it's much more appealing. Great job!

Mon December 17, 2012 at 10:30 am

tubbyherm
"..."
"glow-tastic!"

Mon December 17, 2012 at 9:48 am

Kyle
"White a winner"
I think there is enough visual interest in the complexity of the tree that the colored lights are more of a distraction. With the white it looks great.

Mon December 17, 2012 at 9:46 am

Alex
"10/10"
Excellent wallpaper. I'm am NOT disappointed I became a member. Can't wait to see a multi-monitor rendering of this in multiple resolutions!

Mon December 17, 2012 at 9:14 am

Eneelia
"10/10"
This piece of art has long been my favorite design of yours. Making a Christmas version of it made me squee in joy outloud. Thank you so much!!!

Mon December 17, 2012 at 0:10 am

bruceam
"At World's Edge (Christmas, Alternate)"
I really like both of these images. I like the colorful original version, but I also like the detail of the grass and the snow in the alternate version. How about putting the two together, and then make the multi-screen renderings?!?!?!



Keep up the great work.

Sun December 16, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Mike Mille
"Lossless Indeed!"
The lossless version of this on my tv looks amazing! The lighting is spectacular. I like your very clean, high res pictures the best!

Sun December 16, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Mark
"Great!!!"
I like them both but much prefer the white version.

Sun December 16, 2012 at 7:35 pm

Raj
"Thanks!"
Thank you so much Ryan! Will stay on my desktop for a long time!

Sun December 16, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Kevin
"Amazing"
Keep both, add xmas message option :-) Awesome work man

Sun December 16, 2012 at 3:23 pm

Kevin
"Amazing"
Keep both, add xmas message option :-) Awesome work man

Sun December 16, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Deanna
"10/10"
I love the first multi-colored version, for the beauty of all the color, but also for the crispness of more of the lights. It went immediately to my desktop and has not moved. :)

Sun December 16, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Ed
"Thanks for retina versions!"
Ryan - Thank you so much the retina display versions. They are stunning! You're the best at this!

Sun December 16, 2012 at 10:32 am

Ed
"Thanks for retina versions!"
Thank you so much the retina display versions. They are stunning! You're the best at this!

Sun December 16, 2012 at 10:32 am

Randall
"Like white better"
I like the white better. Lovely!

Sun December 16, 2012 at 9:39 am

Ryan
"@Cmom"
Thanks for the comment! Did you leave a rating for the white version? I only see one vote so far.

Sun December 16, 2012 at 9:15 am

Cmom
"white"
I prefer this one, but the lighting could be a bit more subtle. 8

Sun December 16, 2012 at 9:00 am

Ryan
"@Raj"
The retina link should show up now in the Pickle Jar.

Sun December 16, 2012 at 8:58 am

Raj
"Retina MBP"
This is so amazing. Wish there was a 2880x1400 option for my rMBP.

Sun December 16, 2012 at 8:53 am

Raj
"Retina MBP"
This is so amazing. Wish there was a 2880x1400 option for my rMBP.

Sun December 16, 2012 at 8:53 am

Hoverwolf1
"Nice"
I like it, but it's actually a little heavy on the lights for my taste. Still, if you have a power source like you mentioned, then why not? Personally, I think a good subject for a wallpaper would be Wardenclyffe, or something similar. Just thinking out loud.

Sun December 16, 2012 at 7:35 am

Hunter
"Awesome"
Well, it looks like I found my Christmas wallpaper for this year.



As good as Gotham was, I found a bit too messy for my liking :D

Sun December 16, 2012 at 4:10 am

Adam
"10/10"
Oh wow, this one is a real winner! Wonderful adaption on your original work.

Sat December 15, 2012 at 11:56 pm

docsensi
"Wish I were sitting at world's edge"
Love the whole ensemble of imagery; the starry sky, the moonlit clouds, the snowflakes coming atcha, and then the cool glow of the tree....phenomenal!!

Sat December 15, 2012 at 5:47 pm

secuda
"looks beautiful"
and who need a christmas tree when you got this wallpaper.

Sat December 15, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Duncan
"Stunning!"
This just put me in the Christmas spirit!

Sat December 15, 2012 at 7:34 am

Violet
"oooooh"
Very Pretty. Here's hoping for some color variations in the pickle jar.

Sat December 15, 2012 at 0:35 am

Josh
"White Light Version"
Very cool, but needs a white light version instead of colored lights, with maybe a moon or santa/sleigh/reindeer or something in the distance among higher clouds.

Fri December 14, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Will
"7/10"
Ryan, At World's Edge has always been one of my favorite ones (especially Winter) and while I do like this version it is a little too bright for my preference. Perhaps a slightly muted version with only the blue lights like you did with the Sleepwalker Wood (Winter/Night) Christmas (the pickeljar versions with Blue or Blue and Purple that are a bit more toned down)?



Thanks for all of your great work. Yours is the only wallpaper I use both at home and work. Been a member since 1999. :)

Fri December 14, 2012 at 8:24 pm

Ryan
"Multiscreens"
The dual and triple-screens are rendering now!

Fri December 14, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Russell
"Love it"
Please go dual screen on this one!

Fri December 14, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Ryan
"Re: Power"

Fri December 14, 2012 at 2:41 pm

Jeff
"Re: Just an observation"
What you're missing off-scene is the solar array. After all, above the clouds, solar collection is easy.

Fri December 14, 2012 at 12:06 am

Val
"Beautiful"
Love it! Thanks for all the christmas wallpapers this year! One note on this, maybe a little less snow on the tree? looks a little crowded

Fri December 14, 2012 at 11:31 am

Nico
"Sweet"
Thanks! Great for the season

Fri December 14, 2012 at 11:28 am

BobC
"Oh, What Fun!"
A delight to find this today! Night scene with lots of blues - my absolute favorite. Love the way the glow of the lights on the snow worked out. This went to my desktop in seconds. Still not sure about the rendering of the falling snow but, for me, it helps to look at the scene as if its a photograph with 1-2 second exposure. Lighting at the World's Edge? "Willing suspension of disbelief" is part of the fun!

Fri December 14, 2012 at 11:14 am

Ross H.
"Wonderful!"
I love it!

Fri December 14, 2012 at 9:59 am

JMK in CT
"Just an observation"
All I can say is Dayum! That must be a long extension cord unless they have open outlets at the worlds edge.

Fri December 14, 2012 at 9:59 am

Free Downloads:

Member Downloads:↓

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen (Members Only)

THANKS TO:

Recent Guardians:
  • Herelli SA LLC -- (7/13/15)
Recent Sponsors:
  • Mark Petts -- (8/13/15)
Recent Patrons
  • Andrew Ayres -- (8/24/15)
  • Geoff Allison -- (8/14/15)
  • William Morrissey -- (8/21/15)
  • Glenn Crouch -- (7/18/15)
  • Kevin T -- (06/10/15)
Recent Donors:
  • Martin Pilot -- (9/1/15)
  • Dean Mills -- (9/1/15)
  • Natalia Najder -- (8/30/15)
  • Guy Sturdevant -- (8/27/15)
  • AJ Decker -- (8/24/15)
Today's Least Downloaded
Free Wallpaper!



"Sunspire by Night (2004)"
Only 16 Downloads!


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2015 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy

Android apps on Google Play