Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Magnets!

Car Magnets!
En Español
Worldwide: UK | CAN | NZ | NL
AT | EU | BR | BE

8.86/10 rating
(49 votes)

Print Available!

My learning process with Blender continues. After I created "Fabrica" I knew I could use the same technique to update one of my favorite Lightwave renders from the '00s and in the process do a deep dive into Blender's polygon modeling, UV editing, particle system, shader editing, volumetrics, animation and lighting systems.

I also have to get used to a whole new renderer (two of them actually) that can use either my CPU or GPU. Most sources say the GPU is faster but then those sources don't have a machine like "Rochallor". That said, working with Blender has seriously made me want to upgrade my 2080TI to a 3090. If only I could find one for sale :-(

Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

Member Comments

Please Log In To Share Your Feedback!

mollycule
"Update"
So excited that you've re-done this one! :D

Tue May 4, 2021 at 11:53 am

Dirk L
"it reminds me..."
of a picture I saw of a Tokamak (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tokamak) a long time ago. But this rendering is way better. I set it instantly as a background on my PC

Fri March 26, 2021 at 9:13 am

webworx
"Can. Not. Com. pre. hend."
My mind is still reeling over the animation! Speechless. The particles as the light source is quite evident. Glad you took the step to continue... it was worth it!

Fri February 19, 2021 at 12:14 pm

John
"Marvelous!"
The previous iteration was a home run; but this one is simply out of the park! The detail and texture is astounding.

Sun February 14, 2021 at 11:57 am

Tyler
"V3 FTW"
Third time was definitely the charm here Ryan. I love that you don't settle. The lighting is vastly superior on this version and of course the question begs will you now recreate the animation with the new particle lighting?

Sun February 14, 2021 at 1:19 am

Ryan
"V.3"
After creating the animation it was more evident than ever that the particles were not casting any light open the scene. I had thought to move on but instead I decided to do one more version and see just what sort of shading I would need for the particles to do all the lighting. This new version has no light sources other than the particles themselves wherein the first versions I "faked it" using point lights. Lmk what you think :-)

Sat February 13, 2021 at 8:49 pm

NovaLeigh
"Love Blue best"
This reminds me of a scene from one of the video games I play. I like the blue better than the red. What about a green version?

Thu February 11, 2021 at 10:38 am

Ryan
"Re: Blue v Red"
I think I will stick with the original for the gallery for now :-)

Wed February 10, 2021 at 7:17 pm

Fandeboris
"Speechless in AR"
Ok, You got me on this one! My first thought, after started breathing again, was AWESOME!!! And this is the Pickled version, which I like better than the the Gallery version. I guess it was the blue. It seems more electric.

Mon February 8, 2021 at 2:36 pm

webworx
"Infiltrating"
Like the particles infiltrating the accelerator, so does the image infiltrate my mind... I love the update!

Sun February 7, 2021 at 11:32 pm

shawn5112
"Accelerator"
Love this image looks exactly like the inside of a fusion reactor(given our current technology) I would score this as a 10 for the realistic look and your vision you do so much GREAT WORK!!! I cannot imagine getting my wallpapers any where else. Keep up the good work.

Sun February 7, 2021 at 8:36 pm

Gene
"Spellbinding..."
Normally Ryan's abstracts aren't my favorite DB stuff. I can't say I dislike any of them; I usually score them around 7-8. Not this one. Somehow, it just hits the mark dead center for me. Easy 10. Hard to verbalize why -- I'll just have to resort to saying, once again, well done Ryan!

Sun February 7, 2021 at 12:54 pm

Richard H.
"V1 best"
I have to say, I much prefer the original colour scheme; for me, the new red one would be a pickle jar variant, and the original the official one. Yes, maybe the original's a little dark overall, but it hadn't particularly struck me… and I feel it could be just lightened up a little without needing to change the colour scheme.

Sun February 7, 2021 at 12:09 pm

Ryan
"V.2"
Quite a number of folks felt the first version was too dark so I've increased some the glow that I built into the mesh. Since this glow is blue I decided to change the color of the particles to provide some contrast (and to get away from it looking like "The More You Know" star). LMK what you think :-)

Sun February 7, 2021 at 9:00 am

Ozaawaagosh
"Awesome"
Awesome remake, simply Beautiful

Sun February 7, 2021 at 5:57 am

Mangoman232
"It's beautiful.....what is it??"
Kinda like Melinda asking after Dorothy, and what her purpose is. I don't really care if I don't know what it is, or where it is, it's really pretty; simple and beautiful simultaneously merged. And unique. Thank you, Ryan. This one's a keeper.

Fri February 5, 2021 at 8:15 pm

itsamenow
""Accelerator" remake"
OUTSTANDING!

Fri February 5, 2021 at 5:49 pm

Dan
"Love this remake"
I similarly always loved the original here. This update is fantastic and got a 10 from me. That said, after reading the review about seeing "the more you know" star ... I can't UNsee that. I understand the visual thermal/energy implications; white hot cooling down/shedding particles which cool down, etc.

Fri February 5, 2021 at 3:45 pm

iElvis
"Great"
But this is actually the inside of a tokamak, not a linear accelerator =)



see: https://www.iter.org/sci/MakingitWork

Fri February 5, 2021 at 11:36 am

Ben
"Love it"
I love this remake. Although with the particle trail I am reminded somewhat of the 'The More You Know' star and its particle trail :) Still fabulous work. I can't wait to see what tweaks you make to this.

Fri February 5, 2021 at 9:23 am

Jenanne
"Awesome Remake"
Love this render of an old favorite. Particularly like the colorful particles. The last version was 2005, wasn't it? Wow, time sure accelerates as we get older. ;)

Fri February 5, 2021 at 7:58 am


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2021 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy