Free Downloads:

Single-Screen Downloads (Members Only)

Mobile/Tablet

Desktop/Laptop/TV (Members Only)

Multiscreen Downloads (Members Only)

Dualscreen:

Triple-screen:

Triptychs!!

Wall Calendars
En Español
Worldwide: UK | CAN | NZ | NL
AT | EU | BR | BE

Random DB

Spring Wind
"Spring Wind"

9.14/10 rating
(42 votes)

Print Available!

My mother sent me an article earlier this year about how being in nature can boost your immune system and mood. The Japanese even have a term for seeking this benefit..."Shinrin Yoku" or "Forest Bathing". It isn't news that being in nature can be good for your health, but I like that there's a word for it. Everything is very brown and dormant in my part of the world right now so I wanted to create something inexorably green and (hopefully) peaceful to close out the crazy year that was 2020. If you can't get to a forest I will bring one to you :-)
Pickle Jar Variations what's this?

Member Comments

Please Log In To Share Your Feedback!

Ozaawaagosh
"Awesome"
I love all 3 versions, they all awesome, and it is very true, it is good, in fact needed to stay healthy, is just take walks through wild and semi wild places, after all, we are all connected to every living thing, as is everything is connected to us!

Thu January 21, 2021 at 11:26 am

Ryan
"@Romarch"
I did consider that when I added the path. My rationalization? Consider the first version to be what you might see from the path if you turned your head. I have a bit of a forest in my neighborhood and am ever grateful for the path that is maintained that allows me to walk through it.

Sun January 17, 2021 at 8:44 am

Romarch
"A Road Ran Through It"
I love the title, the image, and the idea that inspired them. But I think these successive versions have gotten further away from the original concept. The path leads the eye through and out of the forest; it does not encourage the visitor to linger, to stand still, to immerse themselves, to soak it in... In short, once you ran a road through it, it stopped being about "bathing".

Sun January 17, 2021 at 2:56 am

Mando
"shin3"
I prefer the camera angle of shin3 and the angle of the background light shaft, feels a deeper image, i think its the way the off center path winds on itself into the background.



stunning on a 55 HDR nanocell TV for display.

Thu January 14, 2021 at 1:55 pm

Dav
"Blurry"
Something seems to have gone wrong with this one from a rendering perspective. It looks like upscaling artifacts.

Wed January 6, 2021 at 5:12 am

Nathan Zachary
"Leaf"
Love the serenity of this image, but I can't help but feel like I'm being photobombed by a leaf in the multiscreen versions.

Tue January 5, 2021 at 6:21 pm

Eric L.
"Soothing"
This is fantastic. I prefer the pickle jar variant with the bright bamboo and dark path. It feels so much warmer and cozier.

Tue January 5, 2021 at 11:23 am

Clark
"Shinrin Yoku"
I want to love this, green is my favorite color. But, the trunks just throw me off. I wish they were some shade of brown. It is, otherwise, absolutely phenomenal in my book. Regardless, you do amazing work! =D

Sun January 3, 2021 at 11:12 pm

Tarot
"Nice pathway"
Like the pathway. Makes it more so I can feel like I'm there and can walk through the forest. Ryan, you might draw some inspiration from Tenchu or Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice. I think of the original Tencho game on PS1 when I see this.

Sun January 3, 2021 at 2:20 pm

Sander
"Different levels, each time..."
I follow your work for years now

and it continues to amaze me

that you always manage to put different levels

in each render:

when you see a render for the first (or xth) time

and you see it again after a while

there are almost always new details

you didn't see the first time(s)



Appart from the renders being always awesome

you also put depth into your work...



You are an artist²...

Sat January 2, 2021 at 6:29 am

BobC
"Hopeful, Lovely Image"
I find this to be a very nice image. I like the effect that the green being pretty much the same shade all over produces. To me, the depth of field effect makes it look a bit like a miniature that is photographed close up.

Thu December 31, 2020 at 7:15 pm

Susan
"Restful"
Calming to look at.

Wed December 30, 2020 at 3:25 pm

Joe
"Beautiful, but... pixelated?"
This is an absolutely beautiful scene, one that would normally be an easy 10/10 for me, but when I looked at it closer I noticed that a lot of it seems oddly... pixelated? Like the brighter portion in the middle looks like it could almost be snowing; same with the lit ground plants in the front, and the sunlight on the trees. I suspect that is just the rendering technique used. It very slightly throws off my enjoyment of what would otherwise be best of the best. I therefore must only rate this "Gorgeous" instead of even higher. :-)

Wed December 30, 2020 at 7:01 am

webworx
"Nature, naturally"
I'm always a fan of your forests and this one is among the best. I have retired and can't wait to move back to our farm which has about 50 acres of forested land. It's been a long time since I've had a good bath!

Tue December 29, 2020 at 11:04 pm

Tarot
"Great end to the Year"
Nice one. Love the concept. I could def go for more bamboo forest looking scenes. Also with the previous 2 renders (snow globe & ornament combo) this has been a great end to your work in 2020.

Tue December 29, 2020 at 9:12 pm

Telaria
"Shinrin Yoku"
Lovely render, Ryan - thanks! Like you, I also think it's neat that there's an actual phrase for 'forest bathing'! Can't tell you how many times I've done this myself over the years, taking a walk out into nature to just 'be', whether it's a forest here in SW PA, the Outer Banks coast during a storm in the 'off' season, or the Mojave Desert.

Tue December 29, 2020 at 5:22 pm

Gene
"Lovely springtime feel..."
...it's just too bad the reality outside my house (in late December), hasn't caught up yet! Seriously though, once again, very nice work Ryan. This one will do some time as my main screen background.

Tue December 29, 2020 at 2:41 pm

Littlemom
"Great One!!!"
This is absolutely gorgeous!!!

Tue December 29, 2020 at 1:54 pm

Mark A.
"rating"
Ryan, it won't save my rating.

Tue December 29, 2020 at 12:58 pm


digital blasphemy-click here to go home
content © 1997-2020 Ryan Bliss, all rights reserved privacy policy

"we are the music-makers and we are the dreamers of dreams" -- O'Shaughnessy