Skygate (Night)

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Purple Rain (Prince Tribute)
"Purple Rain (Prince Tribute)"

8.89/10 rating
(53 votes)

Print Available!
Ryan's TipJar

Since I used a pre-rendered cloud background for both the Spring and Autumn "Skygate" renders, I thought it might be interesting to use my "Moonbeam Sea" render as the background for a night version. I pretty much just wanted the foreground to be a silhouette here so the darkness is intentional ;-)

Member Comments

Maeio
"Skygate Night"
Spooky! Just the night for witches and goblins.

Fri October 13, 2017 at 10:51 am

Susan
"Very nice"
I don't usually like dark themes very much as I find them too hard to see anything, but I really like this one. The light from the moon is very effective

Sat October 7, 2017 at 2:05 am

Rodewaryer
"Dark Matters"
Brilliant rendering, it asks questions, makes us wonder not only what is out there but what is around behind the viewer as well. Love this.

Wed October 4, 2017 at 6:24 am

Angelique
"Skygate (Night)"
I love this one! :)

Tue October 3, 2017 at 10:22 pm

Ozaawaagosh
"Peaceful"
Love the Peacefulness of the night version, simply beautiful. Great Job Ryan

Mon October 2, 2017 at 7:07 am

Richard H.
"Browser cache"
@Zak: Gah. Blasted browser cache. Yes, you're right, of course; sorry, Ryan.

However, the macOS archives still need updating, and they're more important than the cached image previews.

Sat September 30, 2017 at 11:33 am

Zak
"Like Both Versions"
... but the revised is much better.



Richard H: Clear your browser cache...

Sat September 30, 2017 at 8:06 am

Richard H.
"Huge improvement!"
@Ryan: Many thanks for re-plotting the multiscreens; the new versions are a MASSIVE improvement over the originals. Not only is the moonlight hugely improved, but they seem crisper, too, more like the single-screen render.

Please note, though, that (a) the multiscreen previews on the web page are the old ones, and (b) the macOS archive also contain the old version as separate screens. (The 5K versions are the only sets I've checked.)

Fri September 29, 2017 at 2:54 pm

Ryan
"Re: Multiscreen"
By popular request I've updated the multiscreen, 21:9 and Facebook Cover version of "Skygate (Night)" with a new render this morning. The moon is no longer cut-off :-)

Fri September 29, 2017 at 7:53 am

SusanJ64
"Loss of moon in multiple screen versions"
Hi Ryan, I love the single screen version, but in the multiple screens you loose most of the moon.

Thu September 28, 2017 at 6:23 pm

Scott
"Sky gate night"
Absolutely beautiful!

I Iove it

Thu September 28, 2017 at 4:41 pm

Meg
"Yes but..."
I have to agree with Richard. I thought the version that turned up in my email was amazing, and had great hopes of the multiscreen version. It's nice enough but lacks the wow factor of the single screen. Would you be able to redo it without chopping off the top of the scene?

Thu September 28, 2017 at 3:09 pm

lilylavender
"Lovely!"
Ryan, ANOTHER beauty! I love trees, and this one set in the silence of the night with the clouds and moonlight filtering through is awesome!

Thu September 28, 2017 at 3:02 pm

Richard H.
"Single screen great; multi-screens not so much"
I love the single-screen render. Very atmospheric, and I really like the branches silhouetted against the moonlight in the upper centre. My only problem with the single-screen render is a perceptual one, as its perspective slightly confuses me: I feel as though I'm looking up into the sky yet down from above onto the clouds at the same time, which makes the scene somehow feel a bit wrong. But I don't know what to do about that, and in any case, in all other respects I like the image.

However, I'm sorry to say that I don't think the multi-screen renders really work at all. On the one hand, the edges seem somehow mushy; the trees look less crisply defined than in the single-scree render. More importantly, the moon isn't visible in the multi-screens; you get some light in the middle, but none of the effect that's visible in the single-screen render, and that's the best bit! The moon seems to have been lost off the top of the render in the multi-screens.

Thu September 28, 2017 at 2:22 pm

Phineas
"Skygate Night"
Spooky colours!

Thu September 28, 2017 at 12:05 pm

Littlemom
"OMGosh!!! Fantastic!!!"
Oh WOW!!! Ryan this is just stunning. It gives off such a peaceful and serene feeling. I absolutely love it!!!

Thu September 28, 2017 at 11:45 am

Mark A.
"it has potential"
I like this one. It has potential but it needs something. I definitely like where you're going with this one. What if you removed just the middle tree that's blocking the moon?

Thu September 28, 2017 at 10:49 am

Multiple Monitors?
DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Digital Blasphemy 2018 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy