Starlight Woods

Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)


Random DB

Court of the Azure Dragon
"Court of the Azure Dragon"

8.52/10 rating
(153 votes)

Ryan's TipJar

"Starlight Woods" is the last in a series of renders that started with "Silent Night" in which I've been learning the intricacies of plant modeling using "The Plant Factory".

Where my "Sunshine Tree" stood alone I thought it would be fun to create a moonlit forest of "starlight trees". I think it turned out nicely, except the ground fog took far too long to render.

Member Comments

Mario Carini
"Syarlight Woods"
The forest of Lothlorien revealed by night. Or perhaps this is Pandora. In any case the faeries are out in force!

Wed September 14, 2016 at 5:43 am

Tairdelbach
"magical"
I love this, for whatever reason this reminds me of Maxfield Parrish.

Mon April 25, 2016 at 2:24 pm

Tairdelbach
"magical"
I love this, for whatever reason this reminds me of Maxfield Parrish.

Mon April 25, 2016 at 2:23 pm

Bobby
"Nice vibe"
1- I'm a big fan of low light around my computer in the evening. A gentle glow from the background helps support this.

2- Also helps keep white and colorful icons from blending into the background too much.

3- Would love some other color variants, such as would match (or complement) warm tones like wood, dim incandescent bulb, and candle flame colors.

Mon April 18, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Rodewaryer
"Cool Blue"
Hard to critique anything in my favorite color other than rave about it. Very imaginative inspired variant on the original with the center stage tree (sorry I forgot the title). Leaves one in a very dreamy satisfied state of mind. Tree trunk details, bah, who'd notice once the mood takes us away. :-)

Thu February 25, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Rachel_eh
"Starlight Woods"
Wish this had a dual screen option. I want to see more of the story in the image. It looks like its hiding something

Wed February 24, 2016 at 9:02 am

Carolyn
"My New Favorite"
I love this - it's so peaceful. I could live here. Dual screens please!

Mon February 22, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Curt
"Starlight Woods"
Its a very pretty picture. I really enjoy the serene feel of the scene.

Sat February 20, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Susan
"Like it"
Seems a tranquil scene

Tue February 16, 2016 at 1:52 am

Mark Pierce
"eerie translucence"
The lights in the trees standout the most. Then you look beyond those lights and see the tiny, bright lights at the base of the trees along the water, in the ferns. This is a very magical picture for all the layers and the mist and the light and dark in juxtaposition to each other.

Thu February 11, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Ryan
"@Jake"
The multiscreen version is rendering on Bucephalus right now. It's been going for nearly a week now.

Since I have Shadowfax I was able to create Circumbinary in the meantime. Without the extra machine I wouldn't have been able to create new work while the multiscreen rendered.

Mon February 8, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Jake
"Where is the dual monitors version"
I noticed several of the new ones aren't in dual. I thought the new computers you got meant dual for all new art...? thx.

Mon February 8, 2016 at 9:22 pm

selah
"Stunning"
I am loving all of the glowing plants/trees of late but this one is especially amazing. It's like a night in Faerie. I second the wish for dualscreen options; can't wait to be able to use it at work/home! (Sadly different resolutions between the two but usually I can find one that works on one or the other.)

Tue February 2, 2016 at 11:55 am

john
"very nice"
I always like these darker themed ones becuase it goes nice on my work computer and not to hard on the eyes but this one doesint have a dual screen option! can't wait to see that one hopefully

Tue February 2, 2016 at 10:49 am

Gene
"...and on a more positive note."
In fairness, I should add to my last comment that the execution of the water surface is flawless -- as close to perfection as it's worth getting. The ferns are really nice as well.

Sun January 31, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Gene
"Umm"
I love the concept, especialy the ethereal quality of the overall work. On this criterion alone, I'd mark it a 9 or perhaps even a 10. Unfortunately, the tree trunks are not up to what I'm used to seeing on DB in 2016. Ryan, I really enjoy your work, you're a superbly talented artist (I wish I could execute like you do!), but in this version, as to the tree trunks, they harken back to 1997 or 98. The trouble, you see, is that I like your stuff, so I actually LOOK at it... ;) Overall, though, very nice. Keep up the good work. And I hope you can forgive the obsessive pixel spotters among your fans!

Sun January 31, 2016 at 5:02 pm

violet
"wow"
this really feels magical, and peaceful.

Sat January 30, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Angelique
"Starlight Woods"
This is totally gorgeous! I live this scene :D

Sat January 30, 2016 at 2:20 pm

Speedyj
"Starlight Woods"
So beautiful, so relaxing so dreamy!

Love it :)

Greetings from Miami

Sat January 30, 2016 at 1:30 pm

onedge1
"Starlight Woods"
Beautiful and the fog makes it come together.

Fri January 29, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Everlastingscribe
"Bright Atmosphere in a Dark Wood"
Very faerie tale-esque, even with the dark palette the atmosphere is inviting. I love the lights in the ferns and other plants along the edges of the water, and the feeling of the stars being tangled up in the trees.

Fri January 29, 2016 at 4:30 pm

celmendo
"Awesome!"
I know you're prob. gonna still tweak this but I love it. It reminds me of some of the The Good Dinosaur artwork. beautiful.

Fri January 29, 2016 at 9:14 am

cmmnoble
"Nice!"
Very pretty. It reminds me of the alien world from the book Dark Eden by Chris Beckett--where the ecosystem evolved without a sun.

Fri January 29, 2016 at 8:38 am

RedWidow
"Odd Trees"
The overall feel of the render is beautiful however the trees look a little too fake for my taste. I've downloaded it anyway but would like to see something improved on the trunks of the trees.

Fri January 29, 2016 at 1:01 am

Mario Carini
"Starlight Woods"
Beautiful! Like seeing millions of fireflies light up the scenery. A beautiful place for reflection.

Thu January 28, 2016 at 4:48 pm

Rae
"Stunning"
This is absolutely beautiful. I adore the color scheme.

Thu January 28, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Littlemom
"Nice but"
I think overall this is a very pretty wallpaper, but a couple of the lights on the trees look a little to big for my taste. But like I said overall a very nice render.

Thu January 28, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Jen
"WOW"
Agreed that the mist was worth the wait. Very nice.

Thu January 28, 2016 at 11:53 am

Jenanne
"Outstanding!"
I really like the composition and color scheme of this one, Ryan, and I love the mood this piece provokes. Terrific!

Thu January 28, 2016 at 11:51 am

WiDoW
"Noctiluca"
A mystical swarm of fireflies. Mist was definitely worth the render time.

Thu January 28, 2016 at 11:47 am

Diana DEe
"Starlight Woods"
Great blue and black coloring. In my opinion, the large dots are distracting.

Thu January 28, 2016 at 11:39 am

Kathy
"Love this!"
Can't wait for dual screens :)

Thu January 28, 2016 at 11:15 am

Richard H.
"Atmospheric"
Like it. The overall cool blueness of it gives it an otherworldly wintry feel. Nice.

It occurs to me that if you can make all the blue spheres a variety of different colours, you could easily adapt this into an attractive Christmas sceneā€¦ (maybe with some snow as well).

Thu January 28, 2016 at 11:13 am

Kelton
"Excellent again"
I really like the fog/mist in this. I think it would be great to see without the bio luminesence and moonlight making its way through the trees

Thu January 28, 2016 at 11:10 am

Tyler
"Like It"
However it's missing something. That thing to make it totally magical. I notice the fictional tree trunks which I'm not crazy about. Can't quite determine what it still needs..

Thu January 28, 2016 at 11:06 am

Multiple Monitors?
DB Recommends DisplayFusion

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Digital Blasphemy 2018 Wall Calendar

Download the Digital Blasphemy App from the App Store Android apps on Google Play Get it on Windows 10

digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2017 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy